Dunes, Dust storms, Wet bulldust and Flash floods......
Submitted: Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 23:11
Willem
Did it all in the past two weeks.
Had a very successful Simpson sojourn.
Did an East/West start along the QAA LIne, French Line, Lower Colson Track,
Rig Road, WAA Line, Knolls Track and then West/East back to
Birdsville. The GQ ran impecably. Stopped at the bottom of each dune, selected 1st High and idled over the hills at 1800-2500 revs. Simpson tracks are pretty chopped out on both sides of the dunes mainly due to incorrect tyre pressure usage. I had the tyres at 15psi east/west and 18psi west/east and 15psi for Big Red. Still too much
toilet paper to be seen...something will have to be done...also motorbikes are cutting up the dunes..another issue.
Got caught in a sand storm at Coongie Lakes and
Innamincka. Had a four hour bog 10km north of Monte Collina
bore in the wet bulldust on the Strzelecki. Got caught in a flash flood in the Flinders with some other EO Members and spent the night waiting for the creeks to subside.
My thanks go to Uncle who did the cooking and jokes. George and Maureen for their company all the way from
Darwin, Ruth and Ian Doyle of the
Birdsville CP for their hospitality and the best Cuppacino, Andrew and Jen(Big Kidz) and family, Rod and Jenny and family and Member Gerke for a memorable and wet night spent stranded in the Flinders, and to Stony and Gina Steiner for their their care and hospitality and to Clayton Station for providing that wonderful spa bath in
the desert!!!
We all had a great two weeks out in the Never Never..............
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 23:26
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 23:26
Good to see you home in 1 piece.. not that we ever doubted it .. you were in a nissan... a GQ Diesel at that... :)
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:50
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:50
And i bet that 'old fashioned' front beam axle helped, You know, i type lots of other 'so called' serious offroaders dont have any more because its not fashionable!!!!
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:52
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:52
Hello Truckster
Yep, I am pretty pleased with the peformance of the GQ although I had thought it a bit slow off the mark at first. The Cooper STT's performed
well and are not too bnoisy i=on the bitumen. BTW you were right about the spare wheel bolts..they are smaller than the other wheel studs...wonder whose dumb idea that was?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:53
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:53
One idea is to change the bolts on the sparewheel carrier for same as wheel studs, adn use the other nuts.
Best bet as I do is 4 spare nuts in the toolbox!
Thats some flagpole u got there Mr, or are you happy to c me
Reply By: Bros - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 06:25
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 06:25
G'day Willem,
So you had a pretty normal sort of two weeks. Nothing out of the ordinary.
Bros.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:56
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:56
G,day Bros
As my saying goes....Never a Dull Moment.!!! You never get too old to have fun!
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 06:30
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 06:30
Wille,
Pleased you had a great time there, I knew it would be. It is pleasing to see you met up with so many EO members too on your trip around. Am pleased too the Ruby earned her stripes and had all you needed for the trip.
Hope that Judith is
well too on your arrival home.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:04
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:04
Thanks John
We are all fine but need a good rest :-)
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:48
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 17:48
Willie,
What is it you got on the end of that wog pole? It looks to dwarf the Nissan but did it whip around much?
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:07
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:07
I have a small NT flag at
the tip of the pole, a relic from the Canning trip 10 years ago. I had to strengthen the pole with insulation tape. No the pole didn't whip around too much probably due to the smooth riding
suspension of the GQ and me pussyfooting it :-)))
Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:08
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:08
welcome Home Dad,
She looks a treat !
In 2 weeks you did what i wanted to do for years...I hate you :-)
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:53
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:53
G'day Son
WEll you had better do some planning and get to it!!! A great time in
the desert was had by all. There is nothing like a successful trip :-0)
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:03
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:03
Welcome back willem, it really sounds like something out of a movie. But i would have given anything to expierence it. Something to tell the grandkids about (when they eventuate that is). Hope someone took some pics.
Take care my friend
Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:23
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:23
congratulations willem
i was on the hf on friday when they were saying you had your "haven " island named after you but that waters were recedeing
and all was
well
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:50
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:50
Hi Steve
Our fellow EO friends had an experience of a lifetime in the space of a few hours. I did get as bit concerned when the
water kept on rising and were were lucky to have pulled off the track as withing the next 100metres we would have been washed downstream by a swollen
creek. We had closed on 50mm of rain in 40 minutes and my truck started floating down the track (
creek) we were on when we pulled out of it. Nature has a way of showing us its might! It was a looooong night!
Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:31
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 07:31
" My thanks go to Uncle who did the cooking ..... "
Can we borrow him?
