How Mad are we ? Cairns to Darwin to Adelaide in January ?

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 10:46
ThreadID: 98948 Views:6532 Replies:26 FollowUps:10
Hi there,

New to the Forum guys so be gentle !!

We are a family of 5 ( 3 teens) about to embark on an Aussie adventure. I have Long service Leave and plan to take Dec Jan and Feb off work to do a bit of touring. We are scottish, been here 3 years and would like to see a bit more of the country. We have a 4X4 and Jayco Swan all the kit and plan to leave Sydney in December and go up North to Cairns for Xmas, across to Darwin, down the middle and then around Adelaide Melbourne etc etc you get the picture ( half of Australia ) we'll do the other half another time.

We have heard and know very well that the North will be Hot and Wet at times. We've had very different advice from .... North ! yes hot but amazing in Wet season and it's all part of the adventure .... to ... your mad it will be stinking hot, roads will be flooded and we'll be killed by a cyclone ( or crocodile ).

We'd love to see Darwin and the Red rock and it will be our only chance to see this part of Australia as a family.

Can you share any experiences or give a balanced view on whether we are indeed crazy. Researching On-line it looks like if I take sealed roads and keep an eye on the weather it'll be possible.

We are very much of the opinion that if it is to hot / wet then we'll simply mozzie on down the east coast again but this will mean missing so much !

Thoughts, help advice would be really appreciated.

BB

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 10:55

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 10:55
I’m tending to the “mad” side. Travelling to Darwin during the wet and all that entails and then through the centre at the hottest time of the year while towing and having three teenagers in the vehicle (and camping mind you). Good luck.

Is it possible to take your holidays later, say commencing in March or May next year. It sounds like it’s dependent on school holidays but if it’s at all possible, the trip would be a lot more comfortable, safer and enjoyable if you avoided the wet up north and the heat in the centre.

What ever you decide, have fun and safe travels

Mick

AnswerID: 498267

Follow Up By: Bawbag - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:05

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:05
Thanks Mike - This is the only time I can do it. My daughter leaves fro University and we also wanted to minimise impact of schools.

I Vote for Mad then !

FollowupID: 774233

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:08

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:08
BB,

I'd say go for it.

If you monitor AM radio on your travels you can often be forewarned of any road closures, heavy rain, and I usually check the weather on my phone. ie: sat maps & radar. Note: the NT doesn't have much in the way of radio stations, at least ones that have some coverage.

I took a truck up to Darwin in early Feb this year, and the only rain was a few storms in the city. As far as heat goes, it can be hot & opppressive, so I'd be taking a fan with you to use in the 'van. And if it gets too much, humidity that is, get a cabin for a night or two.

Down around the Rock, the heat should be drier, but at least 40 deg plus, so it's a little easier to take than the humidity Keep fluids up, preferably water, not fizzy drinks, and you should have earned a beer at night. Because of heat , make sure your tyres are new, or not far off. Keep speeds down during the heat of the day, and have 'van wheel bearings checked before you depart.

Never know, it might be a bit wet, and conditions will be quite mild.....but I wouldn't bet on it.

Hope you enjoy it, stay safe,

AnswerID: 498268

Follow Up By: Bawbag - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:19

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:19
Thanks Bob - Appreciate you taking the time to respond

1 Vote for Go for It !!

On your point about new Tyres. I have a Patrol 4x4 and invested in x2 brand new spare wheels and tyres but the x4 that are on the car are probably about 60% 70% but they are Maxxi Mud Tyres. Would that be Ok ?

The Caravan has also just had a check over for the Rego so assume they would have checked the Bearings then ?
FollowupID: 774234

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:54

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:54
Hi Bawbag,

Welcome to the forum and may you enjoy your Aussi travels.

Re "so assume they would have checked the Bearings" - its not a good idea to assume anything, and its better to have a look yourself before you get on the road. That way, if you need to attend to them while travelling you will be a bit familiar with how to go about it. Remember that there will be few travellers out on the roads up north at that time of year so don't plan to rely on passing traffic if you need help. There are very long stretches of road between any signs of habitation.

