Magazines?

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:01
ThreadID: 26524 Views:7382 Replies:20 FollowUps:19
Which magazines do you buy and why? or do you just reckon there full of crap.
Me well I am a bit tragic and get overlander,4wd monthly and 4x4 australia as well as western 4wder. just the thing to read through after a 12 hour shift waiting for your next week off. Things I find most interesting are the trip reports the things I find least interesting are competition trucks and articles on campertrailors and how much roothy has chopped of his 40 this time as well as cooking (but that goes without saying). I find the new vehicle comparos mildly interesting although any of those vehicles are 10 - 15 years off me being able to afford them.
I find the Trip reports in Western 4wder far and away the best as they are fully trip noted (km and gps and direction) and cover areas that cant be found on your road atlas (unlike the national mags)

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:17

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:17
I don't own a Toyota so there's not much point buying most of them...
AnswerID: 130504

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:29

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:29
I dont get them for there vehicle tests but it seems the duel cab utes and soft roaders seem to be getting pretty good exposure in them. As one of them said once if we payed attention to sales figures we would call ourselves toyota monthly. I guess it is the same with their trip reports with the vast majority following well worn tourist paths (oh no not the simpson/cape/grr again) and the rest somwhere in the Eastern states because it makes them more appealing to the masses
FollowupID: 384950

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:17

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:17
Dave I'm with you Western 4wdriver is by far the best mag on the shelves and the only one I subscribe to. Not being parochial either. The other mags seem to get bogged down in super modifying vehicles for extreme 4WD and comps. 99% of 4wd in my mind are only into where can they go, what's the new toy I can add-on, and reviews. WA 4wder does all, that for me without the BS.

Dunc.

FollowupID: 384969

Reply By: Patrick - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:34

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:34
I use to get the Overlander, 4wd monthly and 4x4 australia but have cut back to the last two as I found that Overlander just did not have the content I wanted. I like you, enjoy trip reports, interesting location suggestions rather than reading about soft off-roaders that IMHO don't suit being in a 4WD magazine.

Love looking through the letters to the editor, unusual stories and especially those maize of small advertisers in the rear of the magazines which often have great tips or products that may help me in my 4WD travels.

However, for real life experiences its hard to go past ExplorOz for the variety of credible stories and fascinating 'home spun' experiences on every subject you can think of and a few more after that.

AnswerID: 130505

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:38

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:38
Yea I enjoy those letters (some of them) which is not dismular to explore oz except it is interactive and you can get/recieve good advice (sometimes!!!) not just some of those half a$$ed responses from the ed
FollowupID: 384951

Reply By: techie - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:39

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 02:39
I don't.
I live in Sydney so I go to borders and read them over a cup of coffee.
I find there are too many ads and the publishers doarticles to co incide with the ads as opposed to being unbiased.
i enjoy the reading but take most of the articles with a grain of salt.
Same as i do with ACA and TT. The only show I TV I enjoy is media watch.

Techie.
AnswerID: 130506

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:09

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:09
hey what about 4x4 tv on channel 31, its a good little program repeated about 4 times during the week. I think it's melbourne only.
FollowupID: 384988

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 07:56

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 07:56
I also used to buy all 3. overlander, 4x4 australia, and 4x4 monthly.
I still buy overlander and 4x4 australia.
As for 4x4 monthly in my opinion this mag is single handedly trying to give 4wders the worst image possible.
There trip so called trips are a joke a large amount of there info on these trips are wrong and when you question them they dont care.
Most trips are based on how much booze you can drink and how many ks you can do in 5 or so days.
A few years ago they done a so called guid to the cape.
The following season We met so many people trying to follow there trip what a disaster.
Also same year there were more accidents in the cape than ever.
They also seem to need to build these monster trucks that have to crawl over anything that cant move out of there way and drink lots of booze building these things.

Well I got that off my chest.

AnswerID: 130511

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:16

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:16
well said Eric. About time they woke up.

FollowupID: 384990

Follow Up By: babs - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:26

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:26
That's my opinion exactly, I have all ways been a regular reader and have stopped buying recently for the same reasons. I think they need to start getting some feed back from there readers, the whole Roothy and drinking things are just to much, and the rest is said further along in this link....
Anyways who are all of us what would we know, its not like were fanatics and we spend our spare time talking to other fanatics on 4wd forums... Lol...

