Cigarette Butts Thrown out the window!!.
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:11
Axle
Haven't seen it for a while but a guy driving in front of me chucked one out the window, as it scated across the road with sparks visible ,i thought what a bloody thoughtless thing to do. Smoking dosen't bother me but raging bushfires do!,
As a hot dry summer aproaches let it be a timeley reminder to us all to be careful in the way we handle any sort of flame whatever it maybe.
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:31
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:31
G'day Axle
Those that toss butts out the window should receive a heavy fine and loss of points.
One of my pet hates are people that litter our country in any form.
Tossing live butts out of a car window can easily cause a bush fire and loss of life and property.
The law should give them hell.
I'll get of my soap box now.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:33
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:33
Forgot to say that you can dob in a tosser on 131555.
Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:41
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:41
Hi Boo Boo, Its a real worry now with some of them,!!! THEY DON"T GIVE TWO HOOTS!!.....Litter around the place is getting out of hand.
Cheers Mate.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 07:52
Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 07:52
I Hate it too!!!!
Here's another take on the whole thing too....and it's not just in rural or bushfire prone areas.
I was riding my pride and joy $30K motor bike behind one of the above said offenders. I had my leather jacket on with just the collar undone a little for some air flow. Travelling down Lower North East road in Campbelltown when this male apendage head decides to flick a lit ciggy butt out the window in front of me. And where do you think it went? Yep....straight down my collar and into my jacket.
It burnt like hell and I had a hard time trying to stop in traffic without dropping the bike or swerving into the adjacent lane.
I was obviously too preoccupied to note the rego number but I now avoid travelling behind or next to cars when I can smell ciggy smoke (and yes...you can smell it even from a moving vehicle), or see the tell tale arm out the window.
I strongly agree that it is something that should be policed and enforced HEAVILY.
Fab.
Reply By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:33
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:33
G'day Axle,
You can register on the the E.P.A website & "dob in a litterer".
You need to get the rego,make & colour of car to report them on line. I have reported lots of drivers & passengers doing this.
I live in a high fire risk area so apart from the visial aspect it totally amazes me that people dont even consider the fire risk.
Stu
Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:47
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 20:47
G/Day Mate
The word Dobber has always held me back, But after this week i will try to be the biggest dobber out there!!.
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 21:20
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 21:20
Hi Bushranger,
I think you would need to provide more than vehicle details to 'dob in' a litterer. For any successful prosecution you would have to have seen and be able to recognise the offender and be prepared to give evidence in a court.
The authorities can't prosecute the vehicle they have to proceed against a person.
Kev
Follow Up By: dazren - Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 22:47
Thursday, Nov 15, 2012 at 22:47
correct Kev ! mate of
mine got ''dobbed in'' recieved a Fine in the Mail, with the right to go to court if he wanted to deny it, He denied it ?? said he would go to court, 3 weeks later got another letter in the mail, Saying that the matter is withdrawn, and no further action will be taken ?? Rang up to ask Why !! and was told that the ''dobber'' was not prepared to go to court and give evidence ?? He demanded that it does proceed to court as he would like to see the person who dobbed him in and prove him wrong, as the complaint is ''malicious'' However they would not proceed, and only withdraw the fine,, My mate has NEVER smoked, and cannot stand anyone smoking near him, as He has only ONE LUNG
So you don't have to throw anything out of a car to be ''Dobbed On''
Follow Up By: steamfire01 - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 07:03
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 07:03
Hi folks
I live in a very fire prone area of NSW and if there's one thing I can't stand it is cigarette butt tossers.
I've never been a dobber until the last couple of years when I've started my own campaign to dob in as many butt tossers as possible, I think I'm up to about 30 this year, they have all been fair dinkum, where I have definitely seen a cigarette (usually alight) tossed from the car.
As I understand it the culprit gets a warning letter from EPA for the first reported offence and is then on file for any more offences after that.
In NSW ust ring 131555, they will ask you your name and phone number, also the make, model and rego of the vehicle you saw, where you saw it and who tossed the fag ie male driver, female driver, passenger etc.
We need to get out of our own comfort zones and report these morons.
Stay safe out there
TJ
Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 08:33
Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 08:33
A few years ago, wifie and I were stopped at a road repair stop
sign. A car of three
young guys pulled up behind and having just finished their lunch, put all the wrappers together, threw it out the passenger side. I could see it all in the rear view mirror.
We took down the number and the description and of course, they didn't spend long behind me so we got descriptions front and rear. After phoning the number, later went on the web and downloaded the form and filled it and sent in.
You only were asked any more if the offender decided they wanted to challenge the sighting. I heard no more, so guess the driver got a $200 fine and paid.
I am keen to sit on a tram and take movie images of people that throw their butts as the tram approaches in
Melbourne. I have seen it frequently. Be a good YouTube clip.
Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 00:12
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 00:12
Sorry but tossing cig buts out a car window in a country like this is not littering, it is wreckless endangerment.
In fact if the worst happens it could result in multiple cases of manslaughter.
