Camper Purchase - Am I getting a decent deal
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:30
meaticus
G'day, I have been a passionate tent based camper forever but an opportunity to buy a camper-trailer has come up and I am thinking of taking the plunge. There is a bit of terminology I am struggling with and I would appreciate some advice/answers. What is a Treg Hitch?
I am driving an X-Trail at the moment, and it is estimated that this trailer, fully loaded, weighs 500kg-600kg. It does not have any breaking systems included for the price - would I need one?
Also, for those of you who are familiar with prices of camper trailers, it has the following inclusions. Would $4500 be a good price for this unit? It was built in 1996 and has has 12months rego. It is a soft floor.
FOLD OUT CAMPER TRAILER (COBB AND CO) MADE FROM 12oz BIRKAMIRE CANVAS ON 7"X4" OFF ROAD TRAILER
THREE JERRY CAN HOLDERS
TWO
WATER JERRY CANS
TWO GAS BOTTLE HOLDERS
TWO GAS BOTTLES
TREG HITCH
QUEEN SIZE INERSPRING MATTRESS
INTERNAL 12 VOLT LIGHTING AND BATTERY
PULL OUT KITCHEN WITH THREE BURNER COOKER AND HEAPS OF STORAGE FOR FOOD, PLATES,CUPS AND COOKING GEAR.
TENT SIZE APPROX 2.3m x 4.5m + 2m AWNING. (Inside tent you can fit two strecher beds and a porta cot on the floor and still have room to move)
ALL POLES PEGS AND ROPES INCLUDED
I appreciate any advice.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:40
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:40
Re Treg hitch - go to post 26133 and click on the "Couplings" link posted by Rolane. That will explain all. Sorry - can't answer other queries. I too have always tented it but am also looking at buying a CT - but I'm looking at new so no idea on 2nd hand units.
Cheers from the Moose.
Follow Up By: meaticus - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:59
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:59
thanks Moose
I am assuming I would remove the tow ball and just attach the Treg Hitch coupling - would it fit a standard tow bar arrangement or would additional equipment be necessary.....
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:11
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:11
The Treg hitch fits a standard tow bar tongue.
The 50mm Ball is replaced by a C shaped coupling which connects to a polyblock coupling on the trailer via a high tensile pin.
These are the most common Off-Road coupling arrangements and whilst there are others, the Treg Coupling has a proven track record.
The price sounds reasonable if the unit is in sound condition, although the starting price for a new camper trailers is not a great deal more.
You just need to judge that the features you are getting are what you require.
Have a look at a few new ones in dealers yards and you will get a better idea how they compare to the second hand one.
Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:51
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:51
A Tregg Hitch is an offroad coupling. Allows for greater , safer movement offroad.
If its FULLY loaded at 600kg's , then legally , you need brakes at 750kg's but , that would be the MAXIMUM , I would be running without brakes.
Mine current weighs about 600kg's and I'm towing with a 4.5 Patrol. I think its borderline.
Legally , as I said , not required , but , I would be looking at adding them , especially being towed by a light(ish) vehicle.
Dont know anything about that particular Brand , sorry , but , $4500 for a 1996 is , IMO, a tad rich. I paid $7500 for
mine brand new CT, 18 months ago , with similar specs.
Ultimately , it comes down to the condition of it , for which only you can tell.
Personally , it doesn't seem a bad price (CTs do hold their value pretty
well) , but I would try and knock a few bucks off , in order to put some lecky brakes on.
Reply By: cascamper - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:55
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:55
gday mate it sounds like its a good buy. Treg couplings are in my opinion the best on the market me as a manufacture of campers can say we never have had one come back, Make sure its been kept
well greased. Check the
suspension. check canvas and stitching and check bed board if its a wooden bed board check for
water damage. if you can get your hands on the trailer for a day i would be more than happy to check it out for you at no costs. my number is on our web site www.casuarinacampers.com.au
Follow Up By: meaticus - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:03
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:03
Wow ... thanks for your offer but this is
sydney based and it appears you are in Victoria. If anyone
Sydney or Central Coast based is willing to do this, it would be much appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:28
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:28
Yep - Treg is a great coupling - excellent articulation and very strong. The price is quite ok in my view IF everything is all in very good condition. Check the trailer frame and hardware, particularly on the underside. Conversion to any sort of brakes will cost (maybe a $1000 plus at a guess) - beat the price down a bit and upgrade the braking ? A heavy fourbie will be happy with the legal limit of 750g in tow - the light fourbie can still do 750 possibly (check vehicle info), but not a good idea in my view - I'd have brakes in any case.
Reply By: Tony F - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:26
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:26
The plate on your towbar will give you all the towing capacities required, being braked or unbraked, IMO the x-trail would be a safer vehicle towing a braked trailer than unbraked. A braked electric axle with controller would set you back approx $500 and should take an hour or so to fit up
Happy
camping
Follow Up By: meaticus - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:34
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:34
Tony,
Thanks for that info. I am thinking, from the advice received on here that fitting brakes and a controller is the way to go - but i see so many softroaders that tow camper trailers without that sort of stuff - are they being unsafe or are they ignorant ???
As for your estimate of costs, do you know of a place in
Sydney that would do such a job for that price ???
Cheers again ....
Reply By: meaticus - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:37
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:37
While you are all being so helpful with your advice, would such a setup be easy to attach a "bracket" that would hold a 12-14ft tinny or would I now be moving into territory where I need to consider buying something with these modifications already....
Also, is there any brand/type of camper trailer suitable for the XTrail that would not require me to fit braking+controller.....
Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:28
Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:28
Puting a tinny on it is as easy as finding a man with a welder and some steel. Then paint it all up and away you go. You just have to configure it in a way that you can set up the tent without having to fully remove the tinny, otherwise overnight stops will be a real pain.
As for a camper to suit the Xtrail !! yes you can get really small lightweight ones but room is something they don't have a lot of and they are usually not very robust.
Go with the brakes thing, and drive with the knowledge that you should have no problem with emergency braking, should the need ever arise.
Follow Up By: Tony F - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:48
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 16:48
definately with muzzgit on that, 600kg would surely be close to the limit for the X, don't know of a place in
sydney as i'am Bris based, but there would surely be a trailer parts supplier similar to Active Fabrications ( one of a few up here) down there. recently bought one for a trailer 45mm square and 10" elec with handbrake was $450 and took us about an hour to fit and wire up.Try looking on the net because quiet a few parts are made in the southern states. Best of luck.
Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 22:47
Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 22:47
G'Day,
I second most of the comments made so far. You don't say what sort of
suspension the camper has but I'm assuming its probably leaf sprung. If the units in good $4,500 doesn't seem a bad price. We've found that with the continued strong popularity of CT's, they seem to be holding their price quite
well. We bought our first CT back in 1999 for $6,500 and sold it 3 years later for around the same. Similar specs to what you've stated though it was a heavy duty galvinised trailer.
:o) Melissa