Diesel shortage SE Victoria

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 14:46
ThreadID: 116967 Views:2034 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Hello All,

Heading back to W A from Sydney via NSW South Coast and around the bottom to Vic.

Read on wiki camps that there is a diesel shortage in SE Vic.
I can't find any 2015 diesel shortage alerts on any sites I have looked on.

Anyone know if it's dinkum or not.

Thanks Rob J

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 14:52

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 14:52
Rob, no shortage that I know of currently. If in doubt, fill up in Southern NSW, should get you thru to Sale or so and no problems with diesel shortage there. Have a great trip.

AnswerID: 549555

Reply By: Swaggie- Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 15:21

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 15:21
Hi mate

Was this alert dated ??
AnswerID: 549558

Reply By: Rob J8 - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 17:10

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 17:10
It was posted by BTLC on 6th March in fuel prices for Vic . Some one might be having a laugh.

Rob J
AnswerID: 549564

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 17:30

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 17:30
I read it as in east, southeast MELBOURNE. Any one from there on the forum?
AnswerID: 549566

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 19:19

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 19:19
I am in the South East of Melbourne and no shortage of diesel.

FollowupID: 834971

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Sunday, Mar 08, 2015 at 08:49

Sunday, Mar 08, 2015 at 08:49
Good morning
I am here as well and filled my tank Monday

FollowupID: 834992

Reply By: Ron N - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 19:13

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 19:13
Total garbage info, probably gained from a drunk, gibbering in a pub toilet in St Kilda.
Either that, or a furphy pushed by some servo trying to up the prices.

If there is any supply problem, the oil companies supply details in media releases on their websites. There is nothing on any of them.

Google search thus ... "AU: (oil company name - BP, Shell, Caltex, ExxonMobil, etc) media release" and search their media releases.
If there were supply restrictions, breakdowns, tanker or tank failures, or some other problem resulting in a supply shortage, it would be there.

On top of that, the media are onto news items like this, like a rat up a drainpipe.
There is not a single recent news item of any sort relating to a fuel shortage.

What has impressed me lately, after a week on the Gold Coast, is how the oil companies have managed to conspire to ensure all the petrol prices around Brizzy and the Gold Coast are up around $1.33 - $1.35. What a total rort.

Petrol in Perth is around $1.17 - $1.18 and few are trying to get a bit more. However, there's not the blanket rort pricing like there is around Brizzy and the GC.
I reckon the ACCC should be notified - if this isn't collusive pricing, then I'm a monkeys uncle.

AnswerID: 549567

Reply By: Rob J8 - Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:13

Saturday, Mar 07, 2015 at 21:13
Thanks everyone for the response. Rob J

AnswerID: 549574