RE Post 27527. What sort of gadgets do people take camping?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:24
ThreadID: 27539 Views:5231 Replies:21 FollowUps:42

Just read with interest the above post about the use of generators when camping and a few prominent common sense threads came through:
1/ If you're camped miles from anyone in the bush it doesn't matter how much noise you make. If a gennie runs in the woods and no one is around to hear it, does it make a noise? haha! Sorry bad joke!
2/ Generators Vs Solar: Comes down to personal preference. There are pro's and con's for both - each to their own.
3/ Manmade noise of any kind when you're camping can be annoying.

So all of that aside - I don't want to start an arguement on the ethics of campers - I AM very interested to know what sort of gadgets and gizmos you all take camping that use all this electricity and what you use them for. eg what do you use a laptop for in the bush? Not a criticism if you use one, I just have a very limited budget & I camp with very basic gear so just humour me. About the trendiest bit of gear I take camping is a fluro light I can plug into the ciggy lighter that I picked up from supercheap!

Scoey!

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:44

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:44
Fridge
AnswerID: 136188

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:54

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 09:54
Laptop for navigation, and writing trip notes, downloading pictures etc. Small inverter to charge my electric shaver and toothbrush. Yes I know, but they make life on the road much more comfortable. Everything else is 12v from a dual battery set up, not to run a thousand gizmos off but as a backup in case the cranking battery fails. Very handy when travelling solo.
The generator, boom box, tv, satellite dish and the kitchen sink are left at home.
AnswerID: 136190

Follow Up By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:37

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:37
Ah, I see. I've read a few times on this forum of people taking laptops and it's always left me wondering. I assume that most people would use thiers for the same thing - ie navigation. I didn't know that technology was so readily available but then again, i definately don't keep anywhere close to up to date on gizmos and gadgets! Thanks!
FollowupID: 390007

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:54

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:54
If you're a paper map man like me, the laptop/gps combo is amazing. It can be relatively cheap and is far from rocket science. Takes all the hassle out of the uncertainty of whether you've taken the right fork in the track. Gives any co pilot something to play with or lets the kids know that no we're not there yet :)
FollowupID: 390014

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:03

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:03
Hi Scoey,

It is interesting because its a question I asked myself a few years ago and short of starting an argument on solar v's gennies I opted for a genie (I found solar too problematic). Bought the best I could afford at the time (Honda 20!) and run a 3 way charger of this to keep a couple of batteries topped up whenever I turn it on.

Use the 240 to charge the camera batteries, fridges (2 Weacos 50's run off the batteries), run the laptop, tools and welder. Also have a very nifty 240 flouro that puts all the 12 v models to shame so when in a group that will be turned on up a tree or the like.

BTW used to do the basic camping via bush walking and there is no way that the wife would go without some of these luxuries and neither would I these days.

AnswerID: 136196

Follow Up By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:46

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:46
Beatit,

Basically I camp simple because that's what my finances dictate. A tent (or swag if solo), a tarp, gas stove and eskies. I have always loved the thought of a good CT w/kitchen etc but never gone past thinking about it. I've always thoutht it would be too much bother to lug anything more around but the more I think about it the more I realise how much easier a good set up would make camping. Easier = more enjoyable.

Then there's the complete lack of understanding when it comes to anything auto electric, so I'd say there's a few more years of me doing it rough. But the comments from my girlfriend about how comfy other campers look are getting louder and louder! :-)

Scoey
FollowupID: 390011

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:53

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:53
It's called evolution Scoey, we all start out that way and finances, age etc eventually requires a more comfortable approach. It is a little more hassle getting ready to leave home but the stays are comfy particularly if doing longer trips. Auto electrics is something that you will learn in the process - trust me. You have all the info you need on this forum to make something work or at least a bunch of opinions to start the thinking process.

FollowupID: 390013

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:57

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:57
Absolutely.

Also , not everyone's other half is as keen on camping as you are.

My wife and I have been camping since we were married , but , there has always been an element of "luxury".

