Coffee

Submitted: Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 01:42
ThreadID: 12529 Views:1898 Replies:16 FollowUps:17
We all have different tastes, so how does everybody make their perfect cup of coffee when out in the sticks?

Is it simply a billy full of water and a handfull of instant?
Maybe one of those multi sided percolators on a few coals?
Perhaps a home made expresso machine?

Do you add equal portions of water and brandy on a cold night?
Or do you have a medicinal port on the side?

Does anybody have some secret ingredients?
Or is it a case of bean there, done that.

Trev

Reply By: Diesel 1 - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 05:48

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 05:48
G'day Trev,

We're a tough lot up here in the Top End mate and most of us just whack a couple of spoonfulls of instant coffee in the gob and then wash it down with half a billy of boiling water - saves washing cups because we are a lazy lot of buggers too.

Diesel 1
AnswerID: 56812

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 06:21

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 06:21
LOL, we always do the espresso pot on the gas stove with Vittoria coffee. On a recent trip a mate pulled out the "special sauce" for the late night coffee while playing 500 - Coffee with a dash of baileys is a winner on those cold nights - finally found a tipple that the wife also enjoys!
AnswerID: 56814

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:04

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:04
die grinder and a kitchen blender top combined, makes a great coffee bean grinder, especially if you have a bracket on the bullbar to "clip" the belnder top onto 8-)

This way it stays fresh, and a great way to make margarita's as well......

We use a small espresso pot on the coleman dual fuel stove to make the coffee.
AnswerID: 56820

Reply By: Member - Bob - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:17

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:17
Steel bodied plunger
AnswerID: 56822

Reply By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:29

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 08:29
Well....If you're within cooee of Birdsville, you hot tail it to the Blue Poles Gallery & Cafe, and enjoy your coffee the way you like it, in the style you like.....
Cappuccino, Macchiato, latte, Vienna, flat or for the serious drinker an espresso, short or long with the best head of creme this side of the Great Dividing Range!

Years of experience making coffee for Sydney's fussiest coffee drinkers, we now offer the same service, on the edge of the SImpson Desert....

We do take away also...
AnswerID: 56823

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 11:47

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 11:47
Karsten you have good coffee at blue polls we were there about 2 years ago and had a lovely morning tea.
The kids loved the milk shakes.
Very nice indeed.

eric
FollowupID: 318599

Follow Up By: Karsten from Birdsville Studio - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:35

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:35
Cheers Eric,

Next time you'll have to try one of our great curries too!
FollowupID: 318618

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 09:34

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 09:34
I havnt managed to find any beer flavoured coffee as yet .
AnswerID: 56825

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 10:18

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 10:18
I have Jack Daniels coffee 8-)))
FollowupID: 318593

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 11:49

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 11:49
I like the coffee just the way the fun warden brings it to me I would never complain other wise no more.

AnswerID: 56830

Reply By: Ian Bee - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:33

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:33
In South Australia we have what is sometimes known as Life Support System......

FARMERS UNION ICED COFFEE!!!!!!

Ian BEE
AnswerID: 56834

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:43

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:43
Back in the cattle TB testing days, mid 70's, worked with a vet who would have a solitary cup of coffee for breakfast. As most of us drank tea in those days, this bloke would put the instant coffee in the mug, and fill with billy tea. He wasn't a morning person, and no doubt this way, he could get an extra hit of caffeine.

Have tried it a couple of times, nothing to rave about...

AnswerID: 56835

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:50

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:50
At Budgerygar in the late 60's there was an old bloke ran the fences and dingo baited and he made the best coffee I ever tasted - billy of hot water and used Coffee/Chickory - he also made the best brownie (a fruit cake for Australians not an American brownie) in the hot coals.
FollowupID: 318610

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:29

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 14:29
Would have been that "Turks Head" brand, Ruth, eh?

Reckon there'd be a few station stores that would still have a tin or two of that stuff, stuck away in a dusty corner. Was a good brew, though don't think I appreciated it too much in those days, food was main interest, most of time.

FollowupID: 318617

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 16:12

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 16:12
Bob & Ruth

Seeing as how Birdsville is in SA I thought you'd be using BICKFORDS chickory coffee essence for that sort of thing. It is fantastic with cold milk to make iced coffee - almost better than Farmers Union. Much cheaper, though.

BTW, I use a $ 14 old fashioned percolator. The grounds go in the top & the stem, hollow, bubbles water up, cascades over the grounds to return to the main body as freshly perked coffee.

Like Willem, I reealise that only MUSCAT can be drunk around the fire whill doing all of this.

FollowupID: 318619

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:58

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:58
Bob forgot to say that we take the plunger camping also. Oh yes, and it wasn't at Budgerygar it was at "Gartmor" near Tambo.
Rick from SA - Willem gave the MUSCAT a little nudge last night - but he and I tested a bottle of Ballantines (quite nice really).
And yes Bob it would have been Turk's Head - after all we are good Queenslanders, although I have to say that I do know the Bickford's brand now there is no customs collection point here and we have free trade between the States (wish it was free freight) and am partial to their Lemon Lime and Bitter and the Ginger Beer is quite good but I'm more partial to the Saxby one.
FollowupID: 318711

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 20:37

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 20:37
rick,

The daughters have been guilty of using that Bickfords chicory/coffee essence, but iced coffee needs to have ice-cream in it. First ran into bickfords about 40 years ago, we used to get B's tomato sauce, in a couple of flavours, on Barkly Tablelands.

