Towing Speeds

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 21:41
ThreadID: 25334 Views:4294 Replies:34 FollowUps:40
Without wanting to upset too many people,

I have to ask, why do some travel at 80 to 90 km/h on open roads? Bloody great big vans being towed by cars that don't have the power to do the job adequately.

This simply holds up traffic and creates potential hazards. I've seen long trails of cars stuck behind "mobile chicanes" just waiting to get out and pass. This often causes undue lack of judgement brought about by frustration.

I firmly believe if you can't tow at the posted limit, you shouldn't be on the road.

I'm ready for the flack.

Reply By: Michael Carey - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:04

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:04
Some people are not comfortable towing at 100 or 110 KMh. That is fine, BUT they should also be aware of what is happening behind them! After all, that's what towing mirrors are for!
If they see a line of cars behind them, they should pull over at the earliest convenience and let the faster drivers pass. Courtesy goes both ways...
AnswerID: 123694

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:29

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:29
Spot on.
FollowupID: 378861

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:09

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:09
It is my understanding that there is a speed limit in W.A. maybe 90kmh for caravans and trailers over 750kg. Do not quote me (or sue me) but I did stumble on it somewhere. Maybe try a 'google' on it.

Mind you, with some of the tow weights LEGALLY at almost 50% heavier than the tow vehicle, it is probably not a bad thing, IN SOME CASES.
AnswerID: 123697

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:19

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:19
The legal limit for towing over 750 kg in WA is 100 kph
FollowupID: 378746

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:11

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:11
Oh boy, you're in for it now :)) *ta rah*......here goes....

2 points. The posted speed is the speed limit. Not the minimum speed, or even the advisable speed in some cases. It's the maximum speed. AFIK the limits for towing vans and trailers may be lower than the posted speed in some states..

What happens if you are behind a slow moving road train ? Do you get frustrated and try and pass him ? Good luck.

We all use the roads. Old and careful, young and speedy, the sick and the well.
A bit of courtesy for the other drivers (pull off if there's a line behind, give a wave if they do so etc) goes a long way.

I'm suggesting that courtesy is a two way thing. If you're the slower vehicle, keep as far left as you can and when someone starts overtaking, slow down a bit.
If you're the quicker vehicle, overtake carefully. In the old days we used to flash the slower vehicle to let them know we were overtaking (or was I the only one...hmm). This is still an excellent practise if overtaking on a track where dust may obscure vision.

A carload of slightly sozzled young girls stopped at a crossing for me. One leaned out and wolf whistled and then grinned. Being an old f$%^ I looked around but yep, I was the object of attention. I had been in a very serious mood until then, having just visited my very sick father in hospital. I smiled for days after that.
So what does that prove ?
A bit of courtesy, a smile or wave to say thank you, can have an effect far beyond what you could imagine.

Drive as if there's no tomorrow and there may not be !

AnswerID: 123699

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:16

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:16
wrong spelling of practice. I am suitable embarrassed :))
FollowupID: 378693

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:09

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:09
(QUOTE)What happens if you are behind a S L O W moving road train ?(end quote)

they are only 'slow' when they are accelerating for the first 500 Metres, after that its their road :-)
If you can catch them, you can pass them, after all they were speeding and I mean that literally L0L
FollowupID: 378769

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:15

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:15
I agree with Mainey, half the time the road trains are up my ass while I'm waiting to be able to pass the slow driver in front.
FollowupID: 378836

Reply By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:14

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:14
I'm with both Jimbo and Michael - great to get the grey army up into the warmer climate - I'll do that too as did my old man for many years.

But he (as I) always was aware of the traffic behind and regularly pulled over (or at least reduced speed on a straight and indicated) so he wasn't spoiling everyone elses holiday!

Andy
AnswerID: 123700

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:14

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:14
Try it over here in WA country with road trains up to 4 trailors long. I frequently drive the hilly windy stretch between Widgiemooltha and kambalda with it being uncommon not to have to pass road trains in diesal 1hz utes. I strongly suggest you do what I do - get patient or get dead
AnswerID: 123702

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:18

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:18
Davoe, that's excellent advice that I fully support. The difference between 80k/h and 100k/h can be around 15 mts ...or an eternity !
FollowupID: 378694

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:26

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:26
When it's hilly and windy I agree, sit back and enjoy the ride until it becomes safe to overtake... Found the roadtrains in NT very courteous, frequently flashing me past when it was safe... Letting them know you are there(uhf) and a quick thankyou or flash of your indicators as you pass puts you in good stead to be looked after out there.
FollowupID: 378706

