Its official, ULP overtakes diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 16:25
ThreadID: 26198 Views:2727 Replies:16 FollowUps:16
Hello all,

Stopped to fill up work vehicle in Moonbi at Caltex, just outside Kootingal, just outside Tamworth NSW today, and ULP was a staggering 138.9c\ltr and diesel was 134.9c\ltr.

It wasnt like that at servos all over but this was my first official witnessing of this top price reversal.

Girl in servo said they went up 6c yesterday and 8c today, 14c increase in 24hrs.

I think its time the government did something here to intervene before this gets even more silly than it already has.

Thankfully I own a diesel, but its little solace in this mess!

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 16:58

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 16:58
its a national colusion...they are all at 138.9 in adelaide too
AnswerID: 128641

Reply By: spondo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:28

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:28
hey hey g'day

smells of cartell to mine self......... price fixing......... transport companies got in all sorts of p00 not so many years ago for this sort of conduct.....

i fell betterer now

regards robs
AnswerID: 128652

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:33

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:33
139.9 in Melbourne today too. This was after only a 4c price increase in the wholesale price - translates into a 15c increase in the retail price.

Fuel companies must think we're stupid and don't see the price for a barrel of oil on the news every night. Been $67 for a week, with a blip to $70 then back to $67. Where's the justification for the increase?

Glad I filled up yesterday.
AnswerID: 128656

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:44

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:44
Justification ????? has not and will never be ,the only reason is GREED ,trouble is can,t even blame little johnny H and the liberals ,was labour who brought in the price parity system for oil , so whatever some turban wearer in Saudi and a banker in Singapore decide WE have to pay ,,not always just the barrel price.
FollowupID: 383266

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:50

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:50
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh yes its about time our Easten states city slickrs were ripped off for fuel to know what its like - that is deareer fuel than we get in kalgoorlie WA
FollowupID: 383268

Follow Up By: angler - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:05

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:05
Proves that we really are stupid. Funny thing the gas prices are going up too, now thats got FA to do with the so called oil crisis. I did hear we sell gas to China for around 3 cents a litre and we get charged around 80 plus C here.
The yanks are using millions of litres a day in that sandy country to keep all those trucks going round in circles looking at people. No wonder there is a shortage. If there really is.
If Gdubbya gets the troops out the oil will probably flow again. eventually.
FollowupID: 383335

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:46

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:46
I paid $1.33 today for Diesel and the price just goes up n up.

BRING ON THE alternative fuels.

Makes bio diesel look better n better.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 128659

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:54

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 17:54
Thankfully i drive a diesel? Diesel is tipped to be near $1.50 by the weekend.
AnswerID: 128664

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:16

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:16
And if it is, ULP will be 1.55, if you go by trend here.

They are saying 2.00 by xmas!

Worlds gone bloody mad.

This costs us all a fortune, as diesel goes up, freight goes up, which increases prices on everything delivered by road, so we all pay! LOTS as we pay extra for every item we buy.

Should do what they did in UK, truckers blockaded refineries, so tankers couldnt get out to refill servos, servos ran out, country came to halt after 3 days, truckers refused to move till govt reduced excise on fuel.... and they did so!!

Ron
FollowupID: 383270

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:55

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:55
Ok different here mate.............over the last 12 months or so ulp is consistantly 8-10 cents a litre cheaper in the city.
FollowupID: 383280

Reply By: scottywiper - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:07

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:07
I've got to say. Paying 38.2c per litre for gas is making me happy at the moment. Sold my diesel 3 months ago.
When I bought it 5 years earlier, I was paying about 65c per litre for diesel, compared to 80c for ULP. I thought that was great.
I recall going bush and being outraged at being charged a dollar a litre.
AnswerID: 128667

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:09

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:09
yep LPG has a case for some of us
FollowupID: 383269

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:15

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:15
Sorry to you petrol blokes.... but YAY!!!! :)

(for once)
AnswerID: 128668

Follow Up By: Peter - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:04

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:04
I agree, who cares about PETROL. heheheheheh
FollowupID: 383284

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:06

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:06
For once is probably right Chrispy. Expect it to revert back to cheaper than diesel in the not too distant future. But then again .........
FollowupID: 383336

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:19

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:19
It's OK with me that diesel is usually slightly more than unleaded. I have been getting 8.0-9.0L/100km in my CRD as of late. Given that I'm getting that level of economy on AVERAGE (both highway and city), and pushing around over 2 tonnes of car to boot - I'm still way ahead on diesel. I do around 1,600km per week which is 5 trips to work at 140km round trip, plus 900km to Cooma and back on the weekends.... I save a fortune in fuel. I calculate about $130 per week on diesel, and if I were running a petrol equivalent of my car (Jeep Grand Cherokee) that consumes around 18L/100km I'd be spending $288 per week. That's around $160 saving - per week.
FollowupID: 383339

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:22

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:22
Whoops - thats 160 litres, not dollars. At $1.35 (say) per litre, that's $216.00 per week savings..... even better!
FollowupID: 383342

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:46

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:46
Hahahahah .......... good on you Chrispy. You're doing very well. I was only pointing out that the difference between diesel/ULP per litre will return at some stage in the future.

