engel v waeco

Submitted: Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:25
ThreadID: 26139 Views:5099 Replies:21 FollowUps:22
Probably been discussed before, chasing opinions on both of these. Is extra cost of engel justified? What are benefits with both?

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:32

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:32
search is your friend.......

Leroy
AnswerID: 128332

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:34

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:34
Oh and yes i think it is. Metal contruction, proven longevity, use less power and I am also a happy with mine.

Leroy
FollowupID: 382983

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:56

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:56
Also higher resale % if you decide to sell further down the track
FollowupID: 382985

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:06

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:06
Actually that is a good point as they do hold thier value quite well.

leroy
FollowupID: 382987

Follow Up By: Member - Paul M (VIC) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:38

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:38
just been to the cape and back, 9 weeks on the road ,3 couples in 3 4x4's. 3 fridges , 2 engels 1 waeco ,guess what , not a problem from any of them ,mine was the waeco ,all i did was purchase a 240 volt trans and away we went, got the fridge second hand from the fridge shop. all the mumbo jumbo about fridges is just that ,i heard stories from everybody about them on the trip,they are both good fridges.
FollowupID: 383025

Follow Up By: ACDC - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 20:40

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 20:40
Waeco uses less power than engel.
Engel is more reliable.
The only good thing about Waeco is the danfoss compressor the rest is c@#$.
FollowupID: 383090

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 08:54

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 08:54
'Waeco uses less power than engel'

Are you sure??

Leroy
FollowupID: 383164

Reply By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:33

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:33
Try doing a search. This has been done to death before - and there is not a definitive answer! It does create a fair bit of angst each time the question is posted though.

Not having a go at you - just reckon all the info you will ever require re: opinions between Waeco and Engel will be found by doing a search - and may prevent another unhealthy fridge debate :)
AnswerID: 128333

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:35

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:35
Don't remember seeing this topic ever having been discussed before, but it sounds like it might be a good one...(;-)))

I love my Engel (well, it's an ARB clone actually). Sits in the Gu and runs 24/7. Switch it over to mains power every night when I get home (I have a 240v inlet on the bullbar).

Waecos are gr8 too; I just don't believe they have the same "breeding" the Engel has....you do get more fridge for your buck with the Waeco, but will it still work okay in 20 years time??

YMMV

AnswerID: 128334

Follow Up By: HelenWheels - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:09

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:09
roflmao
FollowupID: 382988

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:11

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:11
Sorry to others for a bit of a thread steel here.

Roachie,

I am thinking about a 240v inlet for my Patrol. Could you mm me with details and possibly some pics of what you have done? Thanks in advance mate.

Now back to fridges.........................What I reckon is.................it's all been said before.

I bought an Engel because when the old Chescold stopped playing I was on a trip and it was the Engel or warm beer. The Engel does keep the beer at a reliable temperature. Just above freezing....MMmmmmmmmmmmmm! If I did not have to go to work in about 20min I'd go and get one out of it right now.

FollowupID: 383030

Follow Up By: Member - Allan M (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:50

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:50
Can't comment on the Waeco frdge but I just found an old warranty card for our 29 litre Engel fridge that I bought as a young fellow on 21 Feb 85. Back then we used it non stop for 26 weeks during a trip around Oz and it performed faultlessly.

It gathered dust in the garage for the next 5 years whilst we pumped out the billy lids then we kicked it back into use and have been using it regulary on 4WD trips ever since.

It still runs like a dream. In its old age we have bought it a cover and a cooling fan (yet to fit). Am thinking of buying a Twozones extension for additional versatility. Who knows, I might get another 20 years out of it.
FollowupID: 383330

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:36

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:36
Yes, I'm not going to bite either.

Switch the Post View to both and ensure both topic and Body is ticked, then enter engel v waeco in Keywords and click GO.

This will keep you busy for a while:-)

AnswerID: 128335

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:03

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:03
Oh and by the way. Now that people have fired me up on this issue:-

I'M SICK OF THE BLOODY PULSATING FRIDGE ADVERT FOR WAECO ON THIS SITE. So There!!!

FollowupID: 383002

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:47

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:47
Never noticed it. My brain appears to have an inbuilt filter
FollowupID: 383009

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:59

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 11:59
So is this post put up by an Engel employee, distributor or retailer or a Waeco?

Done to death..... :(
AnswerID: 128341

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:11

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:11
We must be tolerant Chrispy!

Many visitors and even some of the newer members would know nothing about the search capabilities of ExplorOz, until we advise them.

If nothing else, there is the entertainment value of how some of the established users answer the Engel v Waeco; Toyota v Nissan; Coleman v Primus Posts and the "mine is better (or bigger) than yours" debates:-)

FollowupID: 382990

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:17

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:17
Yeah... you're right Sandy

It's just my crappy morning showing through. Apologies all.

