Stockton Beach- Gripe - actually ALL READ THIS

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:42
ThreadID: 26408 Views:2835 Replies:14 FollowUps:8
Spent the weekend up on Stockton beach - had a great time.

What I did notice was ALL the rubbish up there , Not only the crap that washes up on the beach , but all the crap like beer bottles further inland.
HOW friggen hard is it to TAKE YOUR RUBBISH WITH YOU?

I don't care if you have a $100 000 4x4 and you don't want to take your rubbish back with you as it may dirty the inside of your car , YOU bought it up there - TAKE IT OUT WITH YOU! The only thing you leave behind is a tyre print NOTHING ELSE ( unless you want to bury your x wife in the sand -- that's also acceptable if buried at the correct depth :)

This also goes for all the other parks and so forth -

ALSO APPLIES to water ways - I have seen people on the water throwing there rubbish over board , these same jerks would be the same people that would whinge when a plastic bag covers there water intake for there motor and over heats it. Actually seen one family a few years back throwing all there crap overboard On the Nepean river ( Penrith NSW ) - I jumped in my ski boat , collected it all chased them down and gave it back to them at the boat ramp , with a dressing down with all to see. Don't suspect they will do that again

Long and short - If you take it in - TAKE IT OUT - you see someone doing the wrong thing - TELL THEM- if that fails - record there licence plate time - date and report them

My Tuesday gripe

Frank

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:51

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:51
Good on you Frank, I hate seeing rubbish left in areas, it pi55es me off big time. We have a CT with space for 9 much needed Jerry cans, yet I keep one converted jerry can on there just for rubbish, it's just common sense. Seriously, how hard is it to bag up the rubbish and put it in a bin?...got me started now. But it just shouldnt happen, there is no excuse!
AnswerID: 129810

Reply By: GUPatrol - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:02
This doesn't only apply to individuals, I have seen recognised tour groups (4x4 tours) leaving all their rubbish behind...
One was at Cape York and the other in the Simpson Desert.
I have also noticed truck drivers do this all the time...
When going for walks sometimes I also see rubbish laying around...

C'mon people!!
AnswerID: 129813

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:39

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:39
dont think all truck drivers do it ALLTHE TIME!
i agree whole heartedly but dont stereo type there is bad in every demographic.

personally i see it a lot fishing and it disgusts me.
FollowupID: 384268

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:02
Good one Frank.

How do you modify peoples' behaviour? You don't by turning a blind eye and avoiding unpleasantness. I agree with you that you need to confront people and embarrass them. Even if its just flashing your lights and tooting when they dump from a car passing in the opposite direction. Or calling them a ........ pig if in ear shot.
The worst example I have ever seen was at Wyangla Dam. It was like a lake inside a rubbish dump. Too depressing to go back.
AnswerID: 129814

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:08

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:08
I really share your sentiments.

So do most others on these 4WD forums - they care enough and are enthusiastic enough to want to be part of the greater 4WD community to be here in the first place.

I don't think that it's necessarily us that need to be told - but it's hard to define just what type of people don't give a damn about the countryside, and just want to go our for a blast and then get back to their city high-rise apartment before dinner. I really do reckon that our society is changing for the worse too. I think that a lot of people now think that their rubbish is someone else's problem - and are willing to dump whatever they want wherever they want because after they leave - no-one will know who they were anyway. They are the type who will change their own oil at home and let the old stuff run down the drain instead of doing the right thing - as long as no-one sees them do it.

AnswerID: 129816

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:07

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:07
I think you are definitly wrong there about society getting worse. There is difinitly a culture of keep the scene cleannowadays which is why the rubish that gets left around looks so much worse. As someone that goes out bush away from tourist areas a fair bit I can assure you things of bygone eras were far worse except these days they are called tourist attractions. Yep thats right the woodcutters camp that was strewn with so much rubbish that 50 years later there is still crap everwhere now people want to see. i have come accross many old camps and it is very obvios NOTHING was taken back just dumped everywhere. Even when i was younger it was recomended you bury all your rubbish rather than just leave it on the ground (we now take it with us). Old drillers camps have oil drums old tyres etc strewn around. Nowadays it would be my job to to a last check to make sure nothing was left behind. I realize everyone likes to say didnt happen in my day but the reality is it was far worse way back when and has been improving.
Not to say there arnt people like you mention but there are a lot less and at least it is no longer considered acceptable like it used to be
FollowupID: 384437

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:44

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:44
I hear what you're saying Davoe - the "clean up Australia" culture has grown in strength over the past few years - and this is commendable.

