People and GPS technology !!

Submitted: Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:35
ThreadID: 99429 Views:3745 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
Do people really rely purely on their electronic gadgetry and no paper backup, have to wonder about some people!

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-12-10/apple-maps-strands-motorists-looking-for-mildura/4418400

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:49

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:49
You just beat me to it Wicket. I was going to post this news item as well. Unfortunately I suspect that plenty of people do rely on their phones for navigation and dont have either a paper map or the knowledge to use it.

Apple Iphone users please take note.

Val

AnswerID: 500119

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:58

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:58
Everyone knows that Apple is infallible! Actually any electronic device is! And the web, whatever you read on the web is always the truth and very accurate.
AnswerID: 500120

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:29

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:29
you cynical old b*****d :)
FollowupID: 776114

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:11

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:11
G'day wicket,

I rely on my paper maps and use the electronics as a backup,
but not eveyone does.

AnswerID: 500128

Reply By: Candace S. - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:17

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:17
"Death by GPS" keeps happening here in the US and Canada...a few examples:

Woman rescued after being stranded for 7 weeks (her husband's body was found months later)

Woman blindly follows GPS into the desert; she barely survives, her child dies... Other incidents described as well

Three women lost in the desert by following car's GPS

AnswerID: 500130

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:54

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:54
Didn't some Japanese tourists following a gps drive into the ocean in Queensland a few months back? I think it's a practical example of evolution at work...
FollowupID: 776125

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:09

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:09
mikehizz,
yep that one was a classic. The amazing part was how far the getz got.

RA.
FollowupID: 776126

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:29

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:29
We use a trip planner for location and travel time then compare it to the map book.

Luckily we have not had a problem.

FollowupID: 776127

Follow Up By: Life Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 07:26

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 07:26
It would be very interesting to know what brand of GPS these people were using.

Hey Rockape....the Getz ....Getz you into trouble.

FollowupID: 776163

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:54

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 19:54
Hi Wicket

It just goes to show that some people as just so dumb, and even if given a paper map, could not even read that either.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 500140

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:23

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:23
Stephen, you said what i was thinking in a much much nicer way. Trouble is a lot of people are getting lazy and wont open a book. Or is it because they cant fold a map. Rant over, we use a hema book and the hema gps so the driver can see where we are not where we are going. Then half the time i forget to turn it on anyhow.
Sharon
FollowupID: 776130

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:41

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:41
I Sharon

I always do all my pre trip preparations on 100% paper maps, and then when I am sure I have what I want and where to go, then work it in conjunction with Ozi.

The very sad fact of life that most a lot people have no real idea where they are going and cannot even read road signs.

You would be surprised how many phone calls I get at work from new reps and say they are lost and how to get to Clare. When I ask how did they get there, they say they just followed the Main Highway north from Gawler and usually end up in the Barossa Valley. Then when asked 'do you not see the Clare Valley sign turnoff', their answer is No.

I find the best old fashioned hand drawn Mud Map then works best for them on the best way back to Adelaide.

All the very best and have a fantastic Christmas.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 776131

Reply By: SDG - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:26

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:26
Technology is not always a good thing.
How many of the younger generation now a days can read a map? Do they know what a dictonary is? Or an encyclopedia?
Give it a couple of years and they might not know what a book is.
AnswerID: 500142

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 07:27

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 07:27
I heard one of the latter generations say on TV once that he would Google it. It made me wonder as well. He was asked how he would know what to do to change the washer in a tap. And would Google tell him to check the seating of the new washer as well and maybe clean/ream it our if needed. I doubt it. He was dead serious. The elderly commentator and other older generations were flabergasted but his mates and he were dead serious.

If that is the mentality of the future maybe we won't have to worry about over populating the world.

We even carry a compas in the console and a bunch of paper maps.