Now I respect Bobs comment about going to Darwin in February, but Bob has lived a long time in Queensland and has surely become acclimatised. Ask yourself why most folk from southern states choose to travel in the winter months - because the heat and humidity is just too unpleasant up north over summer IF you are not used to it.

Unless you have experienced that humidity, it is hard to comprehend - perhaps find a local green house on a hot day and see how you go spending an hour inside in the middle of the day - then multiply that by 24 hours a day before you decide to go.

OK you have a fall-back plan if things go pear shaped. But maybe you could consider a 3 month trip across the southern half of Oz, with the possibility of a spending a bit of time around Alice - where it will still be very hot but not humid, so more bearable. Flinders Ranges, Grampians, Great Ocean Road, south coast of WA etc are all wonderful places and you could easily spend 3 months doing those areas. Only downside is that camping areas would be busy over the school holiday period.

Where ever you go please carry - and drink - plenty of water. Dehydration can be lethal.

Val.

FollowupID: 774238

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:38

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:38
Mate. I have done it in the past with two teenage children.We were in a Commodore wagon towing a 15ft Viscount Poptop. We were probably lucky with the weather but we had a ball. Left Wollongong 16th Dec and were in Dampier for Xmas at my brother's place. We had a week there admittedly in his house but left 2nd jan and went up to Broom, across the top to Katherine,(saw some amazing storms and lightning shows) Up to Darwin where we found an old friend living on a yacht. Back down to 3 ways and up to Yorkeys Knob (Cairns) My mum lived there at the time so we had a week at her house. Then back home to the Gong. All in six weeks. I think the biggest thing is to make sure you all travel well as it is a loonng way. The kids need to be comfortable and have things to keep them occupied. Make time for stops along the way and I'm sure you too will have a blast. Fingers crossed that the weather is on your side. Cheers,Bob.
AnswerID: 498269

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:38

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:38
It all depends on how well your family copes with heat?
If you don't mind it hot....and wet, go for it.
Personally , I think it is a great time to go as there wont be as many other tourists and accommodation will be easier to find and probably cheaper.

AnswerID: 498270

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:43

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:43
Hi BB

You will be see some unreal parts of Australia and you will be travelling through a number a contrasting areas.

The Tropic area should be turning green from the start of the wet season, and then as you head further south, the Centre will be very dry and hot.

Make sure that you carry lots of water just in case you have any unforeseen stops.

It would be good to include a few side trips to see some special area. The Flinders is always a great place to visit, head for the Riverland in SA to see Australia's largest River and relax by the Murray, just perfect. The Southeast of SA will be at its best, with places like Robe packed out. See the famous Mt Gambier blue lake, you will not believe that and some unreal Victorian coastline through Portland and then along the Great Ocean Road.

AnswerID: 498271

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:46

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 11:46
Darwin etc will be o.k. and warm, but Ayers rock and the centre will try you out. It doesn't cool down at night out there in summer. Been there, done that. 5 people aren't going to sleep in a Jayco in those conditions unless you have AC.
Chalk me up for one vote - "crackers" ;)
AnswerID: 498272

Reply By: Trev&Ness B - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:00

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:00
my thoughts are that the heat will be bad. do you think you will enjoy your big family trip if the heat is to much for you. Not only on you but on your tow vehicle as well. Alot of people invest money into upgrades of there cooling system to help minimise any problems when travelling up north.
If you have options if the weather gets to much, like you said you may be ok. But as you said it would be a shame to miss out.
You may find yourself stuck somewhere for a few days because of the roads flooding but thats all part of the adventure. dont make your timeline to tight so if something does happen its not more of an issue than it needs to be.
prepare you vehicle and your van, take your time. 12 weeks is a good timeline.
enjoy your trip like everyone says, and yes i am jealous that would be an awesome trip.
AnswerID: 498273

Reply By: Bawbag - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:13

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:13
Great responses guys !

Lots of positives which is good. I'm more of an optimist and lets give it a go type of guy. Some great ideas on where we should stop as well ! ... keep those coming.

