Kalumburu Road

Submitted: Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:17
ThreadID: 137439 Views:5006 Replies:10 FollowUps:32
Hi, Did anyone see the first of the new series from the All 4 Adventure boys. They went to Kalumburu towing among other things a 6m boat. After going there a few years ago I was surprised how bad the road was as shown. Did they go the normal road up there or, as they often seem to do, take a much more difficult route. I was putting it on my bucket list to visit again but if that was the state of the road I will think again. It looks like it had not seen any maintenance for years. I see the road is rated as high clearance fourwheel drives or trucks only. Anyone been there lately to give a road report.

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:34

Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:34
We spent a couple of months at Kalumburu each year from 2005 to 2008.
It is just another outback road with the odd rough spot and the mandatory corrugations.
In 2006 and again in 2008, we towed a boat to Kalumburu without any drama, but that does not make for much of a story does it?
Fantastic country to explore by boat....

OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 621980

Follow Up By: Member - nick b boab - Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 22:34

Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 22:34
It certainly is Not your average outback rd now with a high number of vehicles traveling the top end of Australian.
The 50ks into kalumbaru is a car breaker but they were starting to work on it in August this year .as well Mitchell rd .we also traveled these rd years ago & they have got chopped since then
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 894613

Reply By: Al-one - Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:44

Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:44
Hi Peter,
I just checked. We were there in 2004 without a boat. Now with a boat I would like to revisit but no way based on the way it was shown on the show. eg. 1m wash a ways, bog holes, the need to make a bypass track and more than a day to drive from Drysdale Station.
AnswerID: 621981

Reply By: HKB Electronics - Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:49

Monday, Nov 05, 2018 at 20:49
We did the road a few months back, it was not good going in but the graders where working. Coming out I can't remember where they had gotten up to on the way out, it was the first main river crossing out of Kalumburu from memory, average speed upto that point was about 20-30kmh.

AnswerID: 621982

Reply By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 05:49

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 05:49
I saw that show too.

Did you see the part where the 2 dickheads laughed and joked about the sign at the start of a hike about wearing proper footwear and carrying water ??

Cheers Greg

AnswerID: 621987

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:43

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:43
It did say it was 600m, I also noticed that they survived.
FollowupID: 894628

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 17:23

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 17:23
So they did survive.

Wonderful news shaker.

Seems they had better luck than a couple of others in wa this week. But I suppose that’s the sort of crap that gets people watching.

That’s the second of their shows I’ve seen. Can’t say I’ll break my neck to watch a third.

Cheers Greg.
FollowupID: 894630

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:30

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:30
Actually shaker.

I should tell you my wife is a published author. She has four books selling very nicely now thank you.

She is thinking about writing a new one titled something like Sarcasm on the internet, How to be that man.

Maybe she should be asking you for hints and maybe you could show her some ripper replies you have put on here over the years.

This is not a personal attack rather a suggestion, because believe me. You have sarcasm down pat.

Cheers Greg
FollowupID: 894632

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:46

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:46
You obviously believe in fighting fire with fire!
FollowupID: 894633

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:52

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:52
Bring it on
FollowupID: 894634

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 09:36

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 09:36
I think it is time for the mods to get involved and send you both to the naughty corner
FollowupID: 894642

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 10:09

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 10:09
Settle down petals! Leave the sarcasm to the mods!
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 894643

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 17:48

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 17:48
Sorry mods, sorry members

At my stage of life I should be mature enough to ignore posts I don’t like.

Cheer Greg .
FollowupID: 894646

Follow Up By: mechpete - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 16:03

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 16:03
yeh I don.t agree with wearing thongs everywhere
mechpete
FollowupID: 894660

Follow Up By: rumpig - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 19:20

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 19:20
I wear double pluggers most places when i'm outback, though you do get a few thorns punch through into your feet occasionally, so not always the greatest choice of footwear...lol. Each to thier own what everyone wears IMO, if i was doing a 600mtr walk like they were i'd likely wear thongs, but for longer walks i'd wear boots.
I thought it was pretty obvious on the show that they were joking about thier choice of footwear and lack water being it was such a short walk they were doing, but apparently these days we need to be outraged about such acts. Sadly for them thier timing of the show coincided with the death of someone from dehydration in roughly the same area, but they couldn't have known that'd be the case.
FollowupID: 894664

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Sunday, Nov 11, 2018 at 07:55

Sunday, Nov 11, 2018 at 07:55
This year I was in the Kalumburu area for 14 weeks and never had shoes on once, what’s the problem with bare feet.
FollowupID: 894733

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 07:02

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 07:02
Back in the early 2000’s, the truckies refused to travel up to Kalumburu owing to the condition of the road, all supplies were brought in by barge. Nowadays the road is graded, but I don’t know how often. They did mention it was early in the season, so most likely the grader hasn’t been up that way yet.

