How do you use your GPS ?

Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:06
ThreadID: 27520 Views:4469 Replies:20 FollowUps:22
I have been looking to buy a GPS unit for some time, and with the recent 4X4 show in Melbourne, I thought it would be a good opportunity to check them out and hopefully get a bargain.

Based on the advice I received at the show I came home confused and without a GPS.

It was my intention to use a GPS to assist when doing 4WD'ing so that I can check my position on a Map, or match with coordinates when using some of the track notes that say for example, turn left in 5.2 km @ GPS coordinate etc.

The various sales people at the different stores at the 4X4 show, all seemed to think I needed a Mapping GPS, plus the metroguide or the equivalent in Magellan etc which of course are quite expensive and are (considerably) more than I wanted to spend.

Since I have not used a GPS before, and my thoughs on how I might use one where so different from what I was advised, I thought I might start again and try and find out how other 4WD'ers use their GPS.

So this brings me to several questions,

a) When you go 4wd'ing, how do you use GPS ?

b) Do you think the basemaps and the extensions such as metroguide are worthwhile ?

c) How do you go reading the Maps on a small screen when you have to mount the GPS on the windscreen / dashboard so that you get a good signal etc

I am interested in your answers.

Malcolm

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:31
I use mine
- as a compass (sometimes it can be handy to know which direction you are travelling especially if you have just take a track that is supposed to head) a certain direction
- Track back- handy when walking or driving in areas where there are heaps of tracks
- Way points either off of maps from books or your own
- position - so you can see where you are on the map. really handy for finding overgrown tracks.

Remember most gps can be hooked up to a laptop and run mapping which gives you a big screen. This means you only have to add to your gps not upgrade it.
I still have mu original Garmin Etrex (basic) and it does ok
AnswerID: 136051

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:07

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:07
davoe, not to steal the thread or anything but i have a basic garmin etrex [yellow] i use for the boat &now im using for 4x4 do you need the ' trip & waypoint manager' to use it on a computer ive got the cable etc cheers
FollowupID: 389878

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:55

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:55
no idea - I intend to join the 21st century by the 22nd at least I thought I was going hi tech when i added the cig lighter cord and cradle to it
FollowupID: 389893

Reply By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:31
Hi Malcolm,

Remember rule 1 of GPS - Dont rely on it!!!

If I'm 4WDing I'll use mine to check distances I am from certain pre programmed waypoints. I'll always carry a map and use that as the main source of determining my location and I actually cringe slightly when I do use the GPS as I know the US military could turn it off at any time.

In my opinion all that pre-installed mapping software for the GPS is a complete waste of money and time. Stick with the paper maps. The only time I wouldn't bag anyone for using them is if they were doing a lot of offroad work (ie scrub bashing) where features on a map are not easily distinguishable. (or if they had bags of money to waste).

Buy the cheapest GPS unit you can find, they are just as handy as the more expensive ones.

Equinox

AnswerID: 136052

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:30

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:30
Well said mate,My advice to anyone buying a GPS for the first time is to buy a basic unit then learn basic navigation first. You can get someone who knows to teach you or learn it from a book its not that hard.
A new GPS is like a computer with nothing in the programmes you have to know how to take info off a map and put it in your GPS. I know you can get the latest ones that hook up with your computer etc but doing it the oldfashion way can be very interesting and a lot of fun.
FollowupID: 390027

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:38

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:38
Hi Mal58,

Although you may find people do the same thing in different ways, I decided to setup my gps system as follows:

I stayed away Magellin & garmin for the following reasons

1 - Screen to small
2 - I did not like the idea of having to load seperate maps depending on location (due to memory size of gps)

I decided to go for a laptop setup with gps mouse.

