6 Wheeled Triton

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:34
ThreadID: 109050 Views:5688 Replies:13 FollowUps:13
I was sitting in my old Troopy having some lunch in the IGA Car park before going into the Radio Station for my 3 hour session when this Triton parked nearby.

Reply By: Les PK Ranger - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:43

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:43
Cool, obviously to allow for the rather large tray and possibly heavier load carrying.

Wonder how it goes if just running the standard 2.5lt td ?
Normally pretty reasonable power from those, but with the extra load ?

Did you take a peek and see if they were possibly both drive axles at the back ?
Although I imagine it's just the front axle driven, and the other is purely load sharing.
AnswerID: 537280

Reply By: Whirlwinder - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:44

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:44
Doug,
There is a company south west of Sydney that does the 6 wheel conversion and also chassis lengthening.
They were doing a 6 wheel job on a BT50 when I was there with a Ranger with overhang problems.
AnswerID: 537281

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:28

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:28
The owner told me the conversion was done in Brisbane.

FollowupID: 821565

Reply By: The Bantam - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:54

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 20:54
Yeh I know it can be done...a mate has just had his bt50 done....

BUT...for gods sake WHY.

you would be much better off with a proper truck......need a truck buy a truck.

Buying a truck would be cheaper you will get decent payload and towing capacity...and you don't end up with some sort of franken ute that does not drive all the wheels and has a number of problems as a result....AND pretty modest increase in payload.

AnswerID: 537285

Reply By: Ross M - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 21:38

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 21:38
Nah, I reckon it is in White.

I can;t see how the chassis is made or can really take alteration to make six wheels.

You would want any significant weight above the axles and not anywhere near the rear of the tray.
The chassis would have to be plated up to the front to take the forces. It would then be quite rigid and the normal flex reduced.
Not sure how an engineering crowd can organize the dynamic performance which is usually done in/during a factory test regime.

All OK on flat country I suppose.
AnswerID: 537290

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:31

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:31
Chassis's are lengthened on Prime Movers and all size tray backs by companies that specialize in this all the time , no problems .

FollowupID: 821566

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 22:03

Wednesday, Aug 06, 2014 at 22:03
Lunch at Dan Murphy's, Doug?

AnswerID: 537292

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:32

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:32
Haaa I don't think so ...that is a Booze shop...

FollowupID: 821569

Follow Up By: BunderDog - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 11:16

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 11:16
Bet you were at the Bakery just inside the door!!
FollowupID: 821576

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 12:54

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 12:54
My reputation precedes me, unfortunately.

FollowupID: 821582

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:39

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:39
Looks like someone knows the area well about the bakery shop ...eh BunderDog .

FollowupID: 821583

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 14:04

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 14:04
Doug, my default position whenever bakeries are mentioned is to admit guilt, that's why I thought BD was talking about me.

Maybe I should not feel so guilty? Aaah, who cares, I will still be visiting bakeries.

FollowupID: 821585

Follow Up By: BunderDog - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 15:49

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 15:49
Doug, grew up in Orange and visit regularly.............I'm a Robert's Bakery fan myself.
FollowupID: 821594

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 00:36

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 00:36
Great way to increase GVM but it does not increase GCM.

AnswerID: 537296

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:34

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:34
It will on the farm ...or way outback.

FollowupID: 821570

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:46

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:46
We dragged a 6 wheel cruiser ute out of palm valley. The owner had it made to take a slide on camper so they could leave the camper and do day trips. The problem was the thing would dry bog crossing a kerb due to the load sharing axle holding the drive wheels off the ground. Lockers fore and aft would be a bare minimum necessity just to go shopping I'd think.
AnswerID: 537303

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:56

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 08:56
Not really had any problems with mine. It was a serious concern that the driving axles would be suspended by the lazy axle and cause bogging but a couple of beach trips have dispelled that. There are options such as diff lockers as mentioned above or increasing the driving axle traction by dropping the air bag pressure on the lazy. So far have not needed to do either.

I am sure there limitations but a couple of ugly creek crossings without the van went well. My overall assessment is that if you want to carry more gear legally then this is not a bad option.

AnswerID: 537306

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 10:26

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 10:26
There are a few ,would not say lots , of 6 wheel conversions out our way , mainly 100 series converted to utes and 79 series utes and the odd dual cab 79 series , not exactly cheap but then resale is high $$$ as well , looked at one recently , last of the 100 series turbo diesel Auto box 6 wheel 2 pallet long steel tray ,under tray tool boxes etc , 180,000 km …… $65,000…..
AnswerID: 537311

Reply By: 489 - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:19

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:19
yep great looking exercise BUT are both axles drive axles or just the front and the rear a lazy axle. As being a driver of such a vechile in the past, lazy rear axle, one can be caught out very easily in the air. Reversed the vechile over a gutter and guess what. the lazy axle suspended the drive axle in the air with not enough traction to move either forwards or backwards, how embarrassing. Yes I need help to move the vechile forward and started again with more success - lesson learnt - cost me a slab with the boys after work with a joke or too. garry
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

AnswerID: 537318

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:47

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 13:47
About losing traction on gutters , when I was driving for Newman Transport in a International T2670 Bogie drive I had little problems when entering the gate of Retracom in the Industrial area near Browns Plains when the trailer was empty , after getting caught a couple times I always remembered to engage the Power Divider that locks the 2 diffs as I approached the driveway. When I say got caught does not mean trouble, all that was needed was to engage the Power Divider and drive forward again.

AnswerID: 537322

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 14:17

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 14:17
Here is another one up the GRR. See a few Tritons like this. Had no trouble on the rough roads.

AnswerID: 537324

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 16:44

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 16:44
Same truck without the back. Was his name Smio.

FollowupID: 821596

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 18:34

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 18:34
Don't know his name , but you could be right about it being the same Triton,

FollowupID: 821598

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 18:41

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 18:41
Not the same Triton, Conversions look like from same factory but look at the rack.

FollowupID: 821599

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:23

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:23
They are fishing rod holders and were bolt on with the spare tyre. It would be the same truck, as he lives in that area of NSW.

FollowupID: 821628

Reply By: duck - Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 20:06

Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 20:06
I've had several 6 wheelers & have posted many trips over the 18 years of owning them & have travelled all over oz
Some are crap but a well designed one is great so some things to consider
A 6 x4 that has a 60/40 load share 60% on the drive wheels & 40% on the trailing axle work well on all terrain
A 6x4 that loads on what ever axle is crap & will hang you up
Most 6x6 have a bad habit of pushing in a straight line & can be challenging
Most 6x6 do not have much travel which can be an issue & some end up giving you less traction in uneven ground than a 6 x4 due to the limited travel
Some 6x6 still have problems with bind up which is expensive & normally happens a the worst possible time
The one in the picture looks like a Briggs 6x4 from Dalby one of the best 6x4 conversions & if it is,it will come with a 2nd manufactures plate & meets all states regs Not a blue plate or engineering certificate
AnswerID: 537337