Tossing cig buts is the height of selfishness, ignorance and stupidity.
There are
places in this country if word got round a butt tosser would find life very difficult, they may even leave town without their teeth.
Even in the city, we see regular median strip fires from but tossers.
Stupid Tossers
Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 07:16
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 07:16
I clearly remember back a few years when the huge bushfires closed the Hume Hwy around Christmas time, we had to use the Olympic Way to get home to the Blue Mtns. At Hazelbrook (bushfire central) I'm following a car and both driver and passenger are ashing cigarettes out each window. It was night and I'm getting showered in sparks during one of the biggest bushfire emergencies in memory. Lucky I don't carry a gun, I was so angry I could have shot them. As it was I nearly rammed them. Sometimes the stupidity is mind boggling so I used my Jedi mind settling techniques to calm myself back down.
Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:01
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:01
I think we need a simple indication of displeasure shown to butt tossers.
It appears as though a middle finger is used for tailgaters, people who cut you off etc. so maybe it's time for a
sign for litterers.
One option I would offer would be a rock through the window of the offending drivers car, but not while they're moving.
Perhaps a bit of Government initiative could be introduced.
To buy any new cigarettes, make the buyer trade in his old butts on a one for one basis. That would cause a severe cut in littering.
Enforced DNA testing of smokers could also be introduced, and then any discarded butts could be tested, and the offenders charged the cost of the testing, plus a heavy fine. This could also be used for drink containers and bubble gum.
I'm still working on spray paint cans that explode when used on walls, but may take a bit longer.
Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:59
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 10:59
Before you jump all over me this is not trying to justify throwing butts (or anything else) from the window of a car. I live in the
Perth hills so I am very aware of the consequences of bushfires.
How many new cars have ash trays fitted? The reason I ask is that a friend of one of my daughters just bought a new little "shopping trolley", I can't remember the brand, they all look the same to me..lol. I know she is a smoker but doesn't smoke while driving, however she commented that it did not have an ashtray fitted. I haven't needed an ashtray at all for 35 years so haven't taken much notice until she mentioned it.
I think the practice of throwing lighted cigarettes from your car here in WA attracts a much bigger penalty than just littering, but I may be wrong.
Follow Up By: brushmarx - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 12:32
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 12:32
Na, not going to jump all over you, but you can buy ashtrays at motor accessory outlets for a minimal outlay.
I was given this as an excuse after giving some lip to a ciggie butt tosser, and I pointed out that his car wasn't fitted with a
toilet, and he couldn't the same excuse to defecate out the car window.
He had no printable response.
Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 13:12
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 13:12
Ha Ha Ha !!!
I reckon that's a great comeback for no ashtray in the car. I was trying to think of a comment to add but that's a ripper.
Stu
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 13:16
Friday, Nov 16, 2012 at 13:16
Hahahaha
Yeah you just beat me to it Stu
Nice one brushmarx, I guess the response you got speaks volumes about that clown.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 07:46
Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 07:46
The manufacturer's mentality behind the "no ash tray - no cig lighter" trend is why should everyone pay for an accessory that only a (dying) minority use?
Lots of cars now have the accessory plug (for phones, GPS etc) but no lighter plunger.
Makes sense to me in a competative market...if it saves a few $$$
Fab.
Reply By: hazo - Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 16:50
Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 16:50
My whinge is not just the car window "tossers" but the cigarette end "tossers" full stop !
They think that a quick squash with their shoe and the offending article has vanished !
Went on a caravan
park site recently and spent 10 mins
clearing it of butts ! disgraceful !
The other whinge is the beer bottle "tossers" too.
I don't think half of them realise they are doing it sometimes, or they are just lazy dropkicks.
Littering of any kind should have far harsher fines.
Reply By: kidsandall - Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 20:33
Saturday, Nov 17, 2012 at 20:33
I took the family to
the beach the other week. The couple opposite us got out of there car and the "lady" opened a drink (fruit box type with straw attached) and after taking the plastic off the straw just threw it on the ground. Now she was pregnant so I thought maybe baby brain.
Well no, he does the same thing. After they left I picked up their rubbish and left a note on the windscreen telling them it is illegal to rubbish and is that what they will teach their new baby to do. I left their rubbish with the note. I figure they won't give a rats but it was fun.
I hate litterers of any kind but I really hate butt tossers. They just don't care.
Josh
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 10:35
Sunday, Nov 18, 2012 at 10:35
Bloke told me this yarn, about when he was managing a property down around Riverina.
New stationhand had started work this morning, and the manager, and owner, were talking to him, and no doubt checking him, in the flesh, so to speak.
During the course of conversation the stationhand gets out his tin of Log Cabin, and rolls a smoke with the last of the tobacco. He then drops the empty tin on the ground.
The owner, a dry old bloke, asks the new fellar, how long he was at his last job. The station hand replies: "5 years, Mr So & So"
The old bloke replies: " Jeez, you must have been up to your armpits in tobacco tins by then"