Range Rovers - Best of the bunch to buy????
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:36
Member - Chris M (QLD)
Gday folks,
I'm looking at a Range Rover 4WD 1980 12 mths rego, 3.5L, overdrive,
snorkel, 4 spd, unleaded, good cond is the vehicle, obviously room to move price wise, but I do know for a fact that they are expensive for fuel and parts, but there are still heaps around.
To be used as a run around for old man whilst doing renos for 4 months then to be used on beach, and getting to and from work (about 40 k's a day).
If serviced and tuned every 3 months, are they a reliable workhorse?
Cheers!!!
Chris.
Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:58
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 08:58
What happened to the Forerunner idea Chris :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:05
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:05
There's none out there! I have searched and searched...and searched.
I wanted a 5 speed, 2.4 that I could ditch and put in a 2LT motor, but to no avail. I've always wanted a rangie, and noticed that they are around 2-3 grand and come with a few extras...and power. Plus the old man loves em' so anything I can do to stay in the will is a bonus... ;-)
Unless you know of one for 2-4 K??
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:15
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:15
A guy in my club has an old Rangie as a plaything. It goes everywhere fairly easily. You might find that whenever you go out 4wding the GU will stay at home ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:58
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:58
Mate, that's not such a silly idea. Like to keep the gu as the trip truck. The rangie is just soley for flat to the floor driving in the city.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:09
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:09
Chris,
If your selling your Patrol in about 2 years and are only going to use it for trips. I am thinking it would be a very good buy. I could be interested in it. I was thinking of selling the Rodeo in favour of a s/h GU around then anyway.
You never know.
Let the
forum know when it comes time to sell.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:12
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:12
I'll be sure too mate. It's my only hobby apart from beer so I enjoy doing this stuff to my cars. And when it comes time to sell, I'm proud to sell it to someone with the knowledge that they too will get the same amount of reliability and enjoyment as I did.
You were trying to find a Hilux weren't you? Or was the maddog? I can't remember now???
Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:17
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:17
That was Maddog looking for the Hilux.
I'm happy with the Rodeo for now but it has been almost 4 years and I want something more capable in about 2 years. Actually I want it now but I will have to make do for now ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:21
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:21
Fair enough, your at the same crossroad I was at about 3 years back. Happy with the devil you know, but want another newer more capable devil!
Well, thanks for your help mate! If you hear of anything else about the 3.5L motors in the rangie and how good the manual/auto boxes are, give me a hoy!
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:09
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 09:09
Chris,
I had one of the 1986 model with 5 speed and injection and wished I had it as a play vehicle as it only had 180k on the clock when I sold it in 2001. I got $8k at the time which was probably a reasonable price as a trade in. Yes, wish I still had it again.......
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:00
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:00
Gday John,
From what year model came out with fuel injection mate?? And is the 3.5L a good motor with 200k+ on it or should I try find one that's refurbed? Are the auto boxes any good, or should I try get manual. The one I'm looking at above is $3000 ono.
chris.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:44
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:44
Chris,
The '86 had injection and better fuel economy, torque and power in standard form You never know if they have been modified though. Fuel and economy don't really belong in the same sentence though with the old motors. Design being the problem inherent in them. The 5 speeder was in those too in manual form.
Mine was agreat old war horse though towed a silage wagon home once uloaded of course - would have weighed the 4 tonnes I reckon. The motor was still strong when we sold it. Occasional
water pump jobs, but had a gear box problem at about 60k - changed 5th gear and input shaft bearings. Supple
suspension meant they lean their way round corners but keep in touch with the ground.
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:01
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:01
The purchase price is what a gear box or transfer case rebuild normally costs, and the standard axles and crown wheel and pinions become more brittle with age, [heat and cool process]
Not what you would call the ideal cheap runabout.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:03
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:03
Thanks mate!
So I should be looking for a truck with rebuilt motor and box and receipts to save costs in 12 months time. For 2 grand, I'd probably just service and tune it for as long as it was economical and when something big went, sell if for parts, can't really justify spending 8 or 9 on something and run the same risk.
Chris.
Reply By: fourstall2000 - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:20
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:20
Chris I owned a 1977 Rangie for 8 yrs.
I have had 6 Jap 4wds since then and never kept them this long.