Advantages are:

3 - Screen easier to view
4 - Able to run vaarious maps to view location, plan trips etc
5 - Able to double up with storing digital photo's, dvd camcorder files taken on the trip
6 - excellent intergration with oziexplorer software

Disadvantages are:

7 - need passenger to hold during trip if you want to view current location on drive.
8 - good to store in back of car whilst still logging trip

I also will be interested to hear what others have to say

TonyG
AnswerID: 136053

Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:44

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:44
I use a PDA based GPS with OziExplorer when in the car. It allows me to use moving maps and I can have any map I want so long as I am willing to scan it. Not just some proprietory stuff like MapSource. I use it for taking waypoints of ineresting things, making a track so I can look at it later to see where I have been. I like techno gadgets so I use it all the time. Also allows you to use Destinator which is turn by turn street stuff. I always have the paper maps with me as well as you never know when the techno toys will die. I have had that happen once.

I use a Garmin Etrex when out on foot. It is far more robust and heaps better on batteries than a PDA. When using this GPS I use it in conjunction with paper maps. Usually just to reaffirm my position. Plus it gives me something to play with when I am away from my other toys. Plus making waypoints and tracks when appropriate.

As much as I like to play with my GPSs I always make sure I have some idea where I am using signs or landmarks or whatever as it makes life easier when the power fails.
AnswerID: 136054

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:53

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:53
Hi Mal - We bought the GPS specifically for 4WDing. , mainly out west:
There are 2 main styles : stand alone (expensive); or
basic - and hook up to Laptop.
As above, I use the 2nd approach. Garmin GPS72, hooked to my laptop.
Benefits - Large screen; multiple maps; also holds pictures from my digital camera.
You need a program that reads the maps AND the GPS.
Oziexplorer is one of the most popular.
Then you need maps in digital form.
You can store a number of digital maps on the laptop, and Oziexplorer lists the maps for any point you select - allowing you look at each map in turn, and the various details. 'Moving map display' will track your movement on the map, as you drive.
Ours works, and is simple to use....................Keith
AnswerID: 136057

Follow Up By: ginga - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:16

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:16
May I ask where you get the maps from & what they cost?
FollowupID: 389882

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:25

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 20:25
First - there are two styles of digital map:
1. Raster map = an electronic form of the printed map.
(So for Qld, that can mean 50+ small map files).
2. Mosaic = electronic merge of all the maps into one map.
(Much simpler - one map only - seamless and borderless).

Second - the actual digital file is .ecw file extention. To read this file, OZI needs a 'Calibrated' file called .map which tells it how to interpret the graphic (ecw file) as a map.
Most programs supply the .map file, or Ozi can IMPORT the ecw and create its own .map file ( iff the info is in the ecw header).
(Check out WWW.GPSOZ.COM ). Calibration can be a real time consuming pain in the backside, if you have to do it yourself - and without good calibration, accuracy is shot. (Great little time waster if you get a rainy weekend, and try to compare lat/long from Google earth, with that from the GPS, with that from another map file.)

You can buy most maps from the outlets that sell the GPS.
The maps I use are NATMAP 250K mosaic - covers all Aust;
Hemma Great Desert Tracks - set of 6 - all central Aust;
Sunmap Qld 25K - selected parts of Qld, in great detail.
(Other states will have alternates to the Sunmap Qld25K).
The desert maps also show those tracks that the mappers travelled with GPS. These you can depend on as accurate.
The Natmap while not as much detail, is still pretty good.
Cost - around $100 each. Ozi is also around the $120.
I didn't want directions around cities etc, I wanted something for OFF the bitumen. So it is a matter of 'horses for courses'.
FollowupID: 389905

Follow Up By: ginga - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:00

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:00
Thanks Keith

A really good & detailed reply to a newbies question.

From what you have said, 'the Natmap while not as much detail, is still pretty good' may be the way for me to at least start out.

Where do I get them from & cost please?