Well, as I write this, Tracy is busily running around making last minute checks. We leave in 35 minutes.......... to Aroona Valley for 5 or so days.
Delica is loaded waaaaaaaay down............ and it's not all Tracy's alcohol either!!
Meeting another couple at
Tarlee, then Northwards bound..........
So, now you've done all these trips of late, does that mean you now have to stay home and do........... stuff?
Did Judith manage to pay for SOME of your toys with her art sales? Hell man, after seeing your rig stuff, I reckon she'd have to be able to paint & sell the Mona Lisa to make a dent in your toy budget!! Can't blame you though, Wolfie has been on a bit of a spree lately, just wait till the kids have gone......... then I'll really start!!
Okay, Tracy beckons............ like it's the call of the wild........... or something............ no, hang on, if I DON'T go, it WILL get wild............ that's it...........
Okay, gotta go................ speak to ya all soon.
Wolf in Flinders
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:06
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:06
Wolfie
I will pass the message on to Uncle...He loves to
camp out...You never know...:-o)
Reply By: ben - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:00
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:00
hey willem,
just checking what you ment by?
''also motorbikes are cutting up the dunes..another issue. ''
whats that mean.?
~you dont like or think motor bikes should be on the track, or what?
just curious.
im a dedicated 4wder , but think we should be sharing all of this beut land.
ben
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:34
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 08:34
Ben
No problem with motorbikes accesing the Simpson BUT, some bike riders have not been using the track........They are powering over the dunes next to the track making unsightly new scars on the dunes and cutting up what vegetation there is. This issue has to be controlled but how?
The same issue goes for people towing trailers across the Simpson. NPWS discourages this practise but travellers are ignoring it. The result being that the tow vehicle is pulling more weight, axle tramping up the dunes, and creating holes which makes it more uncomfortable for fellow travellers using the tracks.
I can see a time approaching when the Simpson crossings will be controlled on a vehicle quota per day basis.
Follow Up By: duncs - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:46
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:46
Willem,
I think you hit the nail on hte head in your first comment about tyre pressures.
I towed a trailer across the Simpson and had no problems. The only place I spun a wheel was in the mud of a
salt lake. Where the guty in fromt of me with a Cruiser no trailer and muddies also spun wheels all the way across.
When I was in WA heading out to
steep point I met the
ranger and was ready to pay my
park access fee. He asked, "What tyre pressures you running?" "18psi I replied." "Then don't worry about the access fee, I only charge those who don't let their tyres down."
Trailer was not an issue but tyre pressures were.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:22
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:22
Hi duncs...how is life in BH?
My opinion is that the the trailers are a contributing factor to the deterioration of
the desert tracks as you may not be aware that you are actually spinning your wheels as the upward and downward pressures of the trailer weight on the rear springs of your vehicle creates the bounce effect and ALL vehicles bounce and create or assist in the deepening of the holes.
I caught up with a driver who had been running 30psi on 285's and this person refused to take responsibility for chewing the track up ahead of me. There is no way one can win with narrow minds.
CYA
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 15:34
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 15:34
Ben,
Have to agree with Willem on the issue of the bikes. The vegetation on the dunes at much of the year is very fragile and the Simpson potentially mobile if it is freed from vegetation. It is unfortunate that bike riders think they are freed from environmental constraint and they do cut up the dunes and vegetation. I do further agree with Willem on the tyre pressures of some travellers are just as irresponsible.......
Follow Up By: duncs - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 23:19
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 23:19
Hey Wiilem,
Life in the
Hill remains good. Had a trip to
Adelaide last week. Couldn't bring myself to drive that highway twice in 4 days so went down towards
Wentworth then across to
Renmark via the Springwood Rd. Not really 4wd but still more interesting than 5 hours of black top. Countryside is actually looking pretty good down that way at the moment. Drove
home in the rain on Thursday. Spent a bit of time visiting friends in the big city so had to do a rush job on the trip
home.
I'm off on Tuesday for a quick lap through
White Cliffs,
Wanaaring,
Tibooburra and
Milparinka so, if you
camping in the Flinders brings rain, could you stay
home till Friday, I don' want them closing roads on me.
Looked for a little while like I might be moving back to
Sydney but that won't happen for a couple of years now. So we plan to get out and see as much as we can of this area while we live out this way. That should mean a few trips into the Flinders so I will be calling on your knowledge of the area fairly often. I hope. Maybe one day you will get to follow the trailer and see how gently I really do take it.
Sounds like the Simpson was fun and the new girl went
well. I loved my GQ and in many ways I was sorry to see it go. I'm sure you will learn to love yours very quickly.
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:07
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 09:07
Hi Willie
glad you and uncle had a great trip and made it
home safely, and glad you managed to catch up with Andrew, he phoned his maaaaaaaaaaaaa looking for you....lol....
