Filthy, disgusting campers!

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 11, 2017 at 23:16
ThreadID: 134454 Views:6765 Replies:17 FollowUps:30
We have just returned from a few nights at a High Country camp site that we hadn't visited for around 10 years.
We were shocked at the way it has been treated, crap & toilet paper behind almost every bush & rock, (there is a toilet provided), rubbish left everywhere, cans, stubbies, plastic bottles, cable ties, burnt chair frames, nappies etc etc!
Living trees chopped down for no apparent reason, maybe their small brains think for next years firewood.
The DEPI came in on Thursday & cleaned up what they could, they said it will be just as bad by next Tuesday. No wonder half the area there has been shut down for camping.
I always knew that bogans breed, but I didn't realise that they do so at such an alarming rate.
Please, if anybody ever asks "what gear do I need for camping?", make sure you say, "item number one, a SHOVEL"
That's my rant for this year, no wonder we virtually never go to campgrounds!

Back Expand Un-Read 11 Moderator

Reply By: Paul E6 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 00:08

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 00:08
What can you say, humans as a species are filthy pigs.
Except that I prefer pigs, the actual ones.
And dogs of course.
AnswerID: 609337

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 07:43

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 07:43
So where were you camped
Mechpete
AnswerID: 609341

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 08:27

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 08:27
Huggett's Crossing on the Avon River.
We generally avoid campgrounds, but we had a window to go camping & it's only about 90 minutes from home.
There was even spray paint graffiti on tree trunks, who takes spray paint cans camping?

FollowupID: 879200

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:00

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:00
"There was even spray paint graffiti on tree trunks, who takes spray paint cans camping?"

the kids from dysfunctional families 20-25 years ago are now breeding dysfunctional families of their own. and so it goes.
FollowupID: 879215

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 01:13

Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 01:13
Huggerts seems to be the centre of bogan bush life.
Haven't stayed there for many years and it was bad back then, sounds like it's even worse.

FollowupID: 879232

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 12:22

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 12:22
You see it everywhere, a beautiful spot soiled by people??? who have no respect for anything or anyone, including themselves.

There is absolutely no sense to the way they behave. They seem to have missed out on some very basic socialisation as children and carry these practices into their so called adulthood!

I sometimes wonder if there are those among us who have missed out on a vital gene somewhere along the line.
AnswerID: 609342

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 13:16

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 13:16
Yes, I think they are from the shallow end of the gene pool!

FollowupID: 879207

Reply By: Member - Robyn R4 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 13:16

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 13:16
For a moment there I thought you were describing the once gorgeous little nooks along the creek across from my place...
Infuriating.
Next time someone starts up a "what's the essential piece of camping equipment you take" I'll wait to see if someone says "a can of spray paint"... I honestly never thought of packing it either, Shaker.

Robyn
AnswerID: 609344

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 14:00

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 14:00
One of our essential camping things is a rubbish bag. We always double check the area when packing up and quite often take away more than we brought in.
Disappointing that's the way it is , but happy to leave places cleaner than when we got there, of course some places are that filthy it can't all be picked up by on pair of travellers.
AnswerID: 609345

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 15:10

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 15:10
I guess for normal people that goes without saying, we always seem to carry other people's rubbish, but if the brain dead morons to which I have been referring could only remember one thing, I would insist on a shovel.
I would rather carry out a few cans, than have to wade through piles of human excrement & toilet paper!

FollowupID: 879209

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 19:41

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 19:41
You're dead right on that , totally agree people that do that are just disgusting!
Animals are better than that !
FollowupID: 879220

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 01:59

Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 01:59
You are right Shane, animals are better than that, they don't wipe their butt. :)
FollowupID: 879233

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 15:45

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 15:45
Pulled up at the lookout just south of Moomba, thinking I might spend the night there, after a long, hot drive from Beresford Siding, down to Lyndhurst and up the Strzelecki. A look around soon changed my mind as there was literally acres of "date roll" fluttering in breeze, within metres of the small info signage there. Too good for me, I drove on about 10kms to a clean spot on a claypan.

