Colorado 2014 Tub leaks water and dust in big volumes!

Submitted: Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 20:02
ThreadID: 110027 Views:3978 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
G'day all

While out at Condobolin last week I took a dirt road to look at a few sights then went into Parkes and got a car wash. Next morning I took the tonneaus off to load the baggage and found a lovely red paste in one third of the tub.

An inspection revealed a gap of about 10 mm between the tub and the tail gate.

Has anyone had this problem and did you fix it?

Holden know of the problem but don't have a fix. They suggested I go to ARB as they have a kit that should fix the problem.

Reply By: BARRY F2 - Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 20:25

Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 20:25
Just Bought A Tail Gate Kit For Our Bt50 From Auto Rubber In Bayswater , Living On A Dirt Road, It Has certainly stopped In Dust In The Tub

AnswerID: 541268

Follow Up By: hooks - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 09:52

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 09:52
Hi Barry,

Does this kit just fit around the tail gate area or does it also go around the top rim of the tub ?
FollowupID: 827360

Reply By: darrell b - Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 20:37

Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 20:37
Hi BooBoo,
I have a 2012 rg colorado, current body shape, had the same problem,went to a large engineering outlet here in griffith and purchased some rubber, similar to door rubbers, applied contact adhesive to tailgate and stuck it along bottom of tailgate where gap is,when dry close tailgate, hey no more gap.
getting the right thickness off rubber is the secret,
hope this helps,
Darrell
AnswerID: 541269

Follow Up By: Con_Qld - Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 22:36

Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 22:36
Hi Darrell, I have a 2013 RG and took it up to the Cape and despite putting air-conditioning rubber to the tail gate gap, I still had a lot of dust coming in thru the side and also from the gaps between the canopy and tail gate. I had to run insulating tape on the outside each time I began my daily travels. It helped but ... Something I have to live with. Will try the rubber again like you said. Thanks for the advice....
ps. How are you finding the power & torque of the series 2?
FollowupID: 827337

Follow Up By: darrell b - Thursday, Nov 06, 2014 at 22:53

Thursday, Nov 06, 2014 at 22:53
Hi con, My 2012 Colorado is 5 speed manual,towing a jayco silverline, about 2900 tonne loaded, I find it tows the van reasonably easy, as long as I keep the revs in the motors torque band, eg 1800 to 2800 revs. Tow at 90 k per hour in 4 gear no trouble, nice amount of torque. heaps of power and torque without the van behind.
Returning 16 litres per 100 klicks loaded, I,m happy with the collie
Darrell
FollowupID: 827486

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 21:55

Monday, Nov 03, 2014 at 21:55
All the Jap utes suffer from this. The way I overcome this is with a cheap tarp. I lay one end under the goods at the rear of the tub. When I finish loading I then lay the rest of the tarp over the load.

When you require something from the tub I simply just fold the tarp back and the dust comes with it. This may not be as good as going to all the trouble of fitting rubber seals but it is a good quick fix until members get around to applying their rubbers.

AnswerID: 541272

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 09:20

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 09:20
you could try Brown Davis in Bayswater Victoria they sell a kit to prevent dust entry for most late model utes about $65 .
cheers mechpete
AnswerID: 541279

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 15:49

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 15:49
Thanks for the help fella's

I went to ARB in Tamworth this morning and asked them for the kit to seal the tailgate and the thought I was mad. They had never heard of one.

I had thought of a rubber seal like the car doors, but I will give Brown and Davis a ring and see if they can help.

For around $65 it would be worth a try.

Once again thanks for your thoughts.

FollowupID: 827385

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 15:57

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 15:57
Silly me........ it's a PH in Victoria today.

Will give them a ring tomorrow when they have a hangover. LOL

FollowupID: 827387

Follow Up By: ian.g - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 16:22

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 16:22
I use a length of concrete expansion foam 70mmx10mm, can be bought in 6m rolls for about $5.00 from Bunnings, just cut to length and close into the gap, works a treat. Throw away after each trip and cut a new length when you are going into dusty conditions again.
FollowupID: 827388

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 20:49

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 20:49
leave the tarp off ... it reduces the dust in the tub immensely
AnswerID: 541346

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2014 at 20:26

Sunday, Nov 23, 2014 at 20:26
I finally installed the rubber kit a couple of days ago and will give it a week or so and let you know if the problem as been eliminated or reduced.

FollowupID: 828343