So... here's my response:

Engel! .... because I've yet to own a 25 year-old Waeco that's still working.
FollowupID: 382992

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:00

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:00
OK mate.

And just for the record, I also own an Engel.
Was only about $80 more than the cheap & nasty looking plastic Waeco sitting next to it and the Engel had a built in 240v/12v transformer and came with a free digital thermometer and transit base.

Hope I'm not coming across as biased towards the Engel, but I am:-)

FollowupID: 383000

Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:24

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:24
It doen't matter, just don't get a TD Jackaroo, they're too much trouble!
AnswerID: 128343

Reply By: HelenWheels - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:30

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:30
Hi kinnean

I am in the same process right now as yourself.

I have looked and looked and looked.

I think I am buying the Engel. It's not a big but I have only 2 x 45 litre eskys and without ice and a bit of thinking I will be able to fit my food into a big Engel.

I don't think it's Holden versus Ford or Nissan versus Tpyota. It's more like a Brand New Holden versus a Brand New BMW.

The extra cost? Well I would feel cheated if I bought the cheaper fridge/freezer and it did not do the job I wanted.

I'd pay an extra $1,000 even to stop my chicken going off and/or getting sick in the bush.

Open your wallet. Im am.

Happy travels.

Helen.

PS let me know what you decide.
AnswerID: 128345

Reply By: at4x4 - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:36

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 12:36
is the cost justified, yes,

one you buy because price is your most important factor, the other you buy because it has a better compressor, better construction, and a proven record, and price didnt factor as high in your list of importance on purchase.

Look cloesely at warranty on both as well, as cheaper price = cheaper service in alot of cases also.
AnswerID: 128351

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:01

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:01
A danfoss compressor will blow the doors of a engel compressor it just depends what box the danfoss is in.
FollowupID: 383299

Reply By: Trev88 - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:41

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 13:41

I did the exersie 12 months ago at the off road show in adelaide.

I ran back and forth between the Waco tent and the Engle van asking questions that each had reised.

I could not split then so in the end it I picked both of them up and felt the ruggedness of the Engle.

But what realy swayed me was getting parts to fix any repairs all around australia. the other factor was a retailer of both fridges when asked which one he sells most of he admitted he sells half the amount of Waecos but gets twice as many return for repairs. He did comment that the waeco's did not have problems getting repaired.

TM2CW

Trevor
AnswerID: 128361

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:12

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:12
Trev - there's a good point there - with something like a fridge, it's not the warranty that's so important - but the reliability...

You tell me what your warranty is worth to you in the middle of the desert - when yours is broken, and theirs isn't ;-)

Not pointing at either brand here - just that reliability is more important than warranty..
FollowupID: 383042

Reply By: HelenWheels - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:12

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:12
I just spoke to the Engel fello and at $1,839 for the 80 ltr its a lot of ice.

say four bags every time you camp.

camp 6 times a year

6 x 4 = 24 + 10 at chrissy = 34 a year.

34 @ $2 = $68.00

$68/$1838= 27 years of ice.

BUT I hate ice.

and i am only alive once.
AnswerID: 128367

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:33

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:33
Gave up on ice, even have a fridge in the kitchen these days.
FollowupID: 383015

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:50

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:50
Lovely maths ,seriously flawed however ,,eg. 1x 10day trip to Moreton island ,= 8day dry ice block +10kg party ice to create freezer = $50 ,then 4x 5kg bags ice @ $3.50ea = $14 for food+drinks esky ,total for ice before even on island = $64 , temp on island in January = 35+degree c ,,Takes 3.5kg of party ice to chill 1x 6pk of amber fluid from ambient to 2-3 degrees c as required , consume 2 x 6pk per day = 7 to 10kg ice required per day ,cost at Bulwer = $4 per 3.5kg bag = $8 per day x10days = $80 +original $64 = $144 for ice for 1 trip ,,,, buy 80lt WAECO from fridge shop for less than $1000 = 10yrs+ of never having to buy ice.
FollowupID: 383016

Follow Up By: HelenWheels - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:47

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:47
Sorry about the maths Alloy c/t.

Even on your calculations though @ $1,839 the Engel will give me 12.770 trips at your ice usage.

And it will be 6.944 trips of the same usage for the Waeco.

Im not a serious traveler but while im cashed up i will get the Engel. I may never (for many years) have the chance to plow $1900 into a traveling fridge again.

but a $1000 waeco from the fridge shop leaves me $900 for two ways and GPS's epirbs and blah blah blah.

I think it is not life threatening - but could be.

I might just stay at home and invest the money @ 6.5% in a long term deposit and tip toe safely to my grave.

