Van Legs raised to avoid ANTS - any problem?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 22:01
ThreadID: 99486 Views:4297 Replies:16 FollowUps:27
Just copped an earful for raising the legs on the van which is currently parked up in the drive and surrounded by hordes of ants.

Figured the van is safe enough as wheels are well chocked with blocks of wood.

Has anyone experienced an issue leaving their van legs raised whilst parked up and not in use?

I have read the many threads on ant prevention and will probably start with the various sprays if necessary. We have had limited success with baby powder because even though I park the legs in small buckets, the wind & rain and overspray from the retic system disperses it before long - totally exposed to the elements unfortunately (but covered with a Camec cover, so it is only the undercarriage that is exposed.

Past treatment around the yard with ant baits appear only to see them relocate to new nests under various driveway or patio slabs.

I figured if they have no access, we may keep tham at bay.

Regards - Phil

Reply By: kend88 - Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 23:02

Friday, Dec 14, 2012 at 23:02
We rarely wind down the van legs, even when using it. Ours is a tandem, and we are pretty lightweight people, so unlikely it will be a problem, and from all accounts there are many who do likewise. I guess if the van is parked on quite a slope it may be just as well to wind the legs down. Although the van should be pretty level just by adjusting the jockey wheel. Important though that it is level so that you don't have problems with the fridge gas.
Sorry, can't help you with the ant problem.

KenD
Bris
AnswerID: 500369

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:52

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 00:52
Thanks Ken

Ours is also a tandem and kept level for the frig, in case I forget to adjust it when we get lucky enough to prepare for another run.

Gets a slight wobble up when bouncing in and out with gear if the legs aren't down, but for the time that takes I feel sure I can keep the ants at bay.

All the best.

Regards - Phil
FollowupID: 776421

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:28

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:28
hi
havent all you van owners worked out that legs on vans are only there to act as bump stops when making love to stop the suspension from bottoming out and alerting the neighbours as to whats going on in the van while in a caravan park etc
the older ya get the slower ya get
FollowupID: 776488

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:31

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:31
caravan legs are viagra stabilizers in this modern world
for god sakes get with it
FollowupID: 776489

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:26

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:26
Mazcan – I reckon just put legs down each the time you stop, just in case you get lucky, or hang a sign on the door “When the van’s A’rockin don’t come A’knocking.
FollowupID: 776499

Reply By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:21

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:21
Phil we have both my fathers and our van parked side by side on concrete under a carport (large one). Dad an interstate truck driver so home fortnightly, we have our van ready to go away with legs up. Sure enough his van set up with legs down always has ants. Ours have no ants.
AnswerID: 500372

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:25

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 06:25
A while ago i was driven mad with ants in our kitchen. Ended up being the toaster they were after. We dont have one in the van, father does.
FollowupID: 776424

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:41

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:41
Makes sense OG - seems they will seek out scraps or moisture, so barring access initially may be the way to go.

Thanks for the feedback - P & J
FollowupID: 776433

Reply By: Members - Bow & Nan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:22

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:22
We don't have legs on our van and never have a problem.
AnswerID: 500379

Follow Up By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:27

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:27
Ditto

John and Jean
FollowupID: 776427

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:50

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:50
Thanks Bow & Nan and John & Jean

Therein lies the secret by the sound of it - 'No legs - no Ants'

Will monitor results with ours up for a while.

When we picked up this van 3 years ago, it had been sitting in the dealers yard for quite a while and he advised the previous owner had stored it in a shed for some time prior to that.Well the only issue we had with it initially was the water would not flush in the toilet.

When we pulled the pump out to check that - the whole clear tube was chockers with ants. They had obviously sussed out the moisture was available and moved in.

Haven't had that particular problem again, but did pick up a few passengers on our last visit through our southern wheatbelt here in the west.

Seems our drier conditions are conducive to ant movement in recent months.

Cheers - P & J
FollowupID: 776436

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:34

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 08:34
Never use them myself but I know a few older vanners who actually lift their wheels off the ground with jacks, claim it saves their tyres? Since tyres are only good for about 5 years or so, I don't see it as a problem.

