4X4 Magazine - Is this dishonest reporting ?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:11
ThreadID: 28252 Views:21653 Replies:27 FollowUps:26
When a writer mentions in an article that he is testing a Toyota SR5 by taking it up Cape York and he is fitting a TJM snorkel , a pair of Hella 1000 Rallye Lights , Pro Comp tyres and an OE Bull Bar , I would expect that if any of these products failed in any way , we would read about it .

Well surely they did not plug them at the start of the article just because they got them for free - they must have been part of the test .

This year I purchased a $2500 pair of Hella HID lights which filled up with muddy water and buggered the reflectors on their first creek crossing . NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY said Hella . The only light Hella sell that can be submerged , is the waterproof model .( but their advertising / website / packaging ,do not state this )

So being a big fan of Hella , when I read that these Hella lights were going up Cape York , I wondered how they would go in the river crossings . Well if you look at the picture on page 48 of the December Issue of 4X4 Australia you will see that both Hella 1000 lights are nearly half full of water .

But the article never mentions it . They should have , because it would save many 4WDers from wasting their money on products like these , which are totally unsuitable for 4WD use . The magazine lies by omission . If a product craps itself , instead of saying that , they just write nothing . Don't want to upset a potential advertiser do we - bugger the readers .

I wonder if the snorkel , bull bar and tyres buggered up too ? I wonder what else happened to the SR5 that we never heard about .

Reply By: Gerry - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:51

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:51
I have had a simlar experience with a pair of Hella Rallye 1000 lights on the front of my 'cruiser. Did a deep water crossing during some driver training and both had about an inch of muddy water in them. I didn't realise until the next day when, while cleaning the car, I removed the white plastic covers. Had a helluva job flushing them and trying to dry them out without leaving water marks on the lenses! It actually surprised me 'cos they have a rubber o-ring around the globe holder - obvious not a very good seal with a buildup of water pressure.
Gerry
AnswerID: 140236

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:55

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:55
"Don't want to upset a potential advertiser do we"

Nope spot on there we don't.
Hence if you don't buy the rag then they won't be able to sell the advertising.
Since the advertising is sold on the basis of readership numbers, so by buying the rag you help propagate the lie.

AnswerID: 140239

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:59

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:59
Forgot to add that I would be pretty bloody cantankerous if I had just seen my $2500 lights go swimming.

FollowupID: 393924

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:57

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:57
Willie you said it yourself - Dont want to upset advertisers

Maybe waste an email or stamp to the mag and ask them?
Shame they dont have a forum to complain in, but seeing the answers 4wd mth put to someone the othe rweek, they dilligaf totally
AnswerID: 140240

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:02

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:02
Willie,

"$2500.00" on a set of lights!!! You must rob banks fer a living!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 140243

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:29

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:29
Bilbo ,
I'm retired . I had so much trouble seeing the roos on the road at dusk and dawn on my April drive down from the NT , that I retired my 10 year old Cibie Oscars and shelled out the big bucks for something much brighter . Much brighter they are , but they leak like a sieve .
Cheers .
FollowupID: 393928

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:37

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:37
Hey Willie

I have solved the problem of night driving. I don't! LOL

Haven't bothered to swap my Hella Bull Light($60) from the G60 to the GQ

FollowupID: 393949

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:36

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:36
Which mag was it?
AnswerID: 140250

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:13

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:13
4x4 Australia
FollowupID: 393931

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:54

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:54
Willie

I must admit about the only mag I have even a shred of faith in is Overlander, 4x4 Australia I stopped buying for three reasons, the first is the same as what you have already mentioned, the price of it these days, and the fact that their so-called tech-writer, quite often mouths off with poor conclusions and facts that are often just plain wrong.

As a mechanical engineer with many years of experience in the mining industry, I get to drive all types of 4WD's and 4WD accessories through some very harsh environments on the ground and below it. Every time I read one of this guys articles (I am sure many of you know who I am talking about), I ended up either laughing or frustrated, that many people who read it would take this guys poorly researched and ill formed facts and conclusions as gospel. Theres my whinge for the day anyway, I feel better already.
AnswerID: 140254

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:57

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:57
So true Willie,
Not a mention of advertised products when they play up. Sad though, cause lots of new people getting involved in offroading and they treat these mags as the offroad bible. Maybe we should setup 10 commandments for 4wd's.