I think my comments are based on my experience of living down south west of Sydney for the past few years. Coming originally (growing up) on the lower north shore, which was just pristine all the time, and moving to the south-western suburbs as of late - you really see a difference in the attitudes of a lot of people. Down here they simply DON'T care what others think of them, and are quite happy to have a party in the garage and toss beer bottles into the bush behind us instead of binning them. You see it everywhere down here. A lot of these people have 4WD's too - and they do the same thing out there in the bush. People are trying to make a point of being noticed I guess - and to display this total disregard in front of your face is obtaining that goal.... a real "don't tell me what to do" attitude.

Of course this is only a tiny minority - but they do exist here.
FollowupID: 384456

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 23:37

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 23:37
Yes certainly some areas are wose than others. The roads around kalgoorlie are an absalute disgrace which I attribute to a few things which are connected
-Blue collar miner types (like me) male 20 to 40
- Big population of same going to and from work
- Most people that work in kal arnt from kal and dont intend to stay - Not my place
- Kiwis - as above but hate australia as well (always telling you what a bleep ehole it is)

labbeling as usual but put all thos factors together and you have a higher than normal chance of getting the empty winnie red packet thrown out the window. The problem with rubish is that it breeds rubish. (place is filthy anyway so why not?)
FollowupID: 384613

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:14

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:14
What bugs me is when you pull up somewhere in the "middle of nowhere", and find turds and toilet paper behind every second tree.

You pick up your dog bleep when you walk in the park.

You pick up your own bleep when you walk in the bush. Bag it up and carry it out.
AnswerID: 129821

Reply By: the outlaws - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:22

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:22
i have seen it as well frank last year i went back to newcastle with my wife from perth i had told her about the beutiful beaches and lakes around newcastle (my home town) i hadnt been back there for 18 years i was nelly brought to tears when i took her to places like cams wharf what a bloody discrace that place has turned out to be rubbish and crap everywere needles and camp fires all over the place and then i went thru to barrington tops that was it i turned the car round and drove to sydney i was disgusted with what i had seen.

take your rubbish home with you !!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 129827

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:45

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:45
Hi Frank,
I have family in Maitland, and everytime I visit, I also visit Stokton beach, love it, but like you said "HOW friggen hard is it to TAKE YOUR RUBBISH WITH YOU"? It's now common to see beer bottles, cans, broken bit's n pieces from there vehicles, nappies, plastic bags, wrappers, if it's rubbish it's there, and seems to be getting worse everytime I visit, some people dont give a chit, and then whine when beaches, park's, track's etc get closed down.
AnswerID: 129831

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:06

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:06
G'day Frank,
I'd be disappointed if anybody who gets on this site doesn't already do what you ask. I reckon we're the type of people (collectively) who would be unlikely to leave rubbish behind. In our case, my wife, kids and I try to pick up other peoples' rubbish if we see it laying about in the bush.

I am reminded of an incident that occured here in town a year or so ago. I was waliking past a cafe/deli and some teenage lads had just bought some junk food and proceeded to sit on the chairs out the front. Right in front of me this young bloke dropped the wrapper off an ice-cream onto the ground, when there was a bin about 4' away. Instead of blasting him, I decided to pick the wrapper up myself and dropped in the bin........remarking to him as I did it "mate, your mum isn't here to pick up after you, so I guess I'd better do it for you as you obviously don't know bleep from clay".
I kinda hoped he'd have a little think about that and maybe change his attitude; but I know that is probably only wishful thinking.........I reckon that after I disappeared, they'd probably have a good chuckle amongst each other and say "what is that stupid ol' pryck on about??!!"
AnswerID: 129837

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:07

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:07
Geez,
I got bleeped for say "s h ! t"
FollowupID: 384264

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:29

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:29
Use one of these HOMEMADE RUBBISH BAGS, easy to make and no crap in the car, simple.

