Need to tidy up my battery connections

Submitted: Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:20
ThreadID: 27893 Views:3380 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
I have inherited a 105 Cruiser that has + & - battery terminals that have heaps of feed wires running off to accessories that really looks shabby. Any idears on how to tidying it all up, and make it a little safer. Thought maybe there might be an accessory available that offers multi connection points via a single + battery feed ?

Reply By: mprice2233 - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:35

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 11:35
try these they look like the goods
item on ebay
AnswerID: 138221

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:09

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:09
yeh great, something along the lines of what I was thinking, could be OK for the Aux Battery, but the + terminal on the main battery has a strange arrangment that is all part of the + terminal connector, that incorperates a fuse block with (JB-alt-main-JBs) fuses ?
FollowupID: 391874

Reply By: Treading Lightly - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:16

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:16
Hi Nuboy,

I have a 105 Series also. Untill I can talk the better half into a Second battery setup. (why do you need another battery what's wrong with this one)????

Any way to solve the problem I mounted a mains voltage Active Link ((Red Cover)(obtained from any Electrical Wholesaler) on the inner guard near the battery. Then just using one 8mm cable from the battery clamp via an inline HD blade fuse holder to the Active link bar, as many as 7 extra items (CB UHF radios, fridges, spots etc can be connected)

Each item must of course be protected via a inline rated fuse. The negative side of things can be connected to a Neutral Link (Black Cover) installed on the inner guard next to the Active Link. Again linked to the battery via one 8mm cable.

When it is time to add another item simply obtain the power from the Links, simple and neat, and safe.

JD
AnswerID: 138232

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:28

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:28
Spot on JD,
Just what I was after.
FollowupID: 391881

Reply By: Michael Carey - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:55

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 12:55
My DC wiring addition on my Hilux has been labelled as excessive by a few, but it works and works very well, it also allows for easy expansion or changes.
I have a heavy cable coming from the battery, going through a 50A golf cart type fuse, to a red "T" distribution block, I then have another heavy cable going to a Redarc solenoid and then onto a second battery.
I also have a 10 way (two 5 ways slotted together) fuse block with one side commoned (and insulated for protection) going to the "T" block. These fuses supply my radios, spot lights, replacement headlight loom, DC outlets etc.
For the negative side, I use a DIN rail mount "commoning block" from RS components. There is one heavy black cable going to an earth point on the chassis. This block serves as a easy access common point for my cabling.
I have a similar but smaller arrangement behind the back seat for the compressor and HF connection.

Check out photos here :-
March Photos
May Photos
AnswerID: 138243

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:36

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 16:36
Hi there Michael,looks bloody brilliant, great set up looks like a lot of effort and time have gone into it. Bet your life on it a auto sparky wouldn't even do it like that. Makes mine look like a fire waiting to happen,well at least I'v got in line fuses to all mine but all runs from the main battery. Crap every where, you have made me feel like tyding mine up a bit now.puts me to shame. Great result. Take Care Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 391919

Follow Up By: nuboy - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:16

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:16
Thanks Michael,

You have also brought me great inspiration, and I would say a very hard act to follow.
One question though would you let me know the cable sizes you used, being the main feeder cable from the battery and then your subsiquent down stream cable sizes.
Once again, Really great work, what do you do for a living ?

Nuboy
FollowupID: 391950

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:13

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 23:13
Hi Michael. Through your link, I also found your home theatre. Bl@@dy amazing!!
So, are you the Michael Carey I worked with in Sydney for several years? If so, you should recognise who I am from my name here.

Norm C
FollowupID: 391989

Follow Up By: Michael Carey - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:24

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 14:24
Hi guys and thanks for the nice comments. Last follow-up first, nope, I've never worked in Sydney. I'm from country SA.
The cable I run between my battery, fuse and isolater is unmarked and it's been a while since I bought it, BUT, it fits 10mm crimp lugs very snugly so I would imagine it's 10mm cable! The cable between the Redarc solenoid and the back distribution box is 32mm cable. I have had this for ages and IIRC it was VERY expensive. Eventually, I plan to put my second battery in the tray and connect to the back distribution box behind the back seat. At the moment, I have a 50 Ah SLA deep cycle battery that can be disconnected, but lives on the floor behind the passenger seat.
I work in marine electronics where you can find REAL BIG DC systems. I'm more involved with the electronic side rather that the electrical but I have intimate knowledge of DC systems (which helps a lot!)
It is certainly a long term project, lots of my time has gone into this. I'm not bagging any auto electrician, I'm sure that given the time and money, results like this are possible, but not many people would like to pay for time and materials to do something like this. I'm fortunate that I have the knowledge to pull something like this off, but given some thought, it's not hard to do, it's very just time consuming!!
FollowupID: 392053

Follow Up By: nuboy - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 12:56

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 12:56
By the way Michael,
With regard to your compressor, I found with mine that with the vib whilst in operation can cause cracks in the material bolted to. Suggest you mount the unit via some insulation bushing. I used some small bushes I had laying around which were radiator support bushes from a RX7 Mazda radiator, very small with studs both ends, did the job a treat.
Regards Terry
FollowupID: 392853

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:47

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:47
Three of those crappy loooking things coming off your pos terminal will be fusible links. I'd leave them alone, but secure them with a cable ties, so they can't vibrate and break.

The rest will be aftermarket - yep, do something neat like others have suggested.

AnswerID: 138318

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:57

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 20:57
Mate,

as usual all replies on here are good genuine advice, and I dont disagree with any of the follow ups / posts etc.

However just as my 50c worth, I recently had some battery problems related to terminals etc., and I was pleasantly surprised when a visit to a local dedicated auto electricians shop proved all that was needed.

He fitted marine connections, fully compressed with hydraulic tool, etc., joined my accesories in and seperately fused each one, all heat shrunk, total tidy job, and all for under $40!!!! and I have had no problems since at all.

I would never have put my problems down to connections, but it was, I have same battery which he also tested as sound, still going strong.

All I'm really saying is a good auto elec, is worth his money, and its usually not as much as you might think, find a good family business, someone who takes pride in their work and built business on reputation, not the big franchise boys.

Rgds

Ron
AnswerID: 138322

Reply By: 4145derek - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:56

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 21:56
Try ABR and check out the ebay store for the forged brass terminals. It has 4 accsessory points.
AnswerID: 138336