I'm sorry about the 2500 buck lights mate, god i would be so dirty if it happened to me. Well I'd definately be sending some emails off as mentioned above and hope someone does you a deal. Funny thing is, I have 2 IPF's on mine and from what ive read in here over the past 3 years, seems most dont like them much, but i have to say, mine r fantastic and as some of you know, my most loved adventure is river crossings which i do lots of and never once have i seen any water in mine yet.
I hope they come to the party mate.
Ange.
AnswerID: 140255

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:17

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:17
Ange ,
My two Cibie Oscars went through heaps of water crossings without ever taking in water. These Hellas have a really dumb design - the wiring enters the light halfway up the back . If it entered at the bottom it would form an airlock and no water would enter.
FollowupID: 393932

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:22

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:22
Had my copy handy and you are dead right, shows you how closely I look. That is disgusting and I agree they should not have omitted mentioning that one. Good pick up. Willey I would email them and ask why they didn't mention this (hard for them to deny as they published the photo - bugger - sure they'll edit more closely next time) and maybe include some of your words above (parra's 3 to 5).

AnswerID: 140256

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:53

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 16:53
I'd actually suggest writing a letter to their mailbag column pointing out your situation and noting that they obviously suffered the same consequences and ask whether they were totoally satisfied with the performance of the lights. Pee in their pocket a bit and say things like...."I really value your views on this matter as I am just a poor pensioner/retiree and they've fobbed me off" etc. If you keep it clean and don't hang any s h i t on them at the mag (not saying they don't DESERVE it mind you!!!!), maybe they'll give you a straight answer. Surprisingly, they do tend to publish adverse letters too, although they usually try to make out that the writer is either wrong or they he missed the point of what they were writing about etc.
Worth a try I reckon!!!!!
Next set of lights......try the Lightforce HIDs (only $2300- a pair), but ask them whether they're water-proof first.....pretty sure they are supposed to be.

Good luck mate

AnswerID: 140263

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:52
Roachie,

I would have bought the Nightforce HID but was scared off by the "unknown" of having to attach a plastic cover over them to change from narrow to spread beam . That did not fill me with confidence - quite honestly I don't know why it bothered me , but it did .

I have heard that they have a Gortex diaphram which stops water coming in , but still allows heated air to expand .

If I had the choice over , I would definitely get them .

FollowupID: 393952

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:08

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:08
Roachie , Re : writing to 4X4 Australia FORUM (page 26 ) Dec.2005 Issue

I just checked out the letters in it . To me they just look like ones they have picked out ( or written themselves ) which allow them to give an answer which plugs one of their advertisers products .

For instance "4WD Warehouse", " Bushranger" , "X Jack" , "Southern Cross Swag" ,"Long Ranger Tanks" - it's really blatant - they can't answer a letter without plugging a brand .

Willie .
FollowupID: 393956

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:09

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:09
Willie, I don't buy the mag for the same reason but am getting pretty cheesed off with Roachie's mag too for reasons stated elsewhere. I wonder if you may put up the address of the editorial pages - both email and snail mail, so people can remind them of their oversight.
FollowupID: 394042

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:17

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:17
Hi John ,

addresses for the " 4X4 Forum" are :

email
4x4australia@acp.com.au

Snail mail
4x4 Australia ,
PO Box 4088 ,
Sydney . NSW . 2001 .

I hope they get inundated .

wILLIE
FollowupID: 394066

Reply By: Member - Phil- Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:19

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:19
Have you also noticed how the reporters get to go overseas testing new vehicles , never any adverse reports on the vehicles and never any mention who pays the airfares and usually plenty of adds for the products.

Is another form of cash for comment
AnswerID: 140267

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:39

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:39
There has been a lot of criticism of motoring journalists receiving 'soft dollar' benefits over the years. They are unabashed by the criticism - hides like buffalo.

I think too that the journos beat up 'problems' in vehicles to promote aftermarket sales of 'remedies'.

