4wd's? which? what? when? why? how?
Submitted: Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:35
Tim05
Hi, my first time here. I'm looking to buy my first 4wd for a year long holiday around Australia. I plan to head off in April so I have 5-6 months to find the right
one for me and to get used to it (driving it). I have very little to no knowledge of
4wd's, which means I have questions about them.
I would like to purchase a second hand 4wd for about $10,000 early 90's model.
At times I might need to sleep in the back of it by putting the seats down,so I'll need one that has a bit of space for my stuff as
well. Which make of 4wd do you recommend for getting spare parts easily in remote areas (yes I do know that you should take spare parts with you).
Should I get diesel or petrol and gas system?
Manual or Auto?
Do I need a turbo engine?
Should I enrol in a 4wd driving course after I buy one?
This is all the questions I can think of without knowing a lot about 4wd's for now.
I do appreciate any replys
thanks
Tim05
Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:46
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 16:46
Gday Tim,
Welcome to the fray!
In my opinion, if you intend travelling around oz, especially to remote
places, you need both
driver training and mechanical knowledge. If you are by yourself, the above applies 10 fold.
10k will get you a Nissan Patrol TD42 (4.2 naturally aspirated diesel, five speed, bullet proof). I may be preaching to the converted but you will need cash for parts, fuel and whether you like it or not, the possibility of mechanical failure. I would not go long term travelling without 5-10k of cash (whether credit or not) available to me. They are great for folding down the seats and putting in an air bed or something.
You may want to think about a decent set of tyres, and
suspension, depending on where you are heading.
So in summary, do a 4wd course, learn what everything is and does in the vehicle of your choice, and see how you go. If it was me, I'd be wanting to feel comfortable first before skiving off into the unknown. Many seasoned travellers still get into trouble...
Good luck mate,
Chris.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 18:46
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 18:46
Hi Tim and welcome.
I think Chris said it all mate. Definately do a 4wd course. They are a bit pricy but
well worth it in the long run. The amount of things you will learn from it is priceless. I had to do one when I joined the Nissan club here in NSW, I figured it was a waist of time until I did the 2 day course. What i learned was very valuable to me, especially the "using brakes when going down steep declines. Its amazing how much more control you have when doing this. But so much more to learn during the course. So go for it without hesitation.
As for the type of 4b you want,
well you will get many different opinions to that in here, I can honestly say though that either patrol or land cruiser will do the job
well. They are both fantastic vehicles to own. Personally i would go for a Diesel, although many will tell you that they can be expensive when it comes to servicing but it again depends on how mechanically minded you are. I do all my own work and the only time it has seena workshop was when i needed to replace the clutch. That is one job i would never do at home on a Patrol.
There are so many pros and cons either way, but for
mine its eithera cruiser or patrol for long term off roading. They are both indestructable if treated with respect.
If you plan on towing alot then id consider a turbo, but with that comes a higher price tag. My first patrol 4.2 diesel did 600,000 kms trouble free. I sold her only because i wanted to get me a 1 owner turbo that will last me another 10 years.
Where abouts are you? if your in
sydney let me know, I will be glad to show you around my GQ if you have time. Its better to speak to someone who knows their car rather than listen to sales people trying to sell you what they have in the yard at the time. You are welcome to ask me any questions you need to. I dont mind helping out a fellow offroader.
Regards Angelo
Follow Up By: Will - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 01:12
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 01:12
Hi Angelo, just saw the pics of your rig, your not around the 2233 post code are you.
Will
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:06
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:06
Greenacre / Bankstown here mate. send me ayour email addy and I can give you some contact numbers if you like.
Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:10
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:10
Get a Troopy .
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:34
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 19:34
onya glen,
was waiting for that :-)
drive safe mate !
Reply By: pjd - Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:51
Monday, Nov 08, 2004 at 20:51
a manual diesel patrol or troopy is the way to go
Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:10
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 09:10
Definately a troopy!! $10K would get u an early 90 model in good nick, but u need to look around. Most troopy's that are sold 2nd hand already have some form of after market gear. ie, body lift, twin tanks, radio, maybe even a winch if you are lucky! & u end up with a flat area at least 1200x2400 to sleep in.
Sparky
Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:31
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 13:31
Just to throw another opion in here. Is it wise to get such a large veh (troopy) if new to the 4wd world? I personally don't think so. Also, troopy's (most) have already had a tough life on
mine sites, rangers etc. This is important to consider as a major mechanical breakdown can quickly ruin your holiday that you have planned for and looked forward to for so long.
I think just stick to the basics. Landcruiser or Patrol which has hopefully had a fairly good life around the city with just a couple of bush trips. Easy to pick from damage underneath etc. I would also go for the diesel.
I think the most important part of the car is your tyres. Afterall it is the only part of your car in contact with the road. No use having a great car but the tyres won't get you up the
hill or you keep getting punctures. Tyres are not cheap but are money
well spent. I would also upgrade the
suspension before going away also. Not only for safety but for comfort for those long days behind the wheel. A/C is worth having a look at to. There will be days where you wish you had it. Buying second hand hardly puts any extra cost onto the veh so worth having a look for a veh with this also.
Definetaly get the radiator pressure tested before going also and replace the hoses. You will get very hot days up North, any time of the year.
Good Luck and have fun.
Reply By: tiger60 - Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:10
Tuesday, Nov 09, 2004 at 20:10
Tim, This is just my opimion,
If you can find a good diesel GQ patrol for the money you will not go to far wrong, but i stress the importance of having the vehicle checked by mechanics.
For the money you want to spend you will have to spend more on sorting out a few mechabical issues should you want to travel around Oz, but i would certainly go diesel.