We're back,trip update

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 11:59
ThreadID: 23960 Views:2806 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Well 6 weeks flew by and now we're back in cold old Tassie.Done 11000km with 6 vehicles,had 1 puncture and 2 wrecked tyres between us all(same vehicle with all, BF A/T's).
Covered on dirt-Mulga park road,mereenie loop road,Gary Junction rd,Kidson Track,Gibb River Rd,Parry Creek Rd,Tanami Track,Finke track,Oodnadatta and through the Flinders Ranges.The Gary Junction Rd was really a dirt highway,half the kidson track was the same ,the second half was a shocker.Gibb RR was a dirt highway,hardly a single corrigation.The Tanami was that good that we drove it a day quicker than two years ago.The Finke track(along the railway)was shocking,the roughest track we drove and the Oodnadatta,well we got there in the rain when the road had just been closed to two wheel drives and due to slipperyness nearly to 4WD to.Man was that a fun drive.The Flinders was magic.
If any one wants up to date fuel prices,road conditions etc give us a bellow.Time to go and finish unpacking.
By the way ,picked up our Tambo Cooper in Melbourne yesterday so got a new toy to play with there,also got a new turbo in the shed to bolt up to the 4 Runner too.

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 12:03

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 12:03
Hi Nick, would appreciate any more current info you may have on the Gary Junction Rd and the Kidson Track.
Any comments very much appreciated at
jimshire1 at iprimus.com dot au
TIA
AnswerID: 116241

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 16:50

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 16:50
You'll need two permits to enter one from Central Land Council and one from Aboriginal Land Trust if your going to be useing it (GJR) in both NT and WA.You can get ULP and Diesel from Kintore$1.58 Diesel,Kiwirrkurra has Opal ULP and Diesel $1.60 Diesel and Kunawarritiji has both ULP and Diesel $2.20 diesel.Fuel at Kintore is two bowsers in a concrete box and we were told by the bloke filling us up that it is only avaliable between 1500 and 1600 each day.Luckily enough for us we got there at 1500 on the dot and were first in line of about 20 cars.At Kiwirrkurra the store is closed during the middle of the day and if you arrive during this time they will hustle you into the store and lock you in so the locals dont all rush over .(they have to wait until normal operating hours)also here there is an aboriginal arts centre where you can buy art at very good prices,worth a look.Kunnawarrtiji was straight forward,very dear and they also have some art there.
The road was very good,could easily have sat on 100kph,plenty to see along the track,heaps of wildlife and great scenery.I'd get the Hema Desert Maps for this track,lots of good info on these.Worth a night at Jupiters Well,pretty spot.After leaving Kunnawarrtiji on the Kidson track it is still great road and continues like this until you get to the intersection at Lake Auld where it then turns to a narrow two wheel track and very narrow.After 100kms you get to Razor Blade Bore(no water) and the track starts to deterioate more.One section has been freshly cut through the burnt scrub as the original track is impassible.This the drops back onto the old track and is deep sand(best to lock your hubs in before this)some blokes we spoke to said this sandy section was worse than anything they came across on the CSR.You then have solid sections followed by sandy sections most of the way out.We ran our tyre pressures at 28psi front and rear useing Bridgstone M/T's and found it great fun.Very lonley track the kidson,I'd do it with another vehicle if possible.One of our vehicles broke the main leaf in the rear spring and it took two vehicles to get him mobile again,one winch hooked onto the rear of the vehicle,one winch hooked onto the wheel to pull the axle back into position and we then welded the broken eye onto the next curved up spring,lasted until Broome without breaking.
Think that about covers it,if Ive missed anything give us a yell. Nick
FollowupID: 371810

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 17:01

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 17:01
Nick, thanks, very illuminating. Breaking that leaf does not sound like fun. I was told that the Gary west of the border was pretty corregated. I have visions of doing the Kidson by myself, but taking it vewwy easy. Maybe planning on 3 or 4 days. Don't mind the isolation, its no worse than being in George St Sydney, and probably a lot safer.
Footy
FollowupID: 371812

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 20:40

Saturday, Jun 18, 2005 at 20:40
!MPG:11!
Took about an hour to fix but lasted the distance over some rough places.
AnswerID: 116285

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 12:27

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 12:27
The road crew were grading the Gary junction Road when we went through in April. I thought that 80kmh was about max for that road. It was corrugated in places and about 20km from Jupiter Well there was a lot of bulldust. A good drive all the same. Camped three nights at Jupiter Well and no one passed by. Had the place to ourselves. Did 10 wells of the Canning and met 5 vehicles in one group. Worst corrugations were on the Talawana Track west of Georgia Bore.
AnswerID: 116361

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 17:37

Sunday, Jun 19, 2005 at 17:37
Gday Willem,the road near Jupiter Well was fantastic when we went through.Looked as though it had only just been graded(confirmed by you) and was well built up past the well.The first three vehicles in our group were having such fun on the twisty smooth road that they missed the well and we had to call then back on the UHF's.
I'd say from talking to most that we drove most roads shortly after the graders had done their stuff(makes travelling early in the season worthwhile).We met about one vehicle a day on the GJR.Beautiful place out there.
FollowupID: 371894