It is ridiculous that a monthly 4X4 magazine regularly alleges suspension, diff and other problems in popular fourbys, thus giving the uninitiated the impression that such vehicles are almost incapable of going off-road. However the truth is that any failures that have occurred have been very few and far between and only encountered through extreme use.

Who is to say that the aftermarket 'improvements' are any better? It is not uncommon to find someone bailed up by a fancy painted aftermarket suspension product that has failed.
FollowupID: 393963

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:20

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:20
After many years of doing tag alongs and trips in the bush.
After market things are the first to break let you down or wondered why you bothered buying them in the fist place.
My after market list is
Suspension
snorkel
engel fridge
hf radio
uhf radio
duel battery system
roof rack and that was made by the boys at bamaga
bull bar
And that's it
I have seen many people come away with us and seen the things that break.
Driving lights are always the first thing to fall off.

AnswerID: 140280

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:26

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:26
Gee Roachie ,
This fella must be crazy . He has no gadgets - what fun can that be .
Willie .
FollowupID: 393960

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:26

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:26
That's right Willie......half the fun of an outback trip is spending half the time under the bloody truck fixing up the broken aftermarket stuff.!!!! (NOT)...hahaha

Things I've had "go wrong" on trips are usually related to aftermarket products which I have installed myself. So, in most cases, I don't believe it is the aftermarket product itself, but the poor installation. The one notable exception to that would have to be the dual battery bracket for the GU which was professionally made and installed by me ACCORDING TO INSTRUCTIONS....The issue with it is not so much the bracket itself, but rather the way it was designed to be mounted. I would urge any GU owners with a dual battery set-up that has the battery mounted just behind the air filter, to check out the mounts. In my case, the bracket is fastened to the vehicle using 5 bolts.....2 of them use the original captive nuts on the inner guard which had been put there to hold the radiator expansion tank. (That tank is bolted to the new bracket first and then the bracket bolted to the inner guard. The other 3 bolts also utilise captive nuts on the horizontal section of the guard. So the bulk of the weight is taken up by the mud guard and the 2 vertical bolts are for stabilisation purposes. After 170,000 klm at least 4 of the captive nuts have broken away from the surrounding metal, which is far too thin to cope with the weight of a battery. A mate of mine has a 4.2GU without ABS and his 2nd battery is situated further back and higher up; he hasn't had the same issues.

FollowupID: 394045

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:26

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:26
Gotta agree, they all seem to be ads surrounded by advertorials. Best mag around now I reckon is actually free!

Just go here and start down loading.

http://www.4wheelingsa.org/

Matt
AnswerID: 140283

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:35

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:35
Well sprung Willie - confirmation of what most thinking readers would expect - my wife borrows such mags from the library for us both to read. My abiding rule with all such matters is "take little notice of opinions on vehicles and accessories (wherever they are sourced), unless the writer has personally paid for them, and also pays for the ongoing upkeep. Case in point - when was the last time we saw anyone mention the commonly outrageous dealer servicing costs - not the book costs - they ones people are actually asked to pay when they go to pick it up ?
Some readers would be running around in second cars that are worth much less that some of the services on vehicles they are reading about. Real bugger about the lights - a con in effect - makes you want to puke (on Hella) - to be stored in this memory bank ! Thanks for the post.

AnswerID: 140285

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:23

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 20:23
Willie,

Very interested in what you are actually planning to do. Will you take on some of the advice listed above or do nothing? Your decision but would love to see you have a go at both the magazine and hella..... and see what happens.

You could actually try making a report to "Media Watch" and see what they think about the omission of an obvious flaw in the product.

Maybe "A Current Affair" or "This Day Tonight". (can you stoop that low)

You are retired and it might be fun.

Please report back any developments.

Spade
AnswerID: 140306

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:27

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:27
Spade ,

I have already written to Hella and was told by their sales manager that the HID lights would not be covered by warranty if they were submerged in a river crossing . He said the only Hella light that could be submerged ( read "used in any creek crossing" ) was their special waterproof model . NONE of their other models that you see advertised in 4WD magazines are to be used in creek crossings because they leak.

"Oh ", you say , " I see Hella lights in the tests done in 4WD magazines and they never mention this" . Well what do you know . That's incredible !