I had previously mentioned in another post that the only saving on my usage by going diesel was less than $200 over twelve months (not counting initial purchase difference and service costs). If ULP was to stay higher than diesel it would of course put a totally different complexion on things.

With the current shenanigans by the oil companies, we'll all have to tighten our belts a bit (some more than others) ;-)
FollowupID: 383346

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:29

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 18:29
ULP is still around 1.23 in Perth, the highest I have seen is 1.28 for ULP, diesel is still high 1.20’s and low 1.30’s
AnswerID: 128671

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:33

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:33
In Bridgetown today best price ULP 130.9, best diesel 131.9. worst ULP 138.9, worst diesel 137.9 (last 2 at same servo). At this rate we'll be lucky to be able to travel 50 km / day if we do the big lap! Tomorrow's prices are a few cents higher at the best price end. UGGHHHHHHHH.

AnswerID: 128694

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:49

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 19:49
From News Ltd this evening:
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Outrage at record petrol prices
By Danny Rose

September 06, 2005

FUEL companies and service station operators have been accused of profiteering on the back of global oil woes, as city petrol prices surged to almost $1.40 a litre.
The new top price for fuel paid by Australian motorists was reported in suburban Melbourne and Sydney today, where petrol was selling for just 0.1c below $1.40 a litre.

The prices drew heavy fire from independent fuel price assessors and peak motoring bodies today.

"Motorists are being ripped off by oil companies, and it's not warranted in any way, shape or form," New South Wales Service Station Association chief executive Ron Bowden said of the price prices.

He said "opportunism" was driving the market as oil companies raised prices in the wake of Hurricane Katrina and its impact on refinery capacity in the Gulf of Mexico.

"Crude oil prices have actually gone down, but (petrol) prices have shot up because of the shutdown of the refining capacity over there, and that's reflected world prices," Mr Bowden said.

"The oil companies are just passing that on to Australian motorists even though their costs haven't gone up."

Mr Bowden called on the Federal Government to step in and regulate the industry, warning that motorists would face further hikes if it did not act.

Petrol prices in other states today include $1.35 in South Australia, $1.31 in Western Australia, and up to $1.30 a litre in Queensland, where a State Government subsidy applies.

Independent monitor FUELtrac managing director Chris Kable said the surging fuel prices defied a drop in crude oil prices, from $US70 a barrel last week to $US66.44 overnight.

"Crude oil has dropped but prices have gone up 5c a litre – figure that one out," Mr Kable said today.

The Royal Automobile Club of Queensland (RACQ) said oil companies were realising margins of up to 25 cents a litre between the refinery and the bowser.

RACQ external relations manager Gary Fites also said "overcooked" prices could come back to haunt fuel companies, by reducing demand from motorists and negatively impacting on the wider economy.

The peak motoring body's Victorian branch (RACV) meanwhile hit out at Melbourne service stations, which it claimed had made a pre-emptive and "excessive" price rise after a jump in the wholesale prices.

"It has only happened at a few places and it is quite unacceptable and not sustainable," RACV corporate relations manager David Cumming said of the price of $1.40 a litre.

"We recommend that motorists look around, it really is an excessive jump ... this is an ambit claim and it should settle tomorrow at a lower level."
AnswerID: 128699

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:18

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:18
Dam right. It’s just like the banks they can never rase the interest rate fast enough, but when it comes time to lower them again don’t hold your breath.

It is all chit, and they can get away with it because they know that they have everybody by the balls including the government.
FollowupID: 383303

Reply By: Glenno - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:06

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 20:06
Youre all welcome north of the border where we enjoy a 8c per litre State Govt subsidy :)

AnswerID: 128702

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:09

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:09
That'll reduce considerably if/when NSW/Vic stop subsidising Qld with GST income :-)
FollowupID: 383337

Reply By: snailbate - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:13

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:13
hi all
The oil co post the fuel prices on the net as there gate every day price ,look at that and then decide if the price is over the top for fuel
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 128726

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:46

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:46
and now that Woolies and Coles etc have their little schemes in place there is a diminishing level of choice and competition...short lived honeymoon!!
AnswerID: 128734

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:58

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:58
Not so long ago I posted saying that I could (unfortunately) see the day when big 4wds would no longer be the go because of running costs.
As I recall nobody was really interested.
AnswerID: 128738

Follow Up By: Peter - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:21

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:21
Well i'm not about to trade my cruiser on a barina, or anything else for that matter
FollowupID: 383340

Reply By: Sarg - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:21

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:21
Jees. Really hurt today when I filled up .$41.00 for 100 lt of LPG
AnswerID: 128750

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:50

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:50
Sarg,

As a point of interest, what do you drive and what ls/100ks are you achieving?
FollowupID: 383347

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 07:16

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 07:16
Here comes the recession we have to have.
AnswerID: 128789

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:39

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:39
Geez now there's someone who should study up on the vagaries of economics!
FollowupID: 383397