Your favourite sunset photo

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 11:05
ThreadID: 108997 Views:2655 Replies:21 FollowUps:27
A while back there was a thread about campfire photos. It seemed well accepted and one of the few without any arguments or contentious comments. So let's see what we can do with this one.

Taken at top of Cape Leveque on 3rd July, 2009. A perfect end to another perfect day up in the Kimberley region of WA.

A poem (not by me)

I close my eyes and I can vision my sunset laid across the water with clouds gently placed on top.

The yellow is so bright that it consumes my thoughts I fall deeper into the colors of the sun so that I could touch the orange glow, what a soft feeling, my sunset.

My sunset takes me to another place and time where there will be no problem to tall to overcome. This vision is imbedded in my mind it is like a river running free a clear thought on a sunny day and it ends with my sunset and me.

My sunset frees my thoughts from confusion it leads me to believe that I am on top of the world, setting me free to score over the waters of my mind.

My sunset places me in a part of heaven where the day comes to an end with the beauty of my sunset.
Kimbaline Navas (she who waits)

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:09

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:09
Cable Beach 2005
AnswerID: 537081

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:18

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:18
I reckon the lack of pollution in the atmosphere over the Indian Ocean has something to do with the clarity of the Kimberley sunsets.

Nice one.
FollowupID: 821320

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 13:35

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 13:35
Kimberley (Middle Lagoon) sunset - with heaps of smoke

Val

FollowupID: 821324

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:18

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:18
G'day Phil,

Was looking at a couple of good ones last night, but can't find them this morning. These two will have to suffice.

Good to see you back,

AnswerID: 537082

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:30

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:30
To my eye it appears that there is some smoke or haze in the first one Bob, giving a "strange" purplish tinge. Good one.

Was it a "summer" one?
FollowupID: 821322

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 13:02

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 13:02
Was Oct, '07, Phil.

Can't really recall whether it was dust or smoke now. Think it may have been heavy smoke from Gulf, or NT.

FollowupID: 821323

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:48

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 12:48
A few sunset shots in the

Show us your favourite beach moment thread..

AnswerID: 537084

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 14:28

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 14:28

Ilkurlka Roadhouse, Anne Beadell Highway - July 2014.
AnswerID: 537089

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:37

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:37
You got the two threads beat in one. Nice one.
FollowupID: 821337

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:36

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:36
Love this Baz but I think the one in your blog was even better.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 821403

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 16:01

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 16:01

AnswerID: 537094

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 16:51

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 16:51
Here's a pic from the Great Sandy...

AnswerID: 537097

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 17:27

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 17:27
Righto Equinox that Great Sandy Desert Sunset photo is so fantastic it has to have been "photoshopped", or had filters used !
If not, well then as I said above, just brilliant

I'm just back from another week's walking in the West Mac ranges watching the hills change colour at sunset

FollowupID: 821334

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:27

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:27
That's a brilliant pic, maybe photoshop was used (I'd be surprised if anyone gets everything right in camera - and some adjustment in PS is still acceptable in most competitions.)
The issue with PS is the insertion of items that were not in the original image, to enhance the image. I would doubt that was the case here!
Filters are not new, and are definitely not an issue at all.
Only comment would be that the tree on the right is a slight distraction from the real focus of the image. That issue aside, this is a truly impressive image!
FollowupID: 821336

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:38

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:38
This one is excellent.
FollowupID: 821338

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 20:25
I did enhance the brightness of the picture - that's all though

FollowupID: 821345

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 19:52

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 19:52
The picture is spectacular and in my mind invites the observer to be transported there in an instant!

Cheers, Baz...
FollowupID: 821432

Reply By: Member - johnat - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:30

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:30
This from my front verandah, just out of Tamworth ...
AnswerID: 537102

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:41

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:41
And from our front verandah over the Brindabellas.

FollowupID: 821339

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:35

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:35
That's beautiful but a good example of when photoshop enhancement would improve it further - to remove the powerlines!! ;))
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 821402

Reply By: Member - Heather L - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:58

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 18:58
AnswerID: 537104

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 21:58

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 21:58
Great idea...