AnswerID: 129840

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:19

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:19
Now that's a good idea - no Redback, in fact that's a fantasic idea! Beats the old roof rack dribbles hands down. Love ya work.

We always use the HD bin liners and double 'em up. If you crush everything down, and burn combustables like food scraps etc, the volume can be significantly reduced.
FollowupID: 384276

Reply By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:13

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:13
Hi there boc1971, totally agree with you. Last time I was up there which was about 3 weeks ago, couldn't believe the amount of rubbish left behind. I am appalled (hope spelt write) that people do this. If people don't wake up to them selves they will put a ban on people taking there 4wds on the beach. There goes another attraction. We have been there numerous times and the last time was the worst. As usuall, 4wd will be blamed for this happening and rightly so. Most people that go to that beach get there by 4wd, not walking. We saw so much broken glass there as well which is a major concern especially as people take there kids there to have a bbq and a relaxing day, they don't take there kids there to get mutilated by some p@ss heads that can't clean up after themselves, then what will happen?? people will then want to take the council to court and try and claim some money then bingo up go the signs NO 4WD ACCESS TO THIS BEACH.Please lets do as boc has said and clean up after ourselves and if you see some one else leaving their s@it behind up them for the rent and remind them what will happen to the beach access if they don't. Sorry for raving on but this really pi@@es me off big time. Have a great day Vitara
AnswerID: 129850

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:32

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:32
Although reprehensible and unsightly, littering is nothing compared with the bigger things done by us and in our name to destroy the environment.

I don't think the federal govt gives a hoot about the big issues such as global warming, excessive consumption and frivolous wastage of resources.

Another examples of vandalism (by State Govts) are: allowing commercial and housing development of prime agricultural land; draining fresh and salt water marshes; and permitting over-use of irrigation and fertilisers.

As is the case with littering, these bigger issues demonstrate our overwhelming concern with short term gains and lack of concern and conscience about the future.

I have a spare lot next to my house and people of all ages and from all cultural backgrounds and socioeconomic groups take the opportunity to drop their rubbish on the way past. After all, it's not their backyard and they have no further use for the packaging and chicken bones.

I don't think residents and visitors alike are convinced that Australia is really that interested in conserving the environment. Mind you, they are probably right when you consider the ambivalence of our governments to broader environmental matters.
AnswerID: 129870

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:14

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:14
I use those canvas rubbish bags that slip over the rear wheel and they are terrific. There is a link above that gives your the idea.

Michelle's Sacs have them if you want to spend an arm and a leg, or a more reasonably priced option is available from In Front Camping Gear .

In Front get a good wrap elsewhere here on the Forum. I do not work for them but have been a very happy customer.

Go for it Frank .. most of us here agree with you.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 129898

Follow Up By: Patrick - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 03:58

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 03:58
Just had a quick look at the In Front Camping site and the spare tyre rubbish bags and have a question. Do these bags stay on when travelling or are they removed and stored when on the road?
FollowupID: 384442

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 06:30

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 06:30
Hi Patrick:

I leave mine on when camping. When I spy a garbage bin I just pull up and empty it. The straps cross over at the back and tighten up. From a distance it looks like a wheel cover.

I bought a couple of them, and use two on the roofrack and they worked out cheaper than the traditional roof top bag. Put my bedding in one, and "odds and ends" in the other.

And Klaus was very helpful when the handles on my Porta Pottie bag I had bought broke on a trip. Sent it back and he wasted no time in getting me a replacement. I'm a happy customer.

You can deal direct via the website and he also lists some of his stuff on eBay.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 384445

Reply By: babs - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:27

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:27
EDUCATION... Thats what it all comes down to, they should have a common sense class brought into the schools & tafes...

Im with you and share the same gripe...

Babs...
AnswerID: 129900

Reply By: Banjo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:11

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:11
Absolutely agree with the sentiments expressed.

But how serious are Coucils about assisting the responsible people who do care?

Our local council have just come up with a great plan to put a fence around our now free transfer stations and plan to charge us to use them. Fair enough.. maybe.

BUT to use it, you will have to go on one the 3 weekdays per week it will be open. AND be there between 9.00am to 3.00pm.
Or go on Sunday between 9.00am-1.30pm.

Is it any wonder some people give up and just dump it in the bush!

AnswerID: 129982