removing car dealers name off car

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 08:50
ThreadID: 99454 Views:4266 Replies:17 FollowUps:13
I remone all dealers names off my car when I buy it,however the last car the dealers name stuck on the boot lid.Iasked them to remove it but they said the paint work would be damage in removing it. Would a hair dryer soften the glue to enable me to remove the badge?
Varmint

Reply By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 08:56

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 08:56
I refuse to advertise a car dealer too. Funny how they don't want to pay me for the use of my car as an advertising hording!

1. Get the dealer to take it off. One guy told me the warranty would be void. Didn't stop laughing for a week.

2. If it is a sticker, heat it (use the sun) and then pick at it. I have used WD40/RP7 as a liquid starter to get most stickers off. Sometimes have to rub a bit but no damage to the paint unless you use an implement and then you will scratch it.

3. If its a plastic word or logo. heat it in the sun and gently prise a corner up. It will come off once the glue is soft.

bill
Bill B

AnswerID: 500218

Reply By: MemberGraham J - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 08:59

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 08:59
Yes,hair dryer to start with will do the trick then remove surplus glue with eucalyptus oil.
AnswerID: 500219

Reply By: Michelle R2 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:22

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:22
What an asshole thing to do! I also refuse to do free advertising - arb stuck stickers all over my ute after getting stuff done so I patiently took them off only to have them reappea when it went back there for more goodies.
AnswerID: 500221

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:39

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:39
You want to be thankful you don't live in the USA where it is common practice for dealers to attach a diecast emblem to the bootlid with holes drilled and screwed.

Especially common on American built cars.

It's about 100% that you will get Number Plate surrounds with the dealers name and location.
AnswerID: 500222

Follow Up By: splits - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 20:04

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 20:04
There was a GM dealer in Sydney named Stack and Co that used to do that. They started in the mid 1930s and were still going up into the 60s and maybe a bit longer. It did not matter whether it was a Chev, Pontiac, Holden or whatever, they drilled holes and fitted a metal badge on the back.
FollowupID: 776302

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:43

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 09:43
Tell him you posted on several forums and the overwhelming response was what an ahole. If he refuses mane and shame him and several people may just call to say they would never buy a car off them. I bet it will be off that day.
AnswerID: 500224

Follow Up By: GEMAC Solar and Power - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 10:01

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 10:01
agree 100% with boobook
FollowupID: 776273

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 10:47

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 10:47
You could make up a sticker of your own and tell that dealer that you will post it above his name if he doesn't remove it, and without paint work damage.

Something like "THIS DEALER IS A (INSERT WORD OF CHOICE)"

PS Not saying you would actually do it (;-))
AnswerID: 500227

Reply By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 11:03

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 11:03
Tell them to remove it and repair the paint work if required or pay you $1000 a year for advertising them.

Darryl
AnswerID: 500229

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 11:37

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 11:37
Fair dinkum guys..... it has taken me longer to read this thread & reply to it than it would have taken to remove a 'dealers sticker'..... if you dont like something get over it & fix it ..... dont whinge!

Varmint....
I understand your dilemma, my dealer Maitland Toyota does the same thing....a 'stylish' little sticker on the boot lid..... I have found them to be great to deal with & I personally dont mind sporting their advertising.....BUT in your case you dont like it, you dont say weather you vehicle is new or an 'older' vehicle....some of those stickers the adhesive can etch into the paint work & permanently mark it so the sooner you get it off the better (as has been described above)
AnswerID: 500230

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 12:42

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 12:42
Funny thing is these same people probably go & buy RM Williams stickers or CAT mudflaps!

FollowupID: 776285

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 13:49

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 13:49
Reckon a well placed Free ExplorOz sticker could fix it.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 776288

Follow Up By: Varmint - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 14:41

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 14:41
Thanks Tony I am not whinging I am trying to find the best method of removing it.Once I own the car I can place any stickers on I want to but that does not give someone else the right to use my car as a free advertising board.Thanks to all other replies for your advise
Varmint
FollowupID: 776289

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 17:48

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 17:48
David,
It's times like this that I automatically look for the "Like" button on your comment.

