Accessory Gauges in a GU??

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 16:37
ThreadID: 28116 Views:5489 Replies:9 FollowUps:27
Hi Everyone,
I’m in the process of fitting a boost and EGT gauge to my GU Patrol and I’m debating on where to fit the gauges. At this stage I’m leaning towards mounting a twin pod onto the top of the steering column rather than on top of the dashboard.
I’m curious as to what others have done, where they have mounted theirs, and how visible they are while driving.

Chaz

Reply By: Michael Carey - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:53

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 17:53
I don't have a GU Patrol, but I put my Boost and EGT gauges in a custom roof console. This is in a 3.0TD Hilux. I was thinking about putting the EGT in a pod on the 'A' pillar, but also thought I needed to mount some switches and a speaker so the roof console was the way to go.
Check out photos here :-
Roof Console
AnswerID: 139522

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:28

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:28
Thanks Michael,
I did consider a roof console, but was hoping to do that a bit later on with a drop down DVD screen and UHF radio. I really wanted to have the gauges closer to the origonal gauge cluster.
Chaz
FollowupID: 393248

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:14

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:14
Michael,
Thats one very neat roof console you have there, and you make it look so easy.
I may have to reconsider.
FollowupID: 393253

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:33

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:33
Michael, love the roof console. Did you make it yourself, or is it basically a commercial one you are fitting out. If so, what brand. You must be a sparkie, given the hung amount of wiring you have done in your ride. Well done.
FollowupID: 393350

Follow Up By: Michael Carey - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:34

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:34
Thanks for the comments guys. It's a commercial one, made by The Department of the Interior, but it was customised to suit my requirements!
They made the storage part of my floor console to suit what I had already fabricated. For the roof console, I sent them one of the gauges, the speaker and the switch bank, they made the holes the exact size needed. It all went together perfectly. I was happy with the job they did with my floor console, and even more so with the roof console.
Department of the Interior gets a thumbs up from me!!
Check out the other folders here, they contain more photos of my radio installation project.
More Photos
I work in marine electronics (over 16 years now) at Port Lincoln which is the home of Australia's largest fishing fleet. I work on many things including substantial DC distribution systems, GPS navigation, computer based chart plotters, radar, sonar, sounders, sat phones, HF, VHF and UHF radios, scrambler systems, 3D seabed mapping, commercial FM transmitters, two-way radio systems, wireless data link systems, vessel and vehicle tracking technology, etc. etc. etc.
FollowupID: 393356

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 18:17

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 18:17
We put the ECG gauge on the extreme right of the dash - out of vision line but easy to watch. Will probably put the boost gauge next to it. Chaz, care to share your costs and how (who will do it) you are getting the boost guage fitted? Motherhen

AnswerID: 139532

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:39

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:39
Hi Motherhen,
Not an option in my case I already have the PDA mounted there. I thought about a pillar mounted pod, but they only make them for the pocket rockets, no luck sourcing one for the patrol.

I'll fit the boost and pyro myself. The boost will go into the front steel flange that connects the rubber hose to the intercooler on the engine side. I'll weld a nipple onto it for the fitting to screw into.

I'll do the same for the pyro and fit it into the top pipe of the catalitic converter near where it bolts onto the turbo, not ideal, I know but I'm not too keen on taking off the exhaust manifold.
I bought VDO gauges, just over $400 the pair with all fittings.
Chaz
FollowupID: 393249

Follow Up By: Grungle - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:50

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:50
Hi Chaz,

If you don't mind me asking - where did you source your VDO gauges from? I have been quoted just under $500 for the 2 you mention.

FollowupID: 393325

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 13:14

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 13:14
Hi David,
I got them from VDO Auto Instruments in Adelaide. It pays to ask for trade price, I always do and usually get it, but that may be because the mob that I work for does a fair bit of business with them. (A government department in the transport industry)
Always worth a try.
FollowupID: 393329

Follow Up By: Chaz - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:00

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:00
Hi Motherhen,
I know it's been a while, but if your still interested, THIS is how I fitted the boost gauge tubing. I welded a steel fitting onto the turbo pipe going into the intercooler. It didn't take very long to do, I think it took longer waiting for the paint to dry.
Any mechanical fitter should be able to do this.

Chaz
FollowupID: 395798

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:03

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:03
Chaz,

Where abouts do you live, I'm in Vic and have a GU with A boost and EGT guage mounted down in front of the gear lever, you can have a look if possible or send me your email and I could send you some pic's, I bought the car from another member on this site (Chris M) and he did all the work so I can't help you on how to go about it though.

Browny
AnswerID: 139536

Follow Up By: Patrick - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:17

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:17
I too would like to see the way in which you have laid out the guages but not being a memeber are unable to send you my details to receive your pictures. Any chance of providing a link so that we can take a look at your handy work.

