your most overrated destination.

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:04
ThreadID: 99484 Views:6430 Replies:25 FollowUps:45
for me it is the great ocean rd.(then again i worked along there for 15+years).ayers rock
is another place that i would not rush back to.

what is your most overrated place to visit/see?

Reply By: Member - KYLE S - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:19

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:19
Ain't we all different though. I thing GO Road is one of my favorite places
AnswerID: 500354

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:21

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:21
Kakadu ( or is it kakadont?)
AnswerID: 500355

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:23

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:23
would go back there because i didn,t see enough the first time
FollowupID: 776400

Reply By: Work2Travel - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:32

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:32
Hi Burra, this is a good topic, that is bound to get a few responses. For me I love the Great Ocean Rd and Ayers Rock. For me the most over rated spot I have been to was Moreton Island. You cant help compare it to Fraser, and it comes up short. Im not saying I hated my stay their, I had some friends come back from their raveing about it, so I put it on my list of places to go. It rained the whole time we were their, and it was crowded. Im sure if I go back again, and it is sunny and less people, Id love it as well.
AnswerID: 500358

Follow Up By: rumpig - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:44
funny you should say that, we were on Moreton Island last week and loved the place. usually we'll go to Fraser Island but this time we made a change, the more relaxed pace of the island and lack of vehicles travelling up and down the beach was fantastic IMHO, especially with our young kids there also. yes Fraser is probably a prettier island overall for the most part some might say, but our short stay on Moreton has me wanting to head back there again sometime soon next year for sure.
as to my most overated place, it's Undura Lava Tubes for me. the rsort and camping area are well set up, but the Lava Tubes themselves didn't excite me much for some reason. can't say i'd head back there again anytime soon myself, though have read where others loved the place also....lol
FollowupID: 776402

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:49

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 20:49
i havent been to qld yet (and i don't want to) (another story) but while we were at the rock ,it rained so we went inside to the centre,well worth it . some of the photos remind me of the trip. happy memos.

FollowupID: 776404

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:11

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:11
Burra,
sorry you don't want to come to Qld. It will be all right if you do and if you listen carefully we can nearly speak english.

I can always find something new in every place I visit.

RA.

Tomorrow my next visit will be the dunny and every day something new appears.

FollowupID: 776407

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:22

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:22
by qld i meant the gold coast. sorry if i caused offence.

the tip is on the list!
FollowupID: 776408

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:34

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:34
Burra,
All is cool I wasn't offended at all. Just having a dig.

I always go with an open mind (maybe because it is empty) and try to see the different things that places have to offer.

As I say. Some days are Diamonds and some days are rocks.

Have a good one,
RA.
FollowupID: 776410

Reply By: Kris and Kev - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:10

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:10
I am not too sure if I can name any place as each person has their own opinion. So far all of the places people have mentioned as being overrated we loved. Some travellers you meet will absolutely bag a place, but we still go with an open mind and usually have a ball. El Questro as an example. While doing the Kimberley we meet so many telling us not to bother going there. Too expensive, overrated, etc etc. Luckily we went there, spent 4 nights and found it brilliant.
I know this thread is just for fun, but do not let people put you off a place. Listen to them, but still give it a go. Maybe we just get spoilt when travelling?
Burra
Sad you will never go to Queensland. There are a lot of fantastic places to go, not to mention the tip.
Kevin
AnswerID: 500360

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:29

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:29
Kris and Kev,

Same here we were cruising around El Questro and had been out to explosion gorge. Came back and went up a ridge that overlooked the Pentecost River.

Old mate from a southern state came up and while we were taking in the awesome view he gets in my face about how crap the NT is and it is nothing like his high country and goes on and on about NT.

Very observant person I thinks to myself and then my lovely wife sees I am getting a little toey. So we just left him to his misery and I am sure he would have dragged his wife down as well.

RA.
FollowupID: 776409

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:04

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:04
I got a mate here that keeps going on and on about the NT as well, in particular Darwin, and bagging out where he is. I keep thinking to myself if he does not like this place so much, why not move back.
FollowupID: 776417

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:51

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:51
LOL, we loved El Questro, we'll probably go back if we are up that way again..... just goes to show how we are all different.... LOL

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 776420

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:32

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:32
On our lap around the block El Questro was far and away the worst, an absolute low point.