Babs..
FollowupID: 385167

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:34

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:34
Then there is the other extreme of politicall correctness with 4x4 Australia putting in an appology for those that may be offended and they in no way condone blowing away wild dogs in a recent article about a dogger in Queensland. WHAT THE .... It is a sad state of affairs when a magazine feels compelled to put in a disclaimer over the most worthwhile proffesion of ending the lives of the scourge of the pastoral area - the wild dog
FollowupID: 385168

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:39

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:39
If the bleeding hearts were confronted by one (or more) of these feral dishlickers in the wild they would appreciate the work done by the doggers etc.
FollowupID: 385169

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:30

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:30
Peter you try and tell them and they say they were only joking.
Or try and write a letter to help them get there trip reports correct they blame the publisher.

FollowupID: 385200

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:01

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:01
Canoe & Kayak.

Exploring Oz from a different perspective!
AnswerID: 130512

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:41

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:41
Good to see you with that interest Wolfie. I used to buy Paddle Power centuries ago, trying to get back into paddling again now. Kayak fits on Moses back easily.
FollowupID: 384955

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:46

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:46
I got sick of going places with nice waterways and not getting the most out of them. After hiring a canoe and paddling the nornalup I bought myself one of those plastic jobs which has been great down the beach and when travelling (flora river,katherine gorge,elsey nat park etc) - good fun
FollowupID: 385006

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:30

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:30
Hope to get back into it again too Davoe, mine is an old 80s model plastic fantastic too, plenty of scrapes along the bottom. Whitewater has always been great fun where there has been enough water.
FollowupID: 385018

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:58

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 08:58
Davoe, I objected to Mr Moon's propensity to push just his advertisers and am sickening to Roothy and Animals exploits and amazingly as others have said, with the booze they need to enjoy any tripping. I think the finer side is to be in a condition to enjoy the quality things in life.

I have resisted the promotional DVD and first aid kit offers when they ring every two months. I know others have said before they have 20 months subscription or even longer. I think I have other things I can look forward to but have tended towards Overlander a bit more lately.
- 4X4 Australia ditched for brand saturation in articles
- 4WD Monthly resisting marketing, but current 12 mth subscription
- Overlander more travelling interest, less bulls*!t.....

Big problem is the trees I want to recycle as the daily/weekly/monthly paper intake is The Age x7, the Fin Review, The Warrnambool Standard x6, weekly is the farming paper the Weekly crimes (Times) to flick through and several Australian and NZ farm management mags.
AnswerID: 130517

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:06

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:06
Australian 4WD Monthly.

Am subscribed up for the next 2 trillion editions or something like that anyway.

I love the articles, the trip reports, (The best read I have seen for a long time was the series on he Travelling Goughs....) the comparo's, the letters, the drivers profiles etc...... even the ads!

Yes...... they drink a lot and do seem to advertise that it's ok to drink.... but at least they only drink around the camp fire after the days driving is finished.... although Roothy's tech articles always rely heavily on XXXX, which is a shame 'cos you and I know that he's having a lend of us, but not everyone knows do they??? So some of 'em think that it's ok to drink and work..... that is a BAD combination! And I agree wqith Eric about the light hearted aprroach to their adventures, but surely if people decide to "do the Cape/desert/high country WITHOUT doing the necessary homework just because the magazine guys did it..... wouldn't it be fair to say that they're the ones at fault? The mag has to take some blame..... definitely, but ultimately the person who decides to drag their family and truck halfway around the country without first looking into what lies ahead should shoulder the bulk of it.

I think what I am trying to say is, I don't take it too seriously. John Rooth is a very educated man, "Roothy" is a "bush-mechanic" character portrayed by Rooth in a way that would resemble just about every "bushie" standing the bar on Saturday nights in public bars in every other bush town in Australia, if not tonight, then most certainly in recent days gone by.

Don't take him seriously!

(Oh.... and I hope one day he stops attacking that poor 40 series troopy.)

Actually my only gripe with them is they lifted the lid on a shonky driver training outfit recently but refused to name them.

Anyone know who it was??

AnswerID: 130535

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:00

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:00
Yes Brian, I keep 4WD Monthly in the dunny. Great lite read when I go 'camping'. Eventually get it read cover to cover (sometimes twice) before the next edition arrives.
FollowupID: 384972

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:08

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:08
4WD Monthly - If it's not a Toyota it's not the best.