I bought my GPS on eBay so am currently on a very steep learning curve :}

Regards, Graeme
FollowupID: 389993

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:27

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 19:27
Hi Graeme - I notice that Exploroz sell them. I bought mine from Olbis, a local communications/car radio etc outlet in Brisbane.
I agree the Natmap is an excellent starting map (actually a set of 3 or 4 from memory). I have the CD case in front of me, and suprisingly it is called 'NATMAP Raster Mosaic' 2003 release. That blows my raster/mosaic explanation doesn't it. (Perhaps they mean a mosaic of the rasters ?) Anyway the 250K map is only one file - not dozens of small ones. Current cost - $99. If the budget could stretch, the Hemma Great desert tracks is an excellent addition, after the Natmap. It allows you to see different features of the same terrain - eg between the Natmap and the Hemma. If the budget doesn't stretch - you will still enjoy the learning using the Natmap........Regards.
FollowupID: 390122

Follow Up By: ginga - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:04
Thanks Keith

With your help I'm at least heading in the right direction; or conversely, no excuse for heading in the wrong direction :}
FollowupID: 390199

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 17:52
A few suggestions :
1. Visit the Ozi Forum at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/OziUsers-L/
2. Buy a quality GPS holder for incar use. Ours is the Garmin Marine holder which locks the unit into place. There may be better ones on the market.
3. But a power and Data cable, and hard wire it into the 4WD.
The GPS thus gets power for the car battery when in the 4wd.
Our cable has a serial port plug (unfortunately) rather than a USB.
The Serial port plug is fitted into a slot on the dash.
This lets you just plug the Laptop into it. No loose cables.
4. Buy a spare data cable for use when you get home/camping etc
and take the GPS out of the car - and plug it into the laptop.
5. Buy rechargeable batteries and a car charger for them.
6. Look up 'Geocaching' on the net, then go to geocaching.com.au
Did you know that on Google Earth - in the fly-to box, you can enter latitude/longitude and it works?
Hmmmm - can be addictive, this GPS stuff.
FollowupID: 390261

Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:55

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 17:55
I have a Garmin eTrek Vista and hardly use it at all when offroad. I use paper maps and a compass but it is useful when following a trek that has been published in a book or magazine to confirm where turnoffs are - BUT the book/mag have been wrong in my experience so don't rely on a GPS even for this purpose.

Useful when the wife is driving and I am a bored passenger so I play with it to see how far to go, where we are, and look at all the other useless information that it tells you, etc. The basemaps are OK for main roads most times but useless for tracks.

The screen on the GPS is too small but I do now have an old dedicated laptop for it and may use it mosre often when offroad - maybe. (upgraded the wifes laptop so pinched the old one for the GPS).

Metroguide and Tracks 4 Australia are worth while having but it is not a navigation system and ou may be better off putting the money towards a proper navigation system.

What I want is a portable GPS Navigation system telling me where to turn, etc when I am in Sydney, Melbourne or anywhere in the USA or Europe - these are really the only places we get lost. One day, they will get cheap enough to meet my budget.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 136058

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:03

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:03
I use an old Magellan Map 330 GPS. It is small, can hold mapping info and is reliable. Wherever I go I carry it with me and it records my tracks and waypoints.

I also have a laptop with OziExplorer and Natmap installed. If I'm going somewhere difficult or complicated, I use this setup too. I download the GPS info to the computer at the end of each trip and that way I have a full colour record of my journey and all ppoints of interest along the way.

This sytem has converted even the most cynical of fellow travellers as a good way to go.

My main rule however is to never depend purely on the GPS. I always carry a compass and reasonably detailed paper maps in the vehicle too.

