Submitted: Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 13:21
Member - Crazie (VIC)
Hi guys and girls
I have 10 months ago, spent over $1650 on 6 coopers st's tyres. Now 10 months and about 19,000km later, I wanted to hear about other people using the same tyres. Since I have had them fitted, each of the tyres has worn at least half of the tread, yes we have just crossed the simpson, so expected a little wear. Whilst heading home from the Simpson on a dirt road, 1 St went bang, and i do not mean a little bang, it was a HUGE BANG, Kir went from crash position.
!MPG:10!
!MPG:11!
Above is the ST that went bang, this is how is was, total blown apart. The tyre got rejected for warranty, several different reasons given. Which is not the point to this thread, they do not want to warranty it, fine, i will never buy another coopers again, spending heaps does not always give you the best.
I just wanted to see if anyone had similar experiences with a ST going bang or tread wearing, what i would consider fairly quickly.
Crazie
Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:00
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:00
Yep ......
mine wore at an alarming rate, also a good friend of
mine had the same problem. I also had very bad chipping & cracking at the base of the edge lugs.
As far as I am concerned Coopers are a crock of sh**!
I now have Firestone RMTs, done very similar work, no chipping or cracking, & at $175.00 each ....... love'em!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:58
Similar experience here with STs. I did get about 40,000klm out of them and there is still some tread on them, but not enough for me to confidently tackle the Simpson a few weeks ago. So I have changed to MTRs.
My Coopers suffered badly on our
Cape York assault last Sept/Oct and the 2 back ones were badly chipped etc. When I got back here, it was time for a big 4x4 show in
Adelaide and Coopers had their state boss there....I chatted to him, he offered to go out to
carpark with me to look at them. He said they were a 'bit' chipped, but that as they continued to wear, the rough bits would become less obvious (sort of like ...if I kept them on there long enough they's be slicks, with no chips at all.....yeh;right!!!).
So, like you, I just walk!!! No more complaints!!! They just won't get anymore of my hard-earned folding stuff.
Reply By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:02
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:02
Hi there Adam,
I run Cooper ST 245/75/16's and am happy with the wear and overall performance of the tyre. Sure, there are a few chips and cuts, however they have performed much better on and off-road than the Bridgestone D693's I had on previously.
Would I buy them again?? - not sure - although I have 8 in total including the trailer and like to always run matched tyres. However, hearing accounts like yours of poor aftermarket service really makes me wonder if the extra cash is
well spent on them.
BTW, did they give you a reason why they would not honour the warranty? Also, what did they say about the rate of tread wear??
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:24
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:24
Hi Moggs
I was told a few different reasons, not what i would consider a straight answer. I firstly told it was a high impact that caused it, then i was told that the tyre was run flat for an extended period of time and then i was told that the tyre had an internal bruise from an earlier impact that caused it. I was then told not to worry about the wear as they are covered by a km warranty. They are regularly rotated etc and the front has about 6mm left, they start with about 14.7mm.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:43
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:43
Geez, you reckon they would be visiting enough people re: warranty claims to have a good story downpat. Sorry to hear they haven't come to the party and replaced it. More importantly, sorry to hear you have (and possibly rightly so in your case) lost confidence in the ST's in general.
I reckon reading the responses below re: tyre wear that maybe some sizes / different period production ST's are better than others. I just measure
mine (10ply 245/75/16's) and they have 11mm tread left (also started with 14.7mm. They have done a little over 20,000kms - so am happy with that.
Anyway, hope you fight the good fight with the Coopers Rep and get some satisfaction - otherwise stick it on the wheel carrier with a whopping great big
sign :)
Oh yeah...maybe it was concussion from from that exhaust of yours that just blew the thing out! :)
Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:02
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:02
Do you know what PSI you were running them at?
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:14
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:14
Also, were they light truck or passenger construction?
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:48
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:48
Hi Scubaroo
At the time it blew, we were running about 28 PSI and yes the are all LT, 10 ply.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:21
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:21
28 sounds a bit low?