: )

Or i might just flip a coin!

And if i make a buying mistake i will live with it and just buy the other in a few years time.

FollowupID: 383026

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:10

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:10
That's assuming you are near enough to a shop to buy ice ;-)

I'd reckon most people here are happiest when there's not a shop in cooee - and they don't need to visit one every couple of days...

Once a fridge owner, never again the ice!! - but we drift from the original question....
FollowupID: 383040

Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:45

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:45
With the Engel you have the option of fitting it with the TWOZONE extention . The extention increases capacity and freezer flexibility .
AnswerID: 128373

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 15:17

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 15:17
We just finished 6 weeks in the Pilbara . Autofridge and Engel did well ,but the Waeco sh*t itself .
Cheers ,
Willie
AnswerID: 128377

Reply By: jackablue - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 15:35

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 15:35
A mate and I bought our fridges together, mine Engel his Waeco. Apart from the bag falling to bits the catch breaking, the lid warping and the light not working his is fine.
AnswerID: 128381

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:41

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 16:41
We would have taken the small Engel if there were just two of us.

However we wanted something bigger so we bought a 90L EvaKool and it is beaut. Easier to clean too.

Gotta love that fibreglass and thick insulation.
AnswerID: 128384

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:01

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:01
When I was looking to buy one, I could buy the 40L Waeco for half
the price compared to 40L Engel. The new Waeco and dual batteries setup
cost me the less than RRP for for 40L Engel. Have been with it throught the
Simpson Desert and the like, no problems so far...

Stan
AnswerID: 128391

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:09

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:09
If I had the money would have bought the Engel. Solid Construction and last forever. Was able to buy 2nd hand 80L Waeco via fridge shop. Could not find a 2nd hand Engel. People just don't seem to sell Engel once they bought them.

Happy with the Waeco. For the amount of use it will get it will do me. If I needed it for work or tripped all the time would have saved up.

Is the extra cost justified? yes with heavy use, no for occasional use.

Actually second thoughts if I had the money would have bought the eva-cool. Probably not as robust as the Engel (IMO - compressor mounts etc) however the insullation is fantastic and can easily double as a fibreglass esky for great benefits.

spade
AnswerID: 128394

Reply By: patrol freak (NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:34

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 17:34
Like every thing, you get what you pay for. any thing is beter than picking steak or sausages out of water in bottom of esky"" had engel ware out two trucks now in third. fridge is 18 years old' only replaced two leads.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 128401

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:19

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:19
Both will probably do the job for recreational use however as to which represents best value for money you just have to look at which brand is used comercially eg chucked from vehicle to vehicle and when it is time to trade the vehicle in the fridge just gets chucked into the new one and that would be engal
AnswerID: 128414

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:58

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:58
lol, you wouldn't want to go chucking a waeco around too much...say a few prayers first I think.
FollowupID: 383332

Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:57

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:57
I've owned both.

They are both good quality units.

They both keep stuff cold.
AnswerID: 128429

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (QLD) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:07

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:07
Another EX waeco lover. Go for the Engel. Have had trouble with our waeco CF50 from day one... warped lid before it even got used in anger and two other lids sent from waeco under warranty were also no good., then died altogether 6 weeks into a big trip, rattling parts inside (loud enough to keep you awake at night). Yes, so far it has been fixed under warranty... but as has already been said, warranty is no good when you are hundreds of Km's away from a service agent (if you can find one) and you have a fridge full of perishables. Good ones and bad ones in everything you can buy but I think the quality control from Waeco is lacking at the moment.
AnswerID: 128433

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 08:50

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 08:50
I've used both. Have an 80L Engel Combo at work. Very tough fridge but not very practical. It weighs 50kg empty and has a 44L freezer and 34L fridge which is very tall and narrow. This cannot be altered.
As for the 80L Waeco it can be an 80L fridge or 80L freezer or approx 55L fridge and 25L freezer. It only weighs in at 25kg empty.
The Engel cost $1999 and the Waeco $940.
Niether have let me down but we are always redoing the silastic type sealant in the Engel.
The 80L Waeco does not suffer the lid warping that the early 50L did. It also has metal sides and is not all plastic.
AnswerID: 128541

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:17

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:17
Utie,

You think just like me, that's got to be scary LOL.

I went the Waeco 80 for EXACTLY the same reasons.

That was after 6 years of very faithful service from a 39L Engel.

They're both great. I found the Waceo 80 to be more practical then the Engel 60 (that was available at the time) for a LOT less money. My 80 was $980 from The Fridgeshop with a freebie 15L thermo cooler which my wife uses as her fridge in her shop.

The Waeco hasn't missed a beat in nearly a year; neither did the Engel.

FollowupID: 383302