Saw something similar at the parking bay at October Ck, on the Carpentaria H'way. Turds 'n paper scattered in an arc around the parking bay, but quite tidy once got past the mess.

Trouble is Shaker, these "types" are just too mobile these days, and can pollute almost anywhere, no matter how remote!

AnswerID: 609346

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:37

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:37
Bob, It is why I so like going truly remote and only camping where "No-one has gone before" (Why does that have a familiar ring to it?).

Only a black-tracker would detect where we camped. It's not hard really.
Might be a champagne cork or two in the nearby bush...... I have rotten aim!

Along the beachfront camping zones on Fraser Island is a major "sewage farm". There are no bush toilets so everyone digs a hole of sorts (some don't) and the next good breeze uncovers the crap. Even if you dig a hole, the odds are that you will uncover a recent deposit. It is a biological hazard to camp there.
We always camp at Cathedrals campground but Fraser is losing its attraction for me anyway.

FollowupID: 879212

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:42

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:42
'these "types" are just too mobile these days, and can pollute almost anywhere, no matter how remote!'

It doesn't get much more remote than the Canning Stock Route. It's a few years since I was there but some of the wells were festooned with toilet paper.

Rocco
FollowupID: 879213

Reply By: Member - Robert1660 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:30

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 17:30
I have also experienced the issue of "toilet paper everywhere". We rarely free camp but we certainly stop along the road to have a break or for morning tea or lunch. In every instance a short walk into the surrounding bush will inevitably produce vast quantities of toilet paper.
We have just returned from a road trip in New Zealand. What a difference! Of course in a country as small as NZ it is much easier to manage camping. Having the restriction that camping outside caravan parks can only occur if you have a fully self contained vehicle helps control the toilet paper issue.
We do ourselves a great disservice by not providing good facilities in roadside stops. Frequently these are particularly unpleasant in more the remote locations.
Of course the bottom line is that some people have no sense of personal responsibility. How many of us have left a campsite in better condition than when we arrived?
Robert
Landcruiser 200 VX Diesel + 19ft Bushtracker

AnswerID: 609347

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:04

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:04
backpackers, anyone?
FollowupID: 879216

Follow Up By: TomH - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:32

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:32
If only what you write is true NZ has a huge problem with Freedom Campers and is gradually toughening the rules.
Most are still ignoring what rules there are and are increasingly alienating themselves with the locals getting absolutely sick of them
http://www.stuff.co.nz/stuff-nation/assignments/should-freedom-camping-be-restricted
http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/317127/christchurch-latest-council-to-ban-freedom-camping
http://www.stuff.co.nz/timaru-herald/news/77912237/Tekapo-freedom-camping-hotspot-closed-because-poo-threatens-publics-safety
http://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/77350438/Freedom-camping-numbers-out-of-control-at-Christchurch-park
So where did you go ???
FollowupID: 879218

Follow Up By: Member - Robert1660 - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 19:44

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 19:44
Hi Tom,
Of course NZ is certainly not perfect and I take your point that there are issues, however where we travelled, north and central North Island, things appeared to be considerably better than out here. DOC's campsites that we visited require you to be gray water self contained and provide excellent cold showers and very acceptable long drop or composting toilets. Some even provide flush toilets. And as a bonus they are often located in wonderful locations.
We can do much better out here!
Robert
Landcruiser 200 VX Diesel + 19ft Bushtracker

FollowupID: 879221

Follow Up By: TomH - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 21:47

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 21:47
Dont go to the South Island then as thats where most of those links pertain to and its really bad down there.
Has been two scrub fires near Queenstown with idiots chucking hot ashes into the bushes at Dublin Bay near the town.

Also illegally parked campers are getting wheel clamped in Qtown as well $200 fine and $200 to get the clamps removed
FollowupID: 879225

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:02

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:02
Have come across this sort of thing way too often for my liking !!

Funny thing is - half of the culprits that I have caught trashing their campsite are those long dreadlock haired jobless greenies who constantly protest about climate change !!