I think the GPS is one the greatest inventions of the 20th century.
AnswerID: 136059

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:11

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:11
Mal58,
Unfortunately most of the sales people there don't go 4wd'ing and only have the latest GPS in there vehicles.
This is what I have done and has worked for me for many years.
1.The GPS unit I have is a Garmin 128. This is a GPS unit used more in boats than a 4WD and has most of the features of the smaller units. Why I went for this unit is because it came with all the wiring, bracket and aerial in a kit and was cheaper than the hand held units. With the hand held units they are portable but require batteries and a built in aerial. They can be mounted in a vehicle but require accessories like the bracket and wiring and outside areal usually at an additional cost.
I mounted the GPS on the "A" pillar of the Troopie so that it is in easy reach. The information that I get from the GPS is all that I need, direction, speed and location. Where way points have been entered by me, it will also show how far from the way point, what direction to go and how long it will take to get there.
I use the GPS to confirm the direction that I am travelling and also the speed.
All GPS units will do this but what I like about the Garmin 128 is that the screen is of the biggest of any GPS. This means that I can read the unit while on the move and with out having to take my eyes off the road.

With the wiring loom that comes with the unit it can be hooked up to a lap top with moving maps. I have used this in the past but you do need a second person to read the map. The good thing about using the laptop is that the screen and maps are bigger and give more detail.The GPS will also plot a track which you have driven over and can be downloaded on to the laptop and then through programs be copied to a map and then printed out or saved.

I would say that there are more features on the GPS that the average person would use all the time.

There is nothing wrong with the smaller units and they are becoming very good with colour screens and more detail maps that can be down loaded, but I still like the paper map You will find a lot of responses on these units and because I don't use them I will not say any more.

Regardless of of what GPS you go for they are not much use if you can't read a map. Having a map and plotting where you want to go is half the fun of the trip and all the GPS units will do this.

AnswerID: 136061

Reply By: VK3CAT - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:15

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:15
Hi Mal.
I use a Garmin GPS 2 plus. Prior to a trip I may load in various routes and way points. I do this via oziexplorer & the home PC. I then use the GPS as a compass that points me to the next way point. Doing it this way is a lot easier than doing it directly with the GPS (Slow). It does require software like Oziexplorer plus maps. I recently bought the Vic Deserts CD & also some roof top ones for $20.00 each. I also carry the paper (laminated) versions.
If required, I can use the laptop, GPS & oziexplorer as a moving map display however the laptop is quite large & the screen can be hard to read in bright conditions. Also need either a 12 volt adapter or inverter to run the laptop. If I were to really want a moving map dispay, then I would use a PDA.
I would just go for a basic GPS without preloaded maps etc. The preloaded software is not much chop once you are out of the main road system.
For me, a basic GPS rather than a GPS mouse & laptop / PDA is preferred as I can use the GPS whilst walking or other situations where I don't want to be lugging around any extra equipment.
Try & get a copy of "GPS Vehicle Navigation in Australia" by Robert Pepper. It explains things very well.
Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 136062

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:24

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:24
Hi Mal, good question. I started out 3 years ago with a Garmin 76, basic thing with interface to laptop/pda etc, fiddled around for ages getting it all working and then used it only to tell me where I was and also to program in preset GPS coords for trips etc off existing maps. Also use it everyday in the car and 4WD as a accurate speedo in the state of Victoria where 3kmh means so much to so small minded bleep politicians.

Then I sold that and got a Garmin60CS with CityNavigator6 software. Cost me lots of dollars (twice what the 76 cost) and now I have mapping, (dont get metroguide CN6 is MUCH better, I have both and thats my humble opinion) and directions around all of Australia, just plug in an address and away we go. Yes I always take a real map, but I find the small screen easy to read and hence tend to use it much more. Recently in Adelaide we didnt have any need for maps and guess what NO ARGUMENTS with SWMBOBCRMFN. Was THE most relaxing time driving around I ever had. Don't cringe worrying about the US military turning it off, if it happens so what? Likelihood is buggrall I reckon.

I am crapsighted anyways but I do find the colour screen MUCH easier to read than the black and white 76 screen so maybe go for a colour screen. Also found that the Laptop is too big and cumbersome unless you have a mount for them and even then they take up lots of room and guess what, other #&^$$#'s seem to steal them. The PDA works good but lots of wiring to make it work, Bluetooth may be a great option there but not for me.