FollowupID: 776165

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 08:39

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 08:39
Phil,

The folllowing is one of the many 'how to change a washer' articles using Google. (The pictures didn't copy/paste)

Replacing the Washer

Firstly make sure to turn off your water main in the house. Your water main will either be out on the street or in your front yard if you live in a house. If you live in a flat or townhouse the mains tap will probably be inside the bathroom or laundry.
Open the tap to release any water left in the pipe.
Place the plug in the basin to prevent any tap parts from disappearing into the drain.
Remove the tap’s cover with a screwdriver on the handle to expose the screw. The screw is most likely under the hot or cold sign. Some taps will have screws positioned on the side.
Undo the screw and remove the handle.
If the tap is shrouded with a metal cover, unscrew by hand or use a wrench. Make sure to use a cloth over the cover to protect the chrome from scratching.
Use a spanner or wrench to unscrew the tap bonnet (Fig 2). Completely take out the headgear, you should now see the large body washer, the o-ring and the jumper valve.
The jumper valve will just fall out.
Replace the body washer, the o-ring and the jumper valve then refit bonnet & spindle - make sure not to over tighten the nuts.
Re-assemble the tap, close it and then open the water main.
Check that the leaking has ceased.
Reseating a tap

If your tap continues to leak after replacing the washers it will need to be reseated. Reseating resurfaces your tap, so that the washer has the tightest seal. The simplest way to do this is to purchase a reseating kit which generally comes with all of the washers and seals to simply reseat your tap.

Fig 1. The jumper valve could need replacing.

Fig 2. Use a spanner or wrench to unscrew the tap bonnet.
FollowupID: 776169

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:20

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:20
Well isn't that nice. What's a tap bonnet and which way do you turn it to unscrew it. What is a wrench? It didn't say to go upstairs and open any tap to help the water out either. What about the mains tap being in a hole and possibly covered by a box or something, even plants. Ours is almost a meter down at the bottom of a pipe and you cant just stick your hand down the pipe.

Does Google tell you which end of a hammer to use as well. What about how to "feel" the fish touching the fly on the end of the line and when to strike.

I had a very brainy supervisor once who wouldn't have known which end of a hammer to hold. Very high IQ we blieve. But in practical ways he was a real twit. That is what I think of Google. Lots of knowledge but not one iota of practical skills. Looks like blokes will have to start reading instructions!!!!! And with less emphasis on grammar, especially the written kind, it will be a nightmare.

FollowupID: 776175

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:36

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:36
What is the difference in people Googling for answers, to asking the same question on a forum such as this, that gives many wrong & unqualified answers?

FollowupID: 776177

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:51

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:51
Point made Shakes. I am miles off the GPS topic.

FollowupID: 776178

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:54

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:54
Before I disappear I think that it would be interesting to know the accuracy of the information that Googles finds. In most cases tit doesn't have a date or authority attached and may veen be superceeded or blatantly wrong.

Therefore you cant trust what Google finds also being unrefutedly correct.

FollowupID: 776180

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:56

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 09:56
Who's fault is it with the younger generation not knowing how to do anything without the aid of computers and such?
Is the parents for not showing the kids? (or lack of parents)
School for not teaching?
Kids who are just to lazy to learn anything pratical?
Society?
Or just over regulations, OH&S

Army recruit instructors here are laughing at the new recruits, and what they are required to do. Apparently they are not allowed to lay on the ground while on the shooting range. They are required by OH&S to lay out a mat first, in case they get scratched/jabbed by a stick.

Have been told i'm not allowed to show the kids in my care how to do things like basic mechanics, changing tyre, mowing lawns, etc, like a normal parent would. Something to do with OH&S.
FollowupID: 776181

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 10:09

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 10:09
You are right mate.

It's our fault. Ours for not taking the kids and building a billy cart. Ours for not showing how to bait a line. Ours for letting the bloody government and school teachers take over education. How the bloody hell will my son studying Japanese help them bake bread. They had to learn french in school instead of spending time on "reading, writing and arithmetic". At least the physics and maths helps them now. The japanese was a total waste.

And it's getting worse.

At least we made billycarts and christmas presents for each other and went fishing. So I can say that I am not totally guilty. And I am pleased to say that they are not interested in the latest technology. Not even iphones, ipads or tablets. They are also 40+ and do not need it.

