Flinders Ranges - Wilpena Pound upto Arkaroola

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:15
ThreadID: 28470 Views:4375 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
G'day all,

Just had a GREAT 8 days throught the Flinders Ranges. Average temperature was around 27 with perfect cloudless days every morning.

We left from Vic on Friday 18th around 2.30pm and drove to Mt Barker in SA. Then from there off to Wilpena the following day. What made this trip so exciting was the fact that we had our new Kimberley Kamper in tow. I have to say this thing was amazing -- never skipped a beat. Takes only seconds to setup and no more than 2 minutes to pack away.

We spent 2 days at Wilpena Pound and then headed off to Arkaroola for a further 2 days. Now, we usually travel the VIC high county so this was an amazing experience and something totally new. Arkaroola was amazing - so dry and in the middle of no where. I would highly recommend to everyone who hasn't visited the Flinders to organise a trip at some point in your life.

We then headed back to Wilpena, this time taking a different route - through Leigh Creek. This is an amazing little town. We wanted to come back to Wilpena to have a bit more time walking through the Pound and checking it out. We did all the self drive tours like SKYTRECK etc - Great.

SMITTY

Reply By: slow mower - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:24

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:24
Hi Smitty, sounds like you too had a great time. Don't go on too much about the place though, it's one of South Australia's Best Kept Secrets. The State is full of them. Check out link SA Secrets
AnswerID: 141468

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:51

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:51
Good on you SMITTY,

Glad you enjoyed the experience. 'Tis truly God's Country.

AnswerID: 141482

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:23

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 16:23
Which God?
FollowupID: 395175

Reply By: cuffs - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 11:08

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 11:08
Well done smitty, we do like to share our little secrets, almost don"t need a 4wd over here.
AnswerID: 141485

Reply By: bazza - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:18

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 20:18
sure is Smitty - Arkaroola would have to be one of the Best destinations - ok a wee tad dear - they have a captive audience food/eating wise however middle of Nowhere who cares. The Spriggs are wonderful people and Tours/Observatory etc great. Our favorite spot - amazing thing is the two places altho cple hundred K's apart are so entirely different but both spots top spots - the Yunta-Ark road is worth it for a round trip from Vict. the Skytrek is just fabulous but the MOONWALK well words cant describe. If anyones going there ask Brendan&Carmel can u do the Moonwalk
(gotta be experienced tho) . Tell them Mr&Mrs Wees of the Neva Neva said to say hello. They have a fantastic set-up on the Station as a base & Accommodation etc.
Not sure how their Camping arrangements progressed these days though.
...bazza
AnswerID: 141575

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 00:33

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 00:33
We went to Arkaroola in October as part of our SA trip. I have to say I was a little disappointed.

It's obviously a long time since it won any tourist awards, and it's starting to show. The elder Spriggs have passed on and though the family still has it it looks as though Reg's project has slipped a bit.

The toilet block in the campground is in dire need of work and many things around the place could use some TLC.

It was just after school hols and with young kids it was disappointing to see that all of the interps programs were aimed at big paying adults.

Georgie (the new ecotourism girl) and her offsider are obviously keen to develop the resort in this area and it will be good to see the bits they are adding to the information centre when they are finished. She is certainly keen and was great with the kids (and Louie the ring necked parrot was a hit too.)

We did a bit of 4wding, walking is limited when you have a 2y/o in tow, and found some interesting spots but at $85 a seat the Ridgetop tour was beyond us this trip. Besides Lynne gets crook in the front seat let alone sideways in the back of a ute.

Don't get me wrong. The scenery is spectacular. More spectacular than much of the area around Wilpena. But to continue to charge what they do for powered sites they need to do a lot of work on the toilet block and pump out the sewerage (it was ripe). A toilet block for the unpowered sites (bush) would make them accessable to families - otherwise powered sites are the only option as the climb from the bush camps is too steep for wife or kids during the day let alone at night.

I'd go back, but maybe when the kids are much older.

Having to move from our flooded camp site at 630 in the morning didn't thrill me either, but that's not their fault.

As soon as the roads opened after the rain we moved on.

AnswerID: 141627

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 19:02

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 19:02
We were there this time last year, and in many ways I agree with you.

We were in our tent down the bottom on the creek and used the toilets down there. Came up top for a shower. Yes, starting to look a little tired.

Had a little fun at the restuarant.
Great service and food, but the waiter at the end asked if we wanted to put the bill on the tab for the room.
Told him with a smile that i didn't think he could do it as we were in a tent.
I think the staff are not used to tenters using the facilities in the resort.
Had a similar thing happen for a BBQ there too. The staff and resort guests couldn't understand why we camp and buy dinner sometimes.
After explianing we came in via the Strezlecki and Mt Hopeless rd they were interested.

Like you we didnt do the ridge tour, too expensive.
But we did drive most fo the 4wd tracks. Great.
FollowupID: 395598