4wd challenging tracks, where? (sydney)

Submitted: Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 14:13
ThreadID: 20773 Views:9477 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
Hi all, I guess everybody knows lots of 4wd tracks, so, the question: what good challenging tracks do we have up to 200kms away from sydney.
I´m getting bored of driving around easy dirt roads with little work out.

We´ve done tracks like sunny corner "the hill", (succesfull) etc.

Ulises
LC80
Sydney

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 15:39

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 15:39
There's a great book in the shop (on this site) called 4WD Treks Close to Sydney.

I notice it's out of print but most camping and bookshops should have it.
AnswerID: 100130

Follow Up By: udm - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 16:49

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 16:49
I´ve got that book, but the tracks are too easy, the only one that was worth it, was the sunny corner trek.

FollowupID: 358339

Follow Up By: James M - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 17:37

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 17:37
Gday udm

I agree they are just forestry roads. I have found some good tracks up near the zig zag railway. There are some powerlines out there that you follow and have some reasonable stuff. Near the spanish steps which are also good.
I have a GQ with a 3inch lift and 33inch muddies and there were some challenges.
My email adress is JamesMaguire_713@hotmail.com if you would like more info.

James.
FollowupID: 358346

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:45

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:45
Have heard that "Slippery Rock Track" in the Watagans is worth doing - someone here might know where it is??

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 100192

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:50

Friday, Feb 25, 2005 at 21:50
Here we go - found more:

Slippery rock rd
Morriset map 1:25000
33deg 01.639 E
151deg 23.354 E

and another

I can recommend "Bar Trail Steps" (I think thats what its called) for those
that
are locked and lifted.

Turn off Murrays Forest Rd at 33 03.269S 151 15.078E, head down there about
500m, then a sharp right turn. Heads down to a creek then up a slippery
hill.
Head along a bit further then turn right up the hill. There are a couple of
nice climbs for us mere mortals, then the real fun starts (about 33 03.2S
15.6E) - there's a cutting that is only slightly wider than the car, then a
series of boulders to climb over aas you go up the hill. Comes out again on
Murrays forest Rd.

Watched an 80 series (locked front and rear) go up there - he got up with no
hassles but it was fun watching him slide around on the way up.

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 358385

Reply By: mq swb - Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 11:38

Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 11:38
As stated there are heaps of tracks in the Watagan State forest near morriset, Slippery rock road, rope road, hell hill the power line run, majority of these tracks require most vehicles to be lifted in some way or another and a locker wouldn't hurt at all, I'm heading out there tomorrow with some boys from outerlimits for the day.
There is also Appin never been there but ther are some really good tracks there.

Dixie
AnswerID: 100241

Follow Up By: udm - Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 13:02

Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 13:02
Dixie,

I´m off to the blue mountains tomorrow, but anyway, here´s my email info@ozsigns.com for, if you don´t mind two 80 series joining you for a day trip someday.

Ulises
FollowupID: 358415

Follow Up By: mq swb - Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 13:48

Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 13:48
No worries at all, I try to get at least once a month will email you next time.
Dixie
FollowupID: 358417

Follow Up By: Brad and His Disco - Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 18:16

Saturday, Feb 26, 2005 at 18:16
Would you have any pics of the hell hill power line run at all
FollowupID: 358446

Follow Up By: mq swb - Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 00:16

Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 00:16
Sorry that should read hell hill and the powerline run Two different tracks, Hell hill joins new mill road and bowens road(i think) and the power line run is off the main forest road can't tell you exactley where just when the power lines cross over the road look down one side and it looks impressive.

Dixie
FollowupID: 358502

Reply By: snailbate - Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 20:35

Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 20:35
HI ALL
JOIN A CLUB AND ALL WIL BE REVELIED TO THE TUF TRIPS
SNAILBAIT
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 100400

Follow Up By: udm - Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 21:30
Snailbate, you say "Join a club" How do you pick a club?, Toyota wants around $300 a year + training + trips + blablabla. (there´s no way i´m paying that) (btw, I don´t want training, don´t need it). A month ago I paid $140 for a day trip with a club (I won´t give the club´s name), and last week they canceled because of rain (ain´t that the most exciting parte of 4wding) and they have now rescheduled for someday in May, so now I have to wait 3 f&%# months for that trip to be carried out. That´s what takes me post in these kind of websites to find out about tracks.

PS. What club are you with?

