Mutts

Submitted: Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:27
ThreadID: 27448 Views:2344 Replies:11 FollowUps:27
I would love a dog but my roster really doesnt allow me to have one. Also I am continually reminded of how severly restrictive it would be for travel with a dog. I have lost count of the times i have been showing people photos of the local areas and they comment "looks like a good place to take the dog" Uh Uh Vast majority of places to go are either Nat parks Nature reserves or pastoral property I can think of a few spots that arnt but they are a long way out or arnt that interesting. With 80% of the trips I do either in dog free zones or at some stage pass through them how do people cope with their pooch? - Visit the few places they can, Leave them at home or just take the dog anyway?

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:36

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:36
Get a Dingo they basically look after them self, Welcome everywhere accept maybe by farmers, all you need to do is be able to stand that howling. :)
AnswerID: 135653

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:40

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:40
We bought a book Camping with Dogs in Australia and it is surprising to see just how many places there are where dogs are allowed.

Had to sneak through the Simpson not so long ago as roads were closed. Someone reported us but nothing has come of it yet. I don't really care. Pay the fine if one gets caught or let the gov waste lots of money taking you to court.

Funny thing is No Dogs allowed in National Parks but Dingoes roam everywhere
AnswerID: 135654

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:50

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:50
That would probably be because dingoes are native to Australia Willem. You haven't taken too many pain killers have you?
FollowupID: 389546

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:52

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:52
you wont hear about it either you cant be fined just on someone elses say so. I would truly hate to go on a holiday with a dog and just camp in the spots in the book while driving past all the beut national parks. Juat an example the only beaches to the south where you can have dogs is Esperance to Cape Le grand then the small stretch between le grand and Cape Arid. Sort of restricts you from some pretty good spots.
Locally places you cant go are cave hill, Burra Rocks, Victoria rocks, Rowles lagoon- This pretty much is every swimming spot there is
FollowupID: 389547

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:56

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:56
Excuse me smart arse, Dingoes are regarded as feral animals just like the Camel, Donkey, Rabbit, Feral Cat, Fox, Cane Toad et al
FollowupID: 389550

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:08

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:08
Commonwealth Wildlife Protection Legislation clearly defines the dingo as a native wildlife species, but its status under State and Territory legislation is variable.
FollowupID: 389553

Follow Up By: Trekkie - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:09

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:09
Willem
The Camel, Donkey, Rabbit, Feral Cat, and Cane Toad are ALL introduced species into Australia - The Dingo is Native to Oz - Hardly feral
FollowupID: 389554

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:20

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:20
If the Native Dingo isnt feral, then why do we lay dingo baits out to poison them?
FollowupID: 389558

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:33

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:33
I am not debating questioning whether the dingo is a feral animal. Of course it is, in that it exists in a wild or untamed state. My statement was simply that the dingo is an Australian native animal, as opposed to feral canines which have returned to an untamed state from domestication and that Commonwealth Wildlife Protection Legislation clearly defines the dingo as a native wildlife species.
FollowupID: 389563

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:33

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:33
I am not questioning whether the dingo is a feral animal. Of course it is, in that it exists in a wild or untamed state. My statement was simply that the dingo is an Australian native animal, as opposed to feral canines which have returned to an untamed state from domestication, and that Commonwealth Wildlife Protection Legislation clearly defines the dingo as a native wildlife species.
FollowupID: 389564

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:45
BTW in the Northern Territory the dingo is a protected animal across all land tenures. In Queensland the dingo is protected in national parks and other protected areas, although along with foxes, rabbits and feral pigs, the dingo is considered a pest under the Rural Lands Protection Act. In NSW the dingo is regarded as a wild dog under the Rural Lands Protection Act. Wild dogs are declared 'noxious animals' under that legislation.