Over-rated, over-priced and over-booked was how we saw it. What they have you can see just about anywhere else in the Kimberley. We paid for a private camp spot that was covered with large rocks so that you could not put a tent up there. Then we were shoved into the over-crowded camp spots without an apology. Ignorant, arrogant staff, and a very ordinary stay.

Luckily the rest of the trip was amazing and some fabulous places to visit.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 776432

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:53

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:53
Sorry about your experience jack. Our stay could not have been more opposite. This was our last stay after spending just over two months in the Kimberley (last year). We had a beautiful grassy private camp site beside the river, went on lots of walks to the gorges, did some nice drives to the lookouts, had some great afternoon drinks and wonderful conversations with other travellers at the bar area, had a brilliant helicopter flight and thought the staff were very helpful. The cost of our stay was no different to other places in the Kimberley. It is quite amazing how people have different experiences in the same place. It is like caravan parks. We hate most of them, just love free or bush camping spots, where others love caravan parks. Kevin
FollowupID: 776437

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:19

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:19
A lot of the time it depends when you go to a place.

We tend to avoid school holidays and peak periods for our travels.

A bloke I know went to Cape York for a "quick trip"in the school holidays and hated it - overcrowded, busy, everything the Cape isn't.
We went about a month after him and had the time of our lives.

Same with the Kimberley this year. We went later in the season and had a great time - heaps of room, not much traffic. My wife and I had Mitchell Falls to ourselves for well over an hour at lunchtime, until another couple turned up.

Timing is everything.

FollowupID: 776441

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:08

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:08
Some of those comments may depend on what you actually do at those places. All of the guided activities at El Questro (& 'nearby' Mornington) so we skipped the canoeing etc. and went on many of the hikes instead- certainly not overpriced! though some could be seen as over-rated depnding what you were looking for, others were under-rated though.

Perhaps the most amusing incident was driving up to Branco's lookout to watch the sunset. The official 'sunset tour' group was already there with the guide & about 2 paying participants. All the front row bench seats were reserved for these groups so we hung around at the edges of the viewing area. This group sat around chatting for a while, enjoying the cheese & wine that were included in the 'package' and then about 15min before the sunset, they all piled back into the El Questro Landcruiser and headed back to camp!
We ended up getting a better view of the sunset without paying for the tour, though we had to supply our own refreshments!
FollowupID: 776446

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 16:38

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 16:38
First time I went to El Questro we managed to get a good riverside camp spot - fairly expensive, but we walked all the gorges and the look-out and had a good time.

Second time I went with another group of friends, couldn't get a private camp-site, was jammed into the public one, crowded to the gunwhales, toilets were blocked up, showers were either out of hot water or not working, noisy campers cheek by jowel all night, all the attractions were crowded, and paid a fortune for it.

Group said they'd never go back there again... was very dissapointed.
FollowupID: 776466

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:13

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:13
G'day Burra,

Broome's the most overrated place for me.
I didn't expect much but I wouldn't rate it at anymore than a stopover to somewhere else.

AnswerID: 500361

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:43

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:43
my SIL took my brother there last year? asked him about it and got a two word reply. guess the rest of the conversation
FollowupID: 776414

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:05

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:05
It's a good place to fuel up, top up water tanks and have a shop, but I'm glad I didn't pay a few thousand dollars to head there specifically for a holiday.

The coast to the south is fantastic, the Dampier Peninsula is a must see, east, north, anywhere but Broome.

Steve.
FollowupID: 776418

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:49

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:49
Another here for Broome, it would have to be the most over rated of all WA spots I'd say, having said that we went there back in the early 80s and to us we feel it's been spoiled, too overcrowded, BUT like every where else it's got it's good points too.
We all see things differently, what is good for one may not necessarily be good for another.
Hubby and I never listen to people who complain about places, if we plan to go see something we'll go and make up our own mind.
D

FollowupID: 776419

Follow Up By: Member - OnYaBike - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 01:17

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 01:17
Broome must be like Port Douglas which was great as a sleepy hollow in the seventies before Christopher Skase came along.
FollowupID: 776422

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 01:32

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 01:32
Hi OnYaBike, it's just my opinion of the place, you might go there and think it's fantastic. We love Coral Bay, one of our favourite places in WA, we have friends who just can't stand the place, they just can't understand why we love it so much, on the other hand we can't understand why they dislike it so much LOL.... once again we went there for our Honeymoon in the early seventies, they have spoiled the place since then but it's still a lovely spot......

