Road from Wauchope to Gundy via Stroud/Broke

Submitted: Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 07:05
ThreadID: 103918 Views:1954 Replies:5 FollowUps:15
Good morning all,
Planning a trip from Stuarts Point NSW to Gundy via the Stroud, Broke, Dungog area towing a 25' van with very thirsty GU Nissan Patrol 4500 waggon ULP/LPG.
Any help about road conditions > hills > narrow roads or best way to go will be appreciated.
Stay well & stay safe: PeteM

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 08:09

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 08:09
The quickest & flattest way is straight down to Sydney on to the M7 the take the Campbelltown exit. The way you are looking at has a fair few hills and windy roads.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 516664

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 08:19

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 08:19
That's a good option, thanks Dave. Would I have to miss places like Broke & Stroud? Or drop off the van & do day trips?
PeteM
FollowupID: 796058

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:01

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:01
Do you mean Gundy , near Scone , or have you shortened the name of Gundagai? I think Dave is sending you off to melbourne with his directions.

FollowupID: 796062

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:47

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:47
Thanks Musbry
Yes Gundy near Scone
PeteM
FollowupID: 796065

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 13:56

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 13:56
Yeah sorry about that.
Being an ex truck driver Gundy was always short for Gundagai.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 796082

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:08

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:08
No worries Dave
I was trying to google map back towards Sydney looking for a turn off that didn't take me via Wisemans Ferry but then I received the note from Musbry and when back to the planning stage.
I hope your GU is not as thirsty as mine: I get about 3km to the litre when towing 20000km = 31.44 per 100km or 8.98MPG.
With a tail wind or without the van I get 44 per 100km
Love the stability and the safe feeling the overall strength gives me though.
PeteM
FollowupID: 796083

Reply By: Jim-Bob1 - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:27

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:27
G'day PeteM,

The most direct way to go is Pacific H/way to just south of Bulahdelah turn right to Booral then turn right to Stroud Road, left to Dungog and then to Maitland.

From Maitland head west to Greta or Branxton, turn off New England H/way towards Cessnock and then Broke.

From Broke to Singleton and North on New England H/way to Gundy via Scone.

Once off the Highways all the roads are narrower and rougher so just slow down and drive to the conditions. You wont have any problems.

Safe travels Jim-Bob 1
AnswerID: 516670

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:49

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 09:49
Thank you Jim-Bob 1
That is vey roughly what I had shown up on google maps, but your directions help me a lot
PeteM
FollowupID: 796066

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:08

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:08
Hi Peter M,

I tow a van similar in size to yours with our petrol cruiser and I nearly always go via the Oxley Highway which runs from Port Macquarie through Wauchope, Walcha, Tamworth. You would then head south to Scone heading down the New England Highway.

While the run up over the range has a lot of bends it is mainly a good road and once you have finished the climb up the range to the eastern side of Yarrowitch Valley the road is terrific. We just take out time, Always stop at Stockyard Creek about 2/3rds the way up the climb for a break and I always use 3rd gear in a 5 speed auto box and it does not consume as much petrol and the motor is not labouring nor is it constantly changing up and down, easy on the car and easy on the driver.

The easiest, flatest way to go is straight down the Pacific to Hexam then north west up the New England to Scone as there are less turns and the road is very good if a whole lot less scenic.

It depends whether you are in a hurry or have plenty of time to spare.

If you decide to go via the Oxley and head south from Tamworth then you should stop in at Wallabadah which is on the New England about 50K south of Tamworth where there is a terrific free camp and a brilliant memorial and park dedicated to the people of the first fleet, It can consume quite some time looking at all the different memorials to each of the vessels in the first fleet. It is a stop I recommend to anyone traveling the New England Highway if they have the time.

Cheers, Bruce.