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:43
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:43
28psi is ok for rough gravel/corrugations at a moderate speed, some guy on another
forum was trying to tell me that because 28psi is the suggested pressure in the vehicle hand book so that's what you should run on the highway LMAO!
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:13
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:13
i expect the car to be fully loaded ( albeit a few coldies and food missing) but it would still be very heavy...at speed 28psi may not have been enough? just a thought to give rise to possible reason for failure
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:14
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:14
the way its peeled is somewhat indictive to overheating?
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:03
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:03
Crazie,
The way the tyre finished up after the big bang I would say that it was either running at low pressure or had a slow leak which would cause it to over heat, and this will make the side wall part company with the rest of the tyre.
I would be surprizes if and tyre company would give you warranty on a punture.
As for the tyre wearing, I have also noticed that the Coopers I have are also wearing a lot quicker than I would have thought. I have been back to Coopers and they are taking note of the wear rate. Time will tell what they will do about it.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:30
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:30
Hi Wanye
I can handle it not being a warranty. No
sign of any puncture, but i doubt anyone could tell now hahaha. I was just surpised how it came apart and with the wear. They have always got me to where i wanted to go, but have lost the confidence in them.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:45
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:45
Just out of interest for you guys, my MTR's have a warranty against punctures and sidewall damage as long as it is reparible in house (by the dealer).
They also give you free balances every 10k.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 20:03
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 20:03
Wayne,
First time I've noticed that you're back. How are you? How did your Poron camera go? I've got one too now (gotta keep up with the Jones'..hahaha).
Sorry to hijack post.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:41
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:41
Jeff you obviously still happy with those MTR's How many K's on them now?
Have not heard a bad report on them as yet, , Maybe my next set I think????
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 10:53
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 10:53
G'day John,
8000 klicks since purchasing on 15th June. That included a 2000 klick trip to/from Narrandera/Wagga and a trip of a few thousand to
Birdsville, across the Simpson etc.
They haven't suffered any noticeable chipping etc (unlike the Coopers) and , yes, I am very happy with them. I am under no dilusions about what wear I will get out of them. I expect to have to replace them in 12 months (say 45,000 klicks). The reason I'm soooo disappointed with the Coopers is that they tell you how flippin good their product is and that'll last till the "2nd coming" etc ...only to find out that they are no better than any other brand. The lesson is that if you are going to blow your own trumpet about how fantastic your product is, make sure it's got the pedigree and capability to DO what you claim it can.
Cheers mate...... BTW, how's that Poron going? have you got it installed yet?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 13:31
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 13:31
Hi Bill
Funny you mention the Proton, just going to the workshop to start fitting the damn thing (when I stop playing on EO that is) Played around in the dark last night seeing how it performs and where I was going to stick the camera.
The MTR's as I said heard nothing but good reports to date so will watch them with interest.
I agree with your comments on Cooper, Its seems like its common for the 4wd industry to make comments about how wonderful their products are when so much of it is not fit for purpose, IE tyres that don't perform,
winches that don't perform in the wet, mud or dust, electronics that stop working, Nissan 3 litre diesels, Toyota front diffs etc etc etc, yet all are marketed as "Off road Tough" go anywhere etc
I reckon that some enterprising Lawyer will make a fortune suing the ar$se of these manufactures on day for failing to ensure their product does what they advertise it can do.
Not fit for purpose is the term that industry uses for crap.
Cheers Mate
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:30
Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 13:30
G'day John, yeah I've still got bugger all K's on the MTR's as we currenty have two company cars that we've been using during the week and the Surf's been sitting in the garage,only comming out on weekends. Done a couple of small/medium trips but the weather's been pretty crappy over here too. I'm still amazed with the wet weather handling, and I got her bogged for the first time with the MTR's on on Sunday so that was a laugh, ironically it was in mud too! ;-)
We've pretty much done good smaples of everything with them on so far, just not heaps of it. We've done beach/dunes, a fair bit of highway driving, round town probally 25%, swamp mud, clay mud, general red dirt mud, a fair bit of gravel (different types) and have found them to really be good through it all. I did however try some sand on the weekend at 30psi (it was not really boggy looking and it was a little wet and I was being slack) and I can tell you that they dig big holes at higher PSI! Dropped them to 16psi and you'd never know you were even on sand.