FollowupID: 776423

Follow Up By: passionfruit - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:29

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:29
I 2nd that ,Broom.......
FollowupID: 776451

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:21

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:21
Good point. Someone asked me about broome and I said like busselton except warmer
FollowupID: 776502

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:23

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:23
Good point. Someone asked me about broome and I said like busselton except warmer
FollowupID: 776503

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 02:11

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 02:11
Hi get outmore, I agree with what you say re Broome/ Busselton being over crowded but certainly wouldn't compare them other than that, Busselton has so much more to offer than Broome does, there is a lot to do down there, more to see, just my opinion.....

D

FollowupID: 776508

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:00

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:00
Agree Broome is the most over-rated spot in the Kimberley, has 2 redeeming features the road out in both directions. Nice sunset but 80 Mile Beach did it better and way cheaper. Dampier Peninsulla was great also.

FollowupID: 776618

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:09
Hi Duncan WA, how are you going??????? I agree with 80 mile Beach. There are much nicer places than Broome to visit in the Kimbeley, although the sunsets are lovely but they are the same in Derby..... LOL

Deanna

FollowupID: 776621

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:59

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:59
Hi D, still working towards the next trip. Would be nice to be retired like some, but still need the next 10 years to top up the Super and recover from the GST hit we took.

Don't think I'm alone with that one.

FollowupID: 776625

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 23:00
Oops make that GFC dher. Oh for an edit button when you need one. LOL

FollowupID: 776626

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 23:53

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 23:53
A well placed Freudian Slip perhaps.

I'm still recovering from the GST hit I take LOL

Anthony
FollowupID: 776628

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:18

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 21:18
I agree that the Great Ocean Road is a disappointment.
My biggest disappointment was Tasmania, the ship couldn't come soon enough!

AnswerID: 500362

Follow Up By: wr450tractor - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:53

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:53
Tasmania has something to see around every corner if you know where to look. West coast.East coast.Down south.Lots of people drive around with there eyes closed
FollowupID: 776429

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:43

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:43
There were obviously some high points, such as Strahan.
Generally though, even the locals will tell you that the Greenies have stuffed it up.

The other disappointment that I didn't put above, was Oodnadatta!

Other than that we love Australia & wouldn't consider overseas travel until we have seen as much as we can, caravan parks & Camps Australia Wide locations excepted!
FollowupID: 776434

Follow Up By: M Dudley - SA - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 17:32

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 17:32
Interesting. The main parts of Tassie that I didn't like were the parts Gunns had stuffed up. Most of the "greenies" in Tasmania ARE locals! ;-) Personally I love the place and will be going back for my tenth trip next year.

FollowupID: 776468

Follow Up By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:44

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:44
Spent 8 weeks in Tassie touring with our canpervan in 2005. Loved it all. In fact we're going back in February 2013 to try and see what we missed last time! A great little island.

Roger B.....
FollowupID: 776557

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:32

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:32
Shaker says: " the locals will tell you the Greenies have stuffed it up"!
What? They stopped Gunns clear felling the place? They stopped the Hydro flooding every valley?
I wish the Greenies would come and stuff up a few more places like that.
FollowupID: 776607

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:28

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 22:28
Don't shoot the messenger!

Several business owners in the tourism industry said virtually the same thing, that the Greenies had stuffed tourism by having areas locked up through bribery, much the same as the Federal Greens do.
FollowupID: 776623

Reply By: Yanktigers - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:10

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:10
I only travelled this road last week and I did not mind the scenery etc but the road from Anglesea to way around Apoollo Bay was shocking. They must get large trucks going around that road and these trucks have pushed holes in the road with large mounds of bitumen sticking up. The only warning you get is a small sign saying ROUGH SERVICE AHEAD
AnswerID: 500365

Reply By: terry j2 - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:20

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:20
Have seen a fair bit of Australia and places I would not rush back to are :Lava tubes, Broome, Fraser Island.
AnswerID: 500366

Reply By: jacent - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 05:21

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 05:21
I would have to say Coral Bay! so many people said how awesome it is so I had pretty high expectations, get there and the caravan parks are dangerously overcrowded, We felt like sardines! mind you we had a massive van and had to manouver around cars parked all over the shop, couldnt wait to trek onto exmouth which was absolutely awesome!
AnswerID: 500370

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:49

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:49
Have to agree with you. We drove in, saw how crowded the caravan parks were. The shop had no stock and what they did have was ridiculously overpriced. So we had a quick (half hour) look then drove out again.

