Submitted: Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 07:47
Member - Jack
Hi folks:
Following a reunion with my mates from my 1966/67 Army days, I am going to take a look through Victoria. Plan is to go from Yarrawonga to
Ballarat (I have an interest in the Eureka thing), then to the
Grampians, Little Desert NP before heading back to the NSW Central Coast vial
Hay,
Mudgee (wine).
I have scanned the
Forum and have some excellent information, but thought I'd like to throw it open to those who live, or have travelled Victoria extensively, for any "must sees", advice, hints, or anythig that will make this trip more enjoyable.
Travelling in an '91 80 series Diesel Landcruiser, no trailer, and "bush camp" ready.
Thanks heaps ...
Jack
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:48
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 08:48
This place is worth a visit south of Dimboon on the Vic Sth east coast, the name escapes me at the moment JohnR (Vic) would know he gave us directions to this lovely spot. Just one of the great
places we saw in Vic.
Track in
View from the top
On
the beach
View along
the beach
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:49
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:49
Sorry that should read Sth west coast of Vic, derrrrrr.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 16:52
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 16:52
Thanks Baz - you threw me there for a second, as it looked
miles (kilometres) from where I was initially headed. I have done the Gt Ocean Road, and thought Victoria had a lot more to offer - hence this trip.
I think the Tourism people down there need to work a little harder, because we don't get a lot of info here in NSW on attractions out of
Melbourne. Luckily for me, I had the
Forum and its archives.
Jack
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:36
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 09:36
mate as you are sticking to the west of the state you miss out on all the high country, but you could duck into the macedon ranges and the wombat forest for a bit of a look see, but i would reccommend going south of
ballarat down to the coast and around to the grampions that way. some really good sights - great ocean road etc. be prepared for a shock up in the n/w corner of the state across to
hay as it is really dry (even more than usual) makes you feel a bit sad for them.
Hey you could drop into the b&s at
rainbow late october if you really want a good laugh..
Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:16
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 10:16
G'day Bradley, I used to live in
Rainbow and went to school there, the old man had the
Royal Hotel.
Jack some good
camping spots out in the
Big Desert, from
Rainbow go west via
Pella and have a look at the church there, the key is available from a property just back down the road a bit.
Head north from
Pella and pick up the start of Milled Rock Track, a couple of
camp spots at Arnold Springs and the
Old Stockyards. The track is a bit sandy in parts and a few wet sections on the southern end. (pending on recent rain)
From the end of this track follow the road north to
Murrayville or south to Nhill.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 16:55
Monday, Sep 20, 2004 at 16:55
Thanks for that - just plotted it on the touring map. I am pretty relaxed about the sand, as I usually have a week or two on Fraser each year.
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:10
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 10:10
well well mr
well, my little lady is from rainbow/
kenmare, so i get up there fairly often, her family had the fuel dist & pivot depot, but nowdays they run the local bus company. only 2 pubs in the town now, nearly only one as they just had their 'pub war' trying to underprice each other with meals etc.. Apparently she was quite a place in its heyday, have you seen the abc doco - 'at the end of the
rainbow' Good for a chuckle. see ya.
Jack, just remember to ignore the maps regarding the lakes up there, they are all bone dry. nice big new cdma tower north of the town though ...easy nav reference.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:37
Tuesday, Sep 21, 2004 at 16:37
Thanks Bradley - good tip on the lakes as I had made some notes regarding lakes as reference points. CDMA Tower - OK, that will do me nicely. Love to see a bit of technology in the bush :).
Jack