I seem to recall years ago when they first made Nylon Reinforced tyre they got flat spots on them when parked up for a while and thumped like blazes for the first few Ks till they warmed up and rounded off again.
AnswerID: 500381

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:54

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 09:54
Thanks Notso

Yes the tyres can get a bit 'lumpy' if left for too long. We do have a bit of room to just move them along a bit if the van is being left for an extended period.

Cheers - P & J
FollowupID: 776438

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:07

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:07
hi phil and jill
and notso
yes your quiet right about the nylon tyres we had a set on our truck and if we loaded it with grain and left it over night
next day the tyres would be slapping on the road for the first few k's until they warmed up

in respect to ANTproblem for some unknown reason ants dont like to crawl over tyres in most cases
and much prefer wind down jacks /power cables and the front caravan jack with the wheel on it or safety chains
i use -lorsban- you can buy it from rural outlets about $30 a ltr
mix 10-15 mls in ltr of water and spray around wheels and stands and also pour down the ant holes it has a pungent smell for a while but it works better than all the other lolly water items thats on the market but make sure you wear gloves

ANTS send out scouts to hunt for food sources when the many hundreds of scout ants find food it excretes an odour on the trail as it returns to the nest and crawls down the hole the worker ants are waiting and rush off on the odour trail to get the food
some of you may have noticed the odd ant on its own wandering aimlessly around that is the scout ant looking for food
you will see a hord of the little buggers heading off in a direction of the food source they have found but we dont know about
if the the scouts returns to the nest without finding food or marking a trail it is killed by the nest ants
i learned these facts by watching a document late one night on tv a german guy had spent many years studing ants
there are several tyes of ants in each nest the scouts /
the workers to collect food and then
the queen ants and
the hatchery/nursery ants that look after the eggs and hardly ever leave the nest only when the eggs have to be shifted to a new location and a
warmer sight to aid in the hatching process
or to get away from an adverse weather problem or a human with a bottle of poison
its a well organized system and thats why we struggle to beat them they work 24/7
and as we all know they sneak around with the humans and infiltrate everthing we own
survival of the quick and the smart
FollowupID: 776439

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:35

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:35
Thanks Mazzcan - I've heard of 'dog eat dog' - but sounds like it also applies to 'ant eat ant'.

Certainly have wondered why you get the odd one here an there - at home or in the van - now we know.

Very informative.

Cheers - P & J
FollowupID: 776442

Follow Up By: kev.h - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:13

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:13
instead of Lorsban try Dursban same chemical without the pungent odour chemical added designed for use around pavers etc in domestic areas
FollowupID: 776447

Follow Up By: bazz - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:56

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:56
pepermint oil. they dont like it... also try vinegar....
FollowupID: 776475

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:09

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:09
Thanks again guys - the list is building - all very useful input.

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 776480

Reply By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:17

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:17
hi phil
who did you cop an earfull from was it
a caravan parker ranger /manager
or the sarg-ant major
is there such a thing as a van patrol
or was it a certain member of the war office ????
did you cop an earfull of antiquated drivell ???
or a bit of hot tung ???
or a clenched fist ??? lol
just curious !!!
AnswerID: 500394

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:39

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 10:39
Thanks Mazz - At the risk of 'getting in deeper', you could say the titles apply accross the board ..... :O)))
FollowupID: 776443

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:15

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:15
I was wondering the same thing - this person does realise that the legs are only to stop the caravan from rocking/tipping while you walk around inside, don't they?! They're not for securing the caravan in position - that's what brakes & chocks are for!

I certainly wouldn't put the legs down for storage unless you were likely to be moving around a lot inside for packing/unpacking or cleaning - it's just another thing the ants can climb up, and delays your next trip further (making it take that much longer to hook up to the car)! :-)
FollowupID: 776448

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:20

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 12:20
Thanks Tim - The legs are stabilisers only - no problem there with legs up on flat ground was my consideration, but I won't put the brake on as I believe this only leads to rust setting in whilst left for any length of time.

