arofs1
We hope to tow our caravan from
Bribie Island to
Sydney and catch the Spirit of Tasmanian to
Devonport in February and then return via
Devonport-
Melbourne and visit the Victorian High Country before returning home.
Question: Would anyone who has travelled on the
Sydney-
Devonport ferry please give us your thoughts. I believe the food is also included in the
Sydney-
Devonport trip. We were thinking of booking a twin port hole cabin. What are your thoughts value for money in the different accommodation, did you find you only used the cabin for sleeping and not need the port hole view. There is only about $150 difference between
Sydney-
Devonport and
Melbourne-
Devonport.
Brian DJ
Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:21
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:21
Hi Brian:
We did
Devonport -
Sydney this year (January) and had a porthole cabin. The cabins are quite small, but we were happy to have had the porthole, if only to look out in the morning when we woke up. When I do it again I will still grab a porthole cabin in preference to being "in the middle" where you can't see anything.
Food (dinner/breakfast) is included, and the buffet dinner was brilliant. Heaps of food and all delicious.
I had never done a long boat trip before so I enjoyed every minute of it. Coming into
Sydney was great, even though the weather was atrocious, and I would imagine coming or going on a sunny day would be pretty special.
One thing - if you like an early morning cuppa, get hold of an immersion heater. On our trip the coffee
shop did not come good until about 8am. We made an early morning brew in our insulated mugs in the cabin.
Enjoy thd trip. Tassie is brilliant.
Jack
Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:33
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 18:33
As some one who has thought about this trip, how much does it cost
Sydney-
Devonport? Does the vehicle go for free and you just pay for the number of people or what? If you are towing a camper trailer or van, is that a second vehicle and if so, how much?
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:25
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 20:25
Check out the website below, as the fares change by the season (high/low etc ..). You pay extra for a trailer. I towed a trailer and you paid by the metre.
Jack
Reply By: arofs1 - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:10
Reply By: Jeepster - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:53
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 19:53
G'Day Brian DJ sounds like an exact replica of our trip, except heading over from
perth, arriving
devonport 13/2 then head back on 25th to catch the festival at
hanging rock (woodend) then off to the high country. What are your dates.
Andy
Follow Up By: arofs1 - Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:10
Wednesday, Nov 23, 2005 at 21:10
Hi Jeepster,
We haven't booked yet, but were hoping for mid February, although the ferry bookings are very heavy and we may have to put it back a few weeks. We also look like being in Tasmainia for about 2+ weeks and then working our way back through the Yarra Valley and Victorian High Country.
Brian DJ
Follow Up By: Jeepster - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 20:23
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 20:23
Keep an eye out for Burgundy Jeep with west aussie plates and red camper trailer with QLD plates.
Reply By: Member - John Q (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:00
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:00
Just remenber the Commonwealth Games are on in
Melbourne 16 to 26 March, so accommodation even in the caravan parks will be tight then. I'm in Tassie early March for 2 weeks & have been told one of the Motor Cycle groups have a tour around Tassie at the same time.
Follow Up By: Jeepster - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:45
Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 08:45
Exactly John, will be
well and truly on the eyre heading west by then.
Andy