As we've seen some of the east coast we plan to take a month to get up to Cairns and then head across to Darwin and Alice Springs in Jan. Don't plan to hang around those places too long particularly if it's too hot.

Then would like to do Adelaide and tazzy if I can fit as we've done Melbourne and the great ocean road.

Let me know if there any more Must Do's !

BB

AnswerID: 498274

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:19

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 14:19
Hi BB

I should have also said that on your way down after leaving Port Augusta, it would be a great time to visit the Yorke Peninsula. There are some great beaches and lots of history in the area, which make it a perfect summer destination, just like the Riverland.

FollowupID: 774244

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:58

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 12:58
Dont forget mozzie nets and squirty bottles.........squirty bottles to keep you cool at night. and mozzie nets because you will probably be laying on top of your bed at night and camped near water.
AnswerID: 498275

Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 13:25

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 13:25
Mad I say. This could be one of those trips where the teenagers are put off camping for the rest of their lives. You don't just get heat up there, it is oppressive especially if you're not accustomed to it. Throw in some road closures, the inability to see heaps of the tourist destinations because of the wet, mozzie bites, dehydration headaches and it just being too hot to do the walks you wanted to do (like climbing Uluru, Kings Canyon etc.

Go down south and do Tasmania at that time of year. You won't regret it.
AnswerID: 498276

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:07

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:07
How much of the southern parts of Oz have you seen? There are some just as worthwhile things to see across the south and going no further north than Geraldton.

AnswerID: 498281

Reply By: skid - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:15

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:15
From my experience leaving Cairns late December a few years ago and travelled via Mt Isa to, Kakadu, Alice.
It was blindingly hot all over under canvas pop top and thick with humidity esp' in Darwin. Had to sleep absolutely starkers. Take lots of light clothes and changes of underwear. Lots of water as well.
Stunning scenery at that time of the year from being trapped under tropical lows and being bogged and rescued after 3 days. To seemingly having the whole of Kakadu to myself mid January. Devils Marbles were at 45'. Trip was much better fun than doing it through tourist season.
Would do it again but not take anyone who may complain of harsh conditions.
AnswerID: 498284

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:26

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:26
Bawbag

Seem to have mixed responses.
I live in tropical North Qld, have been for 15 years.Camp regularly with family
I would not do the trip you describe. It is too hot to smell the roses. It is not fun trying to sleep at night at 35 deg C, behind flyscreens stopping the breeze to stop you from being carried away by mozzies.
Each to their own, I would rather go at a time where I have to share with a few more people but at a temperature to enjoy it.
Just came from Kakadu in July, I can not imagine the 1.5 hr walk to Jim Jim or many other places in the humid depressing heat. Kids will have little choice they can't even stay at the car, and normal swimming holes which are ok in the dry will not be ok to swim in
I respect the opinion of others, specially those who have actually done it, but this is my opinion.
AnswerID: 498286

Reply By: Doc - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:44

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:44
Mad as a cut snake - the weather in Cairns & Darwin in summer is oppresive - it's not the heat, it's the humidity that will get you. You'll just want to be in a pool or an airconditioned room. It rains every afternoon, and everything you own will be damp, and probably mouldy.

Have a read of this:

A pom in Darwin

AnswerID: 498288

Reply By: Hunter Gatherer - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:57

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:57
Imagine packing up the camper in the wet, I couldn't think of a worse time to travel the top end at that time of the year with the rain and humidity and heat. I certain ally wouldn't be doing it in a Jayco Swan, perhaps in an air-conditioned caravan, but what are you going to do in the wet? Forget going up there at that time of the year perhaps plan a trip in the southern part go Oz.
AnswerID: 498291

Reply By: quincy - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 19:25

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 19:25
hi bawbag, sounds like a great trip. i live in the nt, just need to remember the weather is so unpredictable at that time of the year. be prepared for floods, and storms and i mean storms. just remember you wont be able to go off road when in the nt at that time and most places where you want to go to will be closed., dont worry about the crocs. travell safe quincy
AnswerID: 498299