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:21

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:21
Blue's spot on, I've never had a bad experience with Truck drivers and Channel 40 on the UHF yet, they seem to be happy just to have the chat half the time!
FollowupID: 378838

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 04:37

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 04:37
Member - Blue (VIC) Came up behind a road train last night, Slight incline he indicates for me to pass so I flatten it then he indicates for me to pass again so I drop it back to 4th finally start making some ground - slowly slowly gaining speedup to 5th hit about 120 by the time i actually pass him with a fast approaching corner----------- gotta love those 1hz utes and this ones a pretty fast one
FollowupID: 378876

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:28

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:28
here you go for the speed limits for towing:

www.caravanandcampingsa.com.au/page.asp?parentid=22&parent2id=96

agree though - courtesy and patience go a long way - love the pretty girls story too.
AnswerID: 123704

Follow Up By: itisi - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:44

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:44
The info on this site for WA is out of date by a few years.

The open road speed limit is 110 but is 100 for trailers of under AND over 750 kg's.
I think this increase from 90 to 100, for trailers over 750 kg's, was due mainly to travelling "up north" where road trains were allowed 100 k's and vans only 90. That definitely caused some bad feelings.

I generally sit on 95-100 but that may drop to 85-90 depending on the conditions eg; hot weather, A/C going, head wind,eagles after "road kill", etc

After all, doesn't matter where you are, "you drive to conditions"
FollowupID: 378710

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:29

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:29
Jimbo,
we all don't drive turbo diesels with heaps of power.... (that waz the flak)

I drive about 90 -100 towing a camper trailer, because I drive to arrive and get better fuel economy at the same time. I’m never in a hurry when going from place to place because I camp late each day. I now don’t drive at nite, as one nite I wrote off a steal bull bar, front panel and two lights after hitting a few roos, well about seven, just north of Meekabloodytharra while trying to get to town at a reasonable hour.
I always drive with the CB on the truckies channel so I can inform them of my intended movements and allow them to pass safely. It’s a joke when they pass and you see the sticker stating they are governed to only 100 KPH and you know they must be doing at least 120.

Over here we have roads that are not really wide but they are straight for many, many kilometres at a time and it’s easy for the trucks, which can be well over 50 plus mtr long to stay at their ‘cruising’ speed and just scream past because they can see up the road for miles ahead.
AnswerID: 123705

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:37

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 22:37
Jimbo, if what you are advocating was the case ... there wouldn't be a single truck on the road!
On most major roads now there are frequent overtaking lanes, but one thing that I have trouble coming to grips with is, why are people in such a hurry ...... to die!
AnswerID: 123708

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:22

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:22
Good old overtaking lanes... Where the slow drivers always seem to find 10-15 extra kph...??? Not a dig, just what I've noticed pushing semi's to Sydney and back...
FollowupID: 378704

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:50

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:50
and I thought it was only me that noticed that!

annoys me no end to follow a slower vehicle through the bendy bits only to have them zip away at the overtaking lane and then to be right behind them again soon after the double lane ends.

FollowupID: 378831

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:26

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:26
Ooooo MATE, DON'T GET ME STARTED!

I was doing another "cruise" down to bunbury for work the other day and we were doing 70-80km/hr in the 110km/hr zone, MASSIVE string of cars, then the overtaking lane........ Ok so we are now doing 120km/hr - ALL OF US, and we are not passing ANYONE! WTF!!!! Then overtaking lane ends, no one has passed anyone and we are all doing 70-80kms again..................... These people should be castrated, THEY are the DANGER on our roads, not the the guy wanting to cruise at the speed limit.
FollowupID: 378839

Reply By: awill4x4 - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:11

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:11
Jimbo, we tow our 16'6" poptop caravan and generally sit between 90-95 kph as it's where the car/van seems the happiest and the economy is probably best at this speed. I do however keep a close eye on my mirrors and will always pull over if too many cars are behind. The one time I won't pull over is on uphill stretches where it is often a struggle to keep up momentum and to build up speed from a dead stop if you stop to let cars past is very difficult. Once I'm over the top however, I am looking for the 1st opportunity to pull over and let the traffic past.
We love the vanning lifestyle and it's a great way to meet different people just as it is with the 4x4 movement.
Most vanners I've met will pull over as circumstances allow just have a bit of patience and we'll all get to where we want to be safely.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 123713

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:23

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:23
Hey! You been taking - 'flog me' pills - Jimbo.

and lots of them, regularly, by the look of it.

I know its raining out there in the Berwick boonies where all form/s of entertainment disappear at 7.00pm sharp, but a 'slow death by forum retort' is taking things to the limit.

