What is the furthest anyone has driven on a fixed tank of fuel?
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 22:51
Schevchenko
A daft experiment perhaps, but maybe someone has found out anyway. I was thinking the longest range on a standard mass produced 4wd might be the diesel prado, with 180L. Feedback (including custom tanks) would be interesting.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 22:53
Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 22:53
Chatting with Muddy_Doe tonight and he can get
Adelaide to Woolongong, Just, on a
tank.
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 23:17
Sunday, Nov 28, 2004 at 23:17
My old Tojo FJ55 had a 205 litre single
tank. Trouble is it had a 4.3litre engine and was petrol to boot. 800k with a tailwind was about the best. I heard of a bloke who drove from
Melbourne to
Goondiwindi on a 60 litre
tank of diesel in a VW Golf. About 1200k I think.
Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:01
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:01
If it was the opposite , i would win hands down with the caddy and Ptrool . Caddy runs at 50 lts per 100 kms and Ptrool gets a touch better lol
Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 12:49
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 12:49
This caddy sounds interesting ... got any pics?
Follow Up By: Wazza (Vic) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:26
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:26
Savvas,
Just picture Boss Hogg's in Dukes of
Hazard. (the Caddy, not Eric!)
Wazza.
Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:05
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:05
Ah ok ... I had pictured in my mind some sort of Snoop Dog pimp-mobile!
Follow Up By: Member Eric - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 15:46
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 15:46
Good memory wazza , same colours also lol
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:10
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 07:10
I get about 800 km out of my 78L standard
tank in the Jeep - if I drive to really conserve fuel...... which means 100km/h on cruise.
Reply By: Member - PatC - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 12:15
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 12:15
Boulia to
Alice Springs (about 815k) in my 80 Series 4.5lt petrol. Full load but drive conservatively. Had about 10lts left in the
tank when I filled up.
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:17
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:17
80# L / Cruiser 80 L
tank 730 Kl open road running with medium load Low fuel light just starting to flicker
Ray
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:37
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:37
Schevchenko,
I've just sold my Prado and bought a 79series LandCruiser Cab chassis turbo-diesel, so this info is fresh in my mind.
The 79series also has standard 180 tanks, and the ADR 81/01 Test standard quotes 11.7 l/100km
Same standard for the manual TD Prado is 11.4 l/100km, but for the auto is 12.6 l/100km.
So they are pretty close.
2002 HDJ79
Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 22:38
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 22:38
Phil - are you happy with the power of the turbo 79? sounds good.
Reply By: timber - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:37
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 13:37
Had a silly mate with a petrol/gas Range Rover. Thought he would run on the petrol until it went dry to see how far he could get, then switch on the gas. Silly bugger forgot that the fuel pump needs fuel to keep it lubricated, can't remember how far he got on the petrol, but the experiment cost him a new fuel pump and a lot of embarrasment!!!
Buggerlux
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 19:37
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 19:37
this is only true for efi cars.carby dual fual cars work independant of each other.
Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:14
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:14
My best is 620k from 70l thats 11.20l/100Ks (Kerry has got better in the 10s) and thats not taking it easy just my normal driving and to lazy to stop for fuel, 110Ks on the freeway boot down when overtaking i can't take it easy i've tried just gives my the $hit$.
Reply By: timmy g - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:25
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:25
I have the previous TD Prado with the 159L fuel capacity. The furthest completed was 1313kms from the Great Ocean Road to the Blue Mountains.
Reply By: drivesafe - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:39
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:39
Just finished a trip to
Sydney and back. On the way down I filled up at Musclebrook and went to
Sydney via the
Putty, drove around
Sydney for a few hours then went back up to
Tamworth and drove around there for two days and then filled up. The Rangie had done 1115 Kms for 102 Lts, thats about 9.1 Lts per 100 Kms. To this time that is the best consumption so far. ( the Rangie has 114,000 on the clock )
Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:42
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:42
By the way, I always set the cruise control at 5 Kms above the limit.
Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:54
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 14:54
4.2 Turbo Patrol.
Canberra to Bairnsdale via
Melbourne, all at Hwy speeds. 1028k and used 115lts. (Around the 11.1) Vehicle with a medium load, no rack. Best was 9.95 Dubbo to
Canberra loaded.
Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:19
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 16:19
Slightly cheating as not standard tanks - but my OKA travels comfortably from
Alice Springs to
Broome (approx 1900 km) with over half a
tank to spare. Two tanks each just under 200 litres - made by Out of Town 4WD in Barnsley, NSW.
Will claim record however for the QL Bedford mobile laboratory that I drove twice across and up and down the whole of Africa in the 1960s - incl two Saharan crossings. Comfortably Gibralter to London via the south of France - to which I detoured to watch the French Grand Prix (at I fear
Mobil Oil's expense).
Petrol engined - tankage approx 1700 litres. Fuel range about 5500 km (ie, a bit over 3 km/litre).
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:22
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:22
About 25 km past the last servo that I should have stopped at ::embarrassed::
That was at 550 km from a 60 liter
tank.
NRMA service was good though.......
Reply By: Lee from Totally Wild 4Wd Club (Nowra NSW) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:35
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 17:35
Hi groovers,
The Smurf Mobile has 195ltrs on board (65 ltr main and 130 aux). Driving around town I can get about 1200 km out of it (mind you its a 2.4 with a chook cooker) & I drive it fairly hard. On the other hand Lucy drives it and get 1500 km out of the same amount of fuel........there obvoiusly is a lesson there im thinking.....
But the craziest thing is doing a long haul with nothing on the roof but the car fairly loaded up im still getting around the same fuel consumption. But when I load it to the gills I loose about 300 ish Km.
REXY :)
Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 20:14
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 20:14
With the standard twin 90 litre tanks in the Prado TD I ran it down to the low fuel light one time. It took 160 litres for 1,331 km.
Would theoretically go 1500km on the full 180 litres given i consistently get 12 l/100km.
Muddy 'doe
Follow Up By: Schevchenko - Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 22:50
Monday, Nov 29, 2004 at 22:50
what sort of ks are they? city mixed?
Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:28
Tuesday, Nov 30, 2004 at 22:28
That was mixed city and rural driving around
Adelaide when it was only a few weeks old.
Consumption does not vary much between different driving. 11.5l/100 km best and 13 worst. Usually 12 to 12.2l/100 in mixed driving conditions filling up at 1200km intervals. Love it.
Muddy
Reply By: AndrewX - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:51
Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:51
Td Prado 180l capacity.
Brisbane to
Holbrook via
Sydney nearly empty but still had a few litres. 1450km all up and not nursing it but just a bit over the speed limit and carrying
camping gear. Toyota did a test in the Netherlands (very flat) and achieved over 2,300km forget the exact distance. it wasn't typical driving but they did it nevertheless