How do you wash your clothes?
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:27
Member - Neil G (VIC)
We are just interested to know how other people do their clothes washing when away from facilities? I usually hand wash but it doesn't seem to get things clean and then I can't wring the
water out, so things are dripping wet. We have tried putting it in a bucket with a lid on while you drive, but even then items needed further scrubbing and we are always worried about the bucket lid coming off! Any suggestions please, Liz & Neil.
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:57
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 17:57
We hand wash, use enough detergent, if you have delicate skin use gloves, soak em if they are extra dirty. Use preen or similar as required.
Do my old mum's trick and wring em out and wind em up your forearm as you wring. If your hands are too weak liz get Neil to do it.
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:00
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:00
Carry enough socks, jocks, and hankies to last me from CP to CP.
As for the other stuff - you can always turn it inside out.........
Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:06
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:06
G'day Neil,
We use 2 off 20 litre plastic buckets for the clothes & I made a great agitator to use with it.
I got a STRONG plastic funnel & drilled 20mm holes randomly around the conical area of the funnel. Then I got some white poly pipe around 40mm dia x 1.5m long & pushed the end of the funnel into it. This is then secured with self-tapper screws so the funnel will not fall out.
To use, you put warm soapy
water in one bucket & clean cold
water in the other. Starting in the bucket with soapy
water & clothes you grip the poly pipe in 2 hands & push up & down repeatedly to on the clothes to wash. The upside down funnel in the bucket agitates the clothes & the
water escapes thru the holes in the funnel back into the bucket.
Repeat above in clean
water bucket & job done. Builds up the muscles in your arms too!
Stu
Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:49
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 08:49
We use the same system - very efficient. If very dirty use sodium percarbonate and soak over-night. Sodium percarbonate is the active ingrediant in Nappisan - used for cleaning nappies. Use the generic version from Coles or Woolies. Much cheaper and more active ingrediant.
Also use this product in the cassette
toilet - better than any of the commercially available
toilet chemicals and safe in the environment.
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:21
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:21
Neil,
My travelling mate has the best bush washing machine available. Capable of up to five loads in an afternoon although wash quality does drop off towards sunset. Very low maintenance, just on occassional back rub accompanied with words of encouragement and a glass of Baileys at the end of the wash cycle.
Here's a photo....

Scotties Washing Machine
(Sorry Neil, I just couldn't help it ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:49
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:49
Not Mick O any more, will be Smack O me thinks :)
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:15
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:15
Maate, you are ded...as in dead, finished, finito..LOL
MSM on the way to you know who....LOL
Oh dear, what a brave man you are..........
MJ
Follow Up By: Member - wadams - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:45
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:45
How awesome is that. What a great bucket she has.
Love ya style.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:52
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:52
Actually MJ I think she'll be fine with it. Her butt was smaller then!
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 13:22
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 13:22
'Her butt was smaller then!"
Hmmm, what exactly are you trying to say...lol
MJ
Reply By: SDG - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:28
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:28
My parents bought a twin tub. They use it off the house batteries in the back of the camper. Mum also uses at home on occasions as she says it uses less
water than the main one in the laundry
Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:38
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 18:38
Wash clothes? What, when you're
camping?
Your'e joking......... aren't you?
Follow Up By: Bush Wanderer - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:37
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:37
I am with Allan. You can always take spares clothes if they get that bad.
BW....
Follow Up By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 15:43
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 15:43
Ditto Allan and Bush Wanderer
Carry plenty of underwear which (in my case) is lightweight and small and we find you can always make do until the next
laundromat or caravan
park, even if they are a couple of weeks apart. Its usually possible to put on multiple loads and have them all done in under an hour in a laundry.
Life is too short, and
water too precious, to waste it. (And that goes for ironing as
well. That is one electrical appliance which rarely gets used at home.)
I had the chance to add a washing machine to the caravan which is currently being built for us and decided not to bother. The weight and space were both deciding factors.
regards,
Heather
Follow Up By: Member - Allan H (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:35
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 20:35
Totally agree Allan why bother, wait until you arrive at a caravan
park for a few day's.
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:09
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:09
Hi Liz and Neil
Two 20 litre buckets with sealing lids - one for wash for the morning and on for rinsing in the afternoon; the rougher the road the better. If stationary, i have a plumbers plunger to use to agitate the washing. Wringing out is the only hard part and we do it in a towel between the two of us. I usually only use
water from an outside source so as not to deplete our tanks. We can do all but sheets this way. We aim for a
laundromat about once a week to give everything a good wash so don't hand wash all the time.
Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:06
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:06
G/Day MH,.........Thats the closest thing to Alby Mangles way of washing!!, He reckoned it was the only way,......Mind you it appeared everything was hanging off the side of the trailer....lol.
Surprised this method wasn't mentioned before!
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:46
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:46
From an early trip, using a plunger made from a plastic funnel - not as good as a softer plumbers plunger.