Offroad the tracks arent in any mapping program on Garmin units, although the Magellans can use HEMA maps downloaded into them but theyre not as intuitive to use as the Garmins, at any rate offroad you get to head for predetermined and programmed waypoints and you know which way they are and how far, the breadcrumb trail also tells you where you've been driving and you can backtrack it too, but I reckon, if you need a GPS to find your way back where you just came, you got bigger issues that a GPS can't solve. It can also tell you if you've been there before in an area crisscrossed with tracks like the Pyrenees for example.

Mine works fine on the dash thru the window but I have an external antenna for tree'd area where you need to "see" more of the sky.

If you ca, get one for a trial of say 6 weeks, use it every day, even going to and from work, set waypoints for home and use the goto functions etc then see how you use it and buy based on that, I would have saved $300 that way, but hey life is a learning exercise.

WAFFLE completed. Go in peace. Luke, I am your Father! Go ahead-Make my Day!

GWBonz

AnswerID: 136066

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:55

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:55
SWMBOBCRMFN?

"WAFFLE" must be the word for the day - I thought the word was "LEGS".
FollowupID: 389902

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:20
Hi Bonz,

I use a PDA in the car and there is no wiring to worry about except the power cable. I have a CF GPS and a 1 gig SD card.

When I used my laptop now that was a mess!
Laptop power cable
GPS to laptop cable
GPS power cable
GPS antenna cable.

However I can also use my CF GPS with my laptop in the PCMCIA slot. This means all I need is the laptop power and maybe the GPS antenna. Never have though except for once to see if I could.

PDA is the best investment I made since getting into digital mapping. Just mount it in a windscreen suction thingo and when you leave the car you can chuck the PDA in the glovebox.
FollowupID: 389936

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:49
SWMBO = easy

BCRMFN
But Cant Read Maps For Nuts

what else

WAFFLE

Wine And Fine Food Lovers Extraordinaire

QED

FollowupID: 389948

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:51

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:51
Yer Ute I have one (a PDA) and a mount suction thing but it falls off the window, it does the trick when I need it I just plug it into the GPS lead and turnit on.

SPREAD the word WOmbie!

FollowupID: 389949

Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:13

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 23:13
Mine used to fall off the screen sometimes too. Especially in hot weather. One day at a 4wd park I came up with this wonderful fix. I picked up the mount, poked out my tongue and gave the suction cap a great big lick and then stuck it on the windscreen. It has never come off since :-)
FollowupID: 389956

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:10
Geez Ute, I wouldnt want to fall off either after that !!!

But I tried that and it still fell off.

FollowupID: 390002

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:25

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:25
I use a Garmin 12xl and let it track me when I know where I am going however if a bit bushed fire up the laptop and connect start moving map and it will tell where you are zactly.
I have also used the moving map when going off road where there are just tracks and at times no tracks and this is where it comes into real use as it then shows where you are in the real world. I always carry paper maps just in case the tecko dies.
There is a Garmin C320 that is supposed to be mickey mouse for most tracks and roads.
My laptop has Oz explorer with all the govt maps of oz plus all the topo maps of NSW on it so we don't get lost only lonely.

Mate it's a case of buy what you can afford then go from there. So all the best and I bet you are now more confused than ever.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 136067

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:31
Very interesting,

I come from an aviation background and have read maps for over 40 years. When I got into this 4WD game about 5 years ago I realised the value of a GPS straight away to check on my position from time to time. After all you are following a road or a track usually. I bought a full set of maps and a GARMIN GPS11+ and used it exactly as I intended. IE put in some way points the night before by planning on the map(intersections on bush tracks, destination etc). The GARMIN comes with a basic map installed (just points with names EG towns). That is good for a background but you can add 500 more and organise them into routes.