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 23:10

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 23:10
I did the centre, Darwin and Broome in January with 3 teenagers about 6 years ago. We loved it. It was so hot in the centre that it was a feature and the humidity in Darwin was unbelievable. It's the extremes of a visit that appeal to me, if I want comfortable I can stay home. Take a fan, you will sleep better. Cheers.
AnswerID: 498313

Reply By: Smouch - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 00:14

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 00:14
I don't think your crazy but if your not use to the humidity you may find it a bit much and take away from your experience. The weather is not such and issue as such, if a cyclone or big storms pop up there easy to avoid/reroute. I have lived in Carins since 96 and although I'm ok with the climate now, it did take me a few seasons to really adapt. Darwin is even hotter by a few degrees which doesn't sound much but a few degress when the humidity is around 90% makes a hell of a lot of difference. Having said that you could come up here that time of the year and have stunning weather, tollerable, and think what on earth are they on about. You could come the following week and it could rain all week. Generally Cairns around christmas is not to bad. The big part of "the wet" comes in Jan. Feb. Mar. The Wet is a little earlier around Darwin.

It's been a while since I have been out there but the centre is really hot very hard on the vehicle as much as you. One thing, make sure the cooling system is right up to spec. or better. If your towing and it's an Auto, a transmission cooler is not a bad idea either. Takes that bit of thermal load off the engine cooling system.

There is no doubt about it, the wet season or Green season as the tourism people call it, has it's own certain appeal. I love it and as mentioned less tourist. My favourite time of the year here is the latter part of April. It's as lush as lush the temp is still up a little but the humidity starting to drop off, the rivers and creeks are still up but dropping, the frogs are crocking and still not as many tourist.

Good luck and have a great trip!

AnswerID: 498316

Reply By: Life Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 08:13

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 08:13
I have always found this month is always seems the hottest across The Flinders Hwy through Mt Isa and the Barkly region. I have seen very sticky wet bitumen in Tennant in November but later on you get a cloud cover and some tyre coolant falls from the sky. Of course the Top End is much better.

AnswerID: 498322

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 09:45

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 09:45
I am a really optimistic person but sorry I have to say you are mad. I live in Karratha WA and travel regularly down to Geraldton, when the temperature is 35C in Karratha it is another 5 or more degrees hotter on the road add to that the hot winds that blow and it makes for very quick lunch stops. It would not be any different travelling across from Cairns to Darwin and the distance is much further! Take it from someone who has lived for 20 years in the Pilbara, you may think you only have to worry about rain closing roads and cyclones well you better add extreme heat and unless you can get to a caravan park and run your aircon it isn't much fun at all. The overnight temperatures don't offer a reprieve at all.

If you do decide to do the trip PLEASE make sure you have a lot more water than you think you might need. If you are forced to stop you will need it very quickly. There aren't a lot of trees for shade either.

Last November I needed to bring our Kedron down from Karratha to store in Geraldton for the cyclone season. I thought I would make it a bit of a holiday trip and spend one or two nights on the road (1100 klms) - left Karratha it was 35 C at 5.30 am - got down to Barradale it was 46C and blowing a gale. I stopped for lunch and the cold water in the tanks were super hot from the heat coming off the road! It was a very quick lunch and I ended up driving close to 800klms before stopping the night and I only stopped because of the roos on the road in the dark. Not fun. Imagine doing that for a few days and your holiday starts not to be a holiday.

Apologies for the doom and gloom but I really don't think you fully appreciate how uncomfortable that part of the trip (Cairns to Darwin) can be.

Sue
AnswerID: 498331

Reply By: Bawbag - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 10:14

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 10:14
Wow - the swingometer is now firmly on the MAD side !

Disappointing as this is really the only chance we'll have to see Cairns and the North of Australia as a family.

Could we do Cairns come back to Townsville - across to tennant creek then go down (rather than up to Darwin) to Alice Springs and down through the centre ? Would that be a better option or is it these roads areas that we should avoid ?

We have 3 months and would love to see north of Queensland but don't want to turn back to go down the coast again but looks like that might be the only option by the sounds of it.

We are very excited but now wishing we'd done more research. Thank you all for your help and responses.