Happy clean and safe camping
Gazz
AnswerID: 609349

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 21:35

Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 21:35
Somehow I doubt it but presumably you asked to see their social security cards and canvased their views on the environment and climate change just to be sure?

FollowupID: 879256

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 10:12

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 10:12
G'day Bazooka

My last two encounters with "the particular campers" I mentioned - 1st was at Eringa Waterhole where I spent the night camped near 3 of them in one van and had a couple hours chatting with them around their fire where I asked them what they do for a living. With puzzled looks on their faces they replied with " we're just travelling the country looking for work " and I just assumed by all the climate change and save the environment stickers on their van they might be greenies of some sort ! They were there for two nights, myself only one and in the morning when they were getting ready to depart I approached them to see if they were going to clean up the mess they had left - again with puzzled looks they said what with and where do we put it ? So I gave them a couple of my red white and blue $2 cheap as chips plastic bags I use for rubbish and lent them a shovel as they didn't have one !! Great way to go camping hey ? I wonder what their other campsites looked like.

2nd encounter was between Louth and Tilpa on the inside track where I stopped to help out a couple who had mechanical trouble with their old holden wagon, also covered in save the planet stickers etc. They said they were only there for about 6 hours but you should have seen the mess they had left - looked like they cleaned out all the crap they no longer needed and threw it on the ground all over the place. I gave them a lift to where they could call for assistance and along the way found out they too did not have a job !

So Bazooka - my assumptions may have been wrong but I would certainly put money on these two occasions I was right as I was there and you weren't !

I wasn't knocking greenies should you be one - just saying what I saw !!

Gazz

FollowupID: 879271

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 13:59

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 13:59
I'm well aware of what you were attempting to do Gazz but thanks for the great stories. People who trash the environment - in a variety of ways - come in all shapes and sizes, with the common denominators being ignorance and a complete lack of care for others, ie selfishness (mentioned elsewhere in this thread iirc).

I'm a "greenie" in many ways although perhaps not in the way you think, as are hopefully the vast majority of people, particularly members of this forum.
FollowupID: 879276

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 14:47

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 14:47
"" I'm well aware of what you were attempting to do Gazz but thanks for the great stories.""

Bazooka - please let me know what you are well aware of what I was "attempting" to do - might also make a great story as you put it !

Also, could you please let me know why it's ok for you to have an opinion but not me ??

Gazz
FollowupID: 879278

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 22:31

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 22:31
Personally I'm not big on stereotyping Gazz. Often it's OS tourists who cop it in the neck but anecdotally I'd suggest the lack of respect for our bush and its fauna is a home grown problem. I guess if one group might be blamed surely it's us - the "4WD mob" - but that group is more diverse than most others as we all. know. Wonder if the police ever found that bloke who intentionally mowed down the wombats in his 4WD at Kangaroo Valley some time ago.
Opinion "persecution" is a common enough complaint around the traps, most often appearing after someone takes issue with a comment. Your opinion wasn't blocked, censored or altered by anyone was it?
FollowupID: 879284

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 21:31

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 21:31
G'day Bazooka

I'm certainly not looking for an argument ( I can do that very easily with the missus lol ) but you seemed to have avoided my question and I'm very very curious as to you thoughts on your awareness as to what I was attempting to do !!

Look forward to your honest reply !

Gazz
FollowupID: 879299

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 22:55

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 22:55
Sorry Gazz, thought it was clear. It's in the first line of my previous reply. Perhaps I totally misread your intention. Problem with forums is that it's easy to convey something unintended, just as it is to infer something which wasn't meant.
FollowupID: 879300

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Mar 16, 2017 at 09:35

Thursday, Mar 16, 2017 at 09:35
All good Bazooka - I certainly understand the problems with posting stuff on forums - my weird sense of humour combined with my say it as I see it frank writing style often gets me in strife !!

Gazz
FollowupID: 879306

Reply By: Member - Roachie - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:48

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 18:48
Back in the early 90s we were gobsmacked when camped at Davies Hut.

Another group arrived (a Canberra-based 4x4 club). They outnumbered our small group.