Maybe a post on how to dry a 'Jerrycan' in 30 mins, or a paragraph from you autobiography witten by the author of the trip report from your last 'day out', may have elicited enough abusive responses to satiate your masochistic trait, without enraging every road user this side of the black stump.

ROFLMAO

No one can say you aren't entertainment value mate.

Another Pizza and Beer night being considered in FTG this time.

AnswerID: 123715

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:46

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:46
It's all about a bit of fun Ken.

Whilst I didn't just post this to stir up a bit of debate (I knew it would happen), I did know it would be a by-product.

As you well know, you understand me.

FollowupID: 378846

Reply By: lemons - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:34

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:34
G'day all, jimbo, you sound like a menace to me.
Everyone has a right on the road and we all have to work around that simple fact. Safety on the road is incompatible with impatience and stupidity. If they drive slow, wear it. If they have underpowered cars towing big vans, be sorry for them, but don't come the raw prawn and monster them with your agressive diriving technique. We all have the right to a bit of give N take an your post is a red-flag for me.
Just remember when you used to flog around in an old Dat 120Y for your first car. . . or did you step straight into a V8?

nice to meet you. . . lemons
AnswerID: 123718

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:58

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:58
lemons,

Don't take life to seriously mate.

Note my post was about safety. Mobile chicanes and "hat wearers" holding up traffic are dangerous.

Me in a 120Y, are you kidding? Slow cars are not necessarily safe cars.

My first car in 1979 was an FC (1959) Holden. That was a dangerous car; crossplies, vacuum operated windscreen wipers, no heating to demist the screen, no seatbelts required by law (although I did fit them), etc.

Then after 6 months I got my first V8 (first of many). 18.5 years old running around in a 2 year old Ford XC 4.9L V8. And just to disappoint you, I never crashed it or got convicted for speeding. Furthermore I didn't, nor have I since, driven under the influence.

I'm glad you found it nice to meet me, the pleasure was all your's LOL.

Cheer up,

FollowupID: 378849

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:41

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:41
yeah lets make those 70 y/o retired people do 120km and risk having an accident and killing themselves.....they shouldn't of been on the road in the first place cause your taxes paid for that bit of road.....what a stupid post....

Leroy
AnswerID: 123719

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:01

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:01
Who said they have to do 120?

When you say "what a stupid post", I agree, you shouldn't have made such an outrageous remark ROFLMAO.
FollowupID: 378851

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 12:07

Sunday, Aug 07, 2005 at 12:07
It doesn't matter what speed you want to make them do. The point is makeing people drive faster than what they are comfortable with. They are driving at the speed there at for a reason hence my 'stupid post' comment

Leroy ROFLMAO X2
FollowupID: 379104

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:55

Wednesday, Aug 03, 2005 at 23:55
Jimbo,

I think you've got the message mate.

Anyone towing bloody great big ANYTHING's, (even with a MACK truck) would have to have rocks in their head to be cruising at the sort of speed you are suggesting.

You just can't stop quick enough in an emergency.
That is why millions of dollars are spent on dual carriageways and passing lanes; so that impetuous drivers can pass without taking out three cars in the process and creating more road fatality statistics.

Surely your just taking the p!ss by posting this topic???

AnswerID: 123723

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:33

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:33
LMAO, you havnt' seen the truckies over here, they've passed me with 3 trailers on when I've been doing 110km/hr!!
FollowupID: 378841

Reply By: ellmcg - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:02

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:02
Just for the record, in NSW (and I guess other states) the legal speed limit for horse floats (in use) is 80km/hr.
AnswerID: 123724

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:27

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 00:27
Jimbo led with his neck and now your chopped daddy.

Most vehicles in top gear tow at around 90 to 95 kph quite comfortably because it suits the torque and fuel economy.

And I agree with footloose.

I can tow at the speed limit and beyond but choose not to for the above reasons and for safety. If you see me then give a call on the uhf and I will endeavor to let you through.

As they say Hell ain't full yet.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 123727

Reply By: bundyman - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:16

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:16
Jimbo, more importantly what does the law state in relation to side mirrors for people towing vans. I would see atleast 75% of vehicles towing vans don't have wide enough side mirrors. All too often I will come up behind a caravan on the highway (doing 90kmh - which is fine) but I can't see their mirrors. As you get closer you can see some of them drifting over the white line, totally oblivious that there is even a vehicle behind them (cause they couldn't see you even if they wanted too). Then they get this nasty look when you shoot past them because you want to spend as little time beside them as possible.

Towing a van wider than the vehicle should be illegal without extended mirrors that allow you to see vehilce behind!!