Washing day, Hay River Track
To get around the problem of hand wringing one of our travelling companions carried one of these in his Troopy

All the comforts of home
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Candace S. - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:12
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:12
LOL, a hand-cranked wringer wasn't something I'd ever thought of bringing along on a
camping trip!
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:22
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:22
I considered getting a wringer when setting up, but they are hard to get (or expensive new from USA) and heavy. Hence it depends where we are whether we need to do more than the smalls or can visit laundromats often enough to do it all the easy way.
Mh
Follow Up By: Member - Nick T2 - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 15:08
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 15:08
As Derek and Clive sang 'I have not laughed so much since grandma died or aunty mabel caught her left t*t in the mangle'
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:44
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 19:44
I take
mine home and drop them on the floor in the laundry ,,I don't know what happens after that............
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:20
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:20
Muzbry, Muzbry, Muzbry.......
I tried that, didn't work........please talk to my missus..;)))..lol
MJ
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:48
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:48
Whats her name Michael , ill send a letter
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:49
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:49
You won't need to! Once she sees this you'll here her from your place!!!
Get out now....before she arrives!
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 09:08
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 09:08
"You won't need to! Once she sees this you'll here her from your place!!!"
ROTFLMAO with tears...
How sweet it is...lol
I will tell her you said it Mick...at an appropriate time..hahahaha
MJ
ps Kym says she will do the cooking next time you are through...just in case..lol
Reply By: richard b12 - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:28
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:28
We just buy a new hat every five years or so. Who wears clothes?
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:57
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 20:57
We take "not so good" clothes for an extended trip so that even if CP washing machines don't do as good a job as your washing machine at
home, it doesnt really matter. Often water is hard too, so detergent doesnt work so
well.
Unless we are really remote we usually end up in a CP every week or 10 days and use the machines there, though if we are only staying overnight getting things dry can be tricky, especially for towels and jeans. If the dryers are working all is good. You have to have enough clothes to last the distance though.
When away from washing machines we use a couple of square buckets, one for washing and one for rinsing. If water is scarce and I need to discard dirty washing water I use the rinse water for the next wash and use fresh water for rinsing. I use a plunger made from a plumbers plunger with a couple of holes in the side of the rubber bell - this works very
well (good exercise too). Hand wringing is the hard part - I can remember when I was very small my mother hand wrung all the weekly wash. No way could I do that, so
John may need to help.
We carry a length of thin rope for a washing line and plenty of pegs, plus one of those folding washing baskets - very handy. Also carry a spare plug and/or piece of rubber tube for those occasions when laundry tubs have no plugs.
If you are staying put for a day or so that makes washing easier. We are usually moving most days and under those conditions it can be hard getting washing done and dry - unless in
the desert. I have tried soaking as you travel but I dont think the water gets mixed around enough, but at least the clothes get a good soak.