We were in the process of cooking our tea on the camp fire when, without any warning whatsoever, a woman from that group came to the fire pit and threw in a PLASTIC bag which contained one or more disposable BABY NAPPIES!!!

We couldn't believe what we had just witnessed......the woman just turned and walked back to her set-up. We were dumb-founded.

Roachie....Don't follow me....I'm lost!

AnswerID: 609350

Reply By: Top End Az - Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 23:34

Sunday, Mar 12, 2017 at 23:34
We usually grab a few extra pieces of general rubbish when we leave our site to try and leave the place a bit better. But one night on the GRR we were sardined into a campground (with toilets), only to be woken by someone scratching around outside the back of our tent, about 2 metres away digging a hole to crap (at least they were digging).
Well, weren't we the bad guys when we pulled them up about it after pointing out the toilets 50 metres away.
Same when you see someone cutting down a green tree for firewood; dare say anything and you cop a mouth of profanity for your efforts, or worse, threats of violence.
I don't know what the answer is, obviously many folks are beyond being educated.
AnswerID: 609354

Follow Up By: Paul E6 - Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 07:07

Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 07:07
I would say that society has reached a tipping point socially, crossed a bridge, or turned a corner etc since the sixties, from which there is no coming back. That generation wanted to break away from the "shackles" of conformity, well now we are increasingly seeing the price.
Stories of violent unprovoked reactions to Non issues have become commonplace. People actually used to feel shame when confronted with something they had done, now it's more common to flare up because some have taken on this sense of entitlement that they have complete freedom to act regardless of others.
FollowupID: 879237

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 08:03

Monday, Mar 13, 2017 at 08:03
The dirtiest camp we have come across was at Mexican hat on the coast in South Oz . Old tents left behind , toilet paper everywhere an old Jason recliner ,half full garbage bags etc .
Thankfully there are still some remote places where inconsiderate grubs don't camp .
AnswerID: 609355

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 07:19

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 07:19
Sadly even the remote places suffer Mark. Several years ago, I collected over two rubbish bags full of dunny paper and rubbish from around Desert Queen's Baths camp ground. While there, a veterans group of 30 or more arrived and camped for a few days on their annual pilgrimage. The mess left behind, and strewn along the gorge (empty grog cans) was disappointing. This was a mob with more than a few kilometres and experience under their belts who I thought would have known better and shown a bit more respect for our environment! It may only have been a few careless ones in a group but it's enough to taint them all.

If you're out bush, we recommend carrying a pack of brown paper sandwich bags. Put your used dunny paper in it and bring it back to camp to burn discreetly in the fire or carefully burn it out there. No.2 will compost back into the environment quickly enough but in a dry desert environment, dunny paper can last for years.

Mick

FollowupID: 879264

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 09:40

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 09:40
While I agree with your post Shaker , giving people better options would go a long way to ease the situation and I think DEPI is in part responsible for the situation.

Some years ago I made some real efforts to get an internal change of attitude but to no avail.

This Xmas in our regular camp at Talbotville we again spoke with officers there who seemed to be conducting a survey on various issues.

So in a long discussion we complained that some years ago they removed 1 of 2 drop loos from this very popular spot.

They said they were aware of issues created and already had a submission in to replace the lost loo but that funds had not been approved.

This seemed strange and after a while we got to the real issue.

It is that they had significantly increased the rules and standards around drop Loo's which made them much more expensive to construct and hence nothing happens.

AnswerID: 609375

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 10:10

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 10:10
At the particular campground that I am talking about, there is a drop toilet.
It is a quite new steel one as the original timber one was burnt down by bogans, as were the rough hewn log tables & benches, which were cut up & burnt in camp fires.

The other thing these idiots need to understand is that glass & aluminium doesn't burn!