The sales manager offered to " have a look at my lights ". But it would have cost me money to have them taken off and put on again and I had to freight them to Melbourne on the off chance that they might see me as a pest and replace the lenses .

I asked their sales rep why they were sold in 4WD outlets if they were totally unsuitable for the task . His answer was that 90% of 4WDs never went off road , so it was not a problem .Nowhere on the packaging or on their website is there any mention that these lights cannot be submerged .

I cleaned them , but they will never be as good as new .

I will send an email to 4x4 Australia Magazine , but there is little chance that they will print it . It is the following -
" Dear Sir ,
I have had trouble with my Hella HID lights filling up with water during creek crossings and I could not help but notice that the Hella 1000 lights on the SR5 being tested on page 48 of your Dec.issue , were nearly half full of water . The writer however , failed to advise the readers of this problem , after telling them that he was fitting them to the car for the test run up Cape York . Perhaps you could explain this omission .
Regards "

Cheers ,

Willie
FollowupID: 393991

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:04

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:04
www.notgoodenough.com.au

Also post FACTS, on every single 4wd and rally and car forum, then send links to the threads to Hella with your compliments :) Word of mouth advertising.
AnswerID: 140314

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:06

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:06
Having a bitch on the 4x4 forums is on thing but sending links back to Hella, that’s a great idea.

Good one Truckster
FollowupID: 393987

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:33

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 22:33
Truckster and drivesafe ,

I'm an old fart and I don't know how to do all that . Can you ndo it for me ??

It would be good to put a flea in their ear .

Willie .
FollowupID: 393992

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:19

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:19
Willie.

The person at Hella that told you bad luck, gain their email address - call them and ask - or just their name would do so you can attention it to them..

Then just post up on all 4wd forums what exactly they tell you. Keep it to facts.

Open a new email up in outlook,
send it to hella@hella.com.au
Subject line: ATTN: (name of dude who screwed you) Word of mouth sells

Then add what you have done and why at the start of the email in the main(body) section, informing them of what you have done and how many people are on each forum roughly....

Then copy the web address of each thread, paste it into the body of the email. Then send it :)

Let hella know other prospective buyers now know that their lights are fish bowls.
FollowupID: 394000

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:12

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 10:12
Willie,

Have you got details that I could submit to a few forums?

My email addy is chumpion at hushmail dot com

Chump.
FollowupID: 394037

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:35

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:35
I love this, I can feel a wenzel coming on? Maybe we can have it retitled to you've been hella'd.

FollowupID: 394050

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:52

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 21:52
Willie, no need to go as far as the 4x4 mag for misguided recomendations & omissions. Just look on Ex Oz. Take almost any recomendation to buy a Weico Fridge from a proud owner for example, no mention of the warped lid or the broken latch yet personally I hear of heaps. I think some how not only are the magazines with a financial gain guilty of a little deception but most individuals who have bought a dud product would rather hide the fact than admit they had purchased something less than perfect. ;-)
As for the Mag writers they have too many conflicts of interest to really take them serious. I suppose you could always not buy the mag, that would get the message through to them.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 140327

Follow Up By: Utemad - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:54

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:54
"Take almost any recomendation to buy a Weico Fridge from a proud owner for example, no mention of the warped lid or the broken latch yet personally I hear of heaps"

You're a funny guy...........
FollowupID: 394061

Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:01

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:01
Hay Willie
No mention of the broken aerial an the new OE steel bar or the loss of the front number plate possibly due to poor fitting when the bar was replaced

No the number plate could have been pinched like my sons was at the local train station we think and installed on the rear of a similar vehicle and used in a service station runner and driven on the City link Tollway over te next two weeks and accrued $1200.00 in speeding fines through the one camera that is operating 450m before the tunnel and accrued $100 af toll charges. One speeding letter was a cancellation of licence for one month

I have now pop rivetted our four vehicles number plates on instead of very removable screws

No laughing matter
AnswerID: 140347

Reply By: Trekkie - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:12

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 23:12
I seem to recall several years ago a number of high profile Radio talk back personalities being taken to task by others in the media and pollies for endorsing various products without giving full disclosure. (In fact I think there was court action)