Example:
Prado - "excellent clearance"
Pajero - "terrible clearance"
Yet the pajero has the same clearance (within +/- 5mm)

Hilux - Best ute
Yet the Rodeo was better off-road & comfort.

I believe they are all a waste of money - better off looking at some of the forums like this one, that way you can ask questions, give advice, etc.
AnswerID: 130537

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:48

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:48
I used to contribute articles for 4x4 Australia Mag up until the mid 90's but then the heirachy of the mag became too pushy in respect to contributions in my opinion, and I gave it away. Ron Moon is still a good mate of mine. But I seldom buy a mag these days

For a while I got into 4WD Monthly but their editorial content has become arrogant(or maybe I am in the wrong age group...lol) and their constant reference to drinking copious amounts of beer makes you a good 4wdriver bleep me off, so I don't buy their mah either.

Every time I get a bee in the bonnet about either buying the 4by opr camper trailer i resort to 4x4 Trader and Just 4x4's. I can sit for hours fanning through the pages looking and heaps of the same vehicles...hahahahaha.

4x4 Trader pulls no punches in its article about the new Nissan Pathfinder. The magazine however is owned by ACPMags ghoever as is 4x4 Australia Mag and it would seem many of their writers overlap.

When I have dissected all the various 4bies I puit the mag away and do nothing hahahaha. It is pure entertainment value.
AnswerID: 130542

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:36

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:36
I got sick of each of the 3 mags. Can't believe a lot of what is written. And they aren't exactly cheap.

I find Andrew Hiscock's online magazine has much better stuff in it
4wheelingSA

And its free!!

AnswerID: 130546

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:18

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:18
Yes local is always best. Hence why one of the reasons I find western 4wder so good (that and its trip notes). I met Andrew when iwas in Whyalla and had a read of some hard copys of the Mag - A good read. Bit concerned about downloading the mag with a work computer - might do it anyway
FollowupID: 384997

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:28

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:28
I get overlander from the library, read it in a day and take it back. They are good for catching up on new products etc.
New vehicle write ups are just a blur unless youre interested in that particular vehicle, but even then.
4x4 Aust is about the same as Overlander and probably not worth the 5 bucks.
Picked up 4x4 monthly once, seemed poor quality and too hardcore for me.
Dean

AnswerID: 130556

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:05

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:05
full of ads, worthless "TESTS", biased $$$ influenced reports, and everythin' is free online now, why waste the bucks.
AnswerID: 130559

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:27

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:27
Yep, a lot of useful info such as track reports and closurers is out of date by the time it gets to print.
FollowupID: 385026

Reply By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:17
Women's Weekly for blokes - nothing that you don't already know and if you don't then it's not important anyway! Despite that, I still subscribe to 4X4. It is getting too comp heavy though and the trips are sparse. 10 months before having to make the decision to re-subscribe....
AnswerID: 130581

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:27

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:27
They seem to have lost the plot.
If you cant crawl over it lets race around it and or winch over it.
Beats me.

FollowupID: 385199

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:57

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:57
eric
same arguement is had weekly on Outerlimits about lack of comp chit in magazines.

you cant please everyone
FollowupID: 385250

Reply By: Rono - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:47

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:47
seems to be the same stuff over and over month after month stopped buying saved money to do more read about doing less
AnswerID: 130590

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:33

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 06:33
Ron I still have a soft spot for overlander.

FollowupID: 385201

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:55

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:55
used to get 4x4aust but when they moved to sydney it changed and i stopped getting it delivered but i have every copy of the on the road mag and reckon its equal to this site but thaats just my opinion

AnswerID: 130591

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:48

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:48
Nude Readers Wives (up to Volume 7) and Portugese Masking Tape Monthly.
AnswerID: 130661

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:55

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:55
ROFLMAO .... nut case :)
FollowupID: 385137

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 14:22

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 14:22
I read them all the cost being included in my council rates.
AnswerID: 130669

Reply By: Boc1971 - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:58

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:58
NONE - i dont buy 200 pages of paid advertisements to read 4 pages of usable 4x4 information

Frank
AnswerID: 130766

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 10:06

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 10:06
Davoe,

I only buy Overlander because my boss, Vic has a column in the magazine and sometimes my name gets a mention.

AnswerID: 130768

Reply By: signman - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 12:12

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 12:12
Any magazine that has more editorial and stories than it has advertisements.
There's few of them around these days.
AnswerID: 130790