PS That word in my previous post should have been "irrefutably". I had the wrong spelling.
FollowupID: 776185

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:38

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 20:38
Don't be too hard on them.

These people may not know anything about Mildura, where it is, what kind of country it lays in.

Following your GPS into a flooded river or off a cliff is one thing, this is different.

If my map said Mildura was in the Murray Sunset National Park then you would have no reason to doubt it with no prior knowledge. Though I would now of course be hesitant using this Apple product until they have debugged it.

This is not about whether papers maps are better, this is about both the accuracy of modern maps and the media used to access them.

AnswerID: 500143

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:42

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:42
Alan,
you are correct in what you say.

The big problem is with the suppliers of these products are they seem to be able to supply something that is not for purpose.

I did a run to Brisbane to do a delivery. I just put in the address and then looked at where the route would take me.
Well that scared the hell out of me because where I wanted to go was on the northside and the route took me across the river then back to were I wanted to go.

As you say I am lucky in the fact I know the area and said to myself. They have to be joking.

Maybe the suppliers of these products have to become a little more accountable for their product. Fit for purpose I think is the word.

RA.
My thoughts of the last time in Brisbane are. Woolies the fresh food people. Ha! Ha! Ha! Sorry for the Woolies plug.

FollowupID: 776138

Follow Up By: WBS - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:32

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:32
Hasn't anyone ever heard of road signs? Surely as you drive along the highways and byways there are plenty of road signs telling you which way Mildura is? When the GPS says one thing and the road sign says another, wouldn't that start raising some concerns in your mind? Or if the GPS says turn left for Mildura yet there are no road signs indicating the same, wouldn't that get you a bit inquisitive?

I travel lots of places without maps when I'm not going off the highway. I follow roadsigns. I would never venture out into the remote areas without maps and without researching my intended route though. I carry paper maps (eg Hema road atlas) and also a spare GPS too.

WBS
FollowupID: 776151

Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:07

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:07
Hi Rockape,

Just coming back to WA from Cairns, Melbourne and Sydney (and Mildura) I can attest to the performance of Google maps and its ability to guide you to your destination (not Apple).

I don't have to look it up, just type the address and I am guided there seamlessly. What more could I ask for...mind you I wouldn't use the vector navigation systems unless I was in an area I was unfamiliar with, like big cities or other ie. some of those towns over east are massive.

I can see how the system may get it wrong sometimes, generally I suspect it is acceptable to the normal traveler.

Hi WBS

Agree, there are signs everywhere, especially the ones which tell you not to carry fruit into the area. Signs are a part of the landscape and are a good guide when you see them :-)

A degree of common sense is required here, and perhaps the people who get caught up in these problems may or may not have this quality; experience would help them I would think, or they may have just been having a bad day..

FollowupID: 776154

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:45

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:45
I suppose that I can't talk really. A gps took me into a paddock in Germany once. I did have a paper map but it wadn't detailed enough and I had buckley's of reading any of the road signs so the gps was my only choice. At least it spoke English. :-) And every car was on the wrong side of the road except me....
AnswerID: 500156

Reply By: Member - Terra'Mer - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 22:36

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 22:36
Someone correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't the Navy do this now? Satellites and computers first, charts and compasses second, celestial ?????
Crikey!
Have you seen my marbles?

AnswerID: 500206

Follow Up By: Member - Terra'Mer - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 22:37

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 22:37
Sorry, my bad, satellites are celestial :D
Have you seen my marbles?

FollowupID: 776243

Reply By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 15:06

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 15:06
You cant go past the ol paper mapping in my view..Use the Garmin,Tom Tom etc etc as a means only because you roughly know where you want to go from the paper and memory,so if it sends you somewhere you think heah that's not right your onto it straightaway..Theres been many times U-Turns are used and they shouldn't be from GPS Directions...

High Country Trips are always looked over using Paper Rooftop Mapping First..All are laminated.So can put on bonnet and even put cuppa coffee on it...My Mag XL supplies the UTM info.(bit of useless info there lol)

Goodluck.
AnswerID: 500237