Slob more than slick is city 4WD type (Quote from The Age)

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 07:01
ThreadID: 26793 Views:3230 Replies:15 FollowUps:8
Slob more than slick is city 4WD type (The Age - 27/9/05)

FORGET the fit, rugged, 30-or-so-year-old navigating flood plains and climbing mountains in snazzy four-wheel-drives depicted in commercials.

In reality, the drivers are often obese, aggressive, intolerant and aged in their 40s or 50s.

An Australia Institute study has found that city owners of large four-wheel-drives are less community minded than other drivers, less charitable, more likely to be homophobic and have a low opinion of Aboriginal culture.

It also found they are more likely to use force to get their way.

Based on a Roy Morgan Research survey in 2003-04 of 24,718 people aged 14 and over, it found the typical city four-wheel-drive owner is a man in his 40s or 50s in full-time work with a higher-than-average income.

Two-thirds of their drivers in the city are overweight or obese.

They also had a lower regard for the welfare system than the rest of the population.

"These drivers tend to see themselves as rugged individualists who like physical activity," the report's authors, Clive Hamilton and Claire Barbato, said.

While four-wheel-drives are marketed as bold, tough, powerful and made for rugged terrain, the daily reality is that most are driven between school, work and shops in metropolitan areas.
AdvertisementAdvertisement

The survey counted only city drivers, where more than half the four-wheel-drives are owned.

But drivers of luxury four-wheel-drives are different. They are more likely to be women in their 30s and 40s who are more materialistic than other Australians.

"This group is more than twice as likely as the general population to say, 'I was born to shop' (33 per cent)," the authors said.

They also watch their weight, and are less likely to be obese.

Dr Hamilton said four-wheel-drives were less fuel efficient and resented by road users. He said special licences and higher taxes should be imposed on owners.

AAP

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 07:15

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 07:15
Makes me glad I only have an SUV!!!
AnswerID: 131936

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 11:01

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 11:01
I'm glad i dont think like that and feel compelled to write that crap!!!
FollowupID: 386294

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:00

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:00
I agree with all this. I have seen it many, many times over the years (sad really). Let's get special licenses for 4X4's, and have huge road taxs on 4WD's .**

** Only on owners/drivers who never leave the black top and/or can't show they actually use their 4WD for it's intended purpose! The 4WD community would be a whole better place and our image would improve overnight :-)

AnswerID: 131943

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:30

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:30
Obviously the stereotypes exist in Tasmania P.G. (Tas). We get that right all the time do we?
FollowupID: 386266

Follow Up By: sudsy - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:31

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:31
Pay more taxes??!! just to have a 4wd. Strongly disagree there.

Special licences? This country is over legislated as it is.

There are plenty of accredited 4wd off road training courses available

True some folk dont go "extreme off road" in their 4rby but some buy them just for the towing and braking capacity for touring with their van etc.

"Intended purpose?" What's that? I think for most of us a 4rby is having the best of both worlds in motoring. Able to get a bit further and get unstuck if need be.

Interesting that survey.
Conducted by Morgan Research
I actually knew a Morgan Research CEO 4wd owner who was almost as they described city 4wd owners!
He and his kids did take it touring off road though.

FollowupID: 386267

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:14

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:14
Come on guys, lighten up. Re-read the disclaimer ** ;-) Intended purposes? Towing caravans, camper vans, actually driving on some dirt roads, and maybe even playing in the mud (Heavens forbid!).

It seems to me that these "city slicker taxi's" that never get used properly cause 75% of the bad press we get! Let's tax them, so they leave the ones who actually need or use a 4WD alone. :-)

Cheers!
FollowupID: 386275

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:20

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:20
I thought I had the appropriate humour P.G. How many Tasmanian jokes do I need to add?
FollowupID: 386276

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:40

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:40
I thought P.G.'s 2nd followup was his 2nd head talking!!!

No offence G.P. but that gate was left far too wide open for me to leave it alone! lol.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 386470

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:32

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:32
G'day Mike,

I just was on ninemsn and they are running the same story.

I wish some of these academics could perhaps do some research that adds some value to someones life instead of producing this type of crap. I was especially amused how they make the linkage between 4wd owners and us having less respect for welfare systems etc.