Now are progressing from Tents of various shapes and sizes , the CT brings that little bit extra with a queen size bed , and a decent size kitchen area.

Next step as age progresses , maybe a Van of some description.
FollowupID: 390017

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:05

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:05
I carry an MP3 player for the long haul on the road. I download talking books from the library onto the MP3 player and then play it back through the truck radio while traveling. Great to have have someone read me a book while I am driving.
AnswerID: 136198

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:43

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:43
Same with us. Talking books are great for shortening monotonous drives.

We exhausted the library's collection of talking books on tape, and now download to iPod. There are lots of titles available, eg from audible.com. Only complaint is that the bookmarks often get lost and you have to find your place in the story again next time.

I found FM transmitter from iPod to car radio pretty ordinary quality, so use car cassette connector instead.

If you have digital camera (we don't), you can get a gizmo to connect it to iPod to store photos. iPod Photo or current model also let you view photos.

Have also used the iPod voice recorder to record sounds in the bush - e.g. lyrebird song.

Some mp3 players come with these things. If you are interested, don't just look at iPod.
FollowupID: 390077

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:59

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:59
Des,

Griffin Road Trip is a better option as an FM transmitter than the iPod transmitter as it is powered by the ciggy plug and also charges the iPod. Therefore it can power a more powerful transmitter and ours never skipped a beat for a month long trip.

iPod photo does not display the digital photos you load via the connector on the road. You can only view photos loaded by iPhoto on your computer/laptop.
However it works really well as a back up for the XD card in the digital camera and we have 5 days worth of songs, hundreds of photos to display on the screen, and still have 20gb left to store photos and files.

Tim
FollowupID: 390101

Follow Up By: sepp5762 - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 15:58

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 15:58
Still trying to get my head around transfering from cassette to mp3. How the heck do you do it? Is there a book in SIMPLE language which would guide me.
FollowupID: 390412

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:45

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:45
I assume you mean you want to record your old cassette tapes to mp3 format?

There are a lot of descriptions on the web: for example, see C-Net

George Skarbek has an excellent book for dowload ($9) that deals clearly with this and other common computer questions: see his web site.

The basic overview is this. You need to plug a lead from the cassette player (e.g. from the headphone socket) to the sound card on your computer. (You can get the appropriate lead from DSE, J&B, etc.) You need software on the computer to record the sound when you play the cassette tape and save the recording as an mp3 file. (There is good free software that will do this; I like Cool Edit.) You can then upload the newly-recorded mp3 files to your mp3 player (they usually come with a cable to connect to the USB port on your computer). Or you can burn the mp3 files onto a CD (using software that came with your CD/DVD burner, e.g. Nero), which you can play in a CD/DVD player that can read mp3s (only fairly recent car CD players).

It's not rocket science, but it is a bid fiddly and time consuming, and requires a fair bit of hard disk space on your computer (often a problem if it's a bit old). You can use digital editing to remove glitches in the sound, but the better the tape you start with, the better the quality of the mp3.

It's much simpler to convert CDs to mp3 format, because the CDs are already in digital form. (iTunes, which is a free download from Apple, is a good program for doing this. It has a simple help file that tells you what to do.) So if you can start with a recording on CD it will be much easier.

Good luck,
Des
FollowupID: 390419

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:50

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 16:50
I assume you mean you want to record your old cassette tapes to mp3 format?

There are a lot of descriptions on the web: for example, see C-Net

George Skarbek (who used to write for The Age/SMH) has an excellent book for dowload ($9) that deals clearly with this and other common computer questions.

The basic overview is this. You need to plug a lead from the cassette player (e.g. from the headphone socket) to the sound card on your computer. (You can get the appropriate lead from DSE, J&B, etc.) You need software on the computer to record the sound when you play the cassette tape. (There is good free software that will do this; I like Cool Edit.) You can use digital editing to remove glitches in the sound, but the better the tape you start with, the better the quality of the mp3. When you are happy with it, you then save the recording as one or more mp3 files.