Regards - Phil
FollowupID: 776450

Reply By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:35

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 11:35
Consider that most other trailers do not have legs, it's less of a problem than some people may think.

On the subject of ants....I'm about to have another crusade arround here....if you want to evict the little buggers you have to be zellous verging on deranged.

I have in the past tracked ants over 50 meters to their nest.

If you can find the nest.....the best thing I have found is the garden hose and petrol.

find the nest......give it a good squirting with the garden hose to open it up.....come back a next day after the ants have cleaned up with a funnel and few cups of petrol or other convienient solvent.

Jam the funnel in the nest and fill er up......on no accouint light the solvent...that just undoes the good work

Ya might kill a bit of grass.....But I am yet to find anything more effective.

Of course appropriate cautions apply

AnswerID: 500402

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 17:59

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 17:59
Hi Bantam - are you sure you didn't live next door some years back?

Our neighbour quite often went to war on the ants with petrol & I suspect that was about the time they shifted camp over to our block....

Guess the method must work - thanks for the reminder.

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 776469

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:15

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:15
hi bantam
i had a lot of problems with black bullants on a property i had just out of bunbury a few k's and i found that pouring a ltr of petrol down the hole at night when they were all home and throw a lighted match sorted them out there was a big whoof as the petrol exploded down the hole next day not a bull ant in sight
they were 25ml long with yellow nippers and a very painful bite if they got you
when you approached near their nest they would come at you from all sides real nasty lot they were
they used to take over the white ant nests that were in the old tree stumps or just dig their own holes and make tracks across the paddock in the grass also had very large infestation of the savage red meat ants they are also very agressive and even harder to irradicate, thats another story
FollowupID: 776485

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 22:36
Yeh as I say, best not to light the petrol, because as it burns it will draw quite a bit of it back up out of the soil.

Left to soak in it will penetrate very deep and the fumes will do the job.

FollowupID: 776490

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:02

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:02
sorry but i found the explosion killed them as it was quiet a strong force blew the top of the hole out
FollowupID: 776497

Reply By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:16

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:16
Ours is a tandem as well and we don't put the legs down when it is parked in the bay beside the shed between trips. I usually put a bit of the ant granules around the wheels and the jockey wheel. We haven't had any ant problems yet. So is it true that ants don't like to climb in via the tyres??

AnswerID: 500412

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:06

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:06
Thanks Pop

The practise seems fairly widespread. I have found the granules effective at times too - until the wild & wooly changes in weather we have been experiencing recently.

The weather doesn't seem to deter our lil mates though - they seem to be out foraging through rain, hail, sleet or snow --- err hang on, that is probly getting a bit carried away. :O)))

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 776470

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:40

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:40
If the ants are aggressive then leave the legs up. Adjust level of van with jockey wheel then spray this wheel and anything else that touches the ground with a good quality outdoor surface spray. This includes behind the wheels on the axle and handbrake cables.
Remember that ants can also drop out of overhanging trees.
If you have chocked the wheels as you have said and the handbrake on I do not think the van will move. Only wobble a bit when you get in and out etc on its suspension.
As for having the handbrake on do not worry any rust that gets on the brake drum will get worn off at the first brake application when again towed. The likely-hood of the handbrake seizing is very small as most if not all of the cable is open.

We use this method when in the vicinity of agressive ants.
It has worked for us for many years.
A couple of ant baits laid in out of the reach places can do the trick for those that drop in.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 500413

Follow Up By: Member - John L (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:56

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 15:56
Fleggie go for a trip - the ants couldn't keep up with your driving!
Xmas cheers Lockey & Heather
FollowupID: 776459

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:10

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:10
Thanks for the feedback Dodg - duly noted and will consider the handbrake issue.

Have a look below - seem me ole mate John L has the answer - just get outa town.....

