Spare tyre winding lock thingy broke :(

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:09
ThreadID: 23909 Views:7146 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Lucky it happened when I did NOT have puncture at the tme - was trying to get the tyre off and inside the Cruiser for some serious 4WD near Bega in the weekend. But I broke the tip (and lost it) that mates into the spare wheel carrier thingy that lowers the spare wheel. Toyota wanna charge me $147!

I think I'll keep a hacksaw in the car in case...

Any other alternates that people care to share??? I *am* putting the spare wheel on the back as soon as I recover from the taxman's grab...

/viz

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:34

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:34
gday
There is a complete spare wheel winch on ebay at the moment for a few dollars....if you need a new one...
this is what my friend did....he drilled a hole through the 2 lands (on the wheel lifting winch) the hook sits in....he went to the wreckers and got a hilux or early 60 seriesjack bar that is about 3 foot long with a hook one end......He got a splitpin and inserted it through the drilled hole with the jack handle hook in it, so it now is perminantly in there..he might hve trimmed the length to suit the rear bumper..
Sooooo, now there is a perminent square bit sitting in the rear bumperbar, waiting for you to insert the handle and one bar into....not as theft friendly as b4, but im sure u could improvise and make it an allen key or similar if reqd.
AnswerID: 115962

Follow Up By: viz - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:56

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:56
Hmmm ebay, huh?

Off to have a look...

/iz
FollowupID: 371516

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 22:59

FollowupID: 371518

Follow Up By: viz - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 12:16

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 12:16
Ah bugga - he's in SA. Oh well... Of to the wreckers I go.

/viz
FollowupID: 371588

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:30

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:30
Just go to the wreckers, I got a spare tyre winch for about 20 bucks and relocated the spare on my camper from the drawbar to under the rear.

Athol
AnswerID: 115972

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:40

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:40
Yeah that was going to be my reconmendation too.
FollowupID: 371524

Reply By: V8troopie - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:30

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2005 at 23:30
Nah, a hacksaw wont be any good if the chain winch thingie is stuck, there's no easy way to get the blade at it. Its actually pretty theft proof, at least on the 75 series it was as I discovered when mine was stuck after I bought the car second hand. It took a while with a long range oil squirter to free the mechanism sufficiently to lower the spare wheel.
Took the lot apart, greased it and also fitted a bell shaped 'chute' to where the hook engages into the slot of the chain drum. Now its easy to engage the hook rod without having to jiggle it all over the place to get into the slot.
One of Toyota's worse design feature, IMO. This thing definitely needs checking 'before' going on a long trip.

Klaus
AnswerID: 115973

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 08:28

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 08:28
I can't believe anyone would want to mount their spare tyre underneath anything.

If you are bogged in mud etc., where do you think the spare tyre is????
IN THE BOG!!!

That is why people spend big bucks for a Kaymar Carrier solution on their Cruisers and why trailers have the spare mounted on the drawbar or rear tailgate.

Any other solution is inviting disaster IMHO.

AnswerID: 115997

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 08:42

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 08:42
Also if in wheelruts and you get a flat on the back, the rear end tends to sit on it ! However its position does protect the rear fuel tank, and a thief wouldn't bother nikking it .
FollowupID: 371544

Follow Up By: viz - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 12:14

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 12:14
Am waiting for the new ARB bar/carrier combo. Have not gone into production yet, should be out end of July/August. ITMT I hope that I do not have a puncture...

/viz
FollowupID: 371587

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 16:19

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 16:19
That's why they are known as rubber-bladed graders. As for thievery, the local Toyota dealer lost all their spare wheels from their new 80 series one night a few years back.
FollowupID: 371612

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 19:32

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 19:32
Bob, that surprises me. Most 80 owners I know with the spare underneath lothe having to get them out. Must of been keen theives.
Yep, rubber graders. But perhaps better to grade with the spare tyre than the aux fuel tank ?
FollowupID: 371633

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 02:01

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 02:01
Cant understand the issue. They dont stick down too much and not at all on the utes. I have one spare on the back andone underneath, Both have their pros and cons but in the end I carry 2 spares and i reckon thats what counts
FollowupID: 371664

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 20:49

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 20:49
Love all that technical stuff I do. "Spare tyre winding lock thingy" Then again what is it called.

A broken thingy and battles with the taxman too. It is all going wrong for you.

I am with you in mounting the spare on the back. Have seen a few "rubber grader blades" that needed grinding back into shape. I suspect that ragged look doesn't hold air all that well.

Chuck the spare inside til you get it mounted on the back, maybe something at the wreckers in that line too.

AnswerID: 116056

Follow Up By: viz - Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 16, 2005 at 21:13
heh heh - people at least understand what I am trying to say. Did not think of calling the thingy a winch! :)

/viz
FollowupID: 371636

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 00:17

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 00:17
Duncs, its the around town spare wheel that mounts under the rear end, the second spare wheel mounts on a swing out carrier on my troopie when I go out bush or long distance bitumen driving.

klaus
FollowupID: 371659

Reply By: Member - Rattles (Andrew R) - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 09:35

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 09:35
Viz,

If you go to an LPG installer, he will have them out the back.
I recently got a brand new assembly from "LP Gas 1" in Lilydale Melbourne. He had a large tin of them out the back. They have to remove them for the gas installation.

good luck!
AnswerID: 116120

Follow Up By: viz - Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:31

Friday, Jun 17, 2005 at 12:31
Now there is a bit of lateral thinking for you - thank you for that! :)

/viz
FollowupID: 371686