Whenever it is a slow news day we seem to be high on the hit list. I don't know, whatever happened to freedom of choice and live and let live.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 131951

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:46

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:46
What is wrong with the demographic described in the study. Perhaps we need to harden up. We've become a nation of nambie pambies, well in the cities of the ast coast anyway. I lived in Darwin for a few years and I loved it. Old fashion rough as guts blokes and great out doors life style.

I'd rather the 4WD types than the "take it" attitude that is turning our country into a haven for dead beats and oxygen thieves that come here to bludge off our very generous and disfunctional social welfare system, whilst making a small fortune on the side.

Why should we tolerate welfare cheats and bludgers?

Go the red neck....
AnswerID: 131953

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:55

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:55
Sensationalist wording of the press release betrays a less than professional approach. And how professional is it to say that all four wheel drives are fuel guzzlers.

Just a few points:

- The survey was aimed at owners of Nissan Patrols, Landcruisers and 'certain luxury' fourwheel drives such as BMW;

- country drivers were excluded (I wonder what cities/towns were included in this group) and

- The sample included kids below age 18 and as young as 14.

Not a very fair approach, what!

They should be ashamed that their intent is so obvious.

What about aiming a similar survey at (say) drivers of luxury sedans and seeing if the results are different.

Or maybe one aimed at Volvo drivers........

Cripes, recently the same Institute concluded that Catholics were more tolerant of gays than members of other religions AND that Catholic priests had less doctrinal control of their flocks (than priests of other religions).

How is that for credibility? They have got to get real!
AnswerID: 131956

Reply By: Ken - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:01

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:01
Well, how interesting ! Like many surveys the facts of this survey seems to have been adapted to suit a reporters point of view. Was the survey about people's PERCEPTIONS of 4WD owners or was it actually ON 4WD owners. If as it seems to be suggesting it was ON 4WD owners you would have to wonder why it included..."people aged 14 and over"... I'm thinking there won't be many 4WD owners in the 14-18 age group!
As for a low regard for the welfare system how was that judged, perhaps that is where the intolerance kicked in; I'd admit to being intolerant of the bludgers living off welfare, hope it doesn't make me obese and aggressive.

What I find interesting is the way the advocates of free speech and so called intelligent values have no troubling in creating sterotypes and imposing their views on those with differing values and interests. They are often heard loudly supporting 'rights and freedom' and opposing all form of legislation that seeks to limit these things yet they can be quick to propose taxes and licences for things they hold in low regard.

Ken
AnswerID: 131958

Reply By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:23

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:23
As much as I hate to agree with what a lot of the journalists are saying at the moment, a little of it is true for a minority of 4WD'ers.

They (definitely the minority) get this "gung ho" image in their heads, and have to have these huge 4WD's, raised up on huge tyres, bristling with steel bars for the whole 360 degrees around the car. The trouble is, us normal 4WD'ers tend to pass by unnoticed, while these yahoos get all the attention. I work in Sydney, and there are a few that get around during the luchtime crowds. Ones a big black patrol, 2 door, old 80's model, with a huge v8, absolutely screming round the streets. Another is an old jeep, doing the same thing. There are so many other 4WD's around, but nobody sees them!

We have all seen them driving round. We have also seen them in the bush on Saturday nighs, drunk as skunks, music blaring, doing stupid things. Hell, I'm sure in our younger days, a lot of us were like that!!

A lot of this image comes from those 4WD magazines (i mean, paid advertisement rags...). I bought one once years ago, and the last article in it was 3 pages on how to change a tyre. In 3 pages all it said was to drink a case of beer, and wait till the morning. I don't know if these magazines have changed, but I never bought another one.

I am definitely not saying many of us are like that. But in the current media frenzy, these idiots are spoiling it for everyone......

On another note, why don't we conduct our own survey about the types of people journalists tend to be?

Chump
AnswerID: 131960

Reply By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:51

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:51
If anyone want a giggle, the NineMSN news site is running the story as well. One one side of the home page is the story (which is apparently more newsworthy than the IRA destroying all their weapons....hmmmm). On the other side is an ad for a Nissan X-Trail.

There is such integrity in journalism these days, isnt there?