You can then upload the newly-recorded mp3 files to your mp3 player (they usually come with a cable to connect to the USB port on your computer). Or you can burn the mp3 files onto a CD (using software that came with your CD/DVD burner, e.g. Nero), which you can play in a CD/DVD player that can read mp3s (only fairly recent car CD players).

It's not rocket science, but it is a bid fiddly and time consuming, and requires a fair bit of hard disk space on your computer (often a problem if it's a bit old).

It's much simpler to convert CDs to mp3 format, because the CDs are already in digital form. So if you can start with a recording on CD it will be much easier. iTunes, which is a free download from Apple, is one of many good programs for doing this. It has a simple help file that tells you what to do.

Good luck,
Des
FollowupID: 390420

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:09

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:09
Scoey ,

You don't need it for weekends away , but on longer trips where you might camp for a while in one spot , they are a godsend .

My gadgets are :
Fridge / freeezer.
Neon Light .
Rear work light mounted on rear wheel carrier .
Inverter which - runs my laptop with stored pictures and maps in it
- recharges my camera batteries
- recharges my electric drill which I can use for patching tyres
- recharges my shaver ( I like to look my best in the bush ! )
- recharges the batteries on my hand held UHF radio

AND TOYS ARE FUN , SO YOU NEED PLENTY OF GADGETS .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 136201

Follow Up By: Scoey - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01
Hi Willie,

Yep I can definately see the benefit of a few gadgets. I've always been held back by a lack of understanding. I'm very wary of anything I don't understand! Running lots of gadgets from the truck is something where the more you read about it, the more confused you get. I have dual batteries in my 80 series but I have no idea how they work! (They came with it) and the more I ask around the more I get different answers! Anyway that's another problem that I'll tackle some other day!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 390020

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:21

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:21
Willie,

Tell us about the NEON LIGHT.
What does it say, or advertise?

FollowupID: 390174

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:10

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:10
Gee Sand Man , I thought you were smarter than that . It says Claude of course .
FollowupID: 390201

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:46

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:46
I guess it partly depends on whether you were brought up with or without gadgets , and whether you are comfortable with gadgets.

Me , I LOVE my gadgets.

I dont have one, but, I would have no hestitation in buying and owning a Gennie if I had the space to carry one.

I have my laptop , for Maps, GPS, Photo's, Vids , and for DVD's when required.

Inverter for recharging batteries etc.

One of my better "gadgets" is my Vehicle shower system complete with hot and cold taps. Keeps the Missus happy.

My 12v light gadgets are still a work in progress.
AnswerID: 136206

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:09

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:09
Hi Flappa ,
I have a Glind shower I bought to keep the boss happy too . But how do you get hot and cold water taps to work ??
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390022

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:41

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:41
Its actually very simple.

Here's a link to some pictures of my install (under development)

http://www.4wdlinks.com.au/gallery/flappan?page=2

and if you look here , you will see the install notes from Glind.

http://www.glind.com.au/htm/files/docs/GLIND-marine-notes.pdf

Essentially , what you do is to Tee off the hose AFTER the pump , but BEFORE it goes into the Heat Exchanger.

This hose then runs off to the "Cold" tap.

The hose then continues as normal , through the heat exchanger and to the "hot" tap.

Or , like I did , rig up a "mixer" tap , in my case , a brass garden hose tap.

Left side in is Hot, Right side in is Cold , and out the top is the shower Hose.

If everything is leak free , is just like showering at home , which includes the shower and pump stopping when the taps are turned off.

Also makes adjusting water temp easier then changing Revs, or Heater settings. Makes it FAR easier for the missus and kids.
FollowupID: 390030

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:43

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:43
Thanks Flappa , I went to both sites - had a look at your pictures - you do very neat work - I wish I could get work done like that on my car !
Previously I have just run the water around and back into the bucket until it is warm then turned the engine off , but this system you have made is very good .
Cheer from the boss and I ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 390042

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:31

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:31
Thanks Willie.