So yeah still happy, but I havn't done major K's yet to trial their longivity. So far so good though (touch wood) They've got some scuff marks and scrapes on the sidewalls from all the sticks and rocks I've been driving through/over but nothing that I would classify as "damage" and we've been doing some pretty much unmarked tracks (havn't been used for a very long time and were very hard to follow as you could barley see them). So I've been driving over sticks and through shrubs and stuff with them and they are going
well.
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:07
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:07
I've had my ST's on now for 55,000km and they look only half worn. A mate of
mine has 80,000 on his and they're still good as spares. I do a good mix of severe off road (rock, gibber, etc and plain old tarmac. I've knocked two small lugs off because I FORGOT TO AIR DOWN like I should have to around 20 pounds while climbing grippy rocks.
Your experience is not common. I don't think that people who really know the Coopers tyre will agree with you that it is.
Unfortunate, but I'd like to know what pressure you ran in them day to day, how heavy the vehicle was and what you were doing at the time of the blowout....
I hate to say it, but from the looks of it you had a catastrophic sidewall failure due to low pressure - which cause the sidewalls to flex more than they're meant to over a long distance. The sidewalls generated too much heat and BOOM....
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:15
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:15
Sorry... I re-read my replay... and I didn't mean to sound so forthright :(
Not intended..... :)
In any case... what a PITA for you - I'd be pretty annoyed too.......
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:05
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:05
Hi Chrispy
No dramas mate, no offence here. Answers to your questions
Tyres had 28 psi in them, only been travelling for about 1 hour on a very
well graded dirt road. Stopped about 15 mins before it blew to take some pics, tyres looked fine. The vehicle was not too heavy, Roof cage on, spare wheel and 10L of fuel up there, inside, nothing more than a normal weekend.
crazie
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:18
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:18
what speed were you doing on this very
well graded road....
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:30
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:30
G'day Crazie,
I am on my 2nd set of Cooper S/T's.
The 265's gave me 85,000 and still had life left in them.
The 285's i run now took me to
Innamincka and and surrounds then back to
Sydney. There were some rough parts out there, in fact I shredded a dunlop roadgripper on the trailer out near Moomba.
They are showing some signs of wear but they have been on the car for about 18 months. I would say they are about halfway through their life. It is also my daily driver car.
I run them at
40psi hwy
25 psi outback dirt
12-15 psi sand
I don't rock climb with them, but if I wanted to I would feel confident enough to air them down and go for it.
I make sure they are checked regularly for balance and alignment at the dealer I bought them from, not just for the warranty but to find any probs before they happen.
I don't know enough to comment on the pics you posted but I am surprised that this would happen to
well maintained Coopers.
Would I buy them again? You Betcha!!! but I might give something else a run next time just to prove whether the Coopers are a better tyre or not. NAH too expensive an exercise when I know the answer to that.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:33
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:33
Hi Waynepd
I would consider them to be
well maintain and I always check preasures regularly and adjust them for the conditions. It sounds like you are getting a great run out of them.
Reply By: Skinny- Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:36
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:36
Sorry to hear about your blowout....bet it scarred the b%$$^&%$ out of you.
It would have me.
Mine haveonly done 10000 kn and are in great shape but very careful about tyre pressures and I don't do alot of high speed driving. 90-100kmph for short distances.
I will have to wait and see. Still think Coopers need to watch out if they want to stay in the market. I have heard second hand of poor warranty by company.
Skinny
Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:42
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:42
Just a thought - forward the photos to the US office of Cooper Tires and see if they tell the local distributor to pony up with a warranty replacement - I've had good feedback from the US email contacts before with product enquiries. Point out that the local office didn't want to help when you had a near-fatal accident as a result of product failure! I imagine most US tyre companies are a bit sensitive in the aftermath of the Firestone lawsuits, and they may come good for you.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:50
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:50
I hear lots of people complaining about cracking with low klms....
