Palmerville owners charged with murder (Palmer Goldfields, NQld )

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:02
ThreadID: 98805 Views:8831 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Forumites, specially those who head up FNQ, Cape York, etc.

The colourful owner(s) of Palmerville station has been known to cause several 4x4 travellers and campers grief with locked gates on the gazetted road, spikes, and just being mean. We travelled through a couple of times, (shortcut and destination reasons) but always made sure we go through quietly, in daytime, and would not have hesitated to turn around when the gate is locked (and definitely not game to ask for the key!)

The husband and wife has per reports been charged with murder and improper conduct with a corpse.

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:33

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:33
This was an incident reported in July.See here. And here.

Is there something new on the subject?

AnswerID: 497690

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:38

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:38
To answer my own question, yeshere is the latest.

FollowupID: 773497

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:38

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 17:38
Here is a link to the ABC Story

Palmer River Murder
AnswerID: 497692

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:18

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:18
Here is a link to my prior Forum Topic.

post 96843

FollowupID: 773499

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:49

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 18:49
Thanks for that Lyn. I totally missed the original post and the news item in July. I was trekking out West at the time and not in full contact with the rest of the world.

Palmer River Station sounds like a good place to avoid.

FollowupID: 773501

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:42

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:42
Sounds like either those two might be a couple of bananas short of a bunch (;-)) or some tourists have been causing a bit of grief.

FollowupID: 773510

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 22:31

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 22:31
hi
i read about this on the cairns.com.au news site monday and would suggest not to rush up there for a while as there is still a lot of police investigatory work and searching to be done
so i reckon there will be access restrictions in place by the police as they are still looking for the missing body and other evidence
FollowupID: 773522

Reply By: CSeaJay - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:47

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 20:47
Alan, Lynn

Yes Palmerville have been in previous threads but there is no way to 'bump'an old thread with new news. And yes Alan, as you realised this is new (breaking) news.

And this part of the world is quite beutiful, and specially now there is no reason to avoid it! That is the bottom line, really. Not being disrespectful of the situation, those involved and the missing man's family, the spin-off of this is that I will now take my family that way again. Wonderful tracks and scenery in the area, one can now have this as a destination without having to take detours, and it makes for a wonderful addition for those doing the Maytown trip (for the experienced fourwheeldrivers only if doing it solo)
AnswerID: 497703

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:14

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:14
I wouldn't be in to much of a hurry to travel through there. Still a couple of misfits in the area.
Dave.
FollowupID: 773514

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:45

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 21:45
G'day CJ,

Sorry this post wasn't around in 1993 when I went to Maytown on the old road. I came out "experienced"!

FollowupID: 773516

Follow Up By: Member - Damien L (Cairns) - Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 22:25

Wednesday, Oct 31, 2012 at 22:25
The road in from The Development rd is now a 90km h/way. I was up there 3 weeks ago. The first time I went there it took 4 + hrs now it takes 1 1/2 hrs to cover the 80ks

Damien
Love the bush

FollowupID: 773520

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 17:08

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 17:08
Dont worry...FNQ still has plenty of rednecks. Plenty up that way that didnt bother lining up when they were handing out brains and commonsense!!
FollowupID: 773555

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 18:19

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 18:19
Bigfish,
give us a break. They have allowed us to be 1 hour behind so we can catch up with the Mexicans.

Ya can't have to many bright light bulbs in the house or the insects will drive you all mad.

LOL.
RA.
FollowupID: 773558

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 06:18

Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 06:18
Good point Rockape. hahaha
FollowupID: 773597

Reply By: Candace S. - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 07:15

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 07:15
This forum has provided several ideas for places I'd like to visit. Looks like this time I found out where to avoid!
AnswerID: 497713

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 22:38

Thursday, Nov 01, 2012 at 22:38
Please do :-)

Leave it for us locals

Most of it is a highway now - Cook Shire likes turning good 4 x 4 experiences into wide open speed traps.

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 773589

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 21:55

Friday, Nov 02, 2012 at 21:55
I agree with Tony....this is a great drive. I went in to Maytown via Palmerville at the height of this issue in early August. We just drove past the Palmerville Stn gate and on to the new Maytown access which is about 3-4 km across the river. Lots of roadworks but well worth the trip into history.
FollowupID: 773669

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:31

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 08:31
Not only a place to avoid but also a local to avoid it seems.