The irony of the dingo is that although it is commonly agreed that they will become extinct in their feral stae within 50 years, it remains the only endangered species listed as a pest requiring eradication. The last animal to hold this distinction was the Thylacine (Tasmanian Tiger) and we all know what happened to that.
FollowupID: 389567

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:45
The Dingo is NOT a native animal NOR is it a feral animal.
It is thought to have been introduced approximately 5000 years ago by traders from S.E. Asia and has covered the mainland in that time. There have never been Dingoes in Tasmania. It is (was) a pure line of dogs with a distinct heritage which is now mostly diluted with umpteen other imported breeds.
FollowupID: 389569

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:05

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:05
Wow settle boys. You are right G-wizz although the exact origins when or where or how are not clearly known It seems the dingo was an environmental terror in itself well befor whiteys introduced other nasties. It was thought to be responsable for the mainland extinction of the tassie tiger and many species of rock wallaby live like they do to escape from it.
FollowupID: 389572

Follow Up By: Trekkie - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:14

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:14
The Web site I looked at says the Dingo has been around for between 3,500 years and 11,000 years - If that does not allow it to be classed as native then I am not sure what is!
I would have thought that to be classed as feral a species would have first been bred to be domesticated and then left in the wild to become "feral". True Dingos are native and not feral. It is sad that domesticated dogs have become feral and interbred with dingos - giving dingos a bad name.
FollowupID: 389578

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:14

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:14
The Fraser Island dingos are the purest left in Australia as there has been little breeding with domesticated dogs (which have been banned from the island for many years).

Despite the publicity about the Fraser dingoes, there are only between 150 and 300 there (depending on quality of season for breeding). Dingoes only breed once a year, so if it is a bad season, the population can drop significantly.

The main reason dingoes are a threatened species is the interbreeding with domestic dogs.

How long does an animal have to have been here to be considered native? Dingos have been here 3500 to 5000 years. In 'histrrical terms, not long, but in human terms, a long time( ie about 2000 BC). They certainly did not evolve here, but neither did aborigines.

Being 'native' and a pest requiring control are not mutually exclusive. Not sure, but I suspect bush flies are native.
FollowupID: 389579

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:39

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:39
Once again Commonwealth Wildlife Protection Legislation clearly defines the dingo as a native wildlife species - look it up! And as Willem quite correctly stated (just after calling me a smart arse) they are a feral animal in that they exist in a wild or untamed state - look up the meaning of feral! Whether they should be culled in the interest of farming is debatable.
FollowupID: 389583

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:07

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 15:07
Willem,

I wouldn't argue with a Wombat about what's feral and whats not.

Wombats were around before Dingos. And I believe thats longer than you ;-))))

hehehe

FollowupID: 389628

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 20:17

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 20:17
I am very pleased to learn that Wombat is older than me.

So one shouldn't argue with your peers lol
FollowupID: 389652

Follow Up By: Cy Kocess - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:14

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:14
An Australian, a Kiwi and a Yarpie (South African) named Willem the smart ar$e are in a bar one night having a beer.

All of a sudden the South African drinks his beer, throws his glass in the air, pulls out a gun and shoots the glass to pieces.

"In Seth Efrika our glasses are so cheap that we don't need to drink from the same one twice," he says.

The Kiwi, obviously impressed by this, drinks his beer, throws his glass into the air, pulls out his gun and shoots the glass to pieces.

"Wull mate, in Niw Zulland we have so much sand to make the glasses that we don't need to drink out the same glass either," he says.

The Australian, cool as a Koala, picks up his beer and drinks it, throws his glass in the air, pulls out his gun and shoots the South African and Kiwi.

He turns to the astonished barman and says, "In Australia we have so many bloody South Africans and Kiwis that we don't need to drink with the same ones twice".
FollowupID: 389668

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:37

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 23:37
LMAO .... that's a winner :))))))))
FollowupID: 389670

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 12:14

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 12:14
I only feel older than you Willem!
FollowupID: 389820