They get to you in a big way,you can sit next to most modern trucks and know that you have a machine just as capable,with a better
suspension than most,and disc brakes all round.
The engines are as smooth as silk(how many V8s can rev out to 5000 rpm plus)
But they are thirsty,expect 14 mpg as normal.
At 200,000 expect some timing chain stretch,but basically the engines last
well beyond this.
The gearboxes are robust,but a large amount of backlash exists due to the constant 4wd.
Spares are expensive for stupid things like trims etc,but many alternative parts are available.
Like most Rovers they thrive under abuse,but will drive you crackers if you are a perfectionist and worry about every oil leak.
As hack for your business,and a weekend toy, you would be satisfied as long as no major mechanical fault exists in your purchase.
Best to have checked by a 4wd specialists who knows Rovers,not the local garage.
They are easy to work on in the engine dept,but gearbox and transfer cases are big heavy units,and this is the one area that could cost big bucks.
The manual is the best bet,as the autos are slugs to drive and cost mega bucks to repair.
Rovers are best described as enthusiasts vehicles,if you are one,join your local Rover club and have fun and support.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:24
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:24
Gday Fourstall,
Perfect! Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks so much for the detailed reply.
So, if I was to pick anything up from say 1978 onwards that's had an engine refurb, and manual gearbox refurb, I'll be
well on the way to having a fun, strong recreational vehicle that's thrirsty, but who cares when your havin' fun?
As for $$$, would 3 grand be reasonable for the one listed above?
Cheers again mate,
Chris.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:33
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:33
Have been 4wding with many friends,a nd my bro who have had rangies, which are a car you buy with your heart, not your head.
The concensus between them is 5k per year if you 4wd your rangie pretty standard to keep it on the road, and if conversion, maxidrives, axles etc and bigger tyres are run 10k per yr as you put it together.
Hence most of them now lease new trucks for those sort of $, and have many less headaches and work to do before trips.
So far I have towed 22 broken RR's which no longer drive out of the bush, and have helped repair 6 stranded ones we have come across as
well.
I havent towed or repaired 6 stranded or non driving japanese ones in total in that time.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:46
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 10:46
Gday again Go Offroad,
I totally agree with ya mate. Hence the reason why I have the GU for trips. But I'd much rather flog a car around the city as city driving the 4.2's does nothing but hurt them.
In your experience, do you reckon a stock rangie, not putting big tyres,
suspension or anything, for city driving and the odd run on
the beach would ok? I've been looking at all sorts of fourbies and had decided on a 4runner or Hilux, around the 85 mark, 5 speed and 2.4 diesel. But can't find one for the price I want to spend.
Thanks mate,
Chris.
Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:08
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:08
Well,
it may just be me, but if looking for something to drive day to day, and play on weekends, I would be looking for something with interchangable parts like wheel stud pattern etc, to help keep costs etc down.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:09
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 11:09
Offroad, thanks for the tips mate, I'll keep them in mind. Fortunately, in my current position, I've already decided with my heart on a car (the GU), so now I must decide with my brain and wallet. Thanks for your help mate.
Chris.
Reply By: RussellV - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:52
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:52
For what its worth - I had an 82 Rangie manual 4 speed. Went through the
Kimberley, and NT with no trouble apart from picking up some dirty fuel. The V8 was very smooth and did everything asked of it. Everything was standard pretty much except I replaced the shocks with Bilsteins, had a set of extractors fitted, and new rubber. Replaced it with a GU - in some ways I wish I still had it for hacking around the place. I had it serviced regularly by MR Automotive at
Redcliffe who specialise in Landrovers and they didn't charge like a wounded bull! Most Rangies start off in life never leaving the tar (generally speaking) but I definetly would get any your thinking of buying checked over.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:56
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 12:56
Gday Russell,
Ok mate,
well I intend on buying from either QLD or NSW depending on the purchase price and standard offerings. What did a regular service set you back at
Redcliffe. I'm only 20 or 30 minutes away from there...
Chris.
Reply By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:00
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:00
Hi Chris M, to start off with, I am one eyed and love those LRs but consider this. If you are planning on keeping the Rangie for a while and then selling it off, you will most likely get your money back as they keep there price and in many cases now actually gain in value.