Get yaself some MTR's and never look back. or JT's. :D You see how
well they gripped and cleaned as they threw chit out the back....
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:58
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 14:58
Hay Crazie.
Gland to hear you guys were only a little shaken.
You may remember I am on my second set of Coopers and happy so far.
Mate of
mine is a bow hunter and only uses STT's. Hunts up Nth Qld, dirves where there are no roads. He would not use anything else.
Take care.
Wim
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:48
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 15:48
Hi Adam my ST's fell apart at 6000ks but unlike you they replaced
mine i had the option of paying extra to get the ST-Cs and took that option, all 5 were replaced with alot of complaining i might add.
All 4 were like this all the way around the tyres
Lugs coming off
Lugs missing
Me, i will never buy Coopers again either.
Follow Up By: guzzi - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:15
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 16:15
I had similar problems with lugs cracking/comming off, but got 38,000km out of them before I had any problems.
they dont seem to like rocks,aired down or not.
So far Ive had 3 replaced under warrenty and bought 1 to even them up, the other chipped one is now the spare.
Warrenty seems to be dependant on the outlet involved and how much noise you make, not the way I would be doing business.
What sizes were yours,
mine and a few others have been 245/75/16, bought around the middle of 2002.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:30
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:30
Now that is a tyre failure. Looks as if it was due to heat build up.
Red back, I have seen a ST similar to yours when I was getting my AT’s rotated. This 31/10.5R15 ST had every 4th lug on the shoulder torn off then it also looked like somebody had taken to this thing with a miller it was just cut up and pitted all along the shoulder’s, but the centre of the tyre looked fine.
Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:46
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 07:46
Hi guzzi same as yours 245/75/16s and i run the right pressures for each condition we drive on.
Our convinciing arguement was we ran the manufacturers pressures.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:51
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:51
Yeah
well Ads....you have seen
mine. I have STT's(old style) with 20,000 on them. Have plenty of cracks in between the lugs and scuffing on the side and some lug chips. The tyres have been given a hammering over all kinds of terrain. I run 15psi on sand, 25psi on tracks like the Connie Sue and others, 28psi on the
Birdsville track and other gravel roads and 35psi on the blacktop.
So far I am impressed.
I have damaged one tyre internally which has caused a bubble on the outside wall ( I remember I hit an obscured rock somwhere in the
Great Victoria Desert while going offroad off the Connie Sue). This has been remedied with a gater(large rubber patch) on the inside. In their life I have had two slow leak punctures, both being nails picked up somewhere. I am not concerned about warranty. The tyres are wearing
well but I doubt if I will get 50,000 out of them. I will probably go Wrangler MTR's next time or something similar.
Reply By: Willykj - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:58
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 17:58
Hi Crazie,
I have Cooper ST's on my Jack & they have done 30,000km without a problem. This includes a trip to
Cape York (Including all the side trips & OTL). The tread wear is very good - I have
well over 60% left. Am very happy with them.
On dirt roads I run at about 28 psi but at that pressure I would not go very fast (80kmph max).
Willy
Reply By: robsil - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:10
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:10
bought my 265 .75 . 16s st for the csr,
gibb river road and west coast of WA never a problem ,20,000 ks . one trip to craigs hut via the circut road a good dirt road they come back
home. chipped to buggery .
coopers have had a look and have asked what do i want . have had the tread depth checked 18 new10 left on the rear13 onthe front.
coopers have implied they will look after me ,just wating now to hear back from them ,but what do i replace them with. have always had BFG muddies previously.in saying this i was more than happy the way they performed on the csr but to have them go on good dirt roads not happy.
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:46
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 18:46
Sounds like Cooper and Bridgestone both need a shame award. Glad i have the BFG's (touch wood) People always seem to be bagging cooper tyres on EO.starting to think there is a good reason.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:13
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:13
Gday Brew69,I use Bridgestone tyres and have now done 30000kms on tracks like GRR,
Cape york,Tanami x2,
Oodnadatta X2,Finke trk,
Gary Junction Trk,Kidson Trk etc and have never had a problem with them(not one
puncture yet).Price is heaps cheaper than other brands,wear is down to not quite half which Im happy with considering where the've been.