Fab.
FollowupID: 776794

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 17:53

Thursday, Dec 20, 2012 at 17:53
Shaker,
Back in the days before there was so much competition in the window tinting industry, some well positioned stickers on the back window of the HQ ute would prevent my scone from getting baked on long trips and cheaper than window tint..... and YES...there were some RM Williams stickers in the mix along with the usual B&S Ball ones.

Fab.
FollowupID: 776795

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 15:09

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 15:09
Hi Varmint

I would say you are on the right course with the hair dryer, it might take a while, but you should get it off. After it is off, give the area a good polish and you will never know that it was there.

I, like many here on the forum will only ever display one sticker on our vehicle, and show it off with pride.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 500238

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:27
FollowupID: 776310

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:53

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:53
Hi eighty matey

Do worry, my sticker has looked like that many times....LOL

Who has been here

FollowupID: 776312

Reply By: sweetwill - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 17:44

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 17:44
Varmint.
Its a no brainer, If it is a vinyl sticker peel of the outer service then use eucalyptus oil with a soft cloth,If its a paper one wash with hot water and car detergent and rub in a circular motion then remove the glue with eucalyptus oil.Bill.
AnswerID: 500245

Reply By: X_PAC6969 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 18:01

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 18:01
make it known to ARB that you donot Want them to put any more stickers on your vehicle.
I had a experiance once where i had extra stuff put on by the dealer like tar babies (mud Spats) they had the dealers name on them when i queried them about this i was told thats all they have I was charged for them more than i was quoted so i said to sales person who sold me the vehicle i want them removed and whe i reufsed to pay for what they put on they the agreed to take them off.
I went to local auto shop and bought some for less that a 1/3 of what dealer was asking for
AnswerID: 500246

Reply By: steved58 - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 21:27
I had a 4wd shop put a sticker on my car so as I left I peeled it off it came off easily I then walked over to the front door of the business and stuck it sideways on their door They did not ask for it but niether did I
AnswerID: 500257

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 09:01

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 09:01
Love that one! :-)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 776324

Reply By: donk - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:34

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 22:34
i worked at a dealership a while ago where the dealer principal would walk around the workshop and remove other local dealers stickers off the rear windows on customers cars and stick his own on instead

This resulted in quite a few angry customers

Regards Don
AnswerID: 500261

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 18:30

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 18:30
When was April Fools Day moved to mid December?
AnswerID: 500296

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:17

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:17
Well said!

FollowupID: 776351

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:26

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:26
Well you might be right but my old man bought a lot of trucks and demanded that any advertising be removed or I will buy elsewhere.

He was never challenged and I can tell you he was no fool.

If the OP asked how to remove the stickers, stick to what he wants. Ha. Ha.

RA.

FollowupID: 776352

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Di T (SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:21

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 20:21
When we buy a car we tell all dealers before we sign up that there is to be none of their advertising and that includes the panel around the number plate. We've never had a problem. Of course it is written into our contract. Consider doing that in future.

Di
AnswerID: 500298

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:40

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 06:40
Ditto. Same here.

FollowupID: 776369

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:00
If the sticker is fairly fresh it should come off easily, slow diagonal pull is the go.

any mild solvent like turps or kerro or some of the plant oils will remove any residue if it is fresh....do not use metho or thinner.

If the sticker or whatever other adhesive thing you find on paintwork that you don't like has been there a while or is baked on.

Go to your local refinish / panelbeaters supplier and ask for a "Caramel Wheel", ( pinstripe removal wheel) about $12......the reason they are called a caramel wheel will be obvious as soon as you start using it....they smell like caramel

Use it with and power drill on low speed, or a battery drill on high speed 800is RPM

these will take heaps of this sort of stuff off quickly and as long as the paint is sound and properly cured...and you dont get too agressive or run at too high speed as clean as a whistle and with no paint damage

I baught a vehicle with the remains of extensive baked on corporate signage on it, the caramel wheel was the only thing that would touch the adhesive residue.

I used mine since on a numbe of things and they are a wonder.

AnswerID: 500399

Reply By: Varmint - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 09:14

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 09:14
The hairdryer worked a treat.Many thanks to all who replied
Varmint
AnswerID: 500459