AnswerID: 537118

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:42

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:42
Amazing. Really makes you just stop and look . . . .
FollowupID: 821358

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:38

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:38
Love the way the soft focus complements the weeping effect of the desert oak - my favourite tree of the outback.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 821404

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:05

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:05

Just a few of many, some times the best are when you do not have your camera handy

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 537119

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:43

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:43
Very true Murray
FollowupID: 821359

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:16

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:16

AnswerID: 537121

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:44

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:44
Good one Allan.
FollowupID: 821360

Reply By: Member - i'machocoholic - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:24

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:24
Just a couple from the Kimberley...

AnswerID: 537122

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:46

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:46
Just check out the size of the sun . . . . .
FollowupID: 821362

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:52

Sunday, Aug 03, 2014 at 22:52
Great Victoria Desert

AnswerID: 537124

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:42

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:42
That's really nice John. Not just all red as are the usual but with a whole spectrum of colour.
In general, I have given up on trying to produce great sunset photos as it is so easy for anyone to take a mediocre one and enhance it in an editor. That is not to say that those displayed here are enhanced!

FollowupID: 821405

Reply By: Member Kerry W (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 09:46

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 09:46
A few favourites

Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 537137

Reply By: Freshstart - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 09:50

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 09:50
The problem with this thread is that it makes you pack up and go. We just got back from a 4-5 week CSR drive and I need a rest.

Excellent photos.
AnswerID: 537138

Reply By: Member Kerry W (WA) - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 10:43

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 10:43
Bit of a campfire and sunset shot...

Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 537142

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 10:46

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 10:46
The trees appear to be warming their "arms" before the full night envelopes all.
FollowupID: 821377

Reply By: Member - Taxi Driver - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 13:36

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 13:36
This is the Murray River at Corowa o the June Long Weekend
AnswerID: 537155

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:40

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 14:40
Always feel welcome to post your photos on our Facebook page and/or send in a series of pics for us to use in the scrolling header at the top of the site! A theme is always great for these headers - so send in all your sunsets and I'll put them into the site if you like to look at them more often;)
Michelle Martin

AnswerID: 537158

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 17:11

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 17:11
What about taking the ones on this thread for the banner Michelle.
FollowupID: 821417

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 11:51

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 11:51
because that would take a lot more work for me and so it won't happen ;)

Banner headers specs are 135 pixels high x 1400 pixels (minimum) wide to be supplied complete ready for publication, but I was just offering to help by doing a group collation if anyone was interested to participate.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 821475

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 11:59

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2014 at 11:59
I can always rely on a direct answer from you Michelle. Appreciated.

I am not familiar with photo size functions. You may recall I tried once before and failed miserably.

I will leave it to the more practiced readers. maybe someone can do it for us.
FollowupID: 821476

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 18:26

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 18:26
here's a few oldies from back in 2006 taken up at Cape York

PENNEFATHER RIVER SUNSETS

WEIPA SUNSET

AnswerID: 537170

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 18:41

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 18:41
I favour the Weipa sunset
FollowupID: 821424

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 20:18

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 20:18
[Image cannot be loaded]

Whilst thinking about sunsets, I think one of the most beautiful things you can witness in Australia, as part of a sunset, occurs at Louth, each and every day of the year. In fact, it has been the case since around 1886, providing you can see the sun setting!

I wrote about this in a recent blog, and if you ever get the chance please go and see what is an eternal love story!

You can read about it here Love in the Outback - An Ethereal Experience

Now I enjoy taking photographs, and writing, but on this occasion I simply didn’t want to view it through the lens of a camera, so one day I will get a couple of better shots of this remarkable occurrence!

And going through some photos of our recent trip into the Westerns Deserts, this is one of my favourites!

Cheer, Baz – The Landy
AnswerID: 537176

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 20:29

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 20:29
Whoops...

I did mean to link to the ExplorOz Blog I wrote...

Love in the Outback - An Ethereal Experience

And on how's this, Im colour blind, but love the colours in this sunset...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 821436

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 21:17

Monday, Aug 04, 2014 at 21:17
Looks like the Shindy is on the list.Well written.
FollowupID: 821443

Reply By: Polaris - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 10:18

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 10:18

Angry sky at Malcolm Dam, Leonora, WA Goldfields.
AnswerID: 537239

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 10:52

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 10:52
Angry is a good description. I'm waiting for Dracula to appear from those clouds.
FollowupID: 821518