At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 516684

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:57

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 14:57
Thank you Bruce
More food for thought
Not in a hurry though but do want to see areas of the Hunter region that we haven't been through before.
PeterM
FollowupID: 796090

Reply By: Member - Coldee - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 19:07

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 19:07
Follow the signs south of Taree for the Bucketts Way through Gloucester. The road is not steep or windy but it is narrow and a case of potholes holding hands. It is a steady climb to Gloucester and a bit of a steep hill on the last few ks into town. It is a main link between towns suitable for heavy vehicles. You should have no trouble with caravan.

The quickest and easiest way is on the highway but it is a pretty drive and too good to miss.
AnswerID: 516718

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:40

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:40
Thank you Coldie
This trip is all about making the "Direction giver" happy(happier??)
PeterM
FollowupID: 796170

Follow Up By: Member - Coldee - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 20:20

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 20:20
I think you will enjoy exploring that part of the Hunter Valley. Maybe put the caravan away and do a few day trips.

I would go south from Dungog and go through Clarence Town and East Seaham and on to Maitland.

Morpeth is a vey pretty river town and the pub at Wollombi is also worth a trip.

I would probably leave the van behind when visiting Morpeth as it is an historical village and a bit tight. The road from Broke to Wollombi is a bit windy but an easy 1/2 day trip ( including lunch at the pub.) All the towns mentioned have a lot of colonial era buildings. Wollombi Pub is famous or Dr. Jurd's Jungle Juice. A nice drop well worth the short drive to experience. Sounds unpleasant but it is anything but unpleasant concoction.

Enjoy the trip
FollowupID: 796286

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:28
Thanks again Coldee
Hopefully we have allowed enough to see everything.
Reagrds
PeteM
FollowupID: 796325

Reply By: Gronk - Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 20:46

Monday, Aug 19, 2013 at 20:46
The easiest and shortest way ( especially for a 25 ft van ) is straight down to Hexham, then follow the New England hwy up to Scone, where you turn off to Gundy..

Booral, Broke, Dungog are all places that aren't on any direct routes to Gundy....but are OK if you want to wander around the country side !!

All those towns mentioned are not really near each other either , so if you have any that you really want to visit, I'll let you know the easiest way ..
AnswerID: 516737

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:46

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 07:46
Thank you Gronk
Stroud and Broke have been mentioned by the "Direction giver" as MUST sees.
In Townsville our eldest sons has a mate called Gronk (first name Greg) he is a great bloke and one of natures gentlemen come handiman. Whether he was nicknamed Gronk because his first name is Greg in not clear. That group of school friends all had nicknames and the origen of some of those names is best left to them.
Just a bit of trivea.
Stay well saty safe everyone
PeterM
FollowupID: 796171

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:20

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:20

If you get a rush of blood to the brain and decide to go across the Barrington Tops from the east coast to Gundy DON'T.

I have lived in Scone for over 30 years and could not recommend the road to anyone.

The road is poorly maintained, has great big loose rocks and has a number of roo's and pigs etc running around.

It is also quite steep and windy down past the dingo gate.

I have done 2 tyres and collected some good dents, mainly underneath.

A caravan could get chewed up and spat out on that road.
FollowupID: 796178

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:48

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:48
Thanks BooBoo
My greatest fear is the road you have described.
Recently drove down a road from Boonah to the Gold Coast and went through Tamborine and past a sign that said not suitable for trucks or caravans. Sign hidden by trees nd then no where to turn the rig around.
Made it but very hairy.
PeterM
FollowupID: 796185

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 21:05

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 21:05
To be honest, Stroud isn't really much to look at....neither is Broke ( although there are some nice wineries close by )..

Dungog is a nice town, but a little out of your way....

My name is Greg also, and the Gronk came from a long time ago ( if you're old enough, you'll remember a Gronk & Shag show on TV )
FollowupID: 796389

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 08:00

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 08:00
At 72 I probably am.
Our Gronk joined the Navy at 17 and carried his nick name with him. I wonder if it is related to the 2nd name in the show?
PeterM
FollowupID: 796405