About time time the consumer demanded HONESTY from these mags. the other word that comes to mind is INTEGRITY. I for one would like to know the degree of INDEPENDENCE of the mags and journos. eg do they only test products supplied FREE. What sort of dollars do suppliers of product for testing PAY in advertising. How many products are tested where the supplier does NOT pay (free or otherwise)
AnswerID: 140349

Follow Up By: kesh - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 08:14

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 08:14
There has been a recent reference to a comparison of 12 portable fridge/freezer units by one of those popular mags.
Apart from the reported results seemingly very ambiguous, it was noticable that the Trailblaza, locally built and just about the best unit available was not in the test lineup.
Not hard to work out why.
FollowupID: 394020

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:11

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:11
A 4x4 mag doing a test on fridges would normally ask all the major brands to supply a fridge in lieu of advertising or for a loan. Company's that don't want to participate in the trial or pay for the advertising that normally surrounds the pages of the comparison obviously wont be seen. Most fridge manufactures could not possibly afford to hand out a fridge every time a test came up. Trailblazer probably prefered to sell on their great reputation rather than be included in a trial that may be poorly conducted & tainted by bias towards a company with a large advertising space ;-)
Cheers Craig.........
FollowupID: 394071

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 02:10

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 02:10
I had a good laugh at their Tech writers article on GPS recommending that Australians look for GPS units with WAAS capability.

WAAS (a system using extra satellites and ground stations to improve accuracy) isn't even available here.

And their recent buyers guide wrote on Satphones and omitted to inform readers that there is an alternative to Telstra for Iridium services in Australia (TR Telecom). Lousy research and people claiming to be experts on that which they are clearly not.

Pays to remember sometimes that the people reading/listening may just know more than you do.

The only thing they've got going for them is Michael Ellem who does their photography, and they poached him from that mag that artificially jacks up their subscription numbers by offering readers $70 incitements like Staun Deflators to subscribe to a mag for $90 a year. Who wouldn't take up an offer like that - even if you were only going to read every third issue you were still in front. But they can use you as bait to con advertisers then can't they?

Use the shiny side to wipe...

AnswerID: 140373

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:42

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:42
Just thought you should ckeck out the other monthly 4wd magazine (4wd monthly Current Issue) and have a look at Roothys truck with the new IPF lights, it's the issue with the ARB Hilux on the front. In the article Rooths purposly drives the lights under water to find them still working after the big dip. I agree with you about the mags you have to sit back and think Why are they writting this? Another good point to consider is that no self respecting 4wd journalist would take is own car up the cape stock standard, aftermarket products are a must! so report on them honestly and without favouratism, i read 4wd monthly and 4x4 Australia to try and get two different opinions. Is this dishonest reporting well thats questionable they just neglected to mention the lights, remember the article was about the Hilux not the lights.
AnswerID: 140395

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:51

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 09:51
I disagree with you . If he went to the trouble to mention (and plug) the fact that he had installed Hella 1000 Rallye lights , then I believe it has to be part of the test .

What he should have done , is used them , then left them out of the article completely when they failed . He would have written the article when he got back - when he had full knowledge of the failure of the product - and he still gave them a plug .Yes , I think that is dishonest .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 394032

Reply By: al - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:45

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 11:45
just my 2 bobs worth i bought a pair of driving lights from rocca brothers now super cheap just as a stop gap 8 years ago they have been on 2 patrols done the cape york twice kimberleys pilbara and every where in between . painted them once when i changed them from one patrol to the other. never has any trouble with them no water getting in. payed total of $100. worst part of it is when they do die i cant get the same again they came in a plain brown box no identify.ing marks on them.some times you get more than you pay for and no fancy advertising.

al
AnswerID: 140410

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:14

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 13:14
Always best to keep emotion out of letters to editors and I understand it is hard to do that when you've spent $2,500 on a set of lights that were not up to the task.

However, resist the temptation to be emotive and simply point out the facts. Highlight that there own writer must have came to the same conclusion; that the lights fitted to the test vehicle were simpy not suitable for the task they were used for.