We went to Kalumburu in 2004, the road was pretty bad then, but not as bad as on the show. We were there in June that year, and the trucks had stopped using the road then.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 621988

Reply By: Member - nick b boab - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:15

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:15
Depending on when the show was filmed , we travel the road in August this year 2018 and it was pretty rough in places and signs of huge washouts as well that had been partly repaired.
I did feel sorry for the people who live in that area that they have to travel what is a pretty average sort of a road . While we were there there was a Nissan Patrol with a bent chassis caravan with a broken suspension crossmember and we/others had broken shock absorber and I can tell you we were driving to preserve our equipment as best as we could.
unfortunately missed the show didn't know it was back on. I will have to wait till it comes out on YouTube to see what mischief the boys got up to , much like any of their shows lot of it is played up for the camera and entertainment Factor . But I wouldn't let the road stop you from going to what is a fantastic experience if you don't mind camping and not glamping facilities are of the basic type . Have a look here "places" mcgowan's Island sunset camp for some pictures .
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 621991

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 10:28

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 10:28
Hi Nick, if you go online to 10play, you will be able to watch the show. I missed it on Sunday, and watched it on 10play on Monday.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 894620

Follow Up By: Members - Bow & Nan - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 14:20

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 14:20
Later in the season a second Nissan Patrol bent its chassis.
FollowupID: 894626

Follow Up By: Member - nick b boab - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 20:40

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 20:40
McLaren3030 thank for the tip > just had a look at the show on 10play .
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 894635

Follow Up By: Member - nick b boab - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 22:19

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 22:19
Nick & joanna outback truckers
This story from outback truckers may give a better idea of the road in general .
As others have said this was filmed early in the season (1st through)and graders have repaired much of the bad patches after the wet season and a cyclone , lot more overgrown then when we were there .
The first track that they showed was another particularly rough track that follows the Pentecost River to Wyndham .
We came across a bloke on that track when we were out looking for some fishing locations he was by himself , dog . Absolutely nothing with him the back of his ute was bare, said he was just out for a drive from Wyndham to the Pentecost River crossing just gotta love some peoples love for adventure hahaha .
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 894639

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 16:36

Wednesday, Nov 07, 2018 at 16:36
We drove this road from Wyndham to the Gibb River Road along the Pentecost River in 2004. The condition of the road has certainly changed since 2004. It was a lot less rocky back in 2004.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 894645

Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:23

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:23
We went up to Kalumburu and Honeymoon Bay in early June this year. 3 vehicles towing including a heavy 20' Bushtracker. Looking at the scrape marks in places on the rocky track surface (more so just before Kalumburu), the grader/s had not long finished doing their thing. Any previous washouts etc had obviously been repaired, especially at the water crossings. Certainly nothing like as shown in the All 4 Adventure video. Apart from being a bit rough, rocky and slow going in a lot of places, we had no problems at all.

AnswerID: 621992

Reply By: Member - sparra - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:58

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 08:58
I watched the show and they did say that they were the first ones into Kalumburu for the season. Must get there myself one day,been as far as Drysdale station one year ,got 2 inches of rain so they shut the road to Kalumburu for a while.
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 621993

Follow Up By: Boof, Bairnsdale. - Monday, Nov 12, 2018 at 19:40

Monday, Nov 12, 2018 at 19:40
I’ll follow you Sparra.
FollowupID: 894808

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:03

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:03
Geez, those blokes are cool.
I ripped the sleeves off my shirt and Roz said "your'e not going to get bloody tats too, are ya? lol

AnswerID: 622002

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:10

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 16:10
My daughter describes them as “eye candie “ for bogans !!!