Next LRs have the highest survival rate of any 4WD on the market, 48% of all LRs made are still going and thats more than double that of the next make of 4WD and when you take into account that they have been around longer than almost all the rest this makes the 48% an even better investment reason. New 4wds of other makes are falling by the way side at a much quicker rate and I don’t know the costs of repairs involved with any older 4WD but I bet they all have a similar cost factor but few will keep they value like an LR will.
Just some food for thought, Regards
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:04
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 13:04
Gday Drivesafe,
I agree. I myself considered the fact that the rangie would still be worth 2 grand in 3 or 4 years if it's still going. Even if it's not, I'm sure I could scrape together another 2 grand and use the old one for parts.
I owned a suzuki 1L 4 speed a few years back as a run around (no comparison really I know) but it hardly cost me a dollar, due to the fact that I didn't have a heart attack if a small oil leak developed, or it was burning oil as it was only a second car anyway. I bought it for a 1000 bucks, spent $418 on it, and sold it for $2300 2 years later. Old second hand cars are only going to drop so much and whatever you get, it's going to cost. It's that after cost you can save by spending smart on a rebuilt truck rather than a worn out one for the same $$$.
cheers mate,
Chris.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:02
Tuesday, Sep 14, 2004 at 21:02
Chris,
I've done what you are think of doing, you won't regret it, my GU is used for all the special trips and I use my 86 Rangie carby 3.5 L for all the rough stuff as you can see by my second photo. I've spent very little on my Rangie, new starter motor, rear locker, springs, shockers, BFG muddie tyres a compressor and a
UHF radio. And that's it I've drawn a limit, spending no more, I think that's important. Fuel economy, oil leaks and
water are the downsides I've found, spares are comparable if you find a good supplier, the truck itself is awesome, I would not hesitate buying another one they are great fun. Yes I've got a few dents and scratches but that's all part of it, one quite bad on in the door after the excersise in the photo actually.
If you're not using the Rangie all the time the economy overall isn't that bad but in soft sand and mud the numbers start to look a bit average
Do it............
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:04
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:04
Gday Martyn!
Thanks mate, I've decided to go ahead, it's all in good fun. I probably won't really touch it apart from a good exhaust systema and a tune...But then again, that's what I said about the GU...
Thanks for the info...By the way, what sort of k's are you at on the 3.5 motor?
Chris.
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:23
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 21:23
Chris,
258,000k's, checked all the compressions about 10k ago still all around the 150 psi mark so I'm happy with that.
Reply By: fourstall2000 - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:58
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 09:58
Crhis ,when I first responded to your query,I was actually looking at a Rangie purchase myself.
Previously I owned a 1977 model,and today I have just bought a 1976 2 door for $1500 (this 15 yrs after selling the 77 model).
So there you go,its in good order with 200,000 on the clock and has had a head job,centre diff overhaul,new timing gear and
water pump(I know the seller).
I cannot wait to renew the relationship I enjoyed with the last.
The 3.0 ltre Gq is now the long distance tourer,and the Rangie the club activity vehicle.
Is this not the very best of both worlds-go for it,you only live once.(did james bond say that?)
Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:26
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 10:26
Good on ya mate, I'm having a good look today and tomorrow, think I'll be spending around the 2 grand mark.
Keep us posted as to how you go with the new baby...
Reply By: mq swb - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:37
Wednesday, Sep 15, 2004 at 19:37
Chris, I just sold my 83mq about 2 months ago and bought a 80 rangie and am very happy with the purchase, even though I had to replace the front g/box seal not cheap as i had the clutch changed and rear oil seal done at the same time, but still very happy, even though
mine doesn't have the rover engine in it any more (holden 308) parts are cheap as long as you look around search the web that sort of thing. an example of this I had to replace my rear disc pads rang around local landrover/range rover
places in
sydney roughly $95 a set, repco $73 Rang a company in Tassie $55 a set plus $13 air freight, had them there 2 days later because I rang at 4:30 at night they couldn't get them out until the next day all up $123 for front and rear pads, I bought my rangie for $3200 came with 12 months rego 4 new 31" tyres, dual fuel, rear maxi drive, dual alternators and batteries engine driven air comp. So I very happy with
mine and the best thing is if your not in a hurry to buy one and there is one local offer a price and they don't come at it just tell them another will come by and may be better.
Dixie