Sundown NP 2013(web) - QLD

Distance: 76.4km
Submitted By: RobMac (QLD_Member)
Recorded: 05 May 2013

Description

Sundown NP Weekend Trip 2013:

Left home at 6pm and after stopping for Dinner & refuelling, reached Redrock Gorge Campsite at 10.45pm for a quick Coffee and then rolled out swags for the night.... To my surprise I had phone coverage from this campsite.

With a lazy rise in the following morning, it was a quick walk down to the viewing plateform of Redrock Gorge, then back to pack up and head off further into the park. This time we took one of the side tracks which took us to another isolated campsite within walking distance of the rock face itself. A good place to camp next time. From here, it was just following the sometimes washed out track which eventually ment back up with the main track into the park. Stop for smoko at the old mining site then pushed on into the park, coming across wild Deer and Grey Kangaroos, etc.

Reached the T/O to Burrows waterhole campsite and decided to vee left to continue towards Rats Castle. Reached the 1st hard decent section and this is where we found out that the Discovery had no 4WD. The Centre Diff-lock wasn't working, so Jeff jumped in the Vit and off down the hill and onto the river crossings. This time the water was at a level that was safe to cross when theres only a single vehicle.... Crossed the river twice until we came to the last crossing b4 reaching Rats Castle. This crossing took a bit more time to cross as u had to pick the right line to make sure 1. U got across and 2. U got across w/o any damage.

On the other side we pushed on past a couple camping that seem surprised to see the little Vitara driving past.... Kept following the river until we came to another Y junction.... We decided to go left and see where that took us. This took us to another river x-ing which we decided it wasn't worth the risk when we only had the one car, so this is one Track I've got to come back with some more vehicles and continue to find out where it goes..... An epic journey I reckon if it goes where I think it does.... Another time.... maybe a Club Camp ??

Back to the Y-Jct and then up the hillclimbs (some good challenges for those game) and down the other side and back across the river and made our way back to Burrows Waterhole to setup camp for for our last night.

In the morning we packed up and started our journey out of the park. The drive out took us about an 1hr 10min to reach the park boundary and this is where things went pear shape for me.... I saw a track off to the left, so I told my mate to head out while I go and have a bit of a look.... The looked good until it dropped into the creek and this is where I heard the rear Autolocker give up as I climbed out of the creek.... A quick turn around and back the way I came and out the park to inspect the damage....

Found a place to stop for lunch and tried removing the rear driveshaft and drive on the front but this was too unsafe, so back on with the rear driveshaft and try our luck in nursing the car back home slowly. Reached Warwick where we decided it wasn't worth the risk and found a suitable spot to leave the Vitara and jumped in the Disco and return the following day to pick up the Vit....

Pics located here:Sundown NP Weekend Trip 2013

Tracklog located here: Sundown NP 2013 Tracklog

A selection of pics:

1st nights camp:

A selection of some of the side tracks that we explored:

The track that requires more exploring as to where it goes..... Next trip ;)

River X-ing

Some of the intersting Tracks

Burrows Waterhole

Distance: 76.4km
Submitted By: RobMac (QLD_Member)
Recorded: 05 May 2013
Num Points: 3758
Average Speed: 16.5km/hr
Accuracy: Very High
RouteID3800
iMapPlot Reference Image

Weather

Closest Weather Station

Stanthorpe at 28/03:00pm EST
Distance from Midpoint 35.74km NE
TemperatureFeels LikeRel. HumidityDew PointPressureRainfallWind DirectionWind SpeedGusts
22.0°C°C74%17.3°ChPa0.0mm-km/hr
knots
km/hr
knots

Closest Climatic Station

Stanthorpe Leslie Parade
Distance from Midpoint 35.74km NE
 JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Mean Max. °C27.426.424.922.118.415.514.816.319.622.625.227.0
Mean Min. °C15.615.613.89.55.42.61.02.05.18.911.914.2
Mean Rain mm97.385.865.542.746.747.249.142.651.869.775.193.9

Comments & Reviews

Post a Comment
Status:Locked. Cannot be accessed by others. Shareable. Can only be accessed via link. Open. Can be viewed by anyone.
Download Track Log