Maybe we should all do like Tonyfish asks and stay out and leave it to him and his locals as he prefers.

Sorry mate but this is a big free country and while I respect privacy and other valid reasons to stay away I wont stay away and if that is your attitude then you have problems.

We were warned about that place by the engineer at Cooktown and out of respect and no need to have any hassles we gave it a miss.

I hope that I missunderstood your meaning Tony.

FollowupID: 774148

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 17:08

Monday, Nov 05, 2012 at 17:08
I Heard today that a body of an adult and a child was found in the Palmer River Station's dam!

This is from local sources, so can not verify the accuracy as yet

Regards Tony
AnswerID: 497958

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 23:44

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 23:44
They were Gun ho way back 20 years ago
WE had gone into Maytown via Maitlands
2nd day a 4wheel dive roars right besides our camp out jumps this bloke with rifle @ the ready while she sat in the truck with another rifle sticking out the window
Wife near had a heart attack & screamed
He demanded to know what we where doing there & claimed it was private property .
Ordered us to leave immediately . but I told him, no way WE had came in a long way & would not be leaving until we had a good look around @ the history of the place.If he wished to remove he should call the police or have us charged with tresspassing
He backed of a bit & said OK as long as we did not cross the river@Maytown on the track back to Palmerville
We stayed about a week from memory & on the last day had another visit from both, this time a liitle freindlier she got out & chatted to my wife
He gave me a long tales of woes & problems he had sufferred at the hands of miners,prospectors, 4wders, hippies, etc & actually apologised to my wife for the fright he gave her
AnswerID: 498166

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 14:33

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 14:33
They have been granted bail .....................

Palmer River murder suspects granted bail
AnswerID: 499311

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 21:29

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 21:29
Apparently not a strong case???

Be interesting to see how it all unfolds

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 775309

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 22:38

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 22:38
I was up that way on the 12th of November for the eclipse.

Me and a mate were at Maytown, waiting around.
There was a couple from overseas camped nearby who we got talking to.
They said they were there for the eclipse as well and they were told that there was a party at Palmer River station homestead.
I knew there was a party at Palmer River Roadhouse or thereabouts but had not heard about a party at the station. We expressed our doubts to the couple about the likelyhood of a party due to the murder and the lack of vehicles heading in that direction.

In the morning we guided them across the river as they only had a soft roader. I pointed in the direction of the station and advise them of the directions.

My mate then offered our services to guide them all the way as we had time on our hands.

I agreed to this as we couldn't really let a couple of foreighners go in there by themselves as we were not sure if the owners we out on bail or not, and thought that as aussies would be in a better position to plead for our lives if confronted with murderers.

So.....I led the group of three vehicles towards the homestead from Maytown. My mate took the rear to watch our backs.

We crossed a couple a flowing creeks and I thought to myself, what the hell are we doing here. The chances of an eclipse party was so very slim and we were heading towards the residence of alleged murderers who may be or may not be out on bail.

Me and the dog got closer to the homestead, a poor old cow got off the road and almost fell over it was so sick (maybe starving).

We arrived at the homestead about 25 metres away and here I noticed the gate across the road, also about 25 metres away. I did not check to see if the gate was locked. I stayed in the vehicle. The was no party here thats for sure.

There was a little dog barking behing the homestead fence I did not see anybody and would not have felt a laser on my forehead as there was that much sweat on my brow.

I looked in the rear vision mirror for the others but they were not visible. They were not that far behind I thought.

I stayed perfectly still so they could get me with a clean headshot through the curtains if they wanted too as I didn't want to die a slow painful death if they missed.

My mate and new friends then came up the rise behind me after what was probably 2 or 3 minutes but seemed like an eternity.

My mate pulled up beside me I wound the window down and I said to him. "Lets get out of here".

So we went back the way we came.

AnswerID: 499325

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 23:11

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 23:11
According to every movie script I have ever seen, you should in fact have checked the house out, but not all together. You must split up and all go in separate directions....:-)
FollowupID: 775313

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 23:11

Tuesday, Nov 27, 2012 at 23:11
bleep mate, ya just scared the crap out of me with that story!! :)

FollowupID: 775314