Bush washing day
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:17
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 21:17
Hi Neil,
I usually take enough clothes to last the trip but on the canning I rigged up a keg with a seal able opening lid with an over cam latch. I'd throw a load in, 3/4 full of water and 3 rubber balls (3" pigs used for cleaning water pipes).
You drive along corrugations for the day and youd be surprised how clean they get a quick rinse then ready to be hung out.
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:39
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 22:39
Sealable Kegs, Plungers, Wringers and Twin Tubs even.
Sounds almost Un-Australian!
Haven't you heard of dry cleaning?........If its dry, it's clean.
At least Mick O's Baileys as a final rinse additive does double duty.
And Richard,........... a hat is barely broken-in at five years.
Follow Up By: Member - wadams - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 23:01
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 23:01
Sometimes I just love this website.
I can sit and read and laugh my head off.
Some people just don't get it.
And you are right about the hat, as long as it has had a
litter of pups in it.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:17
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:17
This is no laughing matter wadams , this is serious stuff.....
Follow Up By: Member - wadams - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:22
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:22
Oh Muzbry.
You are dead right. Very serious indeed.
My washing machine can actually talk as
well, however, sometimes I am sure I can hear a bad whine in the voicebox.
I'm with you mate, onto the caravan floor and then they appear like magic all clean and folded into the cupboard sometime later.
Maybe one day somebody will explain to me how that actually happens.
Fortunately the winch wench is at work and doesn't usually go onto this
forum. But she has got a good sense of humour. (I hope).
Wadams
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 23:25
Wednesday, Nov 28, 2012 at 23:25
In all seriousness Neil, I do actually wash and the secret as far as I’m concerned is having a fairly large tub (I tend to use one of my square storage tubs these days rather than a bucket) and using warm or hot water! We carry a 10l stainless steel bucket (Can be purchased for $30 at most field days) that sits on the fire when water is available. If the water is stinking hot, the clothes soak for a while before they get scrubbed. I usually separate and move through the items in order, shirts first, then underwear and jeans and sock last. Same with the rinse water although this is usually cold! If you use warm rinse water, at the end of rinsing, this becomes wash water for the next load.
Wringing usually involves two people. For jeans you can wrap a leg either side of a branch, the bullbar or what ever and twist. Don’t really care on water content as if they drip dry, they don’t need ironing.
Ironing....
I usually prefer to heat a large rounded river pebble in the fire for at least an hour before smoothing out the wrinkles on the bonnet of the vehicle. I’d advise welders gloves to hold
the rock but riggers gloves will do in a pinch. The flatter
the rock, the better but don’t overheat as they tend to explode. For permanent press or fine wool garments (Like Michael J’s safari suits), I generally put them under the mattress in the camper while still slightly damp. Just make sure the creases are OK.
OK that last part was bulldust but when you are out for a few months at a time, washing is a necessity.

Wash day on the Canning 2009

Washday at Durba 2008
Reply By: Member - Neil G (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:29
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:29
Thanks everyone for your ideas some practical ones and some laughs. We do use the generic nappy cleaner in the loo, so might also try it on the washing and had forgotten about wringing clothes out in a towel so will try that too. Usually try to find a CP every now and then to catch up with larger items but try to avoid them if we can, the CP's I mean!! Have fun out there, regards Liz & Neil.
Reply By: Danna - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:34
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 12:34
Hi Liz & Neil
There is a secret to it. We wear only darker clothes and we have other stuff in darker colour as
well. This way even if it is not perfectly washed during a trip, we do not look dirty. To my standard, washing machines in public laundromats don't wash
well either, even with use of Omo.
When we come
home, I soak everything inside washing machine in Omo for about 2hours and then I wash it in double of amount of water.
Ciao Dana
Reply By: petengail - Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:01
Thursday, Nov 29, 2012 at 16:01
We use a toilet plunger. Make sure its one with a thread on the end so the plunger thingy dosent keep coming off. For wringing out wrap the atricle around the bull bar and then wring it - it will get most of the water out. Well it works for the missus...lol
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 04:34
Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 04:34
Washing day at
Dalhousie Springs
Wash Day @ Dalhousie Springs