Bringing a Caravan into Aus from NZ ...

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 05:41
ThreadID: 9881 Views:2251 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
I wonder if someone could help or point me in the direction of some accurate advice. I wish to bring a 40 year old, heavily modified-for-living 15 ft caravan in to Aus from NZ to serve for a few years as temporary accommodation and then later for touring purposes.
My partner is taking up a study position in Sydney – and we are never without our caravan.

How might I best locate detailed and correct info on the importation procedures, customs, taxes etc? Has anyone actually done this?
Many thanks

ps Amazing site!

Reply By: Member - JohnR - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:13

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:13
G'day Coma Cluster

One would have thought that the costs and procedures would make you think again about that sort of activity. There are actually caravans built this side of the Tasman too and some actually have suspensions that allow them to be taken off the bitumen. There could even be some that are 40 years old if you looked hard enough.

There will be some nice things for you to consider like the caravan to be potentially taken apart for inspection. Australian Quarantine Inspection Service will be interested I would hope in any mud, dirt, seeds and insects that may reside in your van. The Customs service is at the link below and the Australian Tax Office below too would be looking for 10% GST on the value - one would have thought at replacement value.

It would be interesting to see if you could containerise the van as it could be at risk as deck cargo one would have thought. As for the procedures an import/export agent would be a good start to handle that little lot. It will be up to you to see that it can be worth all that.

If it was just for the horses to pull the van, they could probably just be washed and come by air.............

www.customs.gov.au
www.aqis.gov.au
www.ato.gov.au

JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
AnswerID: 43627

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:20

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:20

I have a Kiwi mate who is doing much the same thing.

It's costing him a smallish fortune, but he has a largish one anyhow.

Around $15,000.00 to bring the 4WD and 16foot van. If it was 7foot 6 inches wide he could have got it in a container, that would have been heaps cheaper. The contaner ship goes into Brisbane I understand.

There is a fairly detailed Customs inspection but they don't pull em apart. Just don't like dirt and bugs.

If you like I will get me mate to give me the details and forward it on to you.
AnswerID: 43628

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:33

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:33
"Around $15,000.00 to bring the 4WD and 16foot van. "

Strike me catholic!!! You would have to be able to sell that one and buy something here and save thousands wouldnt you?
FollowupID: 305897

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 15:47

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 15:47
Yeah well, I did offer to lend him my old 1985 Golf Caravan for the time he is here, 7 months, but he decided to bring his own.

Anyhow we will be travelling around the Eastern and central Aus with him after April 16th.

We have an O'Briens Off Road Camper(as well as the Golf) and he has a 16ft Golf 2001 Model which he bougfht over here and shipped back to NZ in Oct 2001.

Should be fun!
FollowupID: 305909

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:37

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 08:37
These guys were the best price I could find when I was looking into moving to NZ. $1800 AUD one way for the Landcruiser Melbourne-Bluff. Roll on-Roll off.

http://www.anzdl.com/

These are the ports serviced:

http://www.anzdl.com/pdf/english/ButterflyMap.pdf

I think the prices are dearer over 5.5 meters, so 15ft van would be about $1800 as well.

~
AnswerID: 43631

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 10:40

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 10:40
Don't do it Wazza. If you like touring and camping (I know you do) Oz is the place to be. I lived in NZ for over 30yrs, not a patch on OzI may be mad but I'm not crazy
BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 305872

Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 11:16

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 11:16
Hi Ray,

yeah, the mrs had a good job offer back home in Dunedin. We looked into everything and though we would stay in Oz after a bit of debating (10 minutes). Actually, I will be going to Dunedin in March for our wedding. Looking forward to it. There are 25 of my mates and relatives on the Melb-Dunedin flight over on the 25th March. Look out NZ! A lot of them taking a couple of weeks to travel around the south island after the wedding. Anyway, enough talk. Don't want to hijack the thread.~
FollowupID: 305876

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:34

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 14:34
But ray, you would only move to NZ to get away from Kiwis wouldnt you? ;)
FollowupID: 305898

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:59

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 17:59
Brrrrrrr, ah! BEAM ME UP SCOTTY, we've caught a live one!I may be mad but I'm not crazy
BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 305931

Reply By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 23:17

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2004 at 23:17
HI Coma Cluster,
Back in 98 we met a couple of Kiwis in Australia who were travelling around the world by taking their Troopy across the oceans in a container. This apparently is the ideal solution to security and is far cheaper. I haven't got any contact information for you but just thought I'd mention that this was there experience after doing all their homework on the best transport methods. I guess your van would be lower than a Troopy? so maybe this option would also work for you.ExplorOz
AnswerID: 43756

Reply By: Coma Cluster - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 09:37

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 09:37
Thanks heaps all. Yeah, the container looks the most secure option plus it can be plonked where I want it - in this case Sydney. Once I've finally priced it all out I'll post up 'case anyone else is considering ever doing this.
Again thanks

(Yes I'm aware there are caravans in Aus - but this one isn't! And as a previous poster stated, Aus is the place for it to be.)
AnswerID: 43776

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:58

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2004 at 19:58
Good one David. Come on over. Australia needs more kiwis
Kia OraI may be mad but I'm not crazy
BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 306097

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 22:24

Sunday, Jan 25, 2004 at 22:24
Hi Coma, would be interested to hear what you come up with as our rig is in the SI at the mment and will be bringing it back soon and am looking at ways to do that, went ovet on the Kiwi carrier RORO boats and ws good Brisbane to Christchurch but they go to Japan from NZ so no good.Home For Xmas
FollowupID: 306524