Cheers Greg
FollowupID: 894627

Follow Up By: OBJ - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 20:52

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 20:52
It seems to me to be a pity nowadays that 4WD shows have to be fronted by these brain-dead Bogans ... I love 4WD travel,have done plenty of it all over Australia, but hate the way this sort of activity has been taken over by these retards for the sake of television. Greg's daughter is pretty close to the mark.
OBJ
FollowupID: 894665

Reply By: Member - Len & Rhoda - Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:24

Tuesday, Nov 06, 2018 at 19:24
My wife and I were working on Theda Station when they went past. I used to have a bit of time for these guys but after seeing them travelling up a CLOSED road towing their boat I realized that they are in fact a couple of DICKHEADS with a camera crew. Its a pity that the shire and the police up there didn't address the issue at the time. I no longer watch their show.
AnswerID: 622007

Follow Up By: mechpete - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 16:06

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 16:06
maybe they had permission to do so
mechpete
FollowupID: 894661

Follow Up By: Member - Len & Rhoda - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 21:43

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 21:43
Thats a definite NO, the shire was not issuing permits to anyone to travel the section of Kalumbaru Rd from the Mitchell Plateau turnoff to Kalumbaru. These guys drove around the road closed signs and cut the road up in areas that were fine by being total knobs, to be honest they were not the only ones but the other ones were only single vehicles or towing tinnies, those we saw had their rego numbers reported. We had permission to travel the road on our property and the sections that they had trouble with were ok before they went there. The shire roads engineer came through a week or so before they went through and the shire was not in a hurry to do their yearly "touch up" as the road was still too wet to get a grader in. This type of action only makes it worse for those that have to use the road and do so so with care.
FollowupID: 894666

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 22:18

Thursday, Nov 08, 2018 at 22:18
Yes, and it makes it worse for the 4WD fraternity.

FollowupID: 894667

Follow Up By: Paul H36 - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:00

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:00
I am the producer of All 4 Adventure and saw your post...
We had a permit from Shire of Wyndham to travel the closed road.
We would "not" have traveled otherwise. We were meeting Traditional Owners at Kalumburu planned months earlier but the later than normal closed road stopped the planned meeting, until Kalumburu suggested we get a permit, we applied and got a permit.
I think the team actually passed the road inspection team no problems as planned.I hope this clears it up.
I try not to be a dickhead, and always do things the right way.
Kalumburu Tourism is doing great work up there as well.
By the way love this site.
FollowupID: 894838

Follow Up By: mechpete - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:26

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:26
hi Paul H36
thanks for your reply on this .
I enjoy the show .they do get a bit carried away !!! I like the country they get into
but to make it a viable you have to embelish things at times .
I posted that maybe they had permission ,an straight away a reply
from Len an Rhoda saying that no permits would be issued bla bla bla
then you reply saying you had the correct permit . well done ,
too many people on this forum that think they know a lot more than they do
no wonder this forum is losing its appeal
keep the show goin
cheers mechpete
FollowupID: 894840

Follow Up By: mechpete - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:32

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 18:32
Len an Rhoda
you might like to apologise to the all4adventure people for your comments
seeing as how they did have permits ,I doubt you will though ,
blame the shire if anybody is to blame
mechpete
FollowupID: 894841

Follow Up By: Member - Len & Rhoda - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 19:31

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 19:31
Mech Pete, it is strange that the 2 guys who were doing the road inspection from the shire knew nothing about permits being issued when they came by the station on there way to the Carson River crossing, after the All 4 Adventure guys had been past. if i was incorrectly informed than i do apologise but i am going by what we were told at the time.
FollowupID: 894846

Follow Up By: mechpete - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 19:50

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 19:50
U still owe then an opplogy
mechpete
FollowupID: 894847

Follow Up By: Greg J1 - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 20:22

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 20:22
So paulh36. You’re their producer.

Could be anybody claiming this.

God knows why. Actually he probably is their producer. No one would admit to that unless their are telling the truth.

I would believe a local persons knowledge long before some bogan tv shows version.

Paul. Your show has about as much credibility as a I don’t know what. But as long as you’re raking in the cash who cares hey.

This is my opinion of course. But I can assure you a lot of people I know share it.

Cheers Greg
FollowupID: 894848

Follow Up By: Member - Len & Rhoda - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 21:15

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 21:15
As i said if i was incorrectly informed then i do apologize.

Len
FollowupID: 894851

Follow Up By: Paul H36 - Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 22:44

Tuesday, Nov 13, 2018 at 22:44
Len,
All is good...please contact council to cross check.

Greg,
You don't have to like what we do, that is what the switch is for.
We enjoy what we do, telling the stories of the past, present.
While of course embracing our inner bogan.

FollowupID: 894854

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Nov 15, 2018 at 08:31

Thursday, Nov 15, 2018 at 08:31
There are a lot of “keyboard Warriors” out there, particularly on forums. Keep doing what you are doing Paul H36.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 894873