Reply By: mik_wright - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:48

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:48
I am dealing with exactly this problem atm as I am planning the trip from Cairns to Sydney at the end of the year and of course my precious best friend cannot fly so I will be driving with him and SWMBO (who is the real reason why the dog cannot fly - she could not bear to leave him in the cargo hold). Naturally, we will be camping most of the way and staying with sympathetic friends dotted down the coast for the rest of it as there are not many hotels that have a dog house. I rang Nat parks and they say that you are allowed to take dogs through nat parks but not let them out of the vehicle when off main roads. This is obviously fairly restrictive and I would rather not get caught disobeying this rule so will probably be staying away from Nat parks on the way down. There are two books from Life Be In It: Camping with Dogs and Holidaying with dogs but they mainly just have caravan parks where dogs are allowed and even then it seems like most of these places require quite strict control of the dog (which I always exercise anyway) or advanced notice of arrival. I have been up the Cape a couple of times in the last year and left the little man at home because I think that the crocs may like him more than me. This has meant that SWMBO has had to stay at home and baby sit which is fine by all three of us.

In short, my dog is a bit of a drag when it comes to finding camping spots but the benefit of his unconditional love certainly outweighs the small concessions I have to make and if I really want to go somewhere that he is not welcome then I leave him with friends who also have a dog and don't mind one more

Michael
AnswerID: 135657

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:54

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 20:54
didnt realise you could have them in transit through a nat park - Although this could be state based
FollowupID: 389549

Follow Up By: mik_wright - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:05
I am not really sure about the rules on that either although the ranger on the phone explained to me that the roads through a park are not considered part of the park but I am not going to chance a fine based on verbal advice from some guy on the phone.
FollowupID: 389552

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:15

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 23:15
Of course they are OK to be 'in transit' through a National Park. Otherwise what are we meant to do, shoot them at the park entrance?

I agree with most here, that for a little inconvenience our dog gives us a lot of pleasure & a few laughs when we are camping, & unlike kids (ours are long gone) he doesn't want us to buy him everything if we happen to hit a town or store!
He also doesn't ride a mini bike around & around the campsites ad nauseam!
FollowupID: 389587

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:18

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:18
You can normally drive thru Nat Parks with dogs and State Forests usually allow you to camp with em. Still, dogs really do limit you. I was out-voted, unanimously by the bread-kinfe & two parasites (I love em dearly, really) and we now have a little Jack Russell who we hate to leave behind and as a result deny ourselves access to a lot of places. But we're just softies who can't bear denying our little mutt a holiday which he enjoys probably even more than we do.
AnswerID: 135664

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:50
Our holidays are the only time our little JR wears herself out. It was surprising the first time to see her scratching at the fly screen to get into the tent at 5.00 p.m. straight after tea to go to bed. Never seen that at home. She just doesn't stop on holidays! Go the JRs!

Big D
FollowupID: 389584

Reply By: Ray Bates - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:24

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:24
Just finished a trip aroun Oz with my dog. I found no problems at all. I didn't attempt o go into NP. In my opinion too much of our country is taken up by NPs. In some cases NPs are an excuse not to do anything with the land. In regards to dingoes I believe they were brought here by the aboriginees from South East Asia and are therefore an introduced spiecies like their owners
AnswerID: 135665

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:27

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:27
I would like to add that we were away from home base for three months and only stayed at caravan parks four times throughout the trip. The rest of the time we stayed at the free camping spots around the country
FollowupID: 389562

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:48

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 21:48
"In some cases NPs are an excuse not to do anything with the land."

Ummm. Isn't that the point of a national park? To keep it pristine?
FollowupID: 389570

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:10

Friday, Oct 21, 2005 at 22:10
Glad you had fun But I Really would have hated to do the last holiday trip i did and miss out on the
Geike gorge, Tunnel creek, Windjabna gorge, Mitchel plateu, Flora river, Kakadau, Edith Falls, East macs, West macs, Pluss all the place i forgot
FollowupID: 389576

Reply By: Powertolose - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:46

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 07:46
We never take the dog. He goes to a boarding kennel or gets looked after by neighbours.
AnswerID: 135702

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:16

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 08:16
How come their is no specific mention of taking pet CATS into National Parks?

AnswerID: 135704

Follow Up By: ellmcg - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 12:14

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 12:14
I did notice a sign that said 'No Dogs, Cats or Horses', going into Hattah-Kulkai (sorry if I got that wrong) NP. & it crossed my mind how many people travel with cats...