I just expanded on an idea that was given to me by Stuart (AT4wd).

The reasoning was simple.

I have a Ti Patrol with climate control. I was finding getting the right temp was a nightmare without having a slide heater. I was doing what you do/did and just run the water through enough times to get it to the right temp. That of course doesn't suit everyone , and quite often the wife and kids wanted the temp changed slightly . . . PITA.

It meant I was on call for everyones shower.

This way , I start the thing up , and can pretty well walk away as they can adjust the temp themselves , and the water stops between showers with the pressure pump.

With the boys , because we also recycle the water out of a tub , they can take as little or as long as they like.

The good thing with this system is , it can operate just like your normal system for a quick wash. the cold water side uses Airhose and connectors , so when its not connected , its sealed off.
FollowupID: 390052

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:07

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:07
G'day Flappa
Definitely a neat job on that shower. Tell me - does it in any way get around the problem of that super hot burst one gets after the shower is switched off and then back on?
On the issue of carrying a gennie - I have an 80 series cruiser and my Yamaha, in a wooden carry box, sits neatly behind the front seat. I made a small false floor to level up the Cruiser floor and the gennie box then acts as a "table" for other stuff such as a camera bag. When we get the camper trailer it'll go in there.
Cheers from the Moose.
FollowupID: 390062

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:16

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:16
Quote: Tell me - does it in any way get around the problem of that super hot burst one gets after the shower is switched off and then back on?

Sure does , turn the cold on first , then adjust the hot accordingly.
FollowupID: 390066

Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:56

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 10:56
G'day,

My proudest offroad gadget is my drill:
I converted a 12v cordless drill to run off the vehicle, picked up an old cordless for $5 at a garage sale the 12v battery pack had died.

opened up the battery pack, took them out, and soldered up a nice 4-5m lead, to a fused cigarette lighter plug.

When u need small repairs then a drill is a handy thing when ur in the middle of nowhere.

Other stuff

12v flouro
12v 50W worklight
one day to be a car fridge (eskys and ice are a pain)
some of those solar garden lights to put around the tent at night to keep the missus happy.
300W inverter to recharge digi cam batteries.
Decent air compressor.
12v impact wrench for being lazy if i want to change a tyre (have a brace also) or to undo stubborn bolts.
I have a laptop, but it stays home.

I dont have any large power needs as i havent got the car fridge yet.

I have a 12W (0.7A) small solar panel just to trickle charge the battery, dont need my car a lot and it only gets run every 2 weeks.

Rev

AnswerID: 136208

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:01
Quote: some of those solar garden lights to put around the tent at night to keep the missus happy.

Have to say , that is one of the single biggest , and BEST ideas I have been put onto.

Place a few around the tent so you dont trip over pegs, ropes etc.

I was first put onto the idea from someone who uses it at Nat Parks to light the way to the loo. Top idea.

They aren't that expensive (mine were about $20 for 4 from Go Lo) that if someone else takes a shine to them , its not such a big lose.
FollowupID: 390019

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:13

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:13
Hi Revhead ,
Thats my wifes name for me !
I'l second what Flappa said - that is a great idea about the solar garden lights .
Willie .
FollowupID: 390023

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:09

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:09
G'day,

been doing this for a while too. I routinely put my solar lights in the recess above the glovebox so they get a good charge through the windscreen while driving to camp. I use a yellow one to mark the tent entrance (for coming back from the thunderbox at night) and white ones elsewhere for a clear path to the tent. Very cheap and they do the job well.
FollowupID: 390034

Follow Up By: jonsal - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:10
hi revhead, just wondering with your cordless drill do you solder lead to inside drill body. great idea. we have one of those along with lots of other stuff ready for a rainy day.
FollowupID: 390035

Follow Up By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:31

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 13:31
Gday Jonsal,

The drill has the clip on style battery at the bottom. i opened that up, took out the dead batteries and soldered my cable to the terminals inside the battery pack. the cable exits though a neatly drilled hole in its base.

so the battery pack clips back into the drill as normal and make use of the factory contacts, it just has a cable through the bottom that plugs into the ciggy lighter.

works a treat.
FollowupID: 390051

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 11:10
I don't look at them as gadgets as more, items of camping enhancement...