Patrick
FollowupID: 393247

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:53

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 19:53
Browny,
I have a twin gauge pod that will go in front of the shifter, but at the moment my DVD monitor lives there. The other problem with the one I have is that it doesn't point up enough and I have to look down too far to see the gauges. I am familiar with your car and have seen pics of it in the past, when Chris was building it up. You picked up a winner there.

Patrick,
At this stage I'm leaning towards making some gauge housings myself because all the pods that I found today are too bulky and block off too much of the dash. After its done I'll post some pics on my Patrol web page for any one thats interested.

Chaz
FollowupID: 393251

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 21:29

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 21:29
Nice truck mate!!! ;-)

Needs a lift but...
FollowupID: 393263

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:02

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:02
Hehe, G'Day Mate,

Just had the 40,000k service and going great,

On the boat to Tassie on Sunday, won't do a huge amount of off road stuff though as it's Jans 40th B'day gift B&B's and Vineyards and so on, but I reckon I'll find a wrong turn or two....:-)

Browny

Patrick,
I'm not computer smart enough to post a link, If I get time I'll put a pic in my members area, or you could give me your email addy here like this

joebloggsatwhereeverdotcomdotau !!!
FollowupID: 393344

Follow Up By: Patrick - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:16

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 16:16
Browny try patrick_k@qldnet dot com dot au. I'am looking forward to seeing your handywork.

Cheers and thank you in advance.

Patrick
FollowupID: 393345

Reply By: Member - Steve T (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:51

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 20:51
Hi Chaz,
I am more than sure that a "A" pillar pod is available for the GU. I saw one at the Rosehill Gardens camping show in April at one of the 4wd accesories stands, I think their shop is in Blacktown, cant remember their name. I have a GU and was wondering what I could put in it at the time. Also I think I may have seen one at 4wdmegastore, Blacktown NSW. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 139548

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 22:34

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 22:34
Thanks Steve, I've only been checking out speed shops for them, but I guess it makes sense to try a 4wd shop. I'll do a ring around tomorrow.
FollowupID: 393273

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 10:41

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 10:41
Steve,
I did manage to find one of those "A" pillar pods. Thanks for your input.
FollowupID: 393315

Follow Up By: Grungle - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:55

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 12:55
Hi Chaz,

What business did you find them at? Are they of decent quality and did you buy one? Am very interested.

FollowupID: 393326

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 13:15

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 13:15
David,
I took Steve T’s advice and went to TJM in Adelaide who are the local agents for 4wdmegastores. I couldn’t find them in their online catalogue, and even the salesman didn’t know they existed, but they had them at their warehouse.
I did order one and I assume it will be shipped over from Sydney, so if the quality is ok, I will buy it.
FollowupID: 393330

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 22:54

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 22:54
Chaz,
I have a dashpod (from Dept of the Interior, Sydney) mounted in the centre of the dash. This has a voltmeter, UHF radio and a speaker for same. On the right side of this pod, I have attached a bracket which holds 4 VDO gauges, right in front of me when I drive. These are for oil pressure, oil temp, water temp and boost. In front of them, I have a small Jaycar inside/outside thermometer with the remote sender located in the fridge. On the A pillar using the lower bolt that holds the grab handle, I have mounted a air pressure gauge for my 2 air tanks. The EGT gauge is the digital unit from the EO sponsor, Thermoguard.... it sits on top of the steering column and , as of tonight, I have fitted a switch and associated wiring so I can check the EGT in either the manifold OR the dump pipe. So there are plenty of places to install gear.....just gotta be creative!!!

AnswerID: 139586

Follow Up By: Chaz - Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:18

Tuesday, Nov 15, 2005 at 23:18
Thanks Roachie, I have checked out thier roof consoles and dash pods, and it looks like quallity stuff.
My main consern with the dash pod is where and how you run the cables? I would hate to have to drill through the top of the dash, or do you just hide them under the dash mat?
It looks like a good option for another radio also. These GU's weren't designed for accessories at all!

FollowupID: 393284

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:44

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 00:44
Chas, I don't have any of these guages but have driven in car with several guages in a roof console, and I found them awkward to look at. I found that unless I was going in a straight line with no traffic around, I couldn't get more than a half second glance at one guage, but not both. Personally I would prefere them not far from veiw in normal driving position. IMHO
FollowupID: 393286

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:37

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:37
Muzzgit,
I agree with your comments completely and think that the roof console would be the better place for a radio or two, but after seeing the excellent job that Michael (above) has done with his, it could be a possibility.
It makes me wonder though, why the "Department of the Interior" roof consoles don’t have the option of roof mounted gauges. They only have them on their dash pods, which look good too. I think if an “A” pillar pod is available that would be preferable in my case, because there will be additional accessories to follow.

