Troopy rear door sag

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:18
ThreadID: 98914 Views:11884 Replies:10 FollowUps:9

I have recently taken delivery of my new 78 series Troopy (brand new). I am in the process of fitting it out with 'stuff' & am wondering if I should ditch the wheel mounted to the back door as a preventative measure to alleviate door sag until & get a rear carrier?

Or is the door sag a thing of the past? I had read posts where people have left the wheel in place & travelled everywhere off road around the country with no dramas.

Can anyone tell me, is it just the hinges that fail? Or does the door &/or frame actually bend out of shape - if it's just hinges, I may as well save my money on a rear carrier & throw the second spare on the roof.

Thoughts please.

Stef

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:29

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 15:29
I have a 2000 model troopy (welcome to the clan) and have my spare wheel on the door so far no sagging no problems generally. I've crossed the Simpson desert 4 times plus the madigan line no worries Save your money and wait and see how it goes.

Jeff
AnswerID: 498140

Follow Up By: Stefandsal - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:06

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:06
Thanks Jeff, the wheel is in the back at the moment - no drama there anyway, but I think if it's just hinges I will take my chances & replace them if necessary. Can I ask, what size rims/tyres are you running. I still have the standard splits at the moment.
FollowupID: 774124

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:48

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:48
Stef and sal, I run 245x75x16's. I had split rims but got rid of them after 3 years I found then difficult to repair punchers and to change tyres. I bought 'Speedie Wheel ' off road sunraysia type wheels have done over 150k. I believe there are cheap chinese copies around so beware
Look at Thread No. 98857 of a couple of days ago, that will give you a good insight into Splits. Personally I woud never have split again.

regards..............Jeff
FollowupID: 774130

Reply By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:11

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 16:11
Stef,
The hinges wear over time but that takes quite a few years. They can be fixed with new pins and grease nipples installed or you can fit new ones. You have to buy the hinges genuine and you will fall out of your chair at the price from Toyota.

RA.
AnswerID: 498145

Follow Up By: Stefandsal - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:03

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:03
Thanks RA, although hinges would have to be cheaper than a wheel carrier!!
FollowupID: 774122

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:08

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:08
Stef,

yes you are right about that. I would thing a wheel carrier towbar would be well over $2000.

Happy touring,
RA.
FollowupID: 774125

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 07:28

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 07:28
Agree with Rockape - Our old Troopy with over 400km on the clock has suffered the sagging door problem due to wear on the hinge pins, and the hinges have been progressively shimmed and adjusted. I recently picked up some less-worn replacements from a wrecker. As RA says, Toyota replacements are ridiculously priced, though aftermarket hinges are available on ebay. Far cheaper and lighter than a wheel carrier!

FollowupID: 774146

Reply By: Travelinglew - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:39

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:39
Gday Stef,

Fixed the sag on my 2000 troopy with a couple of very thin washes under the bottom bracket. Works a treat and no dust issues

Lew
AnswerID: 498150

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 17:57
Hi Stef, Lucky you with a new troopy.

My 2002 Troopy has 300,000km on the clock and has not suffered from door sag as such although there has been some wear and tear on the guides and latches requiring some maintenance and adjustment.

What has happened however is cracking of the door skin adjacent to the pressed steel bracket that supports the spare. So I removed the inner lining and installed additional steel bracing to provide extra support. The crack was only minor as yet so I drilled a 1mm hole at each end of the crack to relieve stress and filled the holes with silicon.

I have been 11,000km on some pretty rough roads since the repair and the crack has not enlarged.

I considered a rear wheel carrier but did not fancy having to swing it away every time I needed to open the rear door. The $2000 price put me off a bit too! In addition to the the rear spare I carry a tyre carcase on the roof rack.

AnswerID: 498152

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 22:06

Thursday, Nov 08, 2012 at 22:06
I Have had 3 Troopy's. 2 with the wheel on the back door, no problems + my current one with a Kaymar twin wheel carrier. These are expensive a VERY VERY heavy. They do however provide a great jacking point when bogged. Also very good for mounting you HF aerial.
If I had my time again I would probably just leave the wheel on the door and carry a carcase on the roof. Never had more than one puncture and if I did splits aren't that hard to change.

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 498159

Reply By: Danna - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:09

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:09
Hi Stef
We bought exactly same Troopy and it cost pretty penny, but we love him. Bullbar with sidebars, winch, flares and double wheel carrier,
(Sunraysia steal wheel with Micky T tyres not from ARB) where first thing what we put on rig even before going anywhere!
We found how to save quite bit of money with ARB.
We let do the ARB all those things in one stage and we have very good discount. We get free goodies of our choice as well. I picked heavy-duty bag for my computer Toughbook.
We never go to ARB to install only one or two things. We would be paying too much as we wouldn’t have chance to negotiate. We always go to same salesman. That way you create close relation with the person and he/she will know you are serious to buy and on end always give you lowest possible price just to come back to him/her.
No way we would take any chance with stuffing up back door hinges.
We stuffed hinges on our Landy when going Cape York, and even with best repairs the hinges were never the same.
It is probably OK with old bomb…… but with brand new vehicle….?
With Kaymar double carrier you have luxury of proper storage for 2 spares and you may store on it some light stuff like shovel, and there is bracket for camping light and radio antenna.
To have spare wheel on roof and having flat, must be dreadful to get it down, but to put it up would be terrible, probably impossible for single person.

