Bush Camping Around Normanton

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 18:35
ThreadID: 99663 Views:4340 Replies:5 FollowUps:3

We are planning a visit to the Gulf in winter next year - and wondering if anyone has any nice bush camping spots to recommend around Normanton. We travelling east from Adele's Grove though to the Undara Lava Tubes...so any info would be appreciated. We are travelling with an off-road camper trailer - so are self sufficient.

Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:26
Hi Chris,

We could not find any free camps real close to Normanton so stayed in a caravan park there for a few days. However about 25km from Normanton on the Savannah Development Rd is Leichhardt Lagoon camping area which is on a private property and there is a reasonable charge to stay there. Good fishing in river there and owners privide a home cooked meal and sing-along very cheaply some nights if interested. Highly recommended.
AnswerID: 501122

Follow Up By: Chris_K - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:50

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 21:50
Great - many thanks - will add it to the list and check it out.

FollowupID: 777163

Follow Up By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 06:37

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 06:37
If you are planning to stay at Leichhardt Lagoon in winter months it might pay to phone ahead so a place can be reserved for you. Its so busy that it is often full, and its pretty noisy because everyone there seems to need to run generators most of the time.
Reasonable rates at $14 per night, no power but has hot showers and flushing toilets. Limited phone (Telstra) service too.
Sat night there is a 3 course meal for about $5 per person at the homestead to raise money for RFDS...friendly and fun.
There is barra fishing close by in the river but watch for crocs! There are some big ones.
cheers Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 777171

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 23:22

Thursday, Dec 27, 2012 at 23:22
G'day Chris,

I can't tell you exactly where it is, but when my Uncle heads up that way he says there's a free camp near to Karumba.

You might be able to do some digging, or maybe someone else exactly where it is.

Hoo roo,
AnswerID: 501128

Reply By: D&G - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 09:04

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 09:04
if you want a stop after Adele's grove and before Normanton then there is a good large spot by the Leichardt Falls, 77 km SE of Burketown. No facilities but a great view of the Falls.Camping is on the left and before the causeway over the river. You can access directly over the rocks or there is a sandy track to the left which is about 100m before the causeway. The track runs parallel to the river and then allows you to access the camping area.
AnswerID: 501137

Reply By: Chris_K - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 10:12

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 10:12

Thanks for all the info...no doubt winter months will be busy up that way, hence all the planning now! Three course dinner sounds like a good idea, and all for a good cause as well...

Thanks again

AnswerID: 501141

Reply By: the redbacks - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:56

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 19:56
Hi Chris K,
This may not be your cup of tea but if you call into the BP servo in Normanton & ask to speak to Wayne or Diane they may be able to help you, Wayne is the president of the Normanton Clay Target Club, 2 mins out of town, they have showers / Power, & i'm sure that they would be able to let you stay at the club grounds for a "Donation" to the club, they only shoot once a month, so noise wouldn't be a problem to you. They are very nice country people & contrary to general believe are not "Redneck" shooters.
Other than that we have stayed on the River South of town Wayne would be able to point you in the right direction on that, just watch for crocs if you do that.
Just thought that may help you.

Miroku 12g
AnswerID: 501179

Follow Up By: Chris_K - Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 21:56

Friday, Dec 28, 2012 at 21:56
Hi Miroku

Thanks for the info - that sounds like a plan...I'll put them on the list of people to have a chat to. I reckon Exploroz is the best...that sort of info is gold!

FollowupID: 777227