After couple of decades in the Army, camping took on a whole new perspective...there was the uncomfortable, carry your house on your back type and there was the "any fool can be uncomfortable so I'll cram whatever I can in the Landrover theory". I'll stick with the later and so does my wife..

We found the more we did stuff the more stuff we needed to do it, make it a comfortable and pleasant experience rather than what I did in the Army. Some stuff is essential life saving safety equipment (GPS, UHF radio, etc) and other stuff just makes life easier and more comfortable.

Wizard
Gold Coast

AnswerID: 136211

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:32

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 12:32
Gadgets are a stove top cappucinno maker, Bosch gas hot water system, Coleman oven for cakes on the gas cooker, Laptop for DVDs when by ourselves, bush TV and conversation when camped with others.

We have a camper, and run 4 fluros, the laptop, pump and an inverter for the Nebulizer and laptop, all this off a 75ah deepcycle battery with a 10watt solar panel to keep it topped up, 9 days is the best we have done before having to charge the battery and that was done buy the car.

The Waeco and charging the camera and Ipod runs off the cars dual battery system.

No need for a gennie,

we love our luxuries and it's all from 12v or gas.

AnswerID: 136219

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:11

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:11
Dear oh Dear Baz , thats just going WAY too far . . .

Cappucinno maker . . . LMAO . . .
FollowupID: 390064

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:23

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:23
Here ya go Graeme our Cappucinno maker ;-)))

FollowupID: 390195

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:02

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:02
Ok Baz , you have won me . . .

Where and How much ?

I have one of those Brewed Coffee jugs , works well , and seen those single and twin , coffee perculators (sp) , never seen one of these though.
FollowupID: 390198

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:56

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 11:56
We got ours from a Italian cafe in Norton street Leichardt the name escapes me, not cheap at $75, but does a great cappucinno, hot chocolate or any other frothy drink.

San Remo
FollowupID: 390209

Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:08

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:08
I neglected to mention, the portable bug zapper :-)

bought from Red Dot discount store (havent seen them anywhere else)

runs off 4 rechargeable D cells (my batteries) which go all night...keeps the annoying and nasty flying things away from the tent light and out of my face..

The missus swore she would never go camping before we were married...but she is a convert now....and im fully for anything that makes the experience more enjoyable. and allows us to be self sufficient.

Rev
AnswerID: 136232

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:14

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:14
Thats been my opinion all along.

Stuff what anyone else thinks you need "camping" or what they think "camping" involves . . . if it works for you , and it means you CAN go camping . . . I would pack whatever is necessary.

Those big two bowl stainless steel kitchen sinks are a PITA to carry though . . . JUST fits on the roof rack . . . next to the Dishwasher.
FollowupID: 390065

Follow Up By: jonsal - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:29

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:29
hi revhead, thanks for the info on cordless drill. we'll give it a go. cheers sally
FollowupID: 390071

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:10

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:10
A bottle opener.
AnswerID: 136233

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:20
LOL .... you can get twist tops now Chrispy. Move into the 21st century :)
FollowupID: 390069

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:24

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:24
Even in your Wine selection . . .
FollowupID: 390070

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:30

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:30
0 0
^
----

You can?
FollowupID: 390072

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:40

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:40
"Even in your Wine selection . . . "

I'm SURE they'd have them in "my" wine selection......... :)
FollowupID: 390074

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:46
Mate , even the top stuff is moving over to twist tops . . . apparently.

But , what would I know , it all tastes the same to me.
FollowupID: 390078

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:48

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:48
Yeah they moved the chateau cardboard stuff to twist tops years ago. You'll be right Chrispy :)))))))))
FollowupID: 390079

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:03

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:03
Thanks guys.... I now feel comfortable that if I lose my trusty b/opener - the wife and I can still survive for a few nights. Flappa - just how expensive IS the GOOD stuff in twisties nowadays? $7 a pop?