Would love to hear your thoughts on what you would do with 3 months off starting from Sydney !!!

BB
AnswerID: 498334

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 14:03

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 14:03
Hi again Bawbag,

"We are very excited but now wishing we'd done more research." Its not too late to do more research, and from your responses it may well make the difference between a trip that is pleasurable and one that's something of a trial.

Could you go across to Tennant Creek - yes you could. (How were you going to get to Darwin from Cairns - that is the easiest way?) But that is a long hot road with looong empty stretches. Comments already given about vehicle preparation and water apply.

There have already been suggestions made about what you could see in the southern half of the country. To add to that - Snowy Mountains National Park, Mallacoota and Point Hicks in SE Vic, Glenelg NP in western Vic, along the Murray River, Mt Gambier, the Coorong/Murray mouth, and in WA anywhere west from Cape Arid across to Margaret River, including the tall trees country around Pemberton. Oh, and the Nullarbor which is an amazing drive in its own right.

In just about all those places, including those already mentioned you will be able to swim in safety (no stingers or big lizards with sharp teeth) you wont have wet mouldy canvas and you wont be asking too much of your family or your vehicle. It will still be hot, there could be storms but you should be able to sleep at night. If you get as far as Port Augusta and you are coping OK and the weather forecast is favourable you could still do a dash up to Uluru and Alice Springs - but would suggest that you return the same way ie don't attempt the Great Central road on your own at that time of year.

You and your family should be able to have a great time and 3 months will not be enough to see it all. Northern Australia will still be there for later - and you never know what family opportunities might pop up.

Val.

FollowupID: 774315

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 15:24

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 15:24
In summertime Australia, if you want it comfortable, then you either hug the coast or do the high country down in the Snowy Mtns or Victoria. Everyone else in Australia is doing the same thing so you won't be lonely :-) The south coast of South Australia near Beachport or Robe, Kangaroo Island or Port Lincoln are really excellent spots with magnificent scenery. The same can be said about the south of WA around Albany. I have done the Nullabor 3 times in January and I don't think it's that bad. It's pretty close to the coast for most of SA.
FollowupID: 774318

Follow Up By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 19:56

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 19:56
Hi BB,
Another vote for the Victorian high country, then head down to Tassie.
I think it is fabulous that you are really trying hard to have one last family holiday. Go for it - you may never get another chance.
Leanne
FollowupID: 774333

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 10:32

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 10:32
BB

I see that you said you have a 4x4 Patrol. Please tell us it is not a 3.0 grenade.

Personally if it is I would not be putting my family in the position of subject them to the possibility of getting stranded with a blown up Patrol.

As for the trip.............

It's a big one at the least desirable time of the year. if you had lived in the climate for a couple of years it would be OK.
AnswerID: 498336

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 17:17

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 17:17
Welcome to the Forum Bawbag,
I tend to agree with Mick . Also,Yrs. change, weather wise. We've been to Darwin on 2 occasions One yr. It was oppressive in Oct. the next time it was good in Oct. The locals will say "The wet will be early this year or the wet will be late this yr. You could ring someone who'd have a fair Idea.
Either way it will be very hot & you are from Scotland? Many tourists from cold countries cope well .You, knowing of how your family react to heat can only be the judge.You don't mention how old they are. Bored, hot teenagers could turn your trip into a nightmare.
Make sure your vehicle is Prepared for the Trip properly & get your air conditioning checked
thoroughly. Keep yourselves Hydrated.
Take double the amount of water to what you think necessary. Take plenty of breaks where everyone can have some R&r like a caravan Park with a pool!!!!!! It's a long drive!!
If you find that it's not going well Have plan B in mind. Even if it is heading back South a bit to where you are all comfortable.
Apart from flooded road crossings & Crocs, the insects get very busy too so take plenty of Repellent.
You won't know until you try. Just be aware of what you're doing is a risk. & don't take risks.I'm sure you know to stay with your car if you breakdown.
Up the top end, there will be a lot of Burnoffs before the wet & driving through the smoke , you don't see much of the countryside.
My Vote, I wouldn't ,but if your family has no lung problems, give it a go under the circumstances. You can always turn back.
We have to take hols when our Harvest is finished, we have no choice either.
Could you get away even a week earlier?
Take care, safe travels. You'll be hot but enjoy your holiday. Bye for now Ma.
AnswerID: 498351

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 17:48

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 17:48
Bawbag

I have to agree with Sue,,, not a good time to do the top end.