Ulises
FollowupID: 358569

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 21:49

Sunday, Feb 27, 2005 at 21:49
"(btw, I don´t want training, don´t need it). "

LMAO how often do you hear this from people on driver training, that bollox up the most basic things
FollowupID: 358572

Follow Up By: udm - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 06:59

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 06:59
Ok guys, i don´t want to make an argument out of this, Truckster, you didn´t get the point, It´s not that we don´t need training, all we want is to have some fun, and when you join a club, it´s all about money, and lots of it, as I said before with tlcc.

PS. You learn by getting burnt, don´t ya.
FollowupID: 358595

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 01, 2005 at 13:04

Tuesday, Mar 01, 2005 at 13:04
Not all clubs are about money, far from it.
But nothing is for nothing.

The reason they give driver training is not only to make sure your safe, its to make sure that you dont kill them recoveries.

You yourself admit the training wouldnt be a bad thing.
"It´s not that we don´t need training"

Even Tuff Truck competitors have done driver training.

YBHF..
FollowupID: 358806

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 09:49

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 09:49
udm,

It is your attitude to 4wheel driving that all the tracks around the country have been closed not just in Sydney.

Driving in the rain isn't the most exciting part of 4wdriving, and the 4wd club did the right thing and put the trip off.

4wheel driver training is not only about driving skills but about the environment and keeping tracks open.

If I was you I wouldn't join a club, you will only give it a bad name.

So next time you come to a locked gate think why is it closed, did someone do the wrong thing and destroyed the track in the wet because they thought it was the most exciting part of 4 wheel driving.

AnswerID: 100454

Follow Up By: udm - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 17:58

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 17:58
Wayne, you don´t need to go off like that, I do get your point, all I wanted is some track info. I appreciate your comment anyway.
PS. I´ve only been in the country for one year, so I reckon it wasn´t me who destroyed the tracks, name somebody that hasn´t been driving in mud/snow/etc, guess what, I haven´t.

Take life easy mate. :-)
FollowupID: 358689

Reply By: snailbate - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 21:07

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 21:07
udm
our club runs Tuf trips but only for members who have done the clubs training
clubs do not give out info on where the best tracks are the club scene do not give this info out THIS has happen previously and then the track have been closed because the tracks have been closed by NPWS and Councils
The best trips are done with the saction of the NSW 4X4 ASSOC with a lot of input by the NSW NATIONAL PARKS WE HELP THEM THEY INTURN HELP THE CLUBS WHO BELONG TO THE ASSOC and do a lot of volentary work for the NPWS
IE CLEAN UP time drag wreck vehicle out of NP Repair tracks clear tracks that sort of work
SO join a club and you will get to experience the resposabilty that goes with being in a club which belong to the assoc
The clubs that belong to the assoc do not have the costs you described if are in NSW go to http://nsw.4wd.org.au and look at the clubs that belong to the assoc Or PAY THE LOT OF DOLLARS TO PLAY IN THE MUD AND WRECK TRACKS
SNAILBAIT

AnswerID: 100572

Follow Up By: udm - Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 21:45

Monday, Feb 28, 2005 at 21:45
Well done mate, now that´s what I call a reply! Thanks snailbate.
Not like some other members, that appear to be to bored in there own little office with nothing else to do than logging into exploroz5s website to go through every single post to see who they can have an argument with.

Your club, which club? or can you recommend any other (that belong to this assoc.) around sydney? My email´s udm@tutopia.com in case you can send some details.

Snailbate, I appreciate your help, and I also appoligize to whoever I might havebleepoff with this post.

Ulises
FollowupID: 358740

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 01, 2005 at 13:44

Tuesday, Mar 01, 2005 at 13:44
But didnt you say
"all we want is to have some fun, and when you join a club, it´s all about money, and lots of it, as I said before with tlcc. "
FollowupID: 358811

Reply By: snailbate - Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 20:35

Wednesday, Mar 02, 2005 at 20:35
Hi udm
I know that you HAVE A toy thts not a problem with my club the LROC SYDNEY BRANCH
but you may be more comfetable with people who talk the same speak ie toy
to find a club you more comfitable with see the ASSOC OF NSW 4WHEEL DRIVE they have a list of clubs and the locations for NSW FOR INSTANCE Wayne WAS / is a BLUE MTNS 4 WHEEL DRIVE MEMBER and they meet at Lenoay golf club and there membership fee and joining fee is no where like TLCC who are not a member of the assoc and they have to charge a lot of money to survive and etc etc
Dont get angree about the the tracks around Sydney being closed the club scene are working with the NWPS and the ASSOC and when the club you belong to Works with The NWPS you will find out about what good 4wd is all about ie YOU GIVE A LITTLE AND YOU GET A LITTLE
sORRY ABET TH SPEEELING
Snailbait LROC

AnswerID: 100843