Snow in the Highlands

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 08:24
ThreadID: 14751 Views:1534 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
We had an inch of snow in the highlands last,,,, quite spectacular. Here in Moss Vale apperared to be the best, less in Bowral and Mittagong less again...... Fairly rare and early in the season. cheers Michael

Reply By: Michael - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 09:15

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 09:15
Southern Highlands that is!! New South Wales.
AnswerID: 68232

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 13:22

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 13:22
I thought it might be snowing up there cause the wind here in the Gong feels as if its blowing staight off it.

Athol.
AnswerID: 68254

Reply By: Jeff (Beddo) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 14:44

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 14:44
Just got back last night from Talbingo and Selwyn; came back over the range to Cooma ran snow all the way, saw atleast 6 inches of fresh snow along the top of the range and that was early around 1030 - I think we lucky we got out when we did from all the reports and also we saw enough cars & 4WD's off the side. The kids saw snow for the first time and we all loved it.
AnswerID: 68264

Reply By: Savvas - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 19:45

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 19:45
Hi Michael,

I saw your post and then told the wife. 90 mins later we were on Meryla Rd and the kids were pelting me with snow balls from what was left at that time.

Also spoke to a couple in berrima that were staying in a b&b. They reckon the snow started falling around midnight so they decided to go for a walk during the snow fall.

AnswerID: 68300

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:06

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:06
We took the kids to see Spiderman last night in Bowral, at 9.30 after it finished, we emerged and it was snowing, Drove back to Moss Vegas and it was really coming down. This morn at 7.am , you would have thought it was in the snowfields.
FollowupID: 328922

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 20:23

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 20:23
Just back from the Vic Alps and there was plenty of snow there Friday/Saturday night which saw a few road closures. We were at Hotham on Friday and it was -3 at noon and probably ten degrees less with the wind chill factor.
AnswerID: 68312

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 20:50

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 20:50
we've just spent the day up around Shooters Hill, out from Oberon. Heaps of fresh dry powder, 3 or 4 inches mostly, great for snowfights.
Went up Bell this morning just as the road was opened, very icy and slippery. Kids (big ones too) had a ball.
Apparently the GWH was closed at Wentworth Falls due to icy conditions and cars sliding off.
AnswerID: 68317

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:07

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:07
Cars sliding off!!!! Oh for a 4x4 and a steady throttle!!!!
FollowupID: 328923

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:21

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 21:21
Yes one of our group got a reminder of how slippery it was, spun a 60 series at about 10kph without trying.
As I was heading up in the morning there was a falcon ute loaded travelling about 2 car lengths behind me in the Humvee as I'm spraying snow and ice out at about 40k. He nearly had a heart attack when I braked to miss a bod sliding the opposite direction.
FollowupID: 328927

Reply By: Brad and His Disco - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 10:05

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 10:05
hi,

just wondering if there are any web sites, telephone numbers to use to find out about snow falls close to sydney. I have a two year and its a good opportunity to find to take him with out the 6 hour drive.
AnswerID: 68394