Looking for daytrips near Sydney

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:02
ThreadID: 27312 Views:2786 Replies:7 FollowUps:6

I've recently bought a hand winch and other recovery gear and am looking forward to familiarising myself with it. It's the sort of equipment I guess you hope you never need to use out of necessity (a bit like insurance I suppose).

Anyway, I'd like to go bush and test it all out....doing a dummy recovery/practise run etc (and maybe setup a flying fox for fun with the pulleys and cables etc.). Unfortunately, I can only get away for a daytrip....anyone know a good little piece of bush not too far (< 2hrs) from Randwick that would suit, and maybe has a trail or two.

Many thanks,

Luke and Nicci
(Mitsubish Challenger)

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:20

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:20
Luke and Nicci,

The hand winch is not a toy to be played with.
If you don't know how they work join a club or better still do a 2 day driver training course and learn how to use them for what they are designed for.
Sorry if this seems harsh but they can be quite dangerous if not used correctly.

The only place that I can think of is around Lithgow, just in from the Zig Zag railway.

AnswerID: 134831

Follow Up By: Luke and Nicci - NSW - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:41

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:41
Hi Wayne,

No, doesn't seem harsh...I agree. Didn't mean to sound frivolous....like anything, the more you practice the better you are prepared when you need it, but you need to practice the RIGHT skills.

Any recommendations on training courses.

Luke
FollowupID: 388837

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:54

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:54
Luke,

I can highly recommend a driver training course. It is the one that I work for and that is Great Divide Tours. 02 99 1313 95 or www.4wd.net.au and ask for Vic.

We do all the training that you will need to get the most out of your vehicle plus how to use all the recovery gear. This is a great weekend and use our property down at Braiwood on tracks that have been put in for the sole purpose of driver training.

FollowupID: 388839

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:57

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:57
Teaching people how to use a hand winch and snatch straps is part of our one day course. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 388841

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 06:42

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 06:42
Or do a tag along in the cape with CyC ask for Eric 0418964279.
You can get to use the new gear and the new camping gear you are going to end up buying and have a great time exploring the north.

FollowupID: 388867

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:59

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 19:59
Hi all ,

Go to a 4wd warehouse and buy a book called 4 WD treks close to sydney by craig Lewis and Cathy Savage for $25.00 its a great book , THEN join one of the above mentioned clubs and learn all about the gear you just bought whilst having a ball doing it . Cheers!!!!

Regards JB.
FollowupID: 389257

Follow Up By: Luke and Nicci - NSW - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:40

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:40
Thanks everyone !
FollowupID: 389566

Reply By: mik_wright - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:30

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 19:30
Heaps of places down the south coast around Shoalhaven area and many around the Blue Mountains but I agree with Wayne, going out and playing with this stuff without training is very dangerous and a disaster waiting to happen.

Michael
AnswerID: 134832

Reply By: simple - Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 22:22

Sunday, Oct 16, 2005 at 22:22
the watagans near wyong have a plethora of tracks of all grades. but pretty much head any direction except east from your place and you'll find tracks within 2 hours.
AnswerID: 134850

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 06:26

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 06:26
We did the course at Braidwood and can well recommend it, if we had stuck to what we had been taught we probably wouldn't have got bogged between Tibooburra & White Cliffs, LOL.

What we did learn was that if there is no one or trees handy, using a star post to winch can be enough to get you out, we will never again travel without one.

Carolyn
AnswerID: 134865

Reply By: brian - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:08

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:08
How about joining a club,heaps around sydney,excellent training,new friends,trips,and shared experiences....
AnswerID: 134876

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:39

Monday, Oct 17, 2005 at 08:39
Appin is the closest only 30ks to 40ks along the M5 to Appin depending on where you join it, after turning left at the town of Appin heading towards Woolongong there are tracks off to the left about a K or so from the turn.

AnswerID: 134879

Reply By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 08:55

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 08:55
Gday Luke and Nicci -- please email me at Frank@sydneypumps.com.au

i have a great spot which is between richmond and penrith - and was boardering on winch country for my vehicle(4runner) as well as my friends nissan patrol ( ute )

very steep decents - with rock climbing - if you dont mind getting your car a little scratched under - then email me :)

Frank
AnswerID: 134998