How much is too much
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 20:26
rihearn
My girlfriend and I are heading off for 3 months to see as much as we can. We are starting in
Sydney and heading south with the basic plan to be a loop back to
Sydney taking in Tassie, the Great Ocean rd and
Adelaide. Then on getting back to
Sydney we want to head north and see the east coast up to
Cape York.
My question is are we trying to cover too much ground in 3 months (April,May,June) or will we have enough time to go a bit further to Alice or maybe
Kakadu. We aim to be back in
Sydney on the 1st of July or thereabouts.
After that its off to sunny Scotland for a few years!
Any suggestions for what is a suitable amount of ground to cover in that amount of time would be appreciated. We want spend enough time in a few
places so that we can enjoy them rather than have a vague memory of a lot of
places that we spend only a brief time in if you know what I mean.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:34
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:34
G'day.......
I envy you having 3 months; it sounds like a HUGE amount of time, I know......BUT the sad fact is that it simply ain't long enough to do justice to all those great
places (in my opinion).
I've "done"
Cape York twice; both times were 4 weeks only. Both times I've said we could have killed 2 to 3 months doing it (and a lot of other
places in between).
We also went to Tassie (only 17 days) and reckon we've gotta go back to do the job right.
Once again I'll stress that it's only my opinion, but I reckon with that amount of time (unless the doc has only given you 6 months to live or something), you'd be far better off taking your time a bit and soaking up one or 2 of the
places you've mentioned; and doing it properly. It would be physically possible to do all those
places in the 3 months, but I reckon that, at the end of it, you'd be lucky to be able to say you enjoyed the trip and the
places you saw (briefly!!).
Good luck and have a great time whatever you decide to do.
Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:49
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 21:49
I have to agree. YOu would be better off picking the best, or that you most want to see, and that may not necessarily be the closest
places. If I had 3 months, I'd be going those
places that I am likely to never get to again. ie the furtherest or most difficult to get to. That way shorter vacations can be used for the closer stuff. Have fun and TAKE YOUR TIME...its so much better if you have lots of time.
Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:11
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:11
Do as much as you can. Who knows, you may never come back from Scotland again. You can always re-do what you really want to later in life, but while you are
young ( I presume you are) I reckon it's good to get a broad experience of whats out there, and then you will know what you want to see and what you don't later on. Will also give you extra stories if you see more in the Scotish pubs!
Just my thoughs.
p.s. If whilst you are doing EVERYTHING it get's too stressful then be flexible enough to modify your plans. No good seeing everything if you're in no mood to enjoy it
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:20
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:20
Spent 6 weeks just going to the Cape, return from Brisvegas. That's half of your alloted time and we ran out ....... go figure.
Enjoy, but if you rush and miss most, you may as
well not have gone. There's always tomorrow ........ 'cause who knows what will be.
Cheers and enjoy regardless
Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:24
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 22:24
If you just want to see the highlights of those areas with a rest day every 4 or 5, yes 3 months will do.
Allow 3 weeks to breeze around Tassie, 1 week along the coast to
Adelaide & a week to travel up & back to
Sydney.
Heading north 3 weeks up to
Cairns, then 3 on the Cape leaving 1 to get home.
As you can see in the break down you won't have heaps of time to laze around but you won't be racing either.
As the wheather down here in Vic & Tassie can get cold & wet at that time of year you may concider just heading north at a more leasurable pace.
Cheers Craig.......
Vic
Reply By: ianmc - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:01
Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 23:01
When you get to
Adelaide why not go thru
Flinders Ranges (great stuff) & on to Alice the back way.
THEN if you have time after seeing the Red Centre do the rest or take your time & return home thru the centre (easterly) via gem fields & New Engald (Inverell) area.
Best to have no set agenda, just a general plan.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:35
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:35
If you want to spend all day every day driving and seeing nothing or enjoying very little then you are trying to do way too much.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:39
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 09:39
I did the kimberlys, top end and red centre in 6 weeks which I thought would be plenty but I almost ran out of time. There was vey little time but to do the basic exploring and by no means can I say I got the most out of evey location. However unless you chuck your job in you have to make do I certainly enjoyed every hour of every day and it whet my appetite for when I go back
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 21:48
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 21:48
Covering a heap of distance and moving frequently will result in frayed nerves or ending up as a statistic.
What about car for the Syd/Tas/SA/Syd and then fly to NQ for a holiday at one selected centre. Could do some day trips from the chosen town with tours.
Not worth driving everywhere just to say you've seen
places. Exhausting.
Follow Up By: rihearn - Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 22:28
Wednesday, Dec 22, 2004 at 22:28
Thanks for all the good advice guys. The trip was originally much less ambitious but has become larger and more unmanageable over the last few months as the girlfriend and I have discussed where we want to go. I think we'll have to sit down and work out a more realistic agenda as I have no intention of burnig a stack of diesel and seeing nothing.
The two things I do want to see are Tassie and far north Queenland and don't mind doing the driving to see them. I guess we could plan on having a big driving day every 4 or 5 days. That ought to make it manageable!!