The paper maps must have an easy to read grid. I prefer HEMA with LAT/LONG because they are a bit like the WAC aeronautical Charts. This outback touring is just like flying a light aircraft except that you can't go in a straight line from point to point. However with sufficient waypoints and that track line displayed it is very comforting when half ways between Innamincka and Birdsville. Just look at what happened to that por woman on the Walkers Crossing track. She took a wrong turn and ran out of fuel.

I did succumb to the moving map and Oziexplorer on a PDA last year. I bought another GPS (CF card type) that plugs into the PDA. It works, but the display is small. I think a laptop would be great, but it is a very large item to have floating around. You also have to spend more money getting the maps into an electronic form. I used the NATMAP raster on CD. Very nice but the scale is too small for long trips.

I found on my last trip with both systems running that it was easier to just use the GPS11 mounted on the dash with a strip of velcro and read the paper maps and road signs!

Oh - and I also carry a magnetic compass and a radio!

Kings
AnswerID: 136070

Reply By: Michael Carey - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:32

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 18:32
I have a Garmin GPSMAP 60CS with City Navigator5 and a beta version of the Tracks4Australia map set. I can also plug the GPS into my laptop and use Oziexplorer or the Garmin nRoute software. I also have a GPS data logger that records my track regardless of the GPS and laptop, it records my position every second and can store weeks and weeks of driving before needing to be downloaded.
You can buy fixed mount GPS navigators with bigger screens, but finding a mounting location for these bigger units can be a problem in newer 4x4's. I had enough trouble working out how to mount all my radios and the GPS in my 2004 Hilux without it all looking ratty.
AnswerID: 136071

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:54

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:54
Michael, can you be so good as to let me know via email, its behind my rig pic, how you got onto the tracks map set and the like?

thanx

FollowupID: 389950

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:03

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:03
Hi Mal,
Good to see you're still around the place :-)

I normally run my GPS into a Tablet PC (computer with touch screen) and use the moving maps.

But if using just the GPS, I load the waypoints I need into it before I go. And when navigating, I press the "go-to" button and have it guide me to the next waypoint. Its all a bit of fun, but there seem to be fewer signpoints than ever out bush.

Also, if I'm looking out for a landmark, I take note of the relevant E or S part of the lat/long and look at it until the right numbers come up.

I run a Garmin 11+ that I've had for about 4 years.

I like to have a full GPS as backup in case the computer spits the dummy.

phil
AnswerID: 136078

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01
Phil,
Thank-you for the greeting. Yes I'm still about.

I still have my 98 Prado and have just notched up a 100K km in it with a wonderful trip with my wife and family around Broken Hill / White Cliffs etc last September.

I'm hoping to do a few 4wdrives locally now that the winter track closures will be starting to lift in the next few weeks. Hence the questions on the GPS.

Great advice by the way.

Mal
FollowupID: 390018

Follow Up By: ginga - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:15

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:15
Hi Phil

You wrote ".... and use the moving maps."

May I ask what maps are they, where do you get them, & what do they cost - & oh yeah, what software do you run :}

Regards, Graeme
FollowupID: 390104

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:38
Hi Graeme,

this is like the old Prado list :-))

What you need is:
#1 Laptop - any old pentium will do, but its best if you have at least 4 gig of hard drive to store the good maps. Its nice if the laptop has a COM port, but a USB will do.
#2 GPS with a data lead to run from the GPS to the COM port or USB port on the laptop. www.gpsoz.com.au may help here. You may need a COM/USB converter which is a slight pain.
#3 Mapping Software: "Oziexplorer" is everyone's favourite - good Aussie product. You can buy it from the shop here at Exploroz or go to www.oziexplorer.com
#4 Maps: The Auslig 1:250,000 Maps on CD will cover all of Australia for $99 - bargain of the century. There are a few different types - you can get the whole of Australia on one map (called Raster Mosaic). Its a single 700Mb file, and includes Landsat 7 (satellite photo of the whole of Australia). Thats OK if you've got a good computer, or you can get the 500+ maps on two CDs if your laptop is a bit dodgy.
In addition to these, there are the HEMA Great Desert Maps on CD, and the Westprint Desert maps on CD. There are also a stack of other maps available on CD, depending on where you're wanting to go, and what detail you need. All these maps are avaiable here.