FollowupID: 393294

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:35

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 08:35
G'day Chaz,
My dashpod was, at first, the only thing I had on the dash. The wiring to it is quite neat (unlike all the other wiring I've put in to the other gauges, which is a S H I T fight, but is covered by the dash mat). That original wiring (which includes the UHF aerial cable, earth wire, power for radio and a lead from the original battery so I can switch the voltmeter to check either battery), is all contained in a neat piece of split tubing which goes along the bottom of the windscreen and then down the passenger's side under the "A" pillar.
Note that there is a large "hole" under each "A" pillar once you remove the plastic trim, which is held in place by the 2 screws that hold the grab handle as well as a couple of press-fit plastic do-dads. These can be a pain to get off without damaging the trim. I've actually left both of those trims off mine now (I got sick of removing them everytime I wanted to add a bit more stuff).
I haven't seen an "A" pillar gauge pod advertised anywhere, but that would be a great idea too, so long as it was sleek enough not to cause a massive blind spot.
FollowupID: 393299

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 10:38
Thanks again Roachie, I did some running around this morning and asked at TJM in Adelaide about the “A” pillar pods. After getting some strange looks, the salesman said “I’ll ring the warehouse, you never know”, and guess what??? They do make them, only for the GU and they hold 3 gauges. Not cheap at around $120, but he’s going to order one in for me to check out.

FollowupID: 393314

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:25

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:25
Chaz, I have an EGT and Boost gauge fitted to the dash, I can supply a pic if you wish. Used a cheap plastic twin pod from supercheap, screwed, or can be velcroed, to dash. Cables run under dash mat and down thru bolt hole on LHS. Looks pretty neat and is easy to read. I used an Isspro EGT, colour coded, easy to check and a VDO boost. The catalytic convertor you are talking about is actually a flex joint, I think you will find. EGT pick up should be with-in 4" of turbo outlet. Hope this helps.

AnswerID: 139608

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:43

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 07:43
Thanks John, I would like to see a picture if it's not too much trouble.
chaz@bettanet.net.au
The pipe I was refering to is the bend where the cat bolts onto the turbo at the flange. The pyro would be no more than 2" from the turbo and in my case it is a solid pipe.

FollowupID: 393298

Reply By: CMB - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 18:00
Chaz,

I have a GU and made a pod up that sits on the dash in front of the steering wheel. It houses 4 VDO gauges (boost, EGT, volts - selectable for either battery, and oil pressure). The pod mounts to a screw in the dash and the backlights are wired into the dimmer switch (they're red). The pod is covered in the same type of material that the dash mat is made of.
My wife can easily see over the pod - for her it cuts out the vision to the bonnet.
I can send you a pic if you like.

Chris.
AnswerID: 139671

Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:14

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2005 at 19:14
Thanks Chris, I would love to see a pic of your set up if it's not too much trouble.
chaz@bettanet.net.au
Chaz
FollowupID: 393361

Reply By: Chaz - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 23:29

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 23:29
Hi Everyone,
Thanks to all that replied and offered suggestions and their thoughts to my post. Also for the pictures that were sent to me.
It's great to see what people have done because it makes it easier to decide which way to go. I now have the gauges mounted and I'm reasonably happy with the results.
If anyones interested HERE are some pics of the finished product.
Chaz
AnswerID: 140736

Follow Up By: Patrick - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 07:17

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 07:17
Chaz, what a neat job!!

I think I might look into this style of fitting myself. Thanks for providing the photos.

Bye the way, what price was the A Pod?

Patrick
FollowupID: 395814

Follow Up By: Grungle - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 08:56

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 08:56
Hi Chaz,

Very nice mate. I rang a couple of TJM stores in Qld and asked them to follow up but both came back saying there is nothing. Could you provide the store name and contact number of the mob you got the pod through? Also part number for the pod would be handy.

FollowupID: 395820

Follow Up By: Chaz - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:48

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 09:48
Hi guy's,
Thanks for your comments. I got the pod from TJM in Adelaide. Contact Michael Peters there on (08) 83446444 and he should be able to order one in for you. I think it came from the 4wd Megastores warehouse in Sydney and it cost me $125.
I also picked up a Boggard turbo timer while I was there for $195. They sell them for $220 on eBay.
The only negative comment I will make about the pod is that it faces the passenger and I have to lean forward a bit to see the gauges squarely, but thats a minor issue. I can read them ok while driving. Also the pod had to be painted (they only come in black).
Just as a matter of interest, so far max boost is 16psi. I havent connected the EGT yet.
FollowupID: 395822

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:16

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 00:16
Thanks Chaz, we have had no time to go any further with the boost gauge, so appreciate your photos. Our son is a fitter and he's due home for Christmas - mmmm - maybe a /christmas pressie for us. Your pillar pod looks neat too - what a good idea. Thanks for remembering me. Motherhen

AnswerID: 142199