The editor would have to be pretty stupid to do anything but agree and in which case your pouint will be weell and truly made.

Good luck.
AnswerID: 140418

Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 14:02
I agree with Willem. Stay of the road after dark . In my opinion this will reduce the risk of animal strike. If you drive after dark, the better your driving lights, the better the view you get of the animal ( read roo ) AS YOU HIT IT!
Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 140421

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:31

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:31
GT ,

I also have some close shaves with roos during the day . So according to you , I should stay off the road during the day .

If I drive during the day , the better my glasses , the better view I get of the animal ( read roo ) AS I HIT IT !

That's very profound .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 394067

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:45

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 16:45
I have just bought the same lights , the 1372 and 1373 , Pencil and Spread beam. They are fantastic lights but hey I didn't know they weren't waterproof, haven't done any river crossings, the car is new. I think in both instances that Hella and 4x4 Australia have responsibilities to their readers and have let you and us down. Can Hella repair these..? They are bloody expensive lights, you know it easy to import your own HID Kits including globes and regulators to install into any vehicle, for both standard and high beam conversions for anyone looking to improve their lighting big time.

If 4x4 Australia aren't reporting what failed during their testing trips then I wouldn't be buying their magazine anymore , because what are there to do otherwise..?

AnswerID: 140437

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:24

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:24
TerraFirma ,

I bought two spread beams because these went out further than the pencil beams on my old Cibie Oscars . I agree , they are fantastic lights , but they should not be used on a 4WD .

Are those model numbers the HID models ??

I cannot afford to ditch them so I will have to carry garbage bags to wrap them in , in the future . It will be very difficult to seal them with a bag because they have the wires coming out halfway up the back of the light . That's what you get for $2500 from Hella .

Did you receive any advice from the installer regarding the fact that they were not suitable for creek crossings ? As I said I checked their website and their adverts and found no warnings about this .

If you want , I am sure you could demand your money back .I have attached my letter to Hella and the answer from their manager , so that you will know what you are up against . I am sure that the ombudsman would rule in your favour if you said you wanted your money back .

My email / letter to Hella dated Sept.20 , 2005

Dear Mr Stevenson ,

I have already written two emails to the email address on your website without an answer. Now , after Max in Melbourne told me that the fellow answering the emails left and nobody has bothered answering them since , I am writing to you .

I bought a pair of Predator HID lights for my Landcruiser in June from Bars-N-Racks at Hornsby .I wanted the best , and my Cybie Oscars after ten years of solid service , were just not bright enough for my failing eyes .

I was caught in the Pilbarra in a 3" downfall in July and had to travel through flooded roads and ford a flooded creek . The next day I noticed that each light had an inch of muddy water in it .I could not figure out how to empty the water , so I left it and they eventually dried out . I fear that the reflectors are now muddy .

I believe that the lights must be faulty as I imagined that , like my previous Cibie lights that went through many many creek crossings , the Preadators are made for this kind of work .

I have checked your website and there is no mention there that they are not suitable for 4WDs and when the installer put the lights on , he gave me no paperwork to say that they were not suitable.In fact they gave me no instructions , warranty card , box or tools and I had to go back to them and ask for the two tools to adjust the lights .

The site hella.co.nz says that Preadator HID lights are "ideal for the roughest conditions in mining,the transport industry and 4WD vehicles"

Everybody would agree that it is a given that 4WDs go through creek crossings with water in them .

What can you do about this please ,

The letter / email received back from Mr Stevenson dated Sep.23 , 2005 :

Dear Mike,

Sorry for not getting back to you sooner but I have been away on business.

On the surface I would not say the lights are faulty, but to make a clear determination we would need to have the lights back so the we can inspect them. Would you be able to arrange for the lights to be returned to the NSW office and we will have our quality inspector in Melbourne look at them before determining if it is a warranty issue or not?

Please note that the Predator lights are designed to the highest standard, however they were not designed to be submersed. If you are looking at making river crossings where the lights will be submerged then we do have a light that has been specifically designed for this function called the Hydrolux.

If the lights are still working then they can probably been cleaned so that they before as they did prior to getting the water in them.