My mother's 100 acre block of farmland is almost too much for her maltese x papillon, so I suspect she'd be quite happy to stay in the car!
FollowupID: 389621

Reply By: Banjo - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 09:34

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 09:34
I can understand why dogs and cats aren't allowed into Nat. Parks but was amused when travellers we met on the road, who have a caged bird, told us that they were denied entry to a Nat. Park. ??

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 135712

Reply By: kesh - Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:57

Saturday, Oct 22, 2005 at 17:57
Davoe. We dont go anywhere without our little bundle of canine joy (35kg. of girlie bull terrier!) Apart from being No.1 best mate, she is also our "over the horizon early warning device", very handy when you camp in some off beat locations.

Yes, we have been chipped in a NP, respond by saying a/ did not see any signs to identify it, b/ 30 yrs. ago this was open crown land, what has changed?, (you need to be obviously over 65 to justify that comment, c/ if camped beside or off the road, ask where the road reserve fence or boundary is. I have also asked for the ranger to provide me with their full identification if I am to provide mine. No one should ever let anything go unchallenged, we do still have our rights. Have been threatened, but not prosecuted (yet!)

So I spose Davoe, I (we) do what we have now long done and take the pooch anyway. (and whether native protected or feral, any property owner is going to be happy for you to knock off any dingo's seen on their or others property).
My main regard is that when you have a dog, to be totally responsible for it and its behaviour.
the kesh
AnswerID: 135751

Reply By: Pterosaur - Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 09:47

Sunday, Oct 23, 2005 at 09:47
G'day Davoe,

have tried both - took my foxy, when I turned left at Melbourne and kept going 'till I hit the Kimberley - it was a bit of a drag for both of us (I don't have the luxury of having someone to stay at home and mind him, or to come with me and share dog sitting duties). Trouble is, there's lots of baited areas, crocs etc., all of which are bad for dogs, not to mention the time he nearly died from mouthing a dead toadfish at Coronation Beach. The poor little bugger had to be leashed most of the time, I didn't get to go to many of the places I wanted to visit (which are in NP's), nor did I manage to do much fishing, as I couldn't leave the dog unattended, and he likes to get involved with fishing, which ruins my time. Not to say that I didn't get to some magic places, and we both had a good time, in spite of these restrictions !

Last trip, where I turned right at Melbourne, I left the dog home with my neice as dog sitter which allowed me to fully enjoy my trip, camp where I liked, and fish whenever I felt like it - great ! But missed the dog a bit, and when I came home after 3 months, a bit like strangers.

Too expensive ($10-$12 per day) for me in boarding kennels - I don't know what I'll do next time, but travelling alone with a dog is not much chop IMHO !

WRT the other stuff about dogs and NP's - I have a bit of a problem with them being barred from such areas as Wolfe Creek etc., where the reserve is created for its outstanding landforms, (anything a dog is likely to threaten there has already been put under the hammer by dingoes, which have been here a lot longer than domesticated dogs ) but no problems when wildlife reserves are concerned, or where no dingoes are (or have been present). I guess that, as usual, rather than choosing (or providing the resources ) to manage perceived problems, governments find it easier to legislate and regulate against activities.

"Feral" dingoes ??? I thought that "feral" meant "introduced and naturalised", which criterion the dingo does not meet. "Pest" animal is another issue though.
Terry
2003 HZJ78 Poptop camper
AnswerID: 135808

Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 09:05

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 09:05
dave
take our dog most places we go but miss out on seeing heaps amd very restricted re some of the bigger trips.-never realised how much of country is national parks
live vic so plenty of state forest areas that allow dogs. travelled from melb to nambour(qld) and back down coast cple months ago and very restricted re free camping spots-bit of extra planning needed and ended up in some caravan parks which normally wouldnt have considered
other points to consider-cant take dog shopping ie for food,into restaurants/cafes/pubs,and many beaches wont allow dogs so very restrictive.
certainly changed our lifestyle and where we can go but it is great having dog along for ride most of time
fozzy
AnswerID: 135945