FollowupID: 776435

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 01:37

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 01:37
I can certainly understand why some people dont like CB, if you rock up in the school hols it certainly is packed. But with kids, they just love it!

By the same token much of the attraction isnt in the caravan park, its in and on the water and beaches etc. So a 30 minute tour and a look in a shop can be hardly described as even scratching the surface!
FollowupID: 776507

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 08:14

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 08:14
Hi Fisho,

I would not pretend that such a quick visit was beginning to scratch the surface! But first impressions count and what we found was not for us. On an extended trip (4 months for that one) you cant pick and choose where you are come school holiday time, and in any case we are now at a point in our lives where we dont go to places because kids love it.

That part of the WA coast is great and we did spend some time there but at other less crowded spots, though in our minimal rig we did find the wind rather trying. We also got to understand why caravans (as opposed to tents, camper trailers etc) are so popular over there!

Val

FollowupID: 776514

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:11

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:11
I vote theGold Coast. I spend 18 years in Adelaide and remember people saving up for their anual leave to fly there. I met up with some SA friends in November, only the theme parks kept them interested. Second is Frazer, the hired troopies are scary.
AnswerID: 500371

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:22

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:22
I went to Rockhampton for a wedding and thought a trip out to Great Keppel Island with a Barrier Reef boat tour might be good....what a waste of time. The reef is unimpressive there and the island had nothing to see in my opinion. The boat back to Rockhampton couldn't get there quick enough. The six hour wait seemed like six days. :-) I generally like most places too, although shiny new resorts leave me cold. Paying a fortune for a few days of "luxury"....no thanks.
AnswerID: 500380

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:52

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:52
It has to be Home.

When we are anywhere else we never want to go back there.

Paull
AnswerID: 500384

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:00

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:00
Most places we have been we would happily return to. If we have negative impressions its most likely because of factors like poor weather or too crowded or just having a bad day.

That said Monkey Mia was a big disappointment. Went late to avoid crowds as advised by a sign somewhere - paid our entrance fee only to find on asking that feeding was over for the day. We though in that case they had a cheek to be charging for entry. We didnt see a single dolphin let alone get to feed one.

Often if we go to an unknown place that we have no expectations about, we find that its a great spot and that makes for a special experience.

Val

AnswerID: 500386

Follow Up By: Kiwi100 - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:16

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:16
Well there you go - horses for courses. We went there thinking we'd need to camp in town but went to the resort to have a look. Decided to try a couple of days and ended up leaving WEEKS later. Once you get to know a place, you discover all sorts of people and things that are not obvious in first impressions. When you get to know the rangers you eventually end up being chosen to do the dolphin feeding. If you bring a kayak you'll end up being surrounded by them some days - unbeatable experience to just sit there while they frolic around you. Paddling or walking the mainly deserted coastline away from the resort is great - emus, turtles, rays, dolphins. Early mornings alone on the beach or the wharf often hold delightful surprises from our finned friends. We had a good spot, close to the beach and loved it. In or on the water every day. Went to the pricey restaurant only once. Avoided the resort shop and shopped in town. Wouldn't have missed it for quids, and we almost never use caravan parks/resorts.

Michael
FollowupID: 776440

Follow Up By: jacent - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 03:17

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 03:17
Yeah would have to say we knew very little about Monkey Mia before we went there, were told its overcommercialised and the rest, when we got there we thought it was awesome and stayed four nights due to it being booked out every other!
FollowupID: 776509

Reply By: ian - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:19

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:19
Burra,
reading posts with people disliking places that I enjoy makes me think it must be a matter of timing, Ayres Rock in school hols is a shocker, in August under a full moon it is magnificent. With that in mind I add Broome - nothing there, and Cape York -I know you have to tick it off, but it is a big disappointment compared to other places you can visit in the north.
AnswerID: 500395

Reply By: MKO - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:47

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:47
Wave Rock near Hyden was very disappointing but some of the rock water catchment areas nearby were very interesting.