Hughesy
AnswerID: 123736

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:51

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:51
It is ilegal to tow without mirrors that do not allow one to see past the van.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 378747

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:55

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 07:55
Jimbo.

I'll let you of easy. I guess the real answer hear is the "not so common" courtesy.
One thing to think about is for many out there, they are maybe lucky if its once a year they get to take their van out.
A lot of the surfaces they travell on are new to them. Single lane bitumen for example. A lot of people don't even know how to pass on-coming traffic in this situation.
A wide range of knowledge and experience out there. Someone of your experience show know enough to show some consideration even if others don't.

Wim
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 123740

Reply By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:52

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:52
While I sympathise with what Jimbo is saying, ever tried getting past a caravan on the Great Ocean Road?, what you're asking/saying is totally irresponsible.
In the last week or so I've seen or heard of 3 incidents involving jacknifed trailers, one incident on the Hallam-Belgrave road where the trailer came away from the A-frame and killed the driver of an oncoming car!
I would dare suggest the "trailer driver" was not being irresponsinble, but maybe pressured into driving at 100kmh???
Now that's what we need, more trailers zooming around the country at ridiculous speeds using more fuel and possibly creating a higher risk.
I would suggest that if you don't have the patience to drive, then you should catch a train, bus or taxi, and knock down a stubbie or 10, and become less of a risk!
BTW, on all trips I have made in the past 10 years, I almost always only travel at around 90kmh, and find that I can usually get about 60kms more out of an 80L tank :)
Sometimes even dropping down to 75kmh to get that 20km more!
The $ saving over a Melb-Darwin trip add up.
But courtesy is my major concern, always letting the Jimbo's of this world through, or speeding up in areas where there are no overtaking opportunities to alleviate the frustration levels, then slowing down again, to let "Jimbo" pass ;-)
Gimme a strong tailwind and a deadline and you'll find me zooming past you at 140, even though the 'ol Rangie will demolish 2 litres of oil in the process! :/
I just don't like to see or hear of people getting killed because of stupidity, incompetence, or impatience.
- SO CHILL OUT DUDE!
AnswerID: 123764

Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:58

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:58
The Police, Transport Authorities and Road Safety bodies are all encouraging drivers to slow down but some are not hearing the message.

What does it take to get the 'slow down' message through to the 'Bloody Idiots"?

Anyhow, where is the evidence that drivers of slower vehicles are inattentive, unskilled or do not let vehicles pass? My experience and the advice of Road Safety Authorities indicate to me that it is commonly the drivers of fast vehicles who lack skill and judgement.

It is often foolish to tow heavy trailers at the speed limit or beyond. Have a long think about the more limited capabilities of the vehicle and trailer combination and the relative ease with which stability can be compromised.

Similarly, many fourbies are commercial vehicles in disguise and require more careful driving than a modern passenger sedan.

I suppose the same people who rant about 'slow drivers' also bitch about 'L' &' P' Plate drivers, men wearing hats, Volvo drivers, women drivers, drivers who are unfamiliar with the locale etc, etc.

I read a report some years ago wherein it was claimed that people who commonly drive too fast for the conditions and break road laws could be sociopaths who also rule-break in other areas of life (eg thieving, assaults etc). Not a pretty thought!
AnswerID: 123765

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:05

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:05
I should add that having read some of Jimbo's posts I appreciate that he is unlikely to be in the 'bloody idiot' category.

However I am more often put at risk by drivers who would consider themselves to be 'good, fast drivers'! Bunkum, outside of the race track there is no such thing as a fast driver who is a good driver. They are bloody menaces and it is usually up to the 'slow' drivers to save their bacon.
FollowupID: 378740

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:59

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 09:59
I 100% agree with Jimbo. You can tell the people that tow mobile roadblocks, they are all the ones against you!

Although this has been done before on here, I find it very rare that someone with a bowling hat on the rear parcel shelf will EVER pull over and let people pass.

One last thing, what sort of bleep wit designs overtaking lanes to 90% of the time by on the side of Mt Everest, not on the flat?
AnswerID: 123766

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:08

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:08
Doesn't bother me greatly Truckster.

I can pass almost anything , even towing my CT , with my Petrol Patrol. ;)

Its only you Diesel people that have issues . . . Lol
FollowupID: 378742

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:10

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:10
'what sort of bleep wit designs overtaking lanes to 90% of the time by on the side of Mt Everest, not on the flat'

I tow my boat at 100+ kph comfortably and you get stuck behind someone doing 90 and when they get to the overtaking lane they speed up to 110kph and combined with the o/t lane on a hill I have no chance to get pass!! Then at the end of the o/t lane they slow back down to 90kph, now that p!sses me off more than being stuck behind a van sitting on a constant 90kph!