Cheers all

Regards - Phil
FollowupID: 776472

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:39

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 18:39
boiling hot water works..
better than petrol! as it wont leave a smell behind, and in small amounts wont kill the grass.
and free, well the way electricity is going it wont be.
works awesome on concrete, pour it over them, let them burn..... ha ha
friggin hate ants.
i had one drop from a tree once into my eye..
friggin anoying would be an understatement.
AnswerID: 500421

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:07

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 20:07
Thinking napalm may be the next move MM - just crawled around half in garden half on driveway under the van trying to clip the cover straps together - lil blighters mounted an all out strike en masse. Enough is enough.

Cheers - P
FollowupID: 776479

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:00

Saturday, Dec 15, 2012 at 23:00
Just get some liquid Ant Rid it works great on a variety of ants. And they will still climb up tyres my cruiser was riddled with green ants in cairns yrs ago parked under a carport at a resort no food in there for them and also had black ants climb up the tyres on my nissan patrol and my van tyres if they want in they'll find a way.
AnswerID: 500438

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 19:33

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 19:33
Here is a video to give you all a look at the construction of an ant's nest.

Not sure if it has been here before, but here 'tis.

Ants subterranean structures revealed

AnswerID: 500489

Reply By: Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 21:34

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 21:34
G'day Phil,
also have had some hassles with ants. They have been getting in the van in various ways.
1. up the van legs
2. via the water hose .... quite regular
3. via the awning ropes
Haven't seen them climb up power cords yet BUT ........
Have started putting 2 litre ice cream buckets under the legs half filled with water. Seems to work OK. Spraying with decent quality ant/fly spray seems to be effective too. Having a young mutt we are restricted a bit on what we can use. They seem to like warmer places like the roof or high cup boards to congregate in. Find it a constant job keeping up with them. Best of luck.
My brother reckons he had a small nest drop from a branch onto his van roof. A pressure cleaner rectified that.
Rgds
Nev
AnswerID: 500506

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:08

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:08
so many amatuers on here

i lived in a van for years and ant infestations were easily fixed.....................
by keeping food that atracts ants in the fridge

job done
AnswerID: 500514

Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:28

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:28
Well – we really stirred up an ant’s nest there – didn’t we ...... sorry, couldn’t help that.

Thanks again to all contributors, it is quite evident that these creatures can present a serious irritation to vanners, whether camped or parked up at home and as usual we have a wealth of suggestions on how to deal with the problem – and, getting to the nub of my problem, I can reassure the boss that it is not uncommon for a ‘wheels up’ style when the van is just sitting around.

From those of us languishing away at home over the festive season, may I wish you lucky travellers safe motoring and happy camping.

Cheers from Phil & Jill
AnswerID: 500530

Reply By: Keith Q - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:55

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:55
I have read the replies to this question with great interest. We have recently noticed ants in our near new van even though we carefully make sure that no food is accessible. If rubber does the trick, would inserting a square of conveyor belting under each stabilzer do the trick?
AnswerID: 500568

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 20:13

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 20:13
Have pondered the same line of thought for some time Keith, after reading in one of Len Beadell's records about the observation that ants would not climb the tyres of his trucks.

The problem these days (at least for me) is to determine just exactly what is 'rubber' and what is 'pretend rubber' - such as the nylon or neoprene products I believe are mixed in these days. I feel sure this point was raised here on EO some time back.

Been going to experiment, but haven't got around to it yet. Perhaps someone else has an opinion on that? Meanwhile, the legs are staying up and the tyres/jockey wheel are 'under observation'.

I am fairly certain it is not just food they are foraging for after finding the 'loo' tubing totally blocked when we tried to flush the pan for the first time. Fortunately that was at home when trying everything out prior to our first trip away in this van.

Cheers - Phil
FollowupID: 776612

Reply By: 1080 1 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:11

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:11
Product called Ant & Roach powder from hardware store.....sprinkle around anything that touches the ground....when ants are a worry.....problem solved

AnswerID: 500633

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:15

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:15
Great stuff 1080 - till it gets wet & windy unfortunately.

Regards - Phil
FollowupID: 776670