Sydney trails

Submitted: Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 14:02
ThreadID: 12972 Views:1894 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,
I'm very much a newbie. Just bought a Kia Sorento which is my first foray into 4wd. I know I know, it's a Kia, but it has all the things I want and was in my price range. I took it to the dunes at Kurnell on Sunday and had a ball. What I am after now is any trails in or around Sydney, say up to an hour or so away, that I could jump in the car and take the family along. Only want something simple to start with, as I said, I'm a newbie so don't want to push the limits too much yet. Plus the truck is only 4 days old!!!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Peter McGuckian - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 14:30

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 14:30
First thing you might consider is to join a 4wd club and do a driver training course. You will then be more confident and able when you are on trips which most clubs run. This is the best way to fnd your way around. Try the toyota club. These are usually very well run and allow all makes to join.

The LIa looks a very capable vehicle. The only suggestion from the reviews was to change the shock absorbers and springs, but you can do this later when you are ready for the more difficult trips.

Enjoy.

Peter
Peter
VKS Mobile 1906

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 59076

Reply By: Member Colin - NSW Bungendore - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 15:18

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 15:18
Look at BoilingBilly - they have a lot of great Trek books at reasonable prices incuding '4WD Treks close to Sydney'

I read in the paper over the weekend, that Korean cars are leaders in reliability now!
AnswerID: 59084

Reply By: Michael - Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 15:50

Tuesday, May 18, 2004 at 15:50
Sorento.... A truck,,,, Gee i have a patrol and i'm uneasy calling it a truck. there must be a better word for it that.. Best regards michael
AnswerID: 59094