Lyn
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:23
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:23
Andrew needed his Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa the other night !..hahahahaha
Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:13
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:13
Welcome back Willem but why on earth would you want to visit those dirty dusty
places for at your age when a visit to the
Gold Coast can keep an old man
young for years....just kiddin, I wish it was me out there.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:25
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:25
C'mon Ray...what have you bought? Maybe a Ford Territory?
Gold Coast...nah, been there, done that :-o)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:35
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 10:35
I can get the Territory at a massive discount of course but it aint me.
Click on the
pic and read the vehicle description. I hope to have the pics updated next week when the missus returns with my camera.
Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 11:02
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 11:02
Hi Willem,
Great to hear you had such a memorable journey. By the sounds of it, this trip has to end up on your website. I am seriously jealous of Uncle and yourself, especially catching up with all the other people.
Take care and hopefully I will see you again soon.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:55
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:55
Hi Glenn
I hope to update my website within the next xouple of months as there are quite few new pages to be added. It is good to have had a successful trip with no major problems.
Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:43
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 21:43
Hi Willem good to see you are back safe & sound after what sounds like an eventfull trip.
Thought of you the other day as I read or heard you were in the Flinders,
did it not Pi** down the last time you was there ???
Andrew has probably thrown away some (dry as a chip) trip notes I gave him for the Flinders LOL
Ruby looks great in the Rig
pic, and that awesome Wog Pole SF.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:01
Saturday, Oct 02, 2004 at 22:01
Hi Bernie
Yes I always seem to strike the rain in the Flinders. Andrew and company had a night to remember..hahahaha
The Wog Pole worked
well over the 1000 or so dunes we traversed but I had to reinforce each join with insulation tape as the construction of the pole is not robust. Other travellers definitely saw me coming even when the vehicle was out of view. I could not use the last skinny tip but the length ended up at 5 metres. Thanks for the idea.
Reply By: Nudenut - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 11:30
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 11:30
hey the tourist is
home?
for how long?
Looks like you enjoyed the trip and the new truck went
well!
pity its a nissan but haha
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:21
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:21
G'day Richard
The tourist is back for a week. Then a day in
Adelaide and a few days later another trip to
Melbourne. Then at the end of the month the EO
Robe trip comes up and we still want to go to
Perth this year. Then I an staying
home for 4 months!!!!!....true........
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:32
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 08:32
i believe all except the last bit....4 months
home....cant believe that willem ...sorry
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:13
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:13
Hi Mate sounds like you had fun, all went
well thats the main thing.
You did not comment about not having to open the window for air con, so I guess the real deal did work in the new beast. LOL.
That wog pole looks so long it makes the car top heavy. LOL.
Good to see you back.
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:26
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:26
G'day
Yep, It was aircon all the way....still the flies managed to get in from time to time. Pure luxury after 'Rosie' BTW I caught up with 'Rosie' in the Flinders where she was on a rescue mission for stranded travellers.
Coming to
Anglesea mid month but probably won't have time for a visit.
Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:51
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:51
Gday Willie,
Glad that you and Uncle are both
home safe and sound. Sounds like another great trip with a tale or two to tell.
Catch up at
Robe no doubt.
Poor Ruby in a creek bed floating down stream, I bet the clacker valve was working overtime. LOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:49
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:49
Yep..the clacker valve was just about to get in to overdrive when I swung the GQ out of the track and on to higher ground. For while it was quite nervewracking sitting on an island in a sea of rushing water which kept on creeping higher. Not worrying so much for myself but for those who do not experience these things in daily life and as they were under my leadership I had to make a split decision. But it all worked out in the end. See you at
Robe.
Reply By: ben - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 01:16
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 01:16
willem, thanks for the reply.
as i have never been to the simpson i didnt know what you meant about the bikes,
thanks for answering me now i am further educated on the matter.
ben
Reply By: GQ (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:29
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 14:29
JohnR (Vic) & Willem why did you call the flag pole a "wog pole"
GQ
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:44
Tuesday, Oct 05, 2004 at 20:44
GQ
The device is known as a Squid Pole but its colloquial name in
Melbourne is Wog Pole.
Not wanting to offend anyone I went into a fishing
shop in
Melbourne and asked for a Squid Pole.
"Oh, you mean a Wog Pole" the middle aged sales manager replied.
It would seem that ever since the TV skit 'Wogs out of work' and various other plays containing that name, the term WOG has been demistified and is no longer regarded as a derogatory term. So that is why
John and I and others have termed it a Wog Pole.
If you have been offended by this term I beg your forgiveness but the term is not intended to offend.