Cheers Dana

Ps: “I’m not a rich person. I can’t afford to buy cheap things”

AnswerID: 498181

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:27

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:27
Getting my spare down from the roof rack is not difficult, just chuck it off. But aim it to bounce away from the vehicle and roll toward some capture target such as a ditch. The first time I did it was sideways onto our lawn and the damn thing bounced all over the place.

To get it up onto the roof rack I made up a triple-purchase rope & pulley arrangement with yachting components. Works a treat and it is easily stowed. Just the same, to keep weight down, from now on I will carry only a carcase for the second spare. That will also be even easier to get up & down.

FollowupID: 774158

Follow Up By: rainbowprof - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:37

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 00:37
I'll never forget half way up a mountain got a flat, but had a spare on the roof. Threw the spare down, which landed flat on it's side- then it stood up and jumped of the edge of an incredibly steep precipice never to be seen again. Drove down on the flat tyre and had to buy two new wheels, one to replace the flat that I drove on and destroyed and one for the cliff jumper. We still laugh and talk about that debacle/ adventure 15 years after it happened. (six kids in the car and mother -in -law). My troopie rear door sagged with the weight of a split rim bolted on the back door and I bought a Kaymar bar for my next vehicle. Very satisfied with the investment. And yes, putting a spare on the roof was quite a trial and a two person job (without the interesting arrangement that Allan B devised...). As for the rear wheel carrier bar, an ounce of prevention etc.
FollowupID: 774217

Follow Up By: Danna - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 21:21

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 21:21
rainbowprof
You would definitely win first price if you have that on vid for Funniest Videos.
Cheers Dana
FollowupID: 774266

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:46

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:46
I helped a friend fix the rear door on his troopy two weeks ago. The first start of the process is the rubber buffer where the door latches to the body. Along with the hinges this is the third support of the door. This rubber can come out a little and no longer supports the door at the latch and as a result more load is taken by the hinges which then flog them out.

So check the rubber buffer that the latch goes into to insure it is in the correct position - my friend does this regularly (and it always moves) and has prevents his hinges from wearing.

Garry
AnswerID: 498184

Reply By: Danna - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:08

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:08
Hi Allan
I have to laugh about bouncing…. can you imagine to have a flat say on George St. in middle of Sydney?,….. many people would be rolling in laughter…. You may even make it to youtube……
Any way I just wanted to make point from our experience. Lot of four wheel drivers installing accessories bit by bit and paying unnecessarily way tooooo much for their goodies.
And there is another thing to think about…suspension / GVM upgrade…
Once the upgrade of suspension is done, without taking into consideration what else should be needed on the vehicle, it may cost for new upgrade again.
Actually by ARB advice, suspension / GVM, airbags/bellow bags upgrade should be done as totally last modification on any vehicle.

Hoo Roo Dana

As I usually say: “De gustibus non est disputandum”

But: “I’m not a rich person. I can’t afford to buy cheap things”
AnswerID: 498188

Reply By: Danna - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 12:46

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 12:46
Hi Stef
I will give you something more to thing about:
In our manual is written that car have dust snorkel ..... that is exactly what it is!
Have a look in your air-filter compartment very carefully. You will find a hole on bottom, under the filter in corner. I thing every newish Troopy will have this (I wouldn't know about older models). On top of everything, all Toyota snorkels are made from pieces and the joints don’t seal at all. That means, going thru water more than knee high, water may get in air-filter (they even mention this in manual).
After this discovery we upgraded to Safari Snorkel and properly sealed the filter compartment with flexible sealant glue. Safari Snorkel has different head and since upgrade we noticed slightly less fuel consumption.
We took the original snorkel home, we didn’t leave it in ARB. I sold it on EBay for $320,~. Our was bought by 4WD hiring company, and bidding was fears to the last second….
But there is a more…. The air breathers are placed very low, we extend them under bonnet…it doesn’t cost much.
We bought fuel hose from Rubber Clark and ¼” silencer (4 off) from Pneumatic Products at Seven Hills Sydney.
It took bit of time, as it is a fiddly job, but it gave us “peace in mind”.

Good luck with setting up… we are almost there…it is costly…. I know.

Cheers Dana
AnswerID: 498196

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:25

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:25
Seeing as how it is Friday, I might get away with this without being soundly abused.

Nothing ever breaks on a Toyota.

"Oh What a feeling"

Disco.
AnswerID: 498199

Follow Up By: Danna - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 21:30

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 21:30
Hi Disco.
There is nothing broken on those Toyotas', they are just made that way ......
Disco don't have even dust snorkel. They just have unrepairable dribbles - like mine Harry use to have.
But don't get me wrong, I still love him.
HooRoo Dana
FollowupID: 774268