I will be away on holidays from today, so if you could have the lights returned to our Sydney office along with a record of purchase, I will have them sent to Melbourne for inspection. If you would like to speak with me regarding the issue, please give me a call on or after the 10th of October.

Kind Regards,

Robert Stevenson
NSW State Manager
Hella Australia Pty Ltd

FollowupID: 394072

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:03

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 17:03
HOWDY ,
I just sent the following letter by email to 4x4 Australia Forum :

Dear Sir,

I have had trouble with my Hella HID lights filling up with water during creek crossings and I could not help but notice that the Hella 1000 lights on the SR5 being tested on page 48 of your Dec.issue , were nearly half full of water . The writer however , failed to advise the readers of this problem , after telling them that he was fitting them to the car for the test run up Cape York. Perhaps you could explain this omission .

Are you aware that Hella advises that the lights they sell should not be submerged (except their one special waterproof model ) and will not warrant models that have been submerged . When I said to Hella that there should be a warning on the their packaging , advertising and website , I was told that that would not be necessary as the large percentage of 4WDs sold never went off road .

Perhaps it is the duty of responsible magazines to advise their readers of the pitfalls of buying these lights .

Regards ,
AnswerID: 140443

Follow Up By: richopesto - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:13

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:13
You go get 'em Willlie !

As an aside, did you know Australians are renowned for NOT COMPLAINING. It is a well-known fact amongst producers and manufacturers' marketing sections that Aussies are hesitant to 'make a scene' or be seen to be acting like a bleep . (I suspect this is why a heap of rubbish gets sold in Oz., but then I havent been to bali ;-) )

But, back to the story. I stopped buying 4x4 australia when I noted they said some rubbish like :"this vehicle was fitted with 10x15x32 BFG Mudgrubbers and they ate up the track like a thirsty pig..." or some such rubbish.
I looked at the accompanying photos and the vehicle was not fitted with these tyres at all !! On further investigation I noted a few items incorrectly indicated in other articles. I came to the same conclusion as yourselves and decided this mag wasnt worth the paper it was printed on for any real honest opinion.

Anyway, stick it up em Willie. I fear you'll be wasting your time as they have already noted numerous times..'we do have a waterproof version'.

At the very least, Hella should be forced to add a sticker or note to thier product:
"NOT SUITABLE FOR WATER CROSSINGS" or simliar.

I would be going the line that if these are sold, or even described anywhere, as an 'off-road' or '4wd' light then it should be expected by the manufacturer that any reasonable use of them in 'off-road' conditions may well include a water crossing. If they are not suitable for these "reasonable", "expected" uses, then there should indeed be a note indicating the limitations of the item.
I think you would have more legal fothold with this approach. Read up on your consumer rights.

Post again, I'd like to know how you go !

Rich

FollowupID: 394078

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:38

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:38
Willie,

I have'nt read everything posted re this particular saga but as per Richopesto above, surely you have recourse to Consumer Affairs regarding a simple 'fitness for purpose' claim.

Unless your backyard is somewhere in the middle of the Sahara Desert any 4WD activity is bound to include water sports :)))))
FollowupID: 394081

Reply By: JAS095 - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:34

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 18:34
Living in WA I find that the large MAGS a re full of stories and advertising from the east coast and of little interest, however I will buy them on occations.

What I think is a better option to buy the small localy produced mag Western 4WDriver this still has the advertising and the stories still have bias to the writers prefance but there seems to be little corprate infulance. It also has trips that can be done as day trips, tech talk and it mostly local which is great.

I just know that I wont be subscribing to any of the major MAGS
AnswerID: 140460

Reply By: Emo - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:00

Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 11:00
I'm always amazed how the so called 4wd mags only continue to test brands that they get advertising revenue out of. They have little interest in providing real information to the public. One example is the flood of cheap electric winches that are now available. Repco sell one at a reasonable price and you can get a few different ones off eBay including a Runva that they reckon is sold my TJM and an OX. Has any of the magazines tested any of these winches? Not that I've seen. I would be really interested to know if a Repco or a Runva winch is really up to the job and being a stack cheaper than a Warn would save the punter some hard earned dollars. Perhaps they don't want to upset their advertisers being Warn and TJM.
AnswerID: 140581