But what I ned to say is that B. make the best lime flavour cordial, that was ever put into a drop of rum and water, would crawl over broken glass to get a rum, bickford's Lime and water. Nectar of the Gods!!!

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 318720

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:58

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 13:58
A drop of rum always helps
AnswerID: 56837

Follow Up By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 17:27

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 17:27
Mate I LMAO off at your tag line
FollowupID: 318627

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 17:37

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 17:37
Trevor, hot chocolate is nicer on these cold nights and better on my kidney. A glass of Mrs Baz NSW (Kerry's) liquer beside it goes ver nicely too( Hazelnut Schnapps. For all that I like to take a stovetop steamer Trevor, it can do your cappucino too. Also makes Espresso. Buggar the marsh mallows in the hot choccy though!

You can get it in good kitchenware shops at about $110 made in Italy of course....
AnswerID: 56859

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:47

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:47
Well worth the money, it makes a great cappucino and when you add a little extra to warm you up it's peeerrrfect, hey John !! Very easy to use.
Comes highly recomended by this family !! Kerry and Ness say hi John and Heather.

Baz. (NSW)
FollowupID: 318636

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:03

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:03
Baz, you, Kerry and Vanessa now have given me a new hurdle in understand what I need to take with me to say I am well equipped for the cold. I don't mean the dogs either mate. LOL I reckon that little hip flask had the liquor that made me smile ;-)

We remember you all very well from the Forest Community. Please say hi to the girls.
FollowupID: 318638

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:59

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 18:59
remind me never to go bush with you bunch... you're all just soooooooo uncouth. Being a CHAP I drink tea. The hour of the day determines whether I have english breakfast, Darjeeling, Earl Grey, Prince of Wales, Assam, lapsang soushong....but NOTHING winds up the day better than sitting around a gas log fire with the other chaps drinking a good brew of billy tea ( complete with gum leaf) discussing how Charles is going to get himself out of his most recent faux par....
AnswerID: 56867

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:15

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:15
Just leave the Earl Grey at home when you camp near me RB, I have got over it. Love my Darjeeling though. EB, IB OP. Love the nice Jasmine too though as a digestive. Reckon I may make a pot right now.......

Leave your foreign mate Charles out of discussion here though. Very Camp. LOL
FollowupID: 318639

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:17

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:17
Well done!

good touch of humour. Haven't observed many foxes paws lately by the Windsor mob. Must be one coming soon.....

By the way, old sausage, our Queen, Chassers's mum, - I'll bet she has never smelt wet gidgea or cooked on the coals of a mulga fire.

Who'd wannabe in her shoes?.........Nah, not me

FollowupID: 318640

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:46

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:46
It's Irish breakfart for me, to be sure, to be sure, and a drop of whiskey, Irish of cause, must be in the blood.

FollowupID: 318644

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:52

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:52
Hey Rick Blaine, can I be in your camp please. EG gives me a stinking headache (must be the bermagot) but I just love Vintage Darjeerling when I can get it and especially Assam. I'm with you that the time of the day is the decider in what tea. When my kids were tiddlers they would make a tea tray for me and I would have to guess what the mix of tea was - gosh there was some terrible pots of tea - but they did it with love. As for Lapsang Souchong - that beautiful smoky really long leaf tea - you'd swear you'd boiled the billy on a really smoky fire. Think I'll put the kettle on.
As for you Rick from SA - you leave Betty Windsor and Phil the Greek alone - poor Chukka, he doesn't need any help from us with his fox pas.
FollowupID: 318710

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:58

Saturday, May 01, 2004 at 19:58
John Wayne style
1 cup water and 1-2 teaspoons coffee. Tastes better in front of a campfire.

an additional nip(s) of ouzo if it's at the end of an all nighter
AnswerID: 56873

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 06:24

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 06:24
They still make that sh-t ,ouzo yuck.

Not for me
FollowupID: 318673

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 09:05

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 09:05
26 entries about coffee? It's coffee, bloody coffee, nothing more, nothing less. I know it's become trendy and fashionable but surely not on this site?

Furthermore it's a stimulant. I go camping to relax and use relaxants (is that a word?) such as beer, a drop of red ned, maybe a wee dram of Scotch or a port (I know Port isn't in vogue anymore but it still tastes the same to me) late in the evening.

AnswerID: 56897

Follow Up By: Brad - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:30

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 16:30
Hey, relax....
FollowupID: 318708

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 19:31

Sunday, May 02, 2004 at 19:31
Ok I confess..if i drink coffee the purines in it give me gout and I take a tumble off my polo pony....damned things a chap has to endure, like wise alchohol, then if I drink oooodles of water to dilute the acid in my system im out looking for suitable trees to water...But I do think this is a super thread to the forum...maybe i should start another on brewing billy tea....
AnswerID: 56949

Reply By: Matt14 - Monday, May 03, 2004 at 12:01

Monday, May 03, 2004 at 12:01
A great no hassles cup of coffee is those new fangled coffee bags (like the tea ones). A bit pricey but better than instant.

matt
AnswerID: 57004