Pinnacles near Cervantes also very disappointing.
AnswerID: 500398

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:53

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:53
Why?? What were you expecting?
FollowupID: 776455

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:52

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:52
Don't let any of the negative comments put you off visiting a place. The only person that can make a judgement on what you like is YOU. What is the NT slogan,
"If you never, never go, you will never, never know."
AnswerID: 500404

Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 13:13

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 13:13
totally agree Rod.
FollowupID: 776456

Reply By: didjabringabeer - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 13:40

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 13:40
Monkey Mia. First went there mid seventies.Old cp by beach, only one couple + mate and
me on beach when Dolphin's came in, never had any food for them but they came right
up to us for a look mate got good photo's. Sadly I didn't .Only have memories.
Went back a couple of year's ago for a look. Now line up not too far in the water.
No thanks I will keep the memories.
AnswerID: 500407

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:14

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:14
Cptn Billy's Landing I reckon is a waist of time driving out to. Every thing else on the Cape was great.
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 500411

Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 14:18

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 14:18
Agree Dave - certainly would not bother going back there again.
FollowupID: 776646

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:14

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:14
Broome, by a country mile, over-rated, over priced and over crowded. Years ago it was a great little place to stop for a month or so, now buy fuel and a bit of food and then get out of there quick smart.

Second but not by much is the "famous" Margaret River, it used to be a great little place to camp, surf, booze and relax. Too many expensive houses, eating places and snobby people for me now.

On the other end of the scale is Denmark. Still affordable with plenty of good eating places and good wineries. Nice and quite for most of the year. Avoid school holidays and Easter though.

Disco.
AnswerID: 500424

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:07

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 21:07
Agree whole heartedly!

FollowupID: 776619

Reply By: bibtracker - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:33

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:33
Margaret River, WA. Overrated and grossly overpriced wine, local people are up themselves, the main street is full of heavy trucks grinding up the hill. Food very ordinary and extraordinary prices. Don't bother.
AnswerID: 500441

Reply By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:50

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:50
I believe the question was about the destination not the experience, from what I have seen with the post's above, people either didn't like the destination because it was to expensive or it was over crowded.

What did any of you actually think about the destination itself???

On a trip last year we were going to go to Ruby Gap, as it happened we spent to much time looking at other things on the way, as the drive and scenery was incredible to say the least, long story short we got to the river crossing at 4pm we realised that we were not going to make it as it was a day trip from Alice, so we had a late lunch turned around and headed back.

Disappointed NO we had a great time taking it all in, we decided that next time we will take the camper trailer and do the whole Binns track from start to finish, however with this one days experience we decided to do a lot more exploring of the Binns track before we headed home.

We as a family have not found a place that has been a disappointment yet, some of the people we have met or the experiences we have had with park owners, tours, etc you get the point, at the destination have a disappointment but not the destination itself.

We look at it like this, it is not the destination to look forward to it is the whole journey.

AnswerID: 500442

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 09:39

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 09:39
This is the actual question!

"what is your most overrated place to visit/see?"

Surely then, overcrowding, price, etc. would all form part of an overall rating.

FollowupID: 776518

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 11:47

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 11:47
Geez.....if you thought the track into Ruby was nice you will love the rest of the track. But if it took you the best bit of a full day to get that far you might need to allow a few days to get to Glen Annie.

FollowupID: 776525

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:19

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 00:19
In wa in order it's
Wave rock (fine if your going past anyway)
Pinnacles (same)
Margaret river (it's just a country town with tickets there's no reason to go there)
AnswerID: 500443

Reply By: louie the fly - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 11:46

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 11:46
2 words.Victor Harbor (or is it Harbour).

AnswerID: 500471

Reply By: Robtbob NSW - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 15:48

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 15:48
Loved all of WA but was disappointed with Margaret River. I know now why they have so many bush fires there. The country is shit. Dotted with some nice wineries. Over rated.
AnswerID: 500479

Reply By: KSV - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 13:35

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 13:35
As they said - as many opinions as many people. Some mentioned destination of "never came again" actually my favorite ones. Both that OP mentioned as an example. Even if I been on GOR so many times (you just obligated to drive there if someone came to see you and they first time in Australia) and could not find anything new there I still like scenery. Other mentioned place The Rock - been there 3 times and do not mind again. Kakadu - definitely will return immediately after wet season.

As for my places "never came again". Number one is Mungo Lake - IMHO incredibly overrated and absolutely nothing to do, does not worth even 1 hr drive. Snowy River NP (where that famous bridge) - such disappointment. Den of Nargun in Mitchel River NP - cannot get what people found interesting there. At certain extend Flinders Rangers - OK to drive from Adelaide, but not worth it to drive from Melbourne as only destination, though OK to spend a day "on the way". And last but not least (you may be surprised) is Wilsons Promontory. Place is OK, but so controlled, overcrowded and restricted. Been once and it is enough to end of my life.

AnswerID: 500620