FollowupID: 879270

Reply By: TomH - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 13:08

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 13:08
Its not only in the outback This from todays NZ ODT site

https://www.odt.co.nz/news/dunedin/no-excuse-pooing-street
AnswerID: 609379

Reply By: RobandFlip - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 14:30

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 14:30
We are heading up north in a few weeks for a three month trip and already have a plan in place to photograph anyone we see doing the wrong thing and then posting to facebook. Too bad if it is breaching "privacy" laws. Anyone who is deliberately polluting the environment will be targeted. Same with vehicle number plates. We will also photograph culprits vehicles and report them to the nearest authorities. Sooner or later they will be caught and hopefully experience a punishment that will make them think twice in the future.
AnswerID: 609383

Follow Up By: terryt - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 20:37

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 20:37
I wish I was as smart as you. It must be very rewarding to set yourself up as judge and jury over other people. I wonder at what point a fire becomes a deliberate polluting of the environment. If you aren't careful someone might stick your camera where the sun don't shine.
FollowupID: 879281

Follow Up By: TomH - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 21:44

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 21:44
I support Rob It is because of apathy that these people get away with what they do. Be it from ignorance through a bad upbringng or just a dont care I will do what I like attitude.
They need to be held to account either legally or by shaming them into a better attitude.

Pity there isnt more like Rob, things might improve.
FollowupID: 879282

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 21:54

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 21:54
It'd be nice to think these people are just ignorant of the right thing to do outdoors, but of course it is more likely they just don't care one iota about their loud noise or antics annoying other campers, just like they don't give a toss about rubbishing the bush or anywhere else they go.
Someone else will pick up after them, that is their way in life.

I'm sure 99% of people on this forum can determine the right / wrong thing when they see it.
It doesn't take a brain surgeon to work out that burning infrastructure, doing donuts in camping grounds, leaving rubbish etc is not the right thing.
Recording such things can be fraught with some personal risk, so do it discreetly if possible.
FollowupID: 879283

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 00:14

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 00:14
I've just had this vision of RobandFlip up North with his camera lost where the Sun don't shine and TomH trying to find it.
Dave.
FollowupID: 879285

Follow Up By: RobandFlip - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 08:02

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 08:02
Thank you people for your follow up comments, although terryt thinks I am a judge and jury, he would have to appreciate that at least I am proactive for taking a stance on this issue. Having been abused for politely asking ferrals in the past not to desecrate the environment, we decided on our next trip to be more observant. Terryt, camp fires, like bush fires, have been around for centuries. We always ensure never to burn green wood, leave the site safe and ashes contained. We would hope any follow up campers would sensibly spread the cooled ashes around as fertiliser.
FollowupID: 879286

Reply By: Member - gujimbo - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 16:13

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 16:13
A few weeks ago we had a vehicle pull up outside our house, the young individuals were having a McFeast when they finished all the paper bags where dumped onto the nature strip they then proceeded to clean out their car, this was all caught on security camera.Having a look at the rubbish left behind i found pay slips which meant i had a name , and a place of work. Social media provided me with all the other details i needed to make this morons actions something for him to think about!
AnswerID: 609388

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 20:46

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 at 20:46
Like to set the record straight, this has gone on since I was a kid. We should know better but, humans are humans.

What gets me is people use their sink as a waste disposal on the coast and don't think about it at all. It just disappears.

For the small amount of travellers compared with the huge coastal population, that is something else, as the sewerage system only copes with so much and the rest goes to the invisible dumping ground. The ocean.

Now, who lives where and how do you dispose of waste.

Just sayin

AnswerID: 609393

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 12:48

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 12:48
I agree wholeheartedly with the sentiment.

But when it all boils down, it isn't bogans, it isn't deadlock greenies without a job, or foreign tourists in one of those obnoxious vans - nope...

It is just our fellow human beings!

We're in plague proportions these days and as a species we've considered ourselves way above every other species and treat the environment with contempt...

Is it any worse or better than 50 or 100 years ago, possibly not, it is just that there are more people out there polluting.

My rant...over!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 609400

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 19:51

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2017 at 19:51
When I was a kid in the 60's, Cooks River in Sydney was a filthy smelly horrible river that you wouldn't dare catch fish in. It seems quite ok now in comparison. The good old days weren't always good. People left to their own devices can be pretty ordinary, you just have to visit some of their homes to see it. If that's how they treat their home then a campsite has no chance.
FollowupID: 879293