Now on our last trip one vehicle useing BFG A/T had 3 punctures(only punctures out of 6 vehicles) so I think alot has to do with luck.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:15
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:15
Hi Nick.yes you are correct luck has a lot to do with things going wrong with tyres. All we can do is adjust pressures correctly, dodge what we see and cross our fingers. However..............some companies will leave a sour tatse in our mouths with their so called tyre warranty which is not worth the paper its written on. Glad to hear you have had a good run with the Bridgy's Nick and i hope u never have to make a claim for a new tyre with them. I guess its all about once bitten and twice very shy.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:47
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:47
Well I have shied away from tyre arguments because I am not convinced about the reliability of any tyres anymore.
I ran BFG A/T's for years, at least 3 sets without a problem. So when it came time to replace the factory fitted rubber on the GU I went out and picked up the BFG's again.
28,000km later I was back at the dealer. I had done about 1000km on outback dirt roads and about 200km in the
Vic high country About 50km in the high country was low range stuff the rest was good dirt.
All 4 tyres were a right off, worn to the wear markers and losing tread blocks. One rear tyre was through to the steel belts by the time I got
home. The dealer told me I had abused them. The rep told that I had done
well to get the mileage I had. When I expressed my dissapointment and asked for some form of compensation the dealer told me to F*&^ Off he did not want to see me ever again.
I bought a set of Cooper ST-C's, at a different
shop. Ask me after Christmas and I'll tell you what I think of them.
Reply By: Tony F - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:14
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:14
Sorry to here the probs with
Coopers, but there are a lot of factors regarding tyre failure. We have run
Coopers for some time on Cape trips and not have had a problem. Recomended them to clients and more than happy. I believe some brands work better on some vehicles, much the same as brands of shockies. I'm sure they will come to the party after seeing the photo's. best of luck and happy
camping.
Reply By: cmilton54 - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:26
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:26
Crazie
were tyres run on split rims with tubes.
rim looks like two piece.
tyre looks like classic run flat, low pressure. If fitted with tube, were they chinese or quality tubes eg bridgestone, mitchelin, or a thick rubber tube. If running with tube were the cotton tags inside of tyre buffed off prior to tube being fitted. tags plastic, cotton or paper will wear tube over time causing slow leak. If thin chinese/Korean tube the will wear through on sidewall and develop small leaks just with normal use.
If runnung tubeless none of the abive comes into the equation.
Charlie
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:29
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:29
Hi Charlie
Tyres were on Alloys, not split rims and also tubeless.
thanks
Adam
Reply By: Richard - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:28
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 19:28
Ran Cooper ST-C's for 40,000K on an NM Pajero after replacing the Bridgestone D693's which I was not happy with. 50% blacktop, 40% outback roads and 10% tracks, sand and rocks. Punched a hole in one when I got air and dropped it on a sharp
rock and it was a write off. The replacement was staked and repairable. The 4 originals problably had another 40,000KM on them.
Running Bridgestone D694's on the new Cruiser as I coundn't get BFG's. After some
rock work and a recent 6,000KM outback journey and with 12,000KM on them they are looking fine.
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:11
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:11
gday crazy shame to here you killed a cooper with the wrong air pressures.
i hate seeing a good cooper die.
ive used st before with great wear and no troubles at all.
i just ordered on sat some 265/75/16 st for the jack i hope i have better luck.
dont be to hard on cooper i probly wouldnt have given you a claim either but im just nasty lol.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:15
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:15
Not sure how or why you think i had the wrong pressure? Not sure what pressure you run, but i will continue to run 28 on that sort of road
Coopers said the pressure was fine.
Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:20
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:20
Nah, didnt make a big deal out the warranty as i said, this is not about the warranty, just sharing stories, doesnt really explain the wear.... hahaha
some seem to be good, some seem to be crap, i just put my down to being crap...lol nasty man..lol
Follow Up By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 12:22
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 12:22
shoould have been 29psi.
nasty man ah lol
well then your a nastier man haha
Reply By: Sarg - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:25
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:25
Maybe you needed one of these things? Ref Post 25141
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:31
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 21:31
Well,
Having read all this, and previous posts about Coopers, it seems a bit of a lottery.
Warranties that they don't honour, lugs falling off etc.
I've heard enough, I wouldn't have them as a gift, let alone buy them.
Follow Up By: 12HT75 - Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 23:55
Monday, Aug 01, 2005 at 23:55
Well my experience with coopers hasn't been too good either.
One of my ST's shed part of its tread at 100kmh on the bitumen after 35000km, doing some damage to the mudflap on the vehicle - pressure was about 45psi. The tread had been badly chipped by the rocky roads up here in the
Pilbara.
I got a pro-rata rebate on a new ST-C.
Then another ST did the same thing, (fortunately in the same position on the vehicle so I didn't lose another mudflap) again at about 100kmh on the bitumen at 45psi.
By this time I couldn't trust the rest of the tyres, so instead of getting another Cooper with a rebate, I wrote this one off and am now trying a set of Toyo OPATs, although the tread on these is a bit less aggressive than I would like.
I ran the Coopers at about 45psi on the bitumen and about 35psi on the dirt on a Toyota 75 series.
Peter.
[ View Image]
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:53
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 00:53
Peter did they offer any explanation to why those tyres shed the tread like that?
I agree with Jim, starting to hear to many stories about Coopers.
fast wear is one thing but failures like that say to me something is wrong big time.
I have had 3 sets of BFG A/T 2 sets wore real
well 60,000 plus Km's the current set is crap, chipped and wearing relatively fast, I think i would be lucky to get 40,000 out of them.
Also have a set of BFG Muddies, they are going real
well, handle
the rock tracks of the high country real
well, But time will tell.
All good reports on the MTR's so will watch them with interest as time goes on.
Follow Up By: 12HT75 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:16
Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 23:16
No real explanation offered
John, and in the first case I was glad just to get the pro-rata rebate, but after the second one went, that was it as far as I was concerned for Coopers!
I would have liked to get a set of MTRs but there were none in WA at that time, so I went for the Toyos sight unseen, and as I mentioned they are less aggressive than I would like, but quiet on the highway.
I will try again for MTRs after the Toyos.
Reply By: DB - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 01:41
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 01:41
hi Crazie.
I'm new to 4x4ing,getting a landcruiser soon,after looking at the post's in here for the last couple of months i thought of putting coopers on but looking at your pix i'm not so sure now might have to look at other A/Ts,the guy who is building my off road camper told me that coopers did have probs awhile back something to do with the rubber? anyway he surgested goodrich ...goodluck and happy camping DB
Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 13:25
Tuesday, Aug 02, 2005 at 13:25
Hey Crazie,
You might remember me, we meet at the big4 caravan park in PA on the way to the
simpson desert.
I too, run cooper ST's but in 255/85r16 size.
I have done about 18000 km's on them so far and they are down to about 9.2mm from 14.3mm when new. Based on that, I expect to get about 45-50k from them.
My tyres have some chipping, (more than the others with me that had MTR's) but nothing that would worry me. I use them as my road/outback tyres and they have done what I want from them.
I ran them at about 30 psi on the stoney roads which might be a bit higher then you, but my car does weigh in at about 3 tonnes.
My guess is you got a leak and before you knew about it, the tyre had over heated and went bang. (I've done this several times before)
The hilux which was with us did a 180 deg at about 90 km/h after it rolled a bead off the rim. It was pumped up to 38 psi so we couldn't work it out. There was no damage to the tyre so we pumped it up and put it back on the car. This was a brand new wrangler AT, so I think it can happen to any tyre.
If you only have one set of tyres, maybe MTR's would suit you more, but I have seen these get staked easily as
well.
John D