We have gone through two build ups and wet seasons and while you will experience 'the wet' you will not enjoy the humidity and limited sight seeing.

We are in Point Samson (near Karratha) and we will be glad to get home to Scone in a bit over a week a bit hot here. LOL

The area between Whyalla down to Port Lincoln and up to The WA border is absolutely brilliant and could easy consume a month of your time in fairly nice weather.

Anyway if you do go to the top end I would suggest you take about 30 ltrs of water with you at all times.

FollowupID: 774325

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 18:32

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 18:32
I forgot to say that you will find the Humidity much worse than you think it is going to be as someone else has while I was writing my reply.
Also as some body else has said many of the walks will be closed.
Hubby has just come home & is worried about several aspects of the trip.
If your staying on the bitumen, & going across to Three ways & up to Darwin you should be O.K.
However computorised cars around now don't mix well with water if the Road creek crossings become flooded.
He also said that if you intend to go over heavily corrugated roads your van could fall to pieces.
I too , have now come to realize that 5 in your Jayco will be almost intolerable in high Humidity.
Lawn Hill is a great place.
Good luck with your decision.Ma.
FollowupID: 774329

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 20:24

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 20:24
Hi BB,

We first moved to Darwin late 1974, my wife and I and two young kids. Drove from Adelaide in a Chrysler sedan. First 'problem' was getting bogged at Kulgera..got towed out and toodled off to Alice.

Blown away during Tracy and relocated down south. Not to be deterred went to Tennant Creek in 1976. During that time we would often drive to Mount Isa to do some shopping...leave Tennant after school Friday drive o'night to Isa and have a snooze in the panel van -yep with both kids- and drive back on Sunday afternoon.

From Tennant we went to Alice and had 5 years of travel around the area during all facets of weather.

After a few years South we returned to Gove, again we went during the wet season
It was just a wonderful experience.

I guess the message I am trying to put out to you is that only you can decide what is acceptable to yourself and your family. Sure, take on board all and everything that the forumites are telling you but everybody has a different tolerance.

As a family of 4, mum/dad/son/daughter..we never had a problem that we could
not resolve. Yep plenty of water and a common-sense approach will see you have a holiday that will live with you for many years..

Let me know if you need any more info...

rgds
MJ
AnswerID: 498362

Reply By: Bawbag - Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 17:54

Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 17:54
Thank You all for your replies - Some interesting comments which has really got us thinking !!

I appreciate people taking the time to help.

Still not made up our minds but feel not going North even to try would be a travesty. We can see the south anytime but won't have a chance again to see the north.

We may go up to Cairns and see how we cope and make the call then

BB
AnswerID: 498400

Follow Up By: TraceyM - Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 21:53

Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 21:53
Hi there

We are a family of 5, kids will be 10, 8 and nearly 5 when we head off next year. We were planning a similar trip but leaving from Adelaide, up to Darwin (where we lived for a few years before the kids arrived) then either over to WA and down and around back home OR right over to QLD and down that way. After making my own post and getting some good feedback, also suggesting it may not be the best route for that time of year, we are reconsidering it! Looking at using our VX commodore wagon and towing a new 19ft windsor caravan. But we have done the south east a bit before so not quite sure where to go. We have 3-4 months, from October to January. It will be our first trip with a van too. It's hard to know what to do especially when you've only got a few months at that time of the year. Hope your decision making is going well!
FollowupID: 774678

Reply By: Bawbag - Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 12:14

Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 12:14
Its really hard Tracy as we the North East and Northern Territory are the areas we really want to see. We can do the south anytime but with 3 months the good thing is we can do what we please and go with the flow a little.
BB
AnswerID: 498706