Train Tunnel Driving

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:00
ThreadID: 25595 Views:5308 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Where are all the train tunnels we can legally drive through??????

I know of one near Yea (Vic)

There was one in NSW at Rlystone but they went and put a train in it again. NSW do have the tunnel on the road out to the glow worms at Lithgow.

There is the one near Mt Perry (QLD west of Bunbaberg)

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:08

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 19:08
The Spray Tunnel out of Zeehan in Tassie is an interesting little drive - neat fit for the 80s. Don't know any others.

Max
AnswerID: 125138

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 23:27

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 23:27
Tight fit for A Patrol as well.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 379938

Reply By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:03

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:03
Old train tunnels! yippee!
I don't know of any, could you post the GPS co-ordinates of the Yea tunnel?
I guess that's it in the photo? looks nice!
I remember one time going out to Tumut, and missing the tunnel tour(last for the day) into the hydro power plant, by 15 mins! Three weeks on the road, and missed by 15 mins :(

cheers!
AnswerID: 125152

Reply By: angler - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:21

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:21
I recently put some pics of our trip through the old Greenvale rail line on our web page.

pick "hervey range"

www.bycompass.com

AnswerID: 125156

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:13

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:13
Good site angler! and cool pics but no info on where??? I take it that the Hervey Range is near Hervey Bay? or somewhere else? I wouldn't mind wandering up there for a look see myself, so some more info would be appreciated!
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 379945

Follow Up By: angler - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:49

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 11:49
Hervey range is about 20K's west of Townsville North Queensland. Turn right at the top of the range, turn left and you are in the high range army training area. Sorry about that
FollowupID: 379968

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:49

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:49
Cheers for that mate.... We're heading up that way 2007, might take a look on the way through!!

Thanks again......
FollowupID: 380044

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:48

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:48
The tunnel on my rig pic is a road tunnel and built for that purpose. It is on the road to Woombeyan Caves SW of Sydney.

The Cheviot Tunnel near Yea VIC is at 37D 12.228' S 145D 30.267' E (can't do superscript here)

The Boolboonda Tunnel near Mt Perry west of Bundaberg is at 25D 04.855'S and 151D 40.558' E

These are old railway tunnels that roads now go through them.

The Greenvale line thorugh the Hervey Range west of Townsville looks spectacular.

AnswerID: 125160

Reply By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 20:58
Fantastic!
I think my leg is feeling better now.......
..... Oooh! I Better start planning that trip :)))

Thanks.
AnswerID: 125162

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:49

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 21:49
if your planning a trip around driving thru Cheviot Tunnel, dont pack too much, you will be in and out of it within 30 seconds and on ya way home.
FollowupID: 379929

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:36

Sunday, Aug 14, 2005 at 22:36
I meant finding more train tunnels ;)

Besides, I generally need a reason to go somewhere, the kids love tunnels, and they also love trains (They love Thomas to death!)
They can pretend to be Thomas or Puffin Billy all day long there.
It wears them out, and it's probably a nice photo opportunity too.

I can just hear them chugging and choo choo-ing now.............
FollowupID: 379937

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:10

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 07:10
arthurking83
Down in the Southern Highlands is a town called Thirlmere and they have a rail museum.... your kids would probably spend days there!!! LOL.... it's a great place!
FollowupID: 379944

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 09:57

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 09:57
I used to be a member down at Thirlmere back in 80's, great place to go, they used to have runs locally on lines. But that was long time ago.

also check out www.3801limited.com.au/ they are in the old Redfern yards.

We did a few runs with them down the south coast, adn did a wine run up to huntervalley with em.. Now if I could only get a streamlined 38 class in N scale for under $500us
:(

Check out AMRA model railway club in Mortdale too, the people there will fill you in on some good stuff.

also check out the Sydney N Scale club out at Guilford, thats my old club.

Im yet to do a page for the melbourne club im in... too much on at moment building my layout at home, and other bleep .
FollowupID: 379956

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:52

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 18:52
We visited Thirlmere last year on holidays down there, my wife's grandmother lived at Hilltop for most of her life, the train display is mostly static now but still very interesting.... I saw railway stuff from my childhood that took me back.... even the smell of the carriages and the seats etc..... and the old destination boards! My kids looked at all this very strangely!!! LOL.....
FollowupID: 380045

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:29

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 21:29
Brian, if you get down to Berry NSW near the donut van theres a house (or was 5-10 yr ago) that was a museum of rail memoribilia sorta 1klm past donut van towards nowra...
FollowupID: 380081

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:02

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 07:02
Thanks for that Bruce.... we're heading down that way next July/August so I'll keep an eye out for it!
FollowupID: 380107

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 10:26

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 10:26
This sounds like the basic premise for a good short book or guide.... "Train Tunnel Drives in Australia".

Anyone?
AnswerID: 125225

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:49

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 11:49
There is a book which details walks along old train line routes. Some are driveable in places. Not sure of the name but I saw it in Tassie in a National Park reception/shop.
FollowupID: 380154

Reply By: drivesafe - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 13:38

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 13:38
If you take the old Hume highway through Picton, keep going south under the railway line and climb up the other side.

About 200 to 300 metres from the railway overpass is a small lane way on your right. It looks like a drive way and you may have to go back and forth a few times till you see the lane.

Follow the lane and about 250 metres along it you will come to a tunnel.

The last time I was there, about 4 years ago, they had just fixed the roadbed so it should be easy to drive through it in a standard vehicle.

At the other end of the tunnel is the Picton horse shoe curve and a great place to watch trains up close.

AnswerID: 125264

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 13:42

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 13:42
Cool! :)

My BIL & SIL used to live just down the road in Thirlmere - and I've been past that road and looked at it dozens of times wondering where it went.

Thankyou! I'll check it out!
FollowupID: 379989

Reply By: Member - Matthew L (NSW) - Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:57

Monday, Aug 15, 2005 at 20:57
In Newcastle we have a bike track that runs through an old train tunnel. My kids love riding there bikes through it pretending they are trains. It is probably 100 Meters long
AnswerID: 125318

Reply By: Tony - Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:39

Tuesday, Aug 16, 2005 at 21:39
G'day Alan, I have one for you, BOOLBOONDA TUNNEL. It's between Monto and Gin Gin, built between 1883 - 1884. 192 metres long through solid rock.
AnswerID: 125486