First trip advice please

Submitted: Friday, Jun 20, 2014 at 16:45
ThreadID: 108333 Views:2249 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
I am planning my first visit to Oz. Will be hiring a camper bodied Troopie or similar. I have some experience of desert travel in the Moroccan Sahara and the Namib, solo and in a group. So many wonderful desert places in Oz I don't know where to start. Any suggestions for a beginner welcomed. I will probably be travelling solo, but willing to team up. Still reading the books but hearing from people would be a real help. I reckon I will have around 3 weeks for travel.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jun 20, 2014 at 17:11

Friday, Jun 20, 2014 at 17:11
If you could give people an idea what time of the year and where you will be starting as this would make it easier to answer.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 534695

Follow Up By: transnamib - Friday, Jun 20, 2014 at 17:47

Friday, Jun 20, 2014 at 17:47
Thanks Dave.

This is one of the issues I need help with. In the Namib the dry season (May to October) is best as temperatures are lowest, it being winter. What would be your recommended season? Clearly high summer is out, so I am assuming winter is the least problematic time. I just don't know the conditions first hand. Even in winter the Namib is very, very dry; I'd rather keep it that way if travelling solo, since bogging can be a serious problem. Bad enough in sand, even worse in seasonal water. One thing I have learned is that deserts may look similar but can be very different when you are in them.

Where to start is a whole other issue. Everywhere looks equally interesting. Originally I was thinking of exploring the Simpson desert but perhaps there are better places to start for a desert addict like me.

Love the Patrol by the way - I have one of the last of the six cylinder Y61's. Terrific truck. Would bring it if I could.

Cheers

Mike