To run a map on Oziexplorer, you also need to load the relevant ".map" files from www.oziexplorer.com. These are the calibration files that are needed for moving maps to work. You can also scan and calibrate other paper maps, so they can work on your computer.

#5 You can hook it all up, and load up the software, and chances are it won't work. You'll need to go through the "configuration settings" in Oziexplorer to make sure you've got the correct GPS and the correct COM port entered. Then you'll have to make sure the correct "interface" is entered on your GPS. If its a Garmin like mine, NONE/NMEA works for moving maps, and GRMN/GRMN works for transferring tracks and waypoints.

#6 Go for a drive, and start moving maps by selecting "Start NMEA communication with GPS", and you're away

When all else fails, ask the forum - theres lots of people here that have been through the learning curve for ozi.

Then before you know it, you'll spend all your camping time playing with waypoints, track files and getting the laptop to work, while the others sip a few beers around the fire :-))) But seriously, its very useful stuff when you're out bush.

All the best,
FollowupID: 390106

Follow Up By: ginga - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:07

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:07
Thanks Phil

Advice greatly appreciated - now I can start learning how to get lost with no excuses.

Cheers, Graeme
FollowupID: 390200

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:03

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 19:03
dont forget another important consieration is are you going to use it out of the 4by? I do a fair bit of walking and even if only going not far I take the gps and spare batterys as it is so easy to get lost in goldfields scrub
AnswerID: 136079

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:20

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:20
Malcolm
I started off just using paper maps. Never really knew where I was, but enjoyed the bush and getting seriously lost a few times.
In 1995 I got one of the original Magellan Meridians which I used in conjunction with paper maps which I purchased before each trip. The GPS was very slow. One of my mates referred to it as the 'Game Boy'. It enabled us to get a bit further off the beaten track and still expect to get back at some stage.
I then got the Natmap 2000 release maps and had the whole of Oz in 1:250,000 on the laptop.
The next big step was getting a Magellan 315 which connected to the laptop and we had 'moving map' display. This was magic. Everyone in the vehicle could see exactly where we were, and we tackled some pretty hairy trips.
I now have a laptop with a remote 14" screen mounted on the console. I have a USB mouse GPS and a Map330 connected all the time, and I have a Sportrak Color as backup and hand held for walks etc.
I use OziExplorer with the Auslig 2005 Rasters, Hema Grt Desert Tracks, WestPrint Desert Tracks and a few maps I have scanned in myself. I also use DiscoverAus Streets and Tracks.
Be warned. GPS mapping is addictive and will cause you to spend money and go bush more than you intended.
AnswerID: 136120

Follow Up By: geoffliz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:58

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 12:58
I have a Meridian Gold GPS with Discover Aust loaded and have this connect to a CarPC with 8" touch screen monitor which gives me on screen mapping as well as extras like DVD, photos, diary, etc.

I was interested in you comments as you use OziExplorer as well as Disc Aus. I am generally happy with Dis Aus but am also curious about OziExplorer. What are the main differences and which do you prefer.

FollowupID: 393187

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 21:04

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 21:04
OziExplorer offers much more than DiscoverAus. With DA you are locked in to using line drawing maps. In town they are useful by showing streets etc. In the bush the map can appear as a blank page with a single thin line on it - no features whatsoever. OE allows you to use a range of topographical maps, satellite images, and maps you scan in yourself. I find this a lot more interesting.
Secondly, OE is a very rich programme with thousands of features to be discovered and played with.
If I just needed to punt around the suburbs I'd have DA. If I just used it in the bush I'd have OE.
FollowupID: 393260

Reply By: Outback Rick - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 21:31
WOW

I must be simple......................GPS is used by me for confirmation of:

*features
*accurate direction of travel
*marking features of interest
* creating a route for a proposed trip, and then using that en route to confirm time to destination
* Log in various waypoints to confirm features and locations during travel. e.g handy in the Flinders Ranges when many peaks are close together and to identify which peak is which, GPS is handy while travelling
* confirm real speed as non OEM tyres throw speedo out
* as mentioned by some others, as a plaything when its someone else's turn to drive

Garmin screen is relatively small on the powered dashboard mount & I need to wear glasses to see it.

In other words, I adopt the KISS principle. Last thing I want to take when touring is a bloody 'puter.

My GPS is therefore an adjunct to conventional navigation

Rick (S.A)
AnswerID: 136125

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:19

Monday, Oct 24, 2005 at 22:19
Geez Mal I will have to throw a spanner in the works.

I have a reasonably 'old' Magellan 330 GPS

I switch it on and watch my speed, height above sea level and how many satellites I can find. Sometimes I might even look at the compass.

I have a laptop and the latest Raster mapping as well as Oziexplorer software.

Before I go on a trip I plan my route and then print off all my maps and put them in a cheap folder with plastic sheets. Should I want to know exactly where I am I can connect the GPS to the laptop and go to Moving Map and the GPS will tell me on the map exactly where I am. 95% of the time my laptop is switched off and packed away. I mostly use it to download photos on to every day.

I have been around for a while and know my way around this country and do not need a voice activated electronic gadget to tell me I have to turn right 2 kilometres down the road. Paper maps will do.

If I am going to a city I will go into a second hand bookshop and buy a City Directory.

So if you want a GPS buy a cheapie that is compatible with a laptop should you want to go that way in the future. It is handy in some instances but mostly just a toy for us kids....lol

AnswerID: 136133

Reply By: Peter - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:50

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 08:50
Mal
I use an older Garmin E Map. The GPS is permanently left on in the car. I have a 64meg card with Australia wide mapping installed plus an external antenna. I use the GPS around town to get from A to B. The software allows me to enter an address, waypoint or point of interest (such as a bank, service station etc - it even provides the phone number if supplied). I have it set to show the next street option so I know which streets are coming up in advance. Out in the sticks it will provide mapping of virtually every town in Australia (ie Thargomindah, Bollon etc). Not that there are too many streets but makes it easier to locate campgrounds etc. Yes the screen is small and it isn't colour but it has served me well for the last 6 years. If needed I connect it to an old laptop and use the moving map function for places like Sydney. Much easier than trying to use a paper map when travelling by yourself. The Trac Bak function also allows me to get back on route if I need to do so. I normally track 10 satellites at a time and very rarely lose signal completely.
Be aware that the GPS can sometimes give up so reliable paper maps are always required but I've found for 90% of my travels (including Cape York, Simpson Desert etc) that the GPS is more than suitable.
Whichever one you go for, there will always be detractors. Pick what suits you and have fun with it
AnswerID: 136177

Reply By: bgreeni - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 19:30

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 19:30
I have been using GPS for nearly as long as it has been about. First a PCIMA card in a laptop for navigating aircraft using vector mapping, and then OziExplorer with a Magellan 315. More recently I bought a HP4700 PDA and find that great. I mount it in the car with a bit of copper wire tied through a vent - crude but it does the trick. Still have a cable jumble - Cig lighter to GPS - GPS cable to PDA. Cig Lighter to PDA, but with a couple of ties to tame it is livible. One day I will get a blue tooth GPS!!! I find OziExplorer great - Just this morning I used it with some downloaded Ordance survey map to find my way into Waterloo station in London. I have also used it allover the Ozi bush so it is totally versatile. Like stated above, I would never totally rely on GPS, and always have paper maps and know where I am so that if GPS falls over I can revert to paper mapping. The GPS/Moving map software just takes all the hassell and stress out of navigation.
AnswerID: 136507