FollowupID: 390083

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:25

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:25
Nah , apparently some of the stuff around $40 a bottle , and stuff they call , premium wines ???? is going to , or at the very least , trialing twist lids.

Means not a lot to me though , my idea of a good wine is the "Pink" or "Yellow" at about $10 a bottle (less with a discount voucher ;) ).
FollowupID: 390095

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:35

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 15:35
haha!!! ......"less with a discount voucher"

I like your style, Flaps old boy.

FollowupID: 390098

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:39

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:39
A billy lifter.

The steel wire type, not the aluminium one.
AnswerID: 136242

Reply By: Member - Des - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:50

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 14:50
Head torch. Not a very glamorous gadget, but indispensible. Ours has both LED light (saves batteries and doesn't dazzle others) and Xenon globe. Runs on 3 x AA batteries.

AnswerID: 136243

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:55

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 16:55
first aid kit in case i get hurt trying out all these gadgets on this forum
AnswerID: 136259

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:33

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 17:33
a red laser so the next time some clown goes to take a potshot he will cop it right inthe eyes as i dont have time to put the shotty together

AnswerID: 136262

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:15

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 18:15
didnt ford make the red laser? theyre harmless
FollowupID: 390433

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:08

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:08

we've got so many, but I think Al would be lost without his modified tent peg puller, unlike commercial ones, Al's is made to measure so he doesn't have to bend over..LOL...

AnswerID: 136270

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:18

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:18
iPod!!!
AnswerID: 136278

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:51

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 00:51
Get back in your Cube Wolfie, the Hive is calling :)
FollowupID: 390176

Reply By: Rojac - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:32

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 18:32
I adhere to the K.I.S.S. principle

Esky and ice (for the essentials- beer)

Cans of spam/fray bentos/baked beans/spag and meatballs for food.

After all how long away from civilization do you spend to warrant anything else.
AnswerID: 136285

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:20

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:20
Hi Scoey, in regards to your dual battery system, find someone with a system that works and find out what you can from them, and copy what you can. The thing is to stick to one type of system, bugger what everyone else has, and keep it simple.

As for gadgets, we go away with freinds regularly, sleeping in the cars (GU patrol + 80s cruiser), so things need to be kept simple. Both cars have a 12V fluro, a 12V fridge/freezer, a 12V compressor, headlamps for the boys and small torches for the girls. All the clothing, cooking gear, fishing gear, recovery equipment etc; must be light and small enough to go under the vehicle at night and the fridge goes on the front seat.

When we go away in the campers, we take a gennie and they take solar panels, but everything else stays simple.
AnswerID: 136377

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:25

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2005 at 23:25
Blowup doll.. dont leave home without it...
AnswerID: 136378

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:28

Wednesday, Oct 26, 2005 at 10:28
And a funny hat ;-)))
FollowupID: 390196

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:39

Thursday, Oct 27, 2005 at 11:39
We bought a 80X solar panel about a week into our May/Jun Pilbara/Kimberley trip. Been thinking about it for awhile. Deciding factor was that despite having 2 aux. batteries (1 large & 1 small deep cycles) the weather was unseasonably hot - so much so that the Engel was running almost non-stop and away from mains power, we were only getting about 1.5 days running time. Under more temperate conditions we get 3-4 days.

To answer your question re what gadgets are we running and consuming power using:
Engel fridge
Water pump on camper
12V shower pump
Laptop to download digi photo's, download/upload waypoints etc to/from GPS, write trip notes and play DVD's for the kids when they were stuck inside during 2 days of torrential rain.
Invertor to recharge batteries for mobiles, digi camera, video camera - until I dropped it :-(((

Yeah all stuff we once camped happily without but all adds comfort/convenience to our trips/camping.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 136605