Chump
AnswerID: 131962

Reply By: vitara - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:21

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:21
Hi All what a load of crap, try getting a licence to drive a semi, peace of bleep little bit of traing and you can drive these huge things, and they say people with 4wd need training or should do a driving course, I aggree that there are very good driver training around for 4wds and some peolple do need to be trained as they think they can be driven like a normal sedan, eg braking distance top heavy etc, but there are some pretty agro truck drivers out there as well including courier drivers in pantecks, high roofed vito's and ford transit vans, maybe they need some driver training as well or maybe the idiots driving the normal sized vehicles eg commodores falcons camrys etc need some driver training on how not to dive in front of a semi when it's trying to pull up at lights, and not to unertake a semi when it's trying to turn, or pull out in front of a truck from a side street then decide to right on a main road. The list goes on. Every body has driving faults not just people in 4wds. Oh and by the way I'm not overweight, I'm not homophobic, and I do find the aboriginal culture to be very interesting, and I only earn an average wage. Yes I drive a 4wd and it uses less fuel than my commodore. What a crock of bleep , and yes I have a semi licence as well. Have a good day to you all
AnswerID: 131967

Reply By: Terrano Tripper (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:44

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:44
How many 4 wheel drives are involved in police chases (unless stolen) or run into telegraph poles at high speed. Seems to me that drivers of commodore/ turbos/ wrxs etc should be doing special driver training or have a tax imposed upon them.

It's a load of garbage - accidents do happen - 4 wheel drive owners are no different to anyone else. Couldn't the same survey response be said about drivers of sports cars:

"Based on a Roy Morgan Research survey in 2003-04 of 24,718 people aged 14 and over, it found the typical SPORTS CAR owner is a man in his 40s or 50s in full-time work with a higher-than-average income. Two-thirds of their drivers in the city are overweight or obese. They also had a lower regard for the welfare system than the rest of the population"

What the difference between any car - you are in control of a potentially lethal weapon every time you get behind the wheel of ANY vehicle.

Everyone needs to know their limitations and drive accordingly. You cannot legislate for stupidity. Look at the P plate system, we keep bringing in more and more rules - but kids are still losing licences or their lives.

Take care.

Wen
AnswerID: 131971

Reply By: Justin - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 13:25

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 13:25
Whoa there.

Yes the article is sensationalist, and biased and all that. But I can't help wonder if the stats used are actually accurate.

I would be very surprised if 4wd owners on this forum represent the majority demographic of a city living 4wd owner. I suspect the average demographic of a city living 4 owner is pretty close to what has been described.

Why are we so upset over a bunch of stats that just might be true?

I think what we should be more upset by is the generalisations and sterotypes that are being applied to all 4wds becuasue of the stats.
AnswerID: 131989

Follow Up By: sudsy - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 14:28

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 14:28
I'm just a bit upset that a fellow 4wdriver suggested we pay more tax on them and get special licences to drive them.

That's all the gov. needs.....is members of the 4wd community coming up with idea's like these which would place even further restrictions on our lifestyle.

He might be made of money but we sure all aren't.
FollowupID: 386325

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:44

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 16:44
Figures, statistics and lies.

As James Killen was quoted as saying in the 60s, you can prove anything with a set of figures.
The example he used was that 99% of the people killed in the Korean war, both military and civilian, were killed with trousers on.
Therefore trousers are dangerous!
AnswerID: 132005

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:37

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 23:37
25% of road accidents involve drunk drivers - Ban sober drivers?
FollowupID: 386525

Reply By: cmilton54 - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:04

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:04
sounds like trying to justify his highly paid job
Charlie
AnswerID: 132041

Reply By: hoyks - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:23

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 20:23
The Australian Institute website: Australian institute

Anyone think they have their own agenda? Notice that the tabloid programs make no mention of who this group is or their manifesto . Of course it would have no influence on their 'study' terms of reference.
AnswerID: 132043

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 23:26

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 23:26
They must have missed me. I'm not obese, I'm left-wing (to the left of the ALP anyway), a greenie, no worries about gays, love Aboriginal people, drive defensively, favour higher taxes (for the rich) to increase welfare, live in the city (Sydney), don't like using force (except against the sort of rednecks described in the survey).
Admittedly, I'm in my fifties and have a higher-than-average income but then my 4wd is a rather modest one (Suzuki XL7).
AnswerID: 132090