Leroy
FollowupID: 378743

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:12

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 10:12
Trust me we had no issues overtaking people on the weekend and that was with the Simex's on :D

When I was driving trucks, you stand no chance...

Leroy, I agree.. We had one on the weekend up to 120/100 zone from 80/100zone as the overtaking lane came up.... still got past :D
FollowupID: 378745

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:02

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:02
Those bleep-wits :o ,that's the real issue, not the van tow'ers!
How many times, even sitting on the freeways, at 110 or 111(using cruise control), you're obviously coming up to a slower travelling car, and as soon as you've come up beside them, they speed up to 112!
So now you're sitting in the right lane at 111 and it looks like you're a right lane hog :)
These people bleep me more than anything else :(
Heathens #$%*
FollowupID: 378750

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:04

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:04
No, the van towers are all innocent, they ALL get out the way, they NEVER hold up 10000000 cars at a time, then dont give a bleep ... N
FollowupID: 378751

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:20

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:20
Oh yeah , this one is my passion. Annoys the hell out of me trying to get past or overtake the twits who can't keep a constant speed. Just dying to be a vigilanty cop sometimes and get those right lane hogs off the road. Cruise on, they slow down, speed up, you get past, they sit on your tail, they pass you, slow down. Don't ask my missus how much bad language can pass my mouth when there a huge queue coming up to an overtaking lane, a wide straight down hill one even, and the twit at the front overtakes a .001 km/h only managing to get himself past then then the guy overtaken slows down again, and then the guy who managed to get past then slows down more and becomes the one doing 60 in a 100 zone.
FollowupID: 378756

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:44

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:44
Hey Tonester, was that you in front of me driving up to Swan Hill this past Tuesday ;)
FollowupID: 378764

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:50

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:50
Dunno, I was too busy doing 20km/h in the right lane, wasn't watching the road.
FollowupID: 378767

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:32

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:32
"Oh yeah , this one is my passion. Annoys the hell out of me trying to get past or overtake the twits who can't keep a constant speed."

Oooooh yeah. I have now come to the stage where I don't get angry, I don't do anything silly....

I do however not put up with drongos with spring loaded accerator pedals that think it's a game to speed up in overtaking lanes then slow down again, I now use my extremely effective very over the top air horns and spot lights. Much to the missuses disgust mind you, but like I say to her, these people HAVE TO LEARN that this sort of behaviour is what kills people on our roads. I'm not going to fall into the trap and risk my families lives by trying to get passed them but once they've had a serve of the horns, they quiet often pull over to the side of the road anyway wondering WTF is going on. ;-)
FollowupID: 378840

Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:58

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 11:58
Truckster,

Y'right.

Then there are the other bleeps who stuff it up for the good drivers:
- Sunday drivers;
- old buggers with straw gardening hats;
- young hoons with doof, doof, music;
- car with umbrella on the back sill;
- anyone with a deerstalker, eight panel cap, or beret;
- old Zephyrs or FJs, especially with a foxtail on the aerial;
- car with any nodding doll or fake animal on the back sill;
- police (they REALLY know how to slow down traffic);
- VW Kombis (especially with curtains);
- four door white passenger cars;
- station wagons;
- cars with 'baby on board' signs;
- women with coloured hair;
- women with big sunglasses with gold logos on them;
- Vespas (a new Italian threat - all the earlier ones were run over by Council buses and trucks);
- driver wearing a scarf (especially a plaid scarf);
- anyone of foreign appearance;
- Citroens (but not if driven by men of Gallic appearance - instead they are reckless bleeps who probably reek of garlic and don't know the road rules);
- Peugeots (but disregard the above qualification for Citroens);
- cars with tourist stickers;
- tradesmen with old trailers (shouldn't be many of them around now given the housing boom);
- Dept Transport road maintenance trucks and crews;
- old f*rts with new sports cars;
- old f*ts with old sports cars;
- old f*rts who look like they have money in the bank;
- boomer couple with granny in the back;
- fourby poseurs with umpteen driving lights, huuuuge tyres, purple paint and wrap-around sunglasses;
- poseurs with their foglights always on;
- any vehicle that appears to be from a different State or town;
- trucks hauling logs; and
- farmers.
- cars with venetian blinds;
- cars with dog/cat lover or veterinary signs in the back window;
- cars with dog, car or parrot in the car;
- slow pedestrians;
- cycles on roads;
- fourbys with 'mum's shopping trolley' sticker;
- farmers moving stock;
- women with the netball team in a people mover;
- any car with a netball sticker;
- any car with a trailer doing the garbage run to the tip;
- any car with a trailer doing the 'moving house' run;
- Commodores towing Jayco pop-tops;
- expensive European cars driven by old f*rts (no old bleep should be allowed to own a Porsche or Mercedes);
- top of the range Hyundais (always driven by old bleeps); and
- any ridiculously tiny commuter cars.

If there anyone missed please feel free to add.

On a brighter note, do you know that if you get the bigger diesel donk in a F350 it has enough grunt for some quick pick-up before the lady with the lolly pop sign can stop you at a school crossing? Hmmmmm, forgot to put school speed zones and lolly-pop ladies into the list of bad things that slow down good drivers.

All in jest, no need for flames ;-)

EV700

AnswerID: 123779

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:27

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:27
You left out psycopaths driving Lifted Turbo charged Simex shod angry GQ wagons and sedate underpowered submarine-like Hyundai Softroaders...........hahahahahahahahaha..........Very Funny EV700. Them are most of the people we yell at on the road forgetting that we fall in somewhere in a category LOL
FollowupID: 378803

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:57

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:57
Willem
True.
I regret that I qualify for some of those categories.
Fortunately the spouse is an expert, flawless driver and always has been. I am not so lucky.
EV700
FollowupID: 378813

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:19

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:19
ev700, you nailed another one there with the cyclists... Not all, just the posers riding $5k bikes wearing all the latest spandex crap who think riding two abreast on the Melba Hwy is their right, no matter who they're inconveniencing... To these goat bags I say go pay some rego before you start giving the bird to frustrated motorists trying to pass you. Made one bloke stack into his mate a couple of weeks ago... Gave them a honk from behind(they were 2 abreast @ less than 20kph on the Melba) and the bloke out on the right gave me the bird. Wipped out and passed them then pulled over and got out of the car and stood in the middle of the road. bloke on the right tried so hard to chuck a u-bolt, he high sided into his mate... Laughed out load, threw a few choice words at him while they were scrambling back to their feet and drove off feeling completely vindicated.
FollowupID: 378837

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:45

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:45
I was going to add the "Baby on board" stickered vehicles but then remembered they usually travel at 'idiot speed' anyway.
FollowupID: 379002

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:15

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 12:15
Hi Jimbo,
The forum was getting a bit tame re debates wasn't it.

I think you have caused mass - debate amongst the ranks.

I even curse myself when I can't keep with the flow of traffic.
AnswerID: 123781

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:24

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:24
Someone had to liven things up.

Guess it was just me this time LOL.
FollowupID: 378859

Reply By: KOR - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:04

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 16:04
We regularly tow a horsefloat on the highway. Horses move in transport and therefore it is best to stay under the speed limit. If you pull over to the left, you run the risk of the tyre going off the side of the road and flipping the trailer with the horse inside.

Guidelines on how to tow http://www.horseproblems.com.au/horse_problems_australia_on_safe.htm

BTW Horses are known to poo over the back tail gate withhout notice. You best stay your distance
AnswerID: 123810

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:27

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:27
If a horse is your chosen mode of transport, why tow it rather than ride it? LOL
FollowupID: 378860

Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:42

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:42
Thanks for the correction on WA speeds - yes, it is 100, even in the 110 zones. Another link for anyone interested:
www.towingguide.com/legal_requirements.html
AnswerID: 123840

Follow Up By: Ando80 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:07

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:07
Unfortunately these websites never have correct info on W.A. laws. Unfortunately 100km/h is only if you have a trailer 750kg or less, anything over 750kg is still to be towed at 90km/h...

Ando80
FollowupID: 378853

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:46

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 18:46
In some sort of defence of jimbo, who said that towing at a speed limit of 100kl/h was anywhere near dangerous. Just because there is a speed limit doesn't mean anything over it is unsafe,just illegal.It is a free country so you can travel at any speed you like but don't have a go at somebody for wanting to travel at 100 or 110km/h even if they are towing. By the way I tow a KK camper trailer at a constant 110 plus (jackaroo t/d) because I want to enjoy more relaxation time when I get to my destination. And yes ,if your uncomfortable towing at a higher speed slow down or keep off the roads.
AnswerID: 123842

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:07

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 19:07
Jimbo, I hope this same concern extends to any ignorant 3#%!!/??+=+ who doesn't check their rear view mirror. Tonight coming home from Sydney on the F3, despite signs all along the freeway to "keep left unless overtaking" this wnaker in a Troopy dawdling up the big dipper at 80 in a 110 limit zone is in the r/h lane holding everybody up and is offended when I, amongst others cut in front of him from the left where there was hardly any traffic (If you happen to read this Mr Wnaker I'd love to discuss it with you) and then proceeds to go over the speed limit when he's over the hill and cuts in front of me. He wasn't a kid. Just infantile. An ignorant Knut who would rather hold everyone up than change into a lane where the traffic is travelling slower and let people thru. I think it's in the constitution not to let those behind get past. Having got that off my chest, it's easy to put yourself in caravanner's shoes, being 4x4ers, because every Lantra, Echo or Excel will risk life and limb to get past the 4b (or Schappelle {Corby}) in front of them even if it is travelling on the speed limit.
AnswerID: 123845

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:06

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 20:06
This is not quite on the topic but on a recent trip I had a bit of a fright when overtaking a road train. We were towing the camper van and fully loaded. My 3.0 TD auto cruises easily at 100-110. We came up behind a road train who was sitting on 100. The road section was between Port Pirie and Port Augusta and there are a good number of overtaking lanes. However the road ahead was long straight dead flat and clear, except for a dot on the far horizon. It seemed safe to overtake then and there rather than wait for the next overtaking lane, so I did.

The acceleration was much slower than I expected and it took an eternity to pass the road train (three trailers). We rocketed up to about 125-130 and that dot on the horizon started to get bigger. We completed the overtake with a reasonably safe margin, but it did make me sweat a bit. Even if the road train driver was alert and had seen the awkward situation develop, I doubt that if he had buttoned off that it would make that much difference. I would have still been accelerating and on the wrong side of the road and faced with the possibility of a sudden swerve to avoid the head on, with the trailer snaking behind. There was a fatal near Blanchetown SA a year ago in similar circumstances. A family in a LC towing a full size van rolled and killed the occupants.

Towing anything reduces your performance. Be careful out there!

Kings
AnswerID: 123857

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:38

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 21:38
Well hasn't this been a lot of fun?

For the record I tow a camper with a suitably powered vehicle. My "rig" can hold the speed limit and not present danger to other road users.

In fact, my setup is such that I can nail the throttle and overtake safely (not spending too much time on the wrong side of the road). I actually hit "horrendous" speeds of 130 or, God forbid, 140 for brief periods to ensure I am not a danger.

My setup is a balance of towing ability, power, and the weight of the thing being towed. Works for me and I'll happily accept a liitle less fuel economy so as not to be a nuisance on the road.

It's a matter of common courtesy.

AnswerID: 123875

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:56

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 22:56
The question though......is it really that neccessary?
Are you really a nuisance to somebody?
This seems more like justification that you HAVE to get in front, no matter what.
Is there really a rush to get ahead to save what may amount to 15-20 seconds of travel time.
Saftey is not something you can really judge just because you have done this kind of routine time and again and not had an incident.
At these 'horrendous' speeds of 130 or 140 (towing a trailer) what happens if a trailer tyre blows out at that point while you are beside the car you're overtaking causing the trailer to swerve off into the car, etc.
I was driving my brothers 14 pallet truck once on the newly opened Hallam bypass. I was at around 90ish kmh (loaded) this 'goof' pulling a "Jims Mowing" trailer, was obviously travelling too fast for his abilities, gets into a sway (and he hits the brakes!)
He was about 50 meters in front started to jack knife, I slowed, but lucky for him he swerved off into the grass, because if he had of jack knifed I would have ploughed straight into him(maybe).
My lesson was learned, because of HIS incompetence at towing.
For whatever reason he lost control (I don't care why), this time HE was lucky!
Not so the driver of the oncoming car on the Belgrave-Hallam rd a couple of weeks back!
Also why justfy that "you'll happily accept a little less fuel economy" what about your kids, or their kids, or my kids?
Every drop we save, they get a chance to use???
Nah! doesn't matter, we got it now, we may as well just use it (up)!

BTW, sorry to seem so downbeat :)
FollowupID: 378874

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:25

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:25
I would like to reflect on a sort of similar experience.

One time returning home, coming down great western highway near Coonabarabran, I came upon a smallish Hyundi type vehicle pulling what I would guess was a 20' bogie axle van. When I caught up to him, he was on the flat doing around 80kph. Nothing unusual except I couldn't see the car in front, nor any mirrors.

It was unbroken lines so could not over take as we came to a slope in the road. As he slows down to around 55kph, I start to wonder what was going on... Anyway we reach the crest and over he goes, gathering speed has he descends the other side. I think now this is better..

However by the time he reaches around 80kph, I decide to back right off again and wait till there is a VERY wide stretch of road. The very unsafe rig in front had started to fishtail down the highway and it was deadly obvious the person at the wheel was having to fight it just to keep it on the road.

I had 2 choices then, stay with him in the event he did stack it and render assistance, or, as happened, 4 lanes came up, straight stretch of road, me going down hill, off I took. As I passed, I looked over and the old guy (no insults intended here, just an observation) in his hat, was definitely have a tough time of it. His partner in the passenger seat, quite oblivious to the extreme seriousness of what was going on, or had simply passed out some time before.

Anyway once I got into Coona, I called into the cop shop and let them know a potential accident was on it's way into town. Maybe not a nice thing to do, but the way I see it I was lucky, others may not be.

Drive to the conditions, and make sure the vehicle being towed does not exceed the towing capacity of the towing vehicle, and one last addendum, stow gear in the towed vehicle so weight is evenly distributed, or over the axels and forward a little.

FollowupID: 378878

Reply By: RobEG - Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 23:28

Thursday, Aug 04, 2005 at 23:28
Hey Jimbo - u've really brightened up my day reading this post. i was going to go on about young blonde sheilas in hyundai excels and all those ex volvo drivers who now punt subarus but i've lost it mate - too many tears in my eyes from laughing at this ruckus - that bad i'm running the risk of a double post because i think i hit the wrong button last time.
AnswerID: 123893

Reply By: lemons - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:47

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:47
and. . . what's wrong with Volvo's
Na! . . . just kidding. I haven't had one in years. . .LOL

lemons
AnswerID: 123911

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:59

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 07:59
In response to "what happens if you blow a tyre at that speed?"

Well, not a lot really expect for wrecking a rim.

It's happened to me. I blew a tyre towing a 17 foot boat at 120. My own fault, the tyres on the trailer were very old and I should have put new ones on earlier.

She pulled up straight as a die.
AnswerID: 123914

Reply By: snow - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 11:40

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 11:40
The "good oil" that I received from a bunch of grey brigaders (mostly mexican) was that they primarily travel at slower speeds to achive better fuel economy (!!!).

I regularly travel between rocky and Brisbane and particulalry around this time of year the roads are thick with vans and I am constantly faced with vans travelling at anywhere between 70 - 90. Very frustrating to say the least and what's more the majority by far seem either little concerned or oblivious to the lien of vehicles behind them. I will add though that there have been a few that either use the UHF or pull aside where possible but inmy experience these are few and far between.

I don't have an issue with caravans, but I do have an issue with those who tow vans with inappropriate vehicles or through either ignorance or arogance fail to consider other road users by travelling at 20 odd ks below the accepted limit to save themselves a few bucks.
AnswerID: 123945

Reply By: Member - Alan- Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:21

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:21
The real problem starts directly behind the slow moving vehicle as it's generally the driver who sits so close behind they can't see what's coming and is not competent enough to overtake.
This only makes it more difficult for others to get past so the queue gets longer and longer and the vehicle in front gets all the flack and abuse.
If the overtaking lane is on an uphill stretch and he's able to speed up after the road levels out, of course he's going to.
If you couldn't get past before hard luck and wait for the next opportunity.

I tow a van normally at about 95kmh and that's good enough for me, I listen to the trucks and watch them coming up behind and pull over whenever I'm able to do so safely, like at a floodway when in the north of the state.
I certainly don't pull off just because some idiot wants to sit right up my backside dangerously wandering around poking his head out for a look.

Coming back from the North on the coastal highway recently I was overtaken twice by the same idiot in a Hilux on solid white lines!
Then at big roadworks further down a flagman said a Hilux had rear ended another vehicle speeding through the restricted 40kph area! Served him right.
Sit further back where you can see better, drop down a gear and floor it when safe to do so.
Alan H.
AnswerID: 123959

Follow Up By: snow - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:49

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 13:49
YEs, have seen some scary situations where the following vehicle is so close they are nable to see and consequently keep veering onto the oncoming side to have a look...

Following someone for a while at 95 km/hr isn't a drama, however , someone sitting on 80 odd km/h (and I see plenty of them) deserves to cop flak in my opinion.
FollowupID: 378930

Reply By: bgreeni - Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:02

Friday, Aug 05, 2005 at 23:02
Since I have been living in the UK for a while, and driving both here and in Europe, I am amazed at the different attitude to speed.

On the mptorways here, the 'speed limit' is 70mph, but nearly all the traffic drives faster than that, and I regulasrly cruise at 90 mph.

Even on 'A' roads the traffic is a lot faster than in Oz.

Don't believe that this extra speed is due to better roads. Most are similat r to Oz, and the traffic levels are much higher. The 'Speed Kills' is just propoganda. The limits in Oz should be raised
AnswerID: 124034

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 07:11

Saturday